April 08, 2015

Joe

My favorite Olympus lens

This is my favorite Olympus lens so far. I love the 50mm equivalent focal length because it's extremely versatile. It is on my OM-D E-M5 practically every day. The autofocus is lightning quick and accurate. It renders images beautifully with excellent contrast. My favorite part is the bokeh - creamy and smooth. The only thing I don't like about it is its build. Very plasticky - even more pronounced in the lens hood. (But I guess I'm just glad Olympus included a lens hood). The focusing ring already has a few dents on it. But that's a minor complaint. I love this lens!

April 04, 2015

Bruce

It doesn't get any better

The only lens I can compare this to in a past life is the Nikon 35mm DX f/1.8. Like that bargain it is small, light, fast and scary sharp. Fits in a small pocket and renders fine color and detail. Pair it with an E-M1 in low light and you can take almost any picture; also good on an E-M10.

April 02, 2015

Duhg

Great all around lens

With the equivalent focal length of a 50mm in 35mm terms, this lens delivers great sharpness in a standard lens.

March 25, 2015

Manish Vanjara

Sharp, well built, excellent lens for street, portrait and low light

This is an amazingly sharp lens. Paired with an OMD, it is well balanced and becomes the classic favourite focal length of 50mm. In my portfolio,

I find a lot of people end up liking pictures shot with this lens as their favourite. And it is easy to understand the reason - it has great colours, sharpness, and contrast.

It is very good for low light as well. Even wide open at f1.8, the pictures are very sharp and pleasant.

It has become my go-to lens for street photography. It is very well built. It focuses fast with my OMD-EM10. Even in low light.

Yes I recommend this lens to my friends.

January 13, 2015

Michael

Small, fast, sharp, and more

I just got this thing, and instantly attached myself to it. This is a really good combination of a lens--small, light, relatively inexpensive, fast aperture, high resolution, good color transmission, focuses pretty close (there is also a macro adapter in a really tight pinch), and balances well on my E- M1 as well as my new PEN E-PL7. Doesn't scare people like my 12-40mm f2.8 pro does either, so I can get away with more pics!

Also, the gods from Olympus have finally given us a lens hood to go with the lens--finally! (Should I see that as a $40 discount?)

I can not really think of any huge drawbacks concerning this as a normal prime lens on a modest budget. If you like normal FL primes, this is hard not to like.

Ok, selfies. It's too long of a focal length for a good selfie. My big head is the only thing I see in the frame when I use it. Get a m4/3 17mm or wider for selfies.

It's also not the sharpest lens I've seen, but it's sharp enough that unless you have flawless handling with low ISO, it'll be you and not the lens as the limiting sharpness factor.

This is my new standard bearer for a casual walk around lens. Just add an additional lens or two in my bag and I'm pretty much set for most situations. Can't believe I waited this long to get it.

August 09, 2014

Colombo

No regrets for the past,for me small is beautiful.

After using Nikon (D300/D700) and Sony (NEX-7/A7r) now I use only Olympus.
Two body OM-D E-M5: one OM-D E-M5 with 25mm F1.8 and another OM-D E-M5 with 75mm F1.8.
No regrets for the past,for me small is beautiful. Image quality of the Olympus with its lens is sharp, beautiful with gorgeous color.

August 01, 2014

Thomas

Must have lens.

Sharpness for this little guy is excellent. I personally feel the best part is the minimum focusing distance of about 8 inches. That's half my full frame 50mm f1.4 and it makes a difference. If I get closer I can close the gap in terms of shallow DOF. Lens hood? Yes indeed! Thanks Olympus for that added bonus. My only gripe really isn't one at all - I wish it were f1.2....and maybe that it was metal bodied. For such reasons, the competition is nipping at the heals of this one. However, it's overall qualities exceed my basic needs and the price is fairly agreeable. I wonder if we'll see PRO all metal bodied and faster versions of both this and the M.Zuiko 45mm f1.8. As for now, these are a bargain for what they deliver and no regrets whatsoever.

July 14, 2014

Haresh

Excellent lens

My current kit includes an M.75mm f1.8 and a M.12-40mm f2.8 PRO. Although they do the job extremely well, I was stuck in situations where I wanted the shallow depth of field to not be too shallow. I tried achieving that with an M.12-40mm f2.8 PRO lens, however, I felt I was unable to get the desired effect.

The M.25mm f1.8 lens is fast, compact, provides sharp pictures and is generally the lens I leave on the camera on most times. I was tempted to get the Panasonic 25mm f1.4, but did not feel the need to dole out extra $$$ for the slightly larger aperture. Lastly, I did not purchase this from Olympus as their deals and promotions are not as attractive as some of the other retailers. I would have gladly submitted pictures to this review, but I am unsure if the website permits that in the review section.

March 26, 2014

SandiaKeith

The new 25mm f1.8 Lens is fantastic IMHO

Don't wait that long to purchase this lens.

This review is based on print enlargements from the lens, not pixel peeping. I have had produced 16x20 enlargements from this lens.

Contrast is nicely predominate. Sharpness is very good even at f1.8. Bokeh is very good, and pleasant blown up, looks natural.

Compared to the other brand f1.4 lens, worth every penny even though 2/3 stop less light. I'll be using this lens more after seeing stunning results.

I also have a 30mm lens for MFT. This lens takes pictures like a nifty fifty on a 35mm full frame camera. 30mm is a little tight. As far as I am concerned this lens is just right if you are looking for that field of view.

There are comparison review sites out there comparing the 2 lens leaders, and pretty much same lens, with a premium for 2/3 of a stop. This wins the prize for more affordability.

The pictures pop from this lens, just like the 45mm f1.8. I am fairly sure someone might just share this opinion.