View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

April 03, 2015

Martin

Outstanding

This is my first OM-D. And I've been longing for an OM-D since the E-M5 days, but never were able to get a hold on one, until past Christmas.
First impression is, that I should have saved my money and get an E-M5 years ago. This is no camera for the faint of heart. This is a serious photographic tool. I don't remember seeing that kind of customization options but on the highest and most expensive DSLRs from the top dogs, and even though, the options were not near as varied and extensive. In a word: Massive. There are at least 2 and sometimes more ways of doing things. And you can always store you top preferred options on a myset, and put it on a dial position, and voila. 4 cameras in one.
IBIS is out of this world. And we are talking about 3 axis IBIS. I can't imagine how 5 axis is nowadays.
I really love the vintage SLR look, the multiple dials, programmable function buttons, the included little pop up flash is a good addition, at least for filling up shadows, or triggering slave units. Manual flash control is outstanding. Live Bulb and Live Composite remember me my wet lab days, when I got hooked into Photography when I saw my first B&W print appearing in front of my eyes using a red light.
I should really write a fully fledged review in my blog, because I'm only scratching the surface here.
In short, very well done Olympus. You have a customer for life.
Looking forward for the E-M10 Mark II.

April 03, 2015

Nate

Love this Camera

Upgraded from a Canon 40D to the Olympus E-M10 and couldn't be happier. I was looking for a camera that was compact, fast AF system, interchangeable lens, and could take high quality images for my trip to Europe. The E-M10 fit the bill and I haven't used my Canon since.

Pros: Cons:
Built in EVF Battery Life
Built in Flash Video Quality
Fast AF (single shot) Tracking AF
Lenses available
Touch Screen Focus

April 03, 2015

Simon

Entry level camera that performs above it's price point

The camera feels solid, with metal bodywork. While the layout is nice enough for one handed operation, the grip doesn't provide enough support to comfortably grasp the camera. Another gripe is that the EVF is not as detailed as the LCD, and isn't as pleasant to shoot with.
The buttons are easily configured to accomplish any task under the sun. Truly, this puts it on a plane with much higher end cameras with many dedicated buttons. Once the camera is customized, it feels remarkably welcome in the hand. The image stabilization is also excellent, I can't ever imagine needing more than it can provide.

March 29, 2015

Tue

Great little camera

Bought this camera around 10 months ago, have not touch my canon dslr since.

March 28, 2015

Robert

Great camera!

"Upgraded" from a Nikon D300s to the Olympus E-M10 and couldn't be happier. Love the size, and the quality of the images is fantastic. The wi-fi feature alone has been a huge help to me -- I can transfer images to my phone, do a few quick edits, and email or text them on the spot.

The lens choices, along with Olympus refurb store deals, is quite extensive. I'm very happy to have made the choice to get this Olympus!

March 23, 2015

Jonathan

Great midrange camera

A great camera for people searching for a compact system that doesn't compromise in terms of image quality.
Good in body image stabilization, focus peaking and tilting screen mean you can get sharp photos while shooting from the hip, combined with its small size make it a great travel companion and great for photo-shy subjects.
A huge range of lenses with more being made constantly means a well rounded versatile system that can grow from a entry level set up to a rather serious bit of kit!
This is the camera that made me fall in love with photography!

January 19, 2015

ATZ138

Great Camera!

I bought the camera during the free lens promotion in Dec-2014. After using it a few times during the holidays, I found the camera takes very good quality photos. However, please make one improvement regarding to focus peaking.
Focus peaking can only be activated when turning the focus ring on a M43 lens. When using a manual focus lens with no electrical connection with the EM10, focus peaking is off. I tried my old Nikon F and Canon FD lens using Metabones adaptors and could not get the focus peaking to work. Please note that focus peaking is really needed when using the camera with manual lens.

On the other hand, I found focus peaking on Lumix GX7 works good with the above mentioned Nikon & Canon lens. Once turned on, focus peaking works with any lens mounted on the Panasonic camera.

I really like the Olympus camera. Please try to improve the focus peaking by firmware updates. Thanks.

----
NOTE FROM OLYMPUS SUPPORT:

The E-M10 is able to use the focus peaking function using any legacy manual focus lens. The only difference is that since there is not communication between the lens and the camera, there is no way for the camera to do this automatically using non Micro 4/3 lenses. Therefore, it is possible to manually activate this function using a function button operation. For assistance, please refer to page 98 of the E-M10's manual.

----
NOTE FROM REVIEWER:
After the instructions from Olympus Technical Support team, I was able to activate focus peaking by assigning Fn1 button to "PEAKING" setting. I can now use focus peaking with my Nikon F and Canon FD lenses.
I feel improvement could be made in the operating manual to provide more explanations about using EM10 with manual focus lenses as it is one of the reasons people choose M43 format.

January 08, 2015

John

FIRST CLASS CAMERA

I was somewhat hesitant to get into the four thirds system, having shot primarily with Canon DSLR's and 35mm film cameras for years. I decided to give the E-M10 a try, since it was the least expensive way to get into the Olympus system. I'm truly glad that I did, because the image quality is nothing short of fantastic, and the lighter weight and greater portability are proving to be a bonus. I'm thoroughly pleased so far, and hope to add an OM-D E-M1 body and additional lenses in the not too distant future. What others have said about the menu system is true; it's complex. The upside is that lots of capability is packed into it, and it's easily learned by spending time with the camera. I have no complaints about the E-M10, and highly recommend it.

January 01, 2015

Joel P

Daylight Good Night Time Bad

I was hoping to lighten my burden by carrying a light weight camera that could preform under many conditions. I shoot everything from weddings to landscapes, sports to portraits. I have been using the E-M10 now for about a month and it has certainly performed well on field trips and a recent vacation to Aruba. Last night brought to a NYE party and was very disappointed with it;s performance. Low light focusing was a major problem. After last nights experience I can't feel confident about using it a primary camera at a wedding. I might need to continue the trails. I'm happy with the image quality and the many features for shooting during the day. I will use it for shooting beach scenes and as a backup.

November 29, 2014

AdamadamADAM

Love this Camera

This is the third Olympus I have owned. By far this list the best. Photo quality is amazing as well as the speed. The "art" setting is also a nice touch. No complaints at all.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5