July 24, 2014

James

Wonderful Camera

I bought this as an "upgrade" / replacement for my E-620. I did a little research on it (read the full review at www.dpreview.com). There are not any Olympus Dealers near me, but given how much I enjoyed my E-620, I didn't have any doubts or misgivings about buying "sight unseen" and direct from Olympus. I decided to save a little money and purchased a refurbished model; aside from the packing (clearly marked "refurbished"), you'd never know that this camera was previously used.

I've been using it for over a month and I'm quite impressed with
1) the quality of the images,
2) the speed of the autofocus,
3) the Wi-Fi connectivity/functionality,
4) how powerful it really is for such a small/light package,
5) the 8fps really blows my mind,
6) the amount of options available for bracketing.

I could go on and on but I'll just say "buy one; you won't be disappointed". This little camera is definitely on the cutting edge of technological innovation, but then again, Olympus has always been 3-4 years ahead of the "competition" when it come to new tech. I also purchased the M.Zuiko ED 14-150 lens at the same time; I'll review it as well (I love it, too.)

July 12, 2014

Manny

Excellent travel camera

I purchased the Silver version. What I love about this camera are:
- It looks stunning. Looks retro yet handles well.
- Build quality is excellent. Usage of metal gives this camera class and personality.
- When I use it with my 14mm f2.5 lens, it is so small and portable.
- I purchased the kit + an M.75-300mm II lens. This setup results in excellent reach.
- The twin dials and the GUI makes usage of camera in field easy.
- The kit lens produces excellent images wide open at all apertures.
- Get either the M.40-150mm R or M.75-300mm II lens and you have a setup covering most situations. And it won't break your back as the setup is still pretty light.
- Later perhaps consider adding a prime such as a 14mm lens as it will make a good street or general photography in a really compact package.

Some tips I would recommend:
- Although this camera has 3 axis, when using with the 75-300mm II lens, at the 300mm end, I found I get more keepers using either a tripod.
- When using with the 75-300mm II, at the 300mm end, in not so ideal condition which we will likely see when doing birding, it is better to use Single AF as otherwise sometimes the camera will stay out of focus and won't AF. Moving to Single Shot AF took care of this issue.
- Carry a spare battery as you don't want to stop enjoying your photo shoot.

What can I say, for the money, this camera is a steal. It is a beautiful product producing beautiful pictures.

May 15, 2014

Federico

Incredible camera

Like the previous reviewer I'm coming from the DSLR world and I was fed up with carrying heavy gear all the time. I pretty much concur with all his statements.

My mirrorless search took me to the OM-D's and the Fuji X cameras. I bought both and tested them out at home. The best way to put it is: OM-D E-M10 is a Ferrari and the the Fuji XE2 I bought is an SUV. Fuji's are awesome cameras with incredible IQ, but opted for the Olympus as it was smaller, felt really solid and the IQ was incredible for the size. It just handles so well. It made photography fun again. And it is super customizable.

I've only had it for 2 weeks and I can say that the IQ is DSLR standards (if not better). With the 17/1.8 prime the camera is very small and discrete. You don't feel like a tourist walking around. And plus with such fast primes you can shoot easily at ISO 200 even indoors with decent light thanks to the great in camera image stabilizer.

The menu is actually very simple to me. The only thing that I'm yet to figure out (and it will probably just require watching a youtube vide for a few minutes) is how to set up the MySets options. But other than that if you know about photography and cameras, and how to use all the options of a camera the menu is a breeze. Having said that, for a true beginner it may be a little complicated; but not because the menu is any harder than other camera manufacturers...it will be "complicated" because if you don't know what all the functions are, you would have no clue how to set it up. But you can always just shoot in fully auto mode and you'll still get amazing pics.
Get the camera and go shoot! It will make photography fun again and it won't hurt your back.

May 07, 2014

Mitch

Fabulous Camera

Coming from a DSLR I really didn't know what to expect from the smaller sensor of the E-M10. Not only are the images equal to, they are better in many regards. Everyone mentioned the complex menu system with its sometimes confusing layout. On the contrary, I find the menu system very intuitive and a pleasure to use. The customization possibilities are very handy as well. The camera is well made, easy to hold with the add-on grip just a pleasure. I like that the two knobs make it easy to change settings comfortably with one finger. The touch screen is so user friendly. The ability to press the ok button to toggle between screens is very helpful as well. I am so pleased with the Olympus OM-D E-M10 that I can highly recommend it.

April 27, 2014

Rob

Great Step Up from Point and Shoot

I've gone full circle from 35mm film SLR's, to early digital adopter, to point and shoot and phone cameras. I missed the functionality and capability of SLR's, but didn't miss the size. I've had this camera since it first became available, and it meets every one of my requirements, all in a small portable package. Battery life can leave a little to be desired when used all day, and lenses can be expensive. But if you're looking to go back to SLR's or thinking of trying one out for the first time, this is a great way camera. Plus it's easy for my wife to use on iAuto.

April 24, 2014

Scott

Excellent Camera

This camera is great for street photography! It is smaller than I thought (a good thing) and has superb auto focus. The handling is good, it is packed with features, and it performs well. I can recommend this camera to anyone in the market for a new camera (mirrorless or not). You will be glad with your decision. It is that good.

April 21, 2014

Rob

Great, but could be even better

This is a very nice camera. An excellent mix of both easy to use features for pointing and shooting, combined with tools for the more expert photographer. I had given up on interchangeable lens cameras since I take photos mostly outdoors, and they were big, clumsy, expensive and often lacked useful features that point and shoots had. So it took some convincing me to come back to an ILS, and micro four thirds cameras seemed to be the ticket. So I plunged and got this.

It's nice and compact. I got it with the kit 14-42 II R zoom; I sorta wish I'd gotten the more advanced EZ lens instead, since it's smaller. But other than size it's very capable, and a good choice for all around photos.

The choice of lens is excellent. I got the 75-300mm zoom, and it's been nice for wildlife photography. It's also a good test of the stabilizer. Compared to the lens-based stabilization in my Panasonic superzoom I'd say it's a tiny bit less effective, but that may be me. In any case I'll take it, since camera-based stabilization opens up the choice of lenses available.

Controls are pretty easy to use, although the choices of options in live view on the monitor vs the EVF gets a bit confusing. One button to rotate through them all would have been easier.

The monitor is OK, although it doesn't articulate as much as some other cameras. And I'd like a cover on it, or a way to flip it over to protect the screen. The screen protrudes a tiny bit in the back, so when you lay it down on its back the screen gets scratched. Ouch. Very easy to do. Using it for touch-focus is a joy.

The wifi is nicely implemented. I like that you can do a one-off connection to somebody's cellphone, and that they can then view a photo from a browser. Not enough cameras do this, and for those of us who travel in areas with no wifi and no cell it's a great way to share.

The use of the camera via the smartphone app and wifi is fantastic. I'd love to see them expand this function even more. Other cameras I own allow a camera-phone connection over wifi by having both join an existing LAN; the E-M10 only does peer to peer as far as I can figure out. This would extend the range. They also need to make the camera connect to a regular computer, and not just a smartphone or tablet for tethered shooting.

Battery life is decent, although it will chew through it fast using wifi.

It's got a great set of manual and customizable controls. The rotating dials are very useful, and easy to operate. You can do an awful lot without ever having to look up from the EVF.

Not being familiar with the details of autofocus, I had heard that with a camera like this it wasn't as good. I'm not doing sports or low light photos, and I have seen an issue. But I came from optical focusing, so perhaps I'm not a good judge. But as I said the "tap screen to focus" feature is quickly becoming indispensable.

I also picked up the lens cap lens. Set the camera in auto and you've got a slightly fat smartphone camera with super image quality. Won't fit in a pocket, but it does make an awesome point and shoot.

Movie quality is frankly a bit poor in this camera. My lower end Panasonic actually does a better job, and does 1080p at 60fps. This doesn't. It'll get you by, but don't buy it for anything but still shots.

April 19, 2014

Steven

Fantastic Camera at a Reasonable Price

I'm a proficient beginner hoping to advance both my photographic knowledge and skills. The E-M10 was recommended to me by a professional photographer and turned out to be an excellent choice: Easy to begin with and easy to advance with; great built-in programmatic support and easy-to-learn menu structure; lightweight, even when a 4/3 telephoto mounted; amazing low-light capabilities; quiet and stealthy with the AF illuminator, focus beep and monitor turned off; and fun to experiment (play?) with!

April 07, 2014

Darrell Young

Amazingly small and powerful camera!

I am an E-M1 user myself. I bought the E-M10 for my wife. The camera is tiny, yet very capable. We come from a Nikon DSLR background and find the little OM-D cameras quite refreshing due to lack of weight and advanced features. The image quality is outstanding and surprising for the smaller 4/3 sensor size. I am a photography professional and my wife is not, yet either of us can pick up the tiny little E-M10 and make the camera do what we want. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment in using the E-M10 for an emergency commercial shoot if one of my Nikons failed. The camera is a delight to use, with all the features any enthusiast would want, all the controls a professional would need, and all the in-camera support a newbie would desire—all in one little camera body. Amazing!

March 31, 2014

R.B

Very good camera!!!!

Very good camera! Purchased just before trip to US, have some tricks to use, difficult menu, very solid and quality body, a bit heavier than my pocket camera, but compact as well to put to my purse. It is different from my Olympus SH-50 which i used last year for travel. E-M10 is very good in low light even with kit lens 14-42mm II R (or panasonic 14-42, which i used on a trip just because this lens more compact than Olympus kit lens). Looking forward to buy the 14-42 EZ pancake lens,and advise you to do so too. My own opinion, this camera shoots same quality pictures like an entry level DSLR cameras, but more smaller. And very go ahead from travel zooms and pocket compact with small sensor. A bad point, RAW no recognized yet on the mac computers, even with new update. Hope it will be fixed soon.

March 28, 2014

BRH72

Big things do come in a small package.

I have owned my OMD EM 10 for a little over a month. Still getting use to the touch screen and a lot of the features. I moved over from a Sony DSLR. I wanted to go smaller. This camera is defiantly smaller way smaller. Offers a lot of manual controls. I got the kit and added the 40-150. This camera has the fastest auto focus I have seen. So glad I took the micro four thirds plunge.