November 26, 2015


Best affordable interchangeable lens camera

I am an owner of the Olympus E-PM1, and I bought this camera as an upgrade. For the price, this is a wonderful camera with picture quality and functionality that can easily surpass entry level DSLRs. The body is somewhat small with insufficient thumb grip for someone with relatively large hands, however, the optional grip solved this issue for me. I wish Olympus made a dive housing for this camera, as third party housing are in excess of $1k.

October 28, 2015


Great camera !

Overall, a great camera. Lots of features. Numerous buttons, dials, and settings. I've used Olympus products for several years and all of them have worked well. Like this E-M10 so much I traded an E-520 for another E-M10 Mark 2 during the recent Olympus trade up promotion. Both cameras work great with excellent results. With the MMF-2 adapter, I'm able to use older four thirds lenses. So far, images are fantastic.

October 23, 2015


Awesome Camera

This is the second Olympus camera I've owned. I kept the first one for 15+ years and only upgraded because my husband thought I would enjoy a newer camera with newer features. While my first Olympus had nice features and functionality, I am truly amazed at all the unique functions and features of this camera. New functions for me on this camera include the photo story feature and WiFi capability. The new camera also has a much larger viewfinder than my first camera. The camera is very user friendly and easy to learn how it operates. Used the camera on a recent trip through Cades Cove in Tennessee. Was able to take pictures from a moving vehicle and have them come out clear and in focus because of the image stabilizer in the body of the camera. Am a true fan of Olympus products.

October 17, 2015


I had big expectations, maybe, that is why I'm disappointed

I'm far from an expert;..... but I has preparing for a wonderful time in Italy, when I realise I need a camera that makes almost all the job for me, specially videos, with no need for extra equipment. SO, when I saw the commercial- video about the AXIS that reduce "shake", with a 14-42 mm lent included, I was sure, I will have great time creating great memories. but my videos look as bad as before, even when I move slow. off course, I know I need more time to learning about the camera, like how to see the panorama-pictures in the moment, how to look the time-lapse video in the camera, how to take D3 pictures, ect.

September 28, 2015



I've only had the camera for a few days now, but am absolutely thrilled with the purchase. My previous camera was great too, but very large and heavy. This one is the perfect size and so light my neck is thanking you Olympus!

I'm still learning much of the functionality, but photo and video quality so far is amazing! The 3 axis image stabilization works great. It is exactly what I was looking for and I would highly recommend this camera to anyone in the market.

September 15, 2015



Love the small form factor. I 'upgraded' from my Nikon DSLR system - was on an old and bulky D200. The EM10 is great and feels great for its size. Way smaller form factor and nice handling. The dials are a bit sensitive so sometimes I ended up turning them when I didn't really want to. I may consider getting a grip for better support but otherwise I love the camera. Great image quality too. Glad I got one. Paired with a compact zoom or compact primes, this is an awesome camera to 'sneak' into places where you normally wouldn't ever be able to bring one in.

September 01, 2015


small and excellent

I purchased this as my first "real" camera for traveling and taking pictures on my trip. I am no means a photographer but this camera is very comparable to my friends nikons DSLRs, however is much lighter and portable. The learning curve isn't terrible and it has features I can grow into. The auto setting does well and adjusts light excellently. Battery life is good, though I got a spare just in case.

August 18, 2015


Love this Camera

This was originally going to be my basic travel camera since I was tired lugging my Canon 5D and the lenses around. I starting falling in love with this camera's size and stabilization works great. I have been impressed with the performance of this camera. As for action shooting its not its strong point but once you learn how to work with the camera more you can get some great shots from this camera. I would recommend renting olympus pro line lenses and you will really see how this little body performs. The only real negative is I wish this camera was weather sealed. But it has become on of my favorite camera's!

August 17, 2015


Best Camera I have owned!

I am still getting use to the camera and learning all the functions but the pictures that I get from this camera is nothing like I have seen before.

The depth and sharpness without editing in LS or another editing program is unbelievable. It's very rich. The scene and art modes are very nice to have! I love the size of the camera and it's much easier for when I'm hiking a long ways as it's lighter and takes up less space.

August 15, 2015


Olympus and I go way back

I've been kicking around getting a micro 4/3 camera for some time. But when the OM -D E10 when on sale with a free grip, I bought it!
One of my main reasons was I still have Zuiko lenses from my OM-1
Film days, and with an adapter I can use those lenses. The fact that I have to use them in a manual focus mode was of no concern because that's how I used the SLR in the first place. I like the small size, smooth operation of the dials, and it bears a resemblance to the OM-1. In addition I use Olympus XZ1 and XZ2 point & shoot camera's. The features that tipped the scales on buying the OM-D E-10 was the tilt screen, wi-fi, ability to tale SLR lenses using adapters, ergonomic placement of controls. I'm into astrophotography, so will use this small camera to photograph the night sky too.

July 29, 2015


Fantastic little Camera

The OM-D E-M10 is everything I wanted, and more. I was looking to get back into photography after several years without a camera. My last SLR was a Minolta X-700 film camera. What I didn't want in a new camera was anything that felt cheap or plastic. I am really impressed with the feel and build quality of this camera. It's styling is also retro, which I like. I am fast approaching 60 years old and learning the menu system is a bit daunting, but watching YouTube tutorials has helped me get past this quickly. The pictures are amazing. Makes me feel like I know how to take photos like a pro.

July 09, 2015


Camera too delicate.

The positive features of this camera are many and are chronicled in other reviews but I discovered to my chagrin that this camera is not very durable. After only a 3' drop, the screen chipped and the shutter broke. If you need a rugged camera, consider another model.
Another shortcoming of this camera is the ease with which dials can be turned and buttons pressed inadvertantly.

June 30, 2015


Excellent 2nd system camera

I have to start by stating that I love this camera. It is one of the funnest cameras that I have ever purchased. I purchased this camera to compliment my DSLR system, not to replace it. I currently shoot Canon but have in the past used Nikon and Pentax. I missed the in-body IS of the Pentax system so that was a must when making my decision. The design, feel and overall layout and controls of the camera is wonderful. It only took a couple of hours of taking pictures to understand how to set it up and use it most effectively. I love the focus peaking so I can now use some of my older pentax lenses that I held onto. Amazing pictures with crisp detail and spot on exposure 95% of the time. (that's a pretty good number in my opinion). The only small gripe I have is that in low Contrast situations or when similar colors are being shot, the contrast detect autofocus struggles and quite often miss focuses. I know at this price point we can't expect contrast detect "and" phase detect autofocus in this camera. But alas maybe my next purchase will be the OM1!!!

All in all I find myself leaving my DSLR at home and taking this camera and a few lenses in a much smaller bag.
And it is a very sexy Camera!!!!!!!

June 24, 2015


Great little camera

When I first got this camera, I was surprised at how little it was. I came from an older generation 12mp Micro 4/3 camera, and was happy to finally have In-body image stabilization. With my existing lenses, the images were instantly more sharp. The image processing of the newer Olympus models are best at stills, and the videos are good enough for the casual photographer. I felt like my money was well spent. I paired this with a 12-40mm f/2.8, and if you won't be doing professional work or need weather sealing, this model will be best.

The one gripe I have is that the lug that holds the straps are positioned in that they will get in the way of your index finger when you're trying to hit the shutter button. (Pay attention Olympus!) If the button was positioned further out, the ergonomics of this thing would be perfect.

June 20, 2015


Great little camera

I had switched from a Nikon DSLR and my neck has already thanked me multiple times. This camera is so much lighter with good durability so far - judging from the hikes it has been to - and image quality. I love some of the cool functions such as the touch focus that snaps a photo as soon as it is focused. That is so awesome!

I did experience issues with focusing up close though. I can focus it manually on the kit lens, but it won't auto focus on things that are within 2 or so feet even when the background is uniform and should not interfere with the object in focus.

June 08, 2015


Hurray for OM-D E-M10

It's my very first digital camera. (Other than iPhone)
Love the size, love the classic look!!!!!!!!!
It takes better photos than my skill level!!
Great camera!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It'll be great for traveling.
Compare to my Nikon F3 it weighs nothing.
Lends are light weight too.
The art filter is fun to play with.
I like it!!!

May 19, 2015


Focusing Issues

I really wanted to like this camera. While the build quality is excellent, there are too many quirks with the menu system and too many missed/out of focus pictures, especially indoor pictures. When it does focus, the pictures are beautiful. The hissing sound from the IBIS is irritating. Pictures are too noisy over ISO 3200 (1600 is about the limit for this sensor).

Video capability is hit or miss with the focusing often hunting.

May 14, 2015


Superb little camera – disappointing WiFi capability

Olympus has always prided itself on packing full-size features into small, well-built cameras, and the E-M10 appears to be no exception. It fulfills my need for a compact, versatile camera with excellent optics to take with me into the field, and its 16 megapixel image sensor is more than sufficient for my purposes.

The camera is well-built, with build quality on par with the OM-series film cameras I used for over 30 years, and the E-M10 is even more compact than my dear old OM-1n. The viewfinder and screen are fantastic—the tilting screen is great for low-level photos. Controls are well laid out and camera operation is easy as long as you take the time to familiarize yourself with the camera’s controls. Images appear crisp and autofocus is quick. Overall I am very pleased with the camera.

However, I find the WiFi capability disappointing. It appears you cannot connect the camera to your home network for uploading photos. (Personally, I think WiFi uploads would be a lot easier than playing with cables or pulling the memory card out of the camera and connecting it to a reader.)

You can connect the camera to a smartphone using a wireless LAN connection, and Olympus touts this as a way to remotely control the camera. But, it is dependent on the phone (some older phones do not support the feature) and on your data plan. (I was told by my provider that I would have to upgrade to a more expensive plan to use the feature.) It is also dependent on cell phone reception. If you are taking photos in an area with spotty or no cell phone reception the WiFi is useless.

Note from Olympus: The wi-fi is for use with only a mobile device using the designated Olympus app, OI Share. Your cell coverage or data plan would only limit your ability to send an image once imported to the phone via an application that uploads to a cloud, sends email, text, etc.

May 03, 2015


OM ED 10

As I have mentioned in my other reviews that I have been an Olympus
user since the early 1970s. My first OLY was an OM-1 and I have owner every OM SLRs that OLY made and my favorite was the OM-2s! I had that camera till 2006 and it was a dream!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now I have an E-500, an E-30, AN OM-D E-M10 and an E-PM-2.
Even though the E-500 is my fav camera due to the amazing Kodak sensor, I love using the new OM-D E-M10 since it is smaller and great for travel. The pics from this OLY camera are sensational-color-contrast-sharpness!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Also I am amazed at the clarity of the viewfinder- its so sharp and there is hardly any delay as you move the camera seen in may other DSLR brands with EVF design.

The size and quality is amazing and the lenses-even the kit lenses are so good!

this camera is great!

April 15, 2015


Pretty good small camera

On a whim, I bought a camera that I could hope to get into sporting events where "pro cameras" or "pro lenses" weren't allowed. Not too impressed with the tracking autofocus, single point seems to be more accurate. Image quality is pretty good (I own the 14-42mm, 45mm and 75-300mm). However, you have to keep the ISO down, as the higher ISOs , normally above 1600 are not the best quality. Its not going to replace my DSLR on paid shoots, but it met my expectations. I've never been turned around at a sporting event (crossing my fingers) out of 5 tries (fits in my pocket!). So I'm able to get shots at games, which is what I needed. I decided to get a 2.8 medium telephoto to keep the ISO reasonable...its in the mail. OH, I don't do much video, but shot a few of my kids...pretty good stabilization and quality.

April 14, 2015

Peter A.

Great Camera fun to use excellent pics.

I have a Stylus -1 which is a great little point and shoot and because I enjoyed it so much I purchased the E-M10 which I find a joy to use. I bought the E-M10 with the standard 14-42mm lens and found it to be fun to use and nicely customizable. I bought all 3 Sigma 2.8 DN primes to go with it as well as the Panasonic 45-275 zoom and a Rokinon 12mm f2.0. Next purchase will probably be the Olympus 25mm 1.9 or the 45mm 1.9 (probably both at some point). I now also own the E-M5 Mark II but I won’t be parting with my E-M10.

I have repurposed 2 of the Function buttons. One I converted to the magnification function – especially useful for manual focusing with my old tired eyes. The 2nd button I changed to the electronic zoom feature doubling the range of whatever lens is attached. The only drawback here is you can’t use the zoom magnification feature then go to the electronic zoom you have to shut off the camera and go back to it. You can go from electronic zoom to magnification however. Using the camera I put the Olympus grip on it right away because that is the feel I was looking for and it fits great in my hands. I normally have it set in Aperture Priority and large fine as my standard. I also wove a Para cord quick disconnect (on the Camera’s strap loop) that links to a para cord survival bracelet I made so it is a quick lock in and sets the camera up perfectly for 1 hand shooting. I put a second buckle on the opposite side and matching buckles on the neck strap so I can quickly shift to that carry option if I wish.

April 06, 2015


Outstanding camera

I'm thrilled I got this camera: it's small, beautiful, the image stabilization is game-changing, the image quality is wonderful. I bring it with me everywhere, and am capturing photos that I've never captured before. With the integrated Wi-Fi, I never use my smartphone camera anymore. Awesome.

April 05, 2015


Fantastic camera.

I decided to dive into the m4:3 ecosystem after my APSC Sony DSLR broke in the way back from vacation. I sold off all my 2 fast zoom lenses and flashes. My main reason for choosing the m4:3 system was it's smaller form factor, value, and quality.

The EM-10 is a phenomenal camera. Build quality, control, button customization, and photo quality all exceeded my expectations. It's fun to shoot, easy to travel with, and is easily one of the best cameras for the dollar.

I am disappointed with the noise levels at ISO 1600 and up. It produces the same amount of noise that my old a35 did at ISO 800 and that's on a much older camera. By no means is it a deal breaker, but if you mainly shoot RAW then make sure you have a good noise removal tool.

I did consider looking at the lineup at Fuji but I found the cost of their lens lineup to be to expensive where as Olympus seems to have some if the best glass at extremely competitive prices.

I would buy this camera again in a heartbeat especially direct from Olympus. I live in Canada and we don't have a lot of choices to buy from. I snagged the body with the a lens for an unbeatable price.

One last thing, unless you have very small hands make sure to buy the grip. I have long fingers and without the grip there isn't enough camera to hang onto comfortably.

April 04, 2015


A fine, small camera

It's a back-up to my incomparable E-M1 but it bows to no one. Very small, light and flexible it is a great travel and vacation body that can lift heavy weight when it needs to do so. Is a leftover E-M5 a better deal? Probably, but, they are hard to find and dwindling fast. This is a very capable little machine.

April 03, 2015

Luis Silva

Great for travel

This was my first camera and I'm loving it! Great for travel because of the size of the body and lenses.

April 03, 2015


Excellent Camera for a Wide Range of Needs

This little camera has everything! I mean, everything: EVF, tilting LCD screen, 3-axis IS, great m43 sensor, two control dials in addition to the mode dial, built-in flash, built-in WiFi, great styling, and solid build quality. I cannot ask for more from a camera in this size.

The handling is exceptional. Its ergonomics easily allow one-handed operation, and its 3-axis IS helps getting sharp photos even when casually handled. The menu takes some time to get used to, but the super control panel on the LCD satisfies 90% of my needs. The dynamic range is superb and I can easily pop colors out of something that looks like a blob of shadow.

Overall, this camera is ideal for a wide range of photographers, from beginners to pros, and I am looking forward to purchasing more lenses from Olympus to maximize its full potential.

April 03, 2015



This is my first OM-D. And I've been longing for an OM-D since the E-M5 days, but never were able to get a hold on one, until past Christmas.
First impression is, that I should have saved my money and get an E-M5 years ago. This is no camera for the faint of heart. This is a serious photographic tool. I don't remember seeing that kind of customization options but on the highest and most expensive DSLRs from the top dogs, and even though, the options were not near as varied and extensive. In a word: Massive. There are at least 2 and sometimes more ways of doing things. And you can always store you top preferred options on a myset, and put it on a dial position, and voila. 4 cameras in one.
IBIS is out of this world. And we are talking about 3 axis IBIS. I can't imagine how 5 axis is nowadays.
I really love the vintage SLR look, the multiple dials, programmable function buttons, the included little pop up flash is a good addition, at least for filling up shadows, or triggering slave units. Manual flash control is outstanding. Live Bulb and Live Composite remember me my wet lab days, when I got hooked into Photography when I saw my first B&W print appearing in front of my eyes using a red light.
I should really write a fully fledged review in my blog, because I'm only scratching the surface here.
In short, very well done Olympus. You have a customer for life.
Looking forward for the E-M10 Mark II.

April 03, 2015


Love this Camera

Upgraded from a Canon 40D to the Olympus E-M10 and couldn't be happier. I was looking for a camera that was compact, fast AF system, interchangeable lens, and could take high quality images for my trip to Europe. The E-M10 fit the bill and I haven't used my Canon since.

Pros: Cons:
Built in EVF Battery Life
Built in Flash Video Quality
Fast AF (single shot) Tracking AF
Lenses available
Touch Screen Focus

April 03, 2015


Entry level camera that performs above it's price point

The camera feels solid, with metal bodywork. While the layout is nice enough for one handed operation, the grip doesn't provide enough support to comfortably grasp the camera. Another gripe is that the EVF is not as detailed as the LCD, and isn't as pleasant to shoot with.
The buttons are easily configured to accomplish any task under the sun. Truly, this puts it on a plane with much higher end cameras with many dedicated buttons. Once the camera is customized, it feels remarkably welcome in the hand. The image stabilization is also excellent, I can't ever imagine needing more than it can provide.

March 29, 2015


Great little camera

Bought this camera around 10 months ago, have not touch my canon dslr since.

March 28, 2015


Great camera!

"Upgraded" from a Nikon D300s to the Olympus E-M10 and couldn't be happier. Love the size, and the quality of the images is fantastic. The wi-fi feature alone has been a huge help to me -- I can transfer images to my phone, do a few quick edits, and email or text them on the spot.

The lens choices, along with Olympus refurb store deals, is quite extensive. I'm very happy to have made the choice to get this Olympus!

March 23, 2015


Great midrange camera

A great camera for people searching for a compact system that doesn't compromise in terms of image quality.
Good in body image stabilization, focus peaking and tilting screen mean you can get sharp photos while shooting from the hip, combined with its small size make it a great travel companion and great for photo-shy subjects.
A huge range of lenses with more being made constantly means a well rounded versatile system that can grow from a entry level set up to a rather serious bit of kit!
This is the camera that made me fall in love with photography!

January 19, 2015


Great Camera!

I bought the camera during the free lens promotion in Dec-2014. After using it a few times during the holidays, I found the camera takes very good quality photos. However, please make one improvement regarding to focus peaking.
Focus peaking can only be activated when turning the focus ring on a M43 lens. When using a manual focus lens with no electrical connection with the EM10, focus peaking is off. I tried my old Nikon F and Canon FD lens using Metabones adaptors and could not get the focus peaking to work. Please note that focus peaking is really needed when using the camera with manual lens.

On the other hand, I found focus peaking on Lumix GX7 works good with the above mentioned Nikon & Canon lens. Once turned on, focus peaking works with any lens mounted on the Panasonic camera.

I really like the Olympus camera. Please try to improve the focus peaking by firmware updates. Thanks.


The E-M10 is able to use the focus peaking function using any legacy manual focus lens. The only difference is that since there is not communication between the lens and the camera, there is no way for the camera to do this automatically using non Micro 4/3 lenses. Therefore, it is possible to manually activate this function using a function button operation. For assistance, please refer to page 98 of the E-M10's manual.

After the instructions from Olympus Technical Support team, I was able to activate focus peaking by assigning Fn1 button to "PEAKING" setting. I can now use focus peaking with my Nikon F and Canon FD lenses.
I feel improvement could be made in the operating manual to provide more explanations about using EM10 with manual focus lenses as it is one of the reasons people choose M43 format.

January 08, 2015



I was somewhat hesitant to get into the four thirds system, having shot primarily with Canon DSLR's and 35mm film cameras for years. I decided to give the E-M10 a try, since it was the least expensive way to get into the Olympus system. I'm truly glad that I did, because the image quality is nothing short of fantastic, and the lighter weight and greater portability are proving to be a bonus. I'm thoroughly pleased so far, and hope to add an OM-D E-M1 body and additional lenses in the not too distant future. What others have said about the menu system is true; it's complex. The upside is that lots of capability is packed into it, and it's easily learned by spending time with the camera. I have no complaints about the E-M10, and highly recommend it.

January 01, 2015

Joel P

Daylight Good Night Time Bad

I was hoping to lighten my burden by carrying a light weight camera that could preform under many conditions. I shoot everything from weddings to landscapes, sports to portraits. I have been using the E-M10 now for about a month and it has certainly performed well on field trips and a recent vacation to Aruba. Last night brought to a NYE party and was very disappointed with it;s performance. Low light focusing was a major problem. After last nights experience I can't feel confident about using it a primary camera at a wedding. I might need to continue the trails. I'm happy with the image quality and the many features for shooting during the day. I will use it for shooting beach scenes and as a backup.

November 29, 2014


Love this Camera

This is the third Olympus I have owned. By far this list the best. Photo quality is amazing as well as the speed. The "art" setting is also a nice touch. No complaints at all.

October 19, 2014


Great camera but...

Great little camera for daily shooting and it is especially good for travel. But check your WiFi function when you get it. One of mine has dead wifi as does that of a friend who has 2 days of use on his.

September 20, 2014



The clock was ticking on my DSLR set up and I was ready to dive head first into the micro 4/3's pool. After reading many reviews I decided that the E-M10 was the way to go.I traded in my Nikon D7100 and Nikon lenses and have begun to build my new micro 4/3's set up. Combining parts of the E-M1 and E-M5 along with some new features I felt that the conclusion would be perfect. I am so pleased with Olympus on this one, it may fall 3rd in line on the OM-D scale of cameras but it really takes a backseat to no one. The image quality is fantastic and size and weight distribution is wonderful. In my opinion the entire OM-D line of cameras are fantastic just pick the one that suits your needs and you won't go wrong. Currently using the 14-42mm kit lens ( not your average kit lens ) and the results are spectacular, can't wait to add some of those very fast primes to my collection.

September 13, 2014


Excellent Product

I wanted to consolidate from 2 cameras (DSLR for general use and a quality point-and-shoot for street photography) down to 1. I'm an amateur, and today's cameras are sufficiently complex that I really only want to learn one cold rather than 2. But weight, flexibility, raw, and easy to use full manual operation are musts for me.

The E-M10 fit the bill and is available at an attractive price. I read many VERY positive reviews which convinced me that technology was now so good that the 4/3 sensor size isn't a problem. I've only had it for 2 weeks, and initial results are excellent.

One minor caveat for raw shooters. My post processing software is several years old and doesn't handle the Olympus raw file format. I get around that by using the Olympus Viewer 3 software packaged with the camera to convert raw to lossless tiff-xif format and import that. Works fine for me, but if you need the fastest workflow, make sure your post processing software handles the Olympus raw format.

September 13, 2014


Great little camera

Got tired of schlepping my E500 & 300 zoom. The EM10 is so small & lightweight, it's easy to take with anywhere.
What I'm disappointed in is:
- No lens hood included for 14-42 II R or the 75>300 zoom
- No printed full manual included - the little manual included is useless - it's merely an excerpt & even refers to pages that aren't there. OM1, OM2, E500 - all came with lens hoods and printed full manuals. Even the XA came with a manual.
Now I have to go online & buy these items - very annoying & easily another $50+ for items that cost pennies to manufacture.

September 12, 2014


Great camera

Since buying this camera, I have used it with the 14-42mm EZ zoom and the 45mm F/1.8. It has been used in a variety of conditions for different types of photography and has met or exceeded my expectations. It is especially nice to have a decent built-in flash that allows me to shoot pet portraits across the room. The dual control dials are also a big plus. The camera is obviously built with quality and takes great pictures. I have ordered the add-on grip because I have large hands.

September 12, 2014


Channeling the Feel of the OM-1n

I have owned OM system 35mm cameras and an assortment of Zuiko lenses since 1977, so it was perhaps inevitable that I would look to the characteristics that so endear me to them--compact size, ergonomics, durability, and unparalleled quality--when entering digital photography. My initial foray with Olympus digital cameras proved hugely disappointing when the E-PL-1 I bought in 2011 died from internal corrosion after just three years. I am counting on my new E-M10 to reinstill my faith in Olympus cameras.

It is still too early for me to comment on all of the features of the E-M10, but my initial impressions are very positive. Image quality is exceptional, viewfinder and screen are clear and bright, and output in micro 4/3 is more than adequate for my needs. It has the same heft and feel of my beloved OM-1n. Controls are well placed and intuitively located. Features may be accessed in multiple ways, allowing the user to choose whatever method works best for him or her.

In short, it certainly looks and feels the part; only time will tell whether it can live up to the vaunted reputation that the OM 35mm system earned for durability.

One minor quibble: this camera should have a paper manual delivered with it. Yes, the PDF is comprehensive, but it's far easier to read a bound paper copy with the camera in hand than to attempt to do so on screen.

I am counting on this camera to make up for the design and build failures of the E-PL-1 it is replacing. If it is anywhere near as reliable as my 37-year-old OM-1n bodies and Zuiko lenses have been, I will be a very happy man.

September 07, 2014


The OM-D E-M10 in real life

I have had the camera for about three weeks now and used it almost every day outdoor and indoor with consistently excellent results. While my brain has no doubt, my gut is still trying to come to terms with how capable and fun to use this little thing is. The E-M10 has a reassuring, solid feel and fits nicely in my average size male hands. I never hit controls by mistake which is surprising given its diminutive size. Even if not top of the line, the EVF is highly usable. I am used to the glory of large SLR prism finders but having all the main camera settings visible in the EVF is VERY convenient. I seldom compose with the LCD but the E-M10's is bright and sharp and its tilting capability comes very handy when my eye can't get to the EVF. The complexity of the menu system is real but it's due to the amazing amount of customization offered by the camera. I read the manual, identified all the controls (fixed and programmable), and set things up just right for my kind of shooting. Now I can change all the important settings without moving my eye away from the EVF. Focusing is quick and overall camera responsiveness is great. Negatives are all minor: flimsy battery/card door, I/O rubber cover, and still missing AC adapter.

In conclusion, the E-M10 is a great little camera with a vast choice of excellent lenses that competently helps me turn my vision into exhibition-quality, poster-size prints within a wide range of ISO values. I just ordered a second body and am selling my APS-C system to purchase a number of Olympus pro quality lenses. If portability, IQ and customization are your priorities, there is little else out there that can match the E-M10.

August 31, 2014


Little Powerhouse

I bought this as a second body to my Olympus E-M1 and have had so much fun playing with this camera. It's small, fast, and most importantly powerful! When I pull this camera out people are always curious about it and then when they see the images blown away by the quality. Would highly recommend this camera as your first step into photography, second body, or even your main body - you won't be disappointed.

August 31, 2014


Great all around Camera!

Honestly a wonderful camera from P&S to all Manual Capabilities! I was very impressed with the improvements over my older PEN E-PL2. Much better picture & video quality, as good as and even better than the larger DSLR. Low light "Big" improvement too. For the price and features, you will absolutely love it!. I checked stores and online reviews for a few months, I wish I didn't wait so long. Still playing around with the features, my family has been very impressed with the overall quality. I wish they kept the thumb dial like the PEN, but the Wi-Fi, touch screen, & EVF make up for it.

August 12, 2014


Excellent camera for the recreational photographer

Camera is very easy to use. The buttons are a little small for these fat fingers. I took the camera to the San Diego Zoo. It performed very well. The auto focus was fast, and accurate for the most part. Occasionally, it would focus on the wrong thing i.e. the fence separating the viewer from the animal. I shot a short video of the Secretary Bird (uploaded to YouTube) and the auto-focus kept the bird in focus as it moved around the enclosure.

July 24, 2014


Wonderful Camera

I bought this as an "upgrade" / replacement for my E-620. I did a little research on it (read the full review at There are not any Olympus Dealers near me, but given how much I enjoyed my E-620, I didn't have any doubts or misgivings about buying "sight unseen" and direct from Olympus. I decided to save a little money and purchased a refurbished model; aside from the packing (clearly marked "refurbished"), you'd never know that this camera was previously used.

I've been using it for over a month and I'm quite impressed with
1) the quality of the images,
2) the speed of the autofocus,
3) the Wi-Fi connectivity/functionality,
4) how powerful it really is for such a small/light package,
5) the 8fps really blows my mind,
6) the amount of options available for bracketing.

I could go on and on but I'll just say "buy one; you won't be disappointed". This little camera is definitely on the cutting edge of technological innovation, but then again, Olympus has always been 3-4 years ahead of the "competition" when it come to new tech. I also purchased the M.Zuiko ED 14-150 lens at the same time; I'll review it as well (I love it, too.)

July 12, 2014


Excellent travel camera

I purchased the Silver version. What I love about this camera are:
- It looks stunning. Looks retro yet handles well.
- Build quality is excellent. Usage of metal gives this camera class and personality.
- When I use it with my 14mm f2.5 lens, it is so small and portable.
- I purchased the kit + an M.75-300mm II lens. This setup results in excellent reach.
- The twin dials and the GUI makes usage of camera in field easy.
- The kit lens produces excellent images wide open at all apertures.
- Get either the M.40-150mm R or M.75-300mm II lens and you have a setup covering most situations. And it won't break your back as the setup is still pretty light.
- Later perhaps consider adding a prime such as a 14mm lens as it will make a good street or general photography in a really compact package.

Some tips I would recommend:
- Although this camera has 3 axis, when using with the 75-300mm II lens, at the 300mm end, I found I get more keepers using either a tripod.
- When using with the 75-300mm II, at the 300mm end, in not so ideal condition which we will likely see when doing birding, it is better to use Single AF as otherwise sometimes the camera will stay out of focus and won't AF. Moving to Single Shot AF took care of this issue.
- Carry a spare battery as you don't want to stop enjoying your photo shoot.

What can I say, for the money, this camera is a steal. It is a beautiful product producing beautiful pictures.

May 15, 2014


Incredible camera

Like the previous reviewer I'm coming from the DSLR world and I was fed up with carrying heavy gear all the time. I pretty much concur with all his statements.

My mirrorless search took me to the OM-D's and the Fuji X cameras. I bought both and tested them out at home. The best way to put it is: OM-D E-M10 is a Ferrari and the the Fuji XE2 I bought is an SUV. Fuji's are awesome cameras with incredible IQ, but opted for the Olympus as it was smaller, felt really solid and the IQ was incredible for the size. It just handles so well. It made photography fun again. And it is super customizable.

I've only had it for 2 weeks and I can say that the IQ is DSLR standards (if not better). With the 17/1.8 prime the camera is very small and discrete. You don't feel like a tourist walking around. And plus with such fast primes you can shoot easily at ISO 200 even indoors with decent light thanks to the great in camera image stabilizer.

The menu is actually very simple to me. The only thing that I'm yet to figure out (and it will probably just require watching a youtube vide for a few minutes) is how to set up the MySets options. But other than that if you know about photography and cameras, and how to use all the options of a camera the menu is a breeze. Having said that, for a true beginner it may be a little complicated; but not because the menu is any harder than other camera will be "complicated" because if you don't know what all the functions are, you would have no clue how to set it up. But you can always just shoot in fully auto mode and you'll still get amazing pics.
Get the camera and go shoot! It will make photography fun again and it won't hurt your back.

May 07, 2014


Fabulous Camera

Coming from a DSLR I really didn't know what to expect from the smaller sensor of the E-M10. Not only are the images equal to, they are better in many regards. Everyone mentioned the complex menu system with its sometimes confusing layout. On the contrary, I find the menu system very intuitive and a pleasure to use. The customization possibilities are very handy as well. The camera is well made, easy to hold with the add-on grip just a pleasure. I like that the two knobs make it easy to change settings comfortably with one finger. The touch screen is so user friendly. The ability to press the ok button to toggle between screens is very helpful as well. I am so pleased with the Olympus OM-D E-M10 that I can highly recommend it.

April 27, 2014


Great Step Up from Point and Shoot

I've gone full circle from 35mm film SLR's, to early digital adopter, to point and shoot and phone cameras. I missed the functionality and capability of SLR's, but didn't miss the size. I've had this camera since it first became available, and it meets every one of my requirements, all in a small portable package. Battery life can leave a little to be desired when used all day, and lenses can be expensive. But if you're looking to go back to SLR's or thinking of trying one out for the first time, this is a great way camera. Plus it's easy for my wife to use on iAuto.

April 24, 2014


Excellent Camera

This camera is great for street photography! It is smaller than I thought (a good thing) and has superb auto focus. The handling is good, it is packed with features, and it performs well. I can recommend this camera to anyone in the market for a new camera (mirrorless or not). You will be glad with your decision. It is that good.

April 21, 2014


Great, but could be even better

This is a very nice camera. An excellent mix of both easy to use features for pointing and shooting, combined with tools for the more expert photographer. I had given up on interchangeable lens cameras since I take photos mostly outdoors, and they were big, clumsy, expensive and often lacked useful features that point and shoots had. So it took some convincing me to come back to an ILS, and micro four thirds cameras seemed to be the ticket. So I plunged and got this.

It's nice and compact. I got it with the kit 14-42 II R zoom; I sorta wish I'd gotten the more advanced EZ lens instead, since it's smaller. But other than size it's very capable, and a good choice for all around photos.

The choice of lens is excellent. I got the 75-300mm zoom, and it's been nice for wildlife photography. It's also a good test of the stabilizer. Compared to the lens-based stabilization in my Panasonic superzoom I'd say it's a tiny bit less effective, but that may be me. In any case I'll take it, since camera-based stabilization opens up the choice of lenses available.

Controls are pretty easy to use, although the choices of options in live view on the monitor vs the EVF gets a bit confusing. One button to rotate through them all would have been easier.

The monitor is OK, although it doesn't articulate as much as some other cameras. And I'd like a cover on it, or a way to flip it over to protect the screen. The screen protrudes a tiny bit in the back, so when you lay it down on its back the screen gets scratched. Ouch. Very easy to do. Using it for touch-focus is a joy.

The wifi is nicely implemented. I like that you can do a one-off connection to somebody's cellphone, and that they can then view a photo from a browser. Not enough cameras do this, and for those of us who travel in areas with no wifi and no cell it's a great way to share.

The use of the camera via the smartphone app and wifi is fantastic. I'd love to see them expand this function even more. Other cameras I own allow a camera-phone connection over wifi by having both join an existing LAN; the E-M10 only does peer to peer as far as I can figure out. This would extend the range. They also need to make the camera connect to a regular computer, and not just a smartphone or tablet for tethered shooting.

Battery life is decent, although it will chew through it fast using wifi.

It's got a great set of manual and customizable controls. The rotating dials are very useful, and easy to operate. You can do an awful lot without ever having to look up from the EVF.

Not being familiar with the details of autofocus, I had heard that with a camera like this it wasn't as good. I'm not doing sports or low light photos, and I have seen an issue. But I came from optical focusing, so perhaps I'm not a good judge. But as I said the "tap screen to focus" feature is quickly becoming indispensable.

I also picked up the lens cap lens. Set the camera in auto and you've got a slightly fat smartphone camera with super image quality. Won't fit in a pocket, but it does make an awesome point and shoot.

Movie quality is frankly a bit poor in this camera. My lower end Panasonic actually does a better job, and does 1080p at 60fps. This doesn't. It'll get you by, but don't buy it for anything but still shots.

April 19, 2014


Fantastic Camera at a Reasonable Price

I'm a proficient beginner hoping to advance both my photographic knowledge and skills. The E-M10 was recommended to me by a professional photographer and turned out to be an excellent choice: Easy to begin with and easy to advance with; great built-in programmatic support and easy-to-learn menu structure; lightweight, even when a 4/3 telephoto mounted; amazing low-light capabilities; quiet and stealthy with the AF illuminator, focus beep and monitor turned off; and fun to experiment (play?) with!

April 07, 2014

Darrell Young

Amazingly small and powerful camera!

I am an E-M1 user myself. I bought the E-M10 for my wife. The camera is tiny, yet very capable. We come from a Nikon DSLR background and find the little OM-D cameras quite refreshing due to lack of weight and advanced features. The image quality is outstanding and surprising for the smaller 4/3 sensor size. I am a photography professional and my wife is not, yet either of us can pick up the tiny little E-M10 and make the camera do what we want. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment in using the E-M10 for an emergency commercial shoot if one of my Nikons failed. The camera is a delight to use, with all the features any enthusiast would want, all the controls a professional would need, and all the in-camera support a newbie would desire—all in one little camera body. Amazing!

March 31, 2014


Very good camera!!!!

Very good camera! Purchased just before trip to US, have some tricks to use, difficult menu, very solid and quality body, a bit heavier than my pocket camera, but compact as well to put to my purse. It is different from my Olympus SH-50 which i used last year for travel. E-M10 is very good in low light even with kit lens 14-42mm II R (or panasonic 14-42, which i used on a trip just because this lens more compact than Olympus kit lens). Looking forward to buy the 14-42 EZ pancake lens,and advise you to do so too. My own opinion, this camera shoots same quality pictures like an entry level DSLR cameras, but more smaller. And very go ahead from travel zooms and pocket compact with small sensor. A bad point, RAW no recognized yet on the mac computers, even with new update. Hope it will be fixed soon.

March 28, 2014


Big things do come in a small package.

I have owned my OMD EM 10 for a little over a month. Still getting use to the touch screen and a lot of the features. I moved over from a Sony DSLR. I wanted to go smaller. This camera is defiantly smaller way smaller. Offers a lot of manual controls. I got the kit and added the 40-150. This camera has the fastest auto focus I have seen. So glad I took the micro four thirds plunge.