October 19, 2014

Tim

Great camera but...

Great little camera for daily shooting and it is especially good for travel. But check your WiFi function when you get it. One of mine has dead wifi as does that of a friend who has 2 days of use on his.

September 20, 2014

Bob

Perfect...

The clock was ticking on my DSLR set up and I was ready to dive head first into the micro 4/3's pool. After reading many reviews I decided that the E-M10 was the way to go.I traded in my Nikon D7100 and Nikon lenses and have begun to build my new micro 4/3's set up. Combining parts of the E-M1 and E-M5 along with some new features I felt that the conclusion would be perfect. I am so pleased with Olympus on this one, it may fall 3rd in line on the OM-D scale of cameras but it really takes a backseat to no one. The image quality is fantastic and size and weight distribution is wonderful. In my opinion the entire OM-D line of cameras are fantastic just pick the one that suits your needs and you won't go wrong. Currently using the 14-42mm kit lens ( not your average kit lens ) and the results are spectacular, can't wait to add some of those very fast primes to my collection.

September 13, 2014

Charles

Excellent Product

I wanted to consolidate from 2 cameras (DSLR for general use and a quality point-and-shoot for street photography) down to 1. I'm an amateur, and today's cameras are sufficiently complex that I really only want to learn one cold rather than 2. But weight, flexibility, raw, and easy to use full manual operation are musts for me.

The E-M10 fit the bill and is available at an attractive price. I read many VERY positive reviews which convinced me that technology was now so good that the 4/3 sensor size isn't a problem. I've only had it for 2 weeks, and initial results are excellent.

One minor caveat for raw shooters. My post processing software is several years old and doesn't handle the Olympus raw file format. I get around that by using the Olympus Viewer 3 software packaged with the camera to convert raw to lossless tiff-xif format and import that. Works fine for me, but if you need the fastest workflow, make sure your post processing software handles the Olympus raw format.

September 13, 2014

Linda

Great little camera

Got tired of schlepping my E500 & 300 zoom. The EM10 is so small & lightweight, it's easy to take with anywhere.
What I'm disappointed in is:
- No lens hood included for 14-42 II R or the 75>300 zoom
- No printed full manual included - the little manual included is useless - it's merely an excerpt & even refers to pages that aren't there. OM1, OM2, E500 - all came with lens hoods and printed full manuals. Even the XA came with a manual.
Now I have to go online & buy these items - very annoying & easily another $50+ for items that cost pennies to manufacture.

September 12, 2014

Richard

Great camera

Since buying this camera, I have used it with the 14-42mm EZ zoom and the 45mm F/1.8. It has been used in a variety of conditions for different types of photography and has met or exceeded my expectations. It is especially nice to have a decent built-in flash that allows me to shoot pet portraits across the room. The dual control dials are also a big plus. The camera is obviously built with quality and takes great pictures. I have ordered the add-on grip because I have large hands.

September 12, 2014

Steve

Channeling the Feel of the OM-1n

I have owned OM system 35mm cameras and an assortment of Zuiko lenses since 1977, so it was perhaps inevitable that I would look to the characteristics that so endear me to them--compact size, ergonomics, durability, and unparalleled quality--when entering digital photography. My initial foray with Olympus digital cameras proved hugely disappointing when the E-PL-1 I bought in 2011 died from internal corrosion after just three years. I am counting on my new E-M10 to reinstill my faith in Olympus cameras.

It is still too early for me to comment on all of the features of the E-M10, but my initial impressions are very positive. Image quality is exceptional, viewfinder and screen are clear and bright, and output in micro 4/3 is more than adequate for my needs. It has the same heft and feel of my beloved OM-1n. Controls are well placed and intuitively located. Features may be accessed in multiple ways, allowing the user to choose whatever method works best for him or her.

In short, it certainly looks and feels the part; only time will tell whether it can live up to the vaunted reputation that the OM 35mm system earned for durability.

One minor quibble: this camera should have a paper manual delivered with it. Yes, the PDF is comprehensive, but it's far easier to read a bound paper copy with the camera in hand than to attempt to do so on screen.

I am counting on this camera to make up for the design and build failures of the E-PL-1 it is replacing. If it is anywhere near as reliable as my 37-year-old OM-1n bodies and Zuiko lenses have been, I will be a very happy man.

September 07, 2014

showmeyourpics

The OM-D E-M10 in real life

I have had the camera for about three weeks now and used it almost every day outdoor and indoor with consistently excellent results. While my brain has no doubt, my gut is still trying to come to terms with how capable and fun to use this little thing is. The E-M10 has a reassuring, solid feel and fits nicely in my average size male hands. I never hit controls by mistake which is surprising given its diminutive size. Even if not top of the line, the EVF is highly usable. I am used to the glory of large SLR prism finders but having all the main camera settings visible in the EVF is VERY convenient. I seldom compose with the LCD but the E-M10's is bright and sharp and its tilting capability comes very handy when my eye can't get to the EVF. The complexity of the menu system is real but it's due to the amazing amount of customization offered by the camera. I read the manual, identified all the controls (fixed and programmable), and set things up just right for my kind of shooting. Now I can change all the important settings without moving my eye away from the EVF. Focusing is quick and overall camera responsiveness is great. Negatives are all minor: flimsy battery/card door, I/O rubber cover, and still missing AC adapter.

In conclusion, the E-M10 is a great little camera with a vast choice of excellent lenses that competently helps me turn my vision into exhibition-quality, poster-size prints within a wide range of ISO values. I just ordered a second body and am selling my APS-C system to purchase a number of Olympus pro quality lenses. If portability, IQ and customization are your priorities, there is little else out there that can match the E-M10.

August 31, 2014

Reba

Little Powerhouse

I bought this as a second body to my Olympus E-M1 and have had so much fun playing with this camera. It's small, fast, and most importantly powerful! When I pull this camera out people are always curious about it and then when they see the images blown away by the quality. Would highly recommend this camera as your first step into photography, second body, or even your main body - you won't be disappointed.

August 31, 2014

Marc

Great all around Camera!

Honestly a wonderful camera from P&S to all Manual Capabilities! I was very impressed with the improvements over my older PEN E-PL2. Much better picture & video quality, as good as and even better than the larger DSLR. Low light "Big" improvement too. For the price and features, you will absolutely love it!. I checked stores and online reviews for a few months, I wish I didn't wait so long. Still playing around with the features, my family has been very impressed with the overall quality. I wish they kept the thumb dial like the PEN, but the Wi-Fi, touch screen, & EVF make up for it.

August 12, 2014

Anthony

Excellent camera for the recreational photographer

Camera is very easy to use. The buttons are a little small for these fat fingers. I took the camera to the San Diego Zoo. It performed very well. The auto focus was fast, and accurate for the most part. Occasionally, it would focus on the wrong thing i.e. the fence separating the viewer from the animal. I shot a short video of the Secretary Bird (uploaded to YouTube) and the auto-focus kept the bird in focus as it moved around the enclosure.

July 24, 2014

James

Wonderful Camera

I bought this as an "upgrade" / replacement for my E-620. I did a little research on it (read the full review at www.dpreview.com). There are not any Olympus Dealers near me, but given how much I enjoyed my E-620, I didn't have any doubts or misgivings about buying "sight unseen" and direct from Olympus. I decided to save a little money and purchased a refurbished model; aside from the packing (clearly marked "refurbished"), you'd never know that this camera was previously used.

I've been using it for over a month and I'm quite impressed with
1) the quality of the images,
2) the speed of the autofocus,
3) the Wi-Fi connectivity/functionality,
4) how powerful it really is for such a small/light package,
5) the 8fps really blows my mind,
6) the amount of options available for bracketing.

I could go on and on but I'll just say "buy one; you won't be disappointed". This little camera is definitely on the cutting edge of technological innovation, but then again, Olympus has always been 3-4 years ahead of the "competition" when it come to new tech. I also purchased the M.Zuiko ED 14-150 lens at the same time; I'll review it as well (I love it, too.)

July 12, 2014

Manny

Excellent travel camera

I purchased the Silver version. What I love about this camera are:
- It looks stunning. Looks retro yet handles well.
- Build quality is excellent. Usage of metal gives this camera class and personality.
- When I use it with my 14mm f2.5 lens, it is so small and portable.
- I purchased the kit + an M.75-300mm II lens. This setup results in excellent reach.
- The twin dials and the GUI makes usage of camera in field easy.
- The kit lens produces excellent images wide open at all apertures.
- Get either the M.40-150mm R or M.75-300mm II lens and you have a setup covering most situations. And it won't break your back as the setup is still pretty light.
- Later perhaps consider adding a prime such as a 14mm lens as it will make a good street or general photography in a really compact package.

Some tips I would recommend:
- Although this camera has 3 axis, when using with the 75-300mm II lens, at the 300mm end, I found I get more keepers using either a tripod.
- When using with the 75-300mm II, at the 300mm end, in not so ideal condition which we will likely see when doing birding, it is better to use Single AF as otherwise sometimes the camera will stay out of focus and won't AF. Moving to Single Shot AF took care of this issue.
- Carry a spare battery as you don't want to stop enjoying your photo shoot.

What can I say, for the money, this camera is a steal. It is a beautiful product producing beautiful pictures.

May 15, 2014

Federico

Incredible camera

Like the previous reviewer I'm coming from the DSLR world and I was fed up with carrying heavy gear all the time. I pretty much concur with all his statements.

My mirrorless search took me to the OM-D's and the Fuji X cameras. I bought both and tested them out at home. The best way to put it is: OM-D E-M10 is a Ferrari and the the Fuji XE2 I bought is an SUV. Fuji's are awesome cameras with incredible IQ, but opted for the Olympus as it was smaller, felt really solid and the IQ was incredible for the size. It just handles so well. It made photography fun again. And it is super customizable.

I've only had it for 2 weeks and I can say that the IQ is DSLR standards (if not better). With the 17/1.8 prime the camera is very small and discrete. You don't feel like a tourist walking around. And plus with such fast primes you can shoot easily at ISO 200 even indoors with decent light thanks to the great in camera image stabilizer.

The menu is actually very simple to me. The only thing that I'm yet to figure out (and it will probably just require watching a youtube vide for a few minutes) is how to set up the MySets options. But other than that if you know about photography and cameras, and how to use all the options of a camera the menu is a breeze. Having said that, for a true beginner it may be a little complicated; but not because the menu is any harder than other camera manufacturers...it will be "complicated" because if you don't know what all the functions are, you would have no clue how to set it up. But you can always just shoot in fully auto mode and you'll still get amazing pics.
Get the camera and go shoot! It will make photography fun again and it won't hurt your back.

May 07, 2014

Mitch

Fabulous Camera

Coming from a DSLR I really didn't know what to expect from the smaller sensor of the E-M10. Not only are the images equal to, they are better in many regards. Everyone mentioned the complex menu system with its sometimes confusing layout. On the contrary, I find the menu system very intuitive and a pleasure to use. The customization possibilities are very handy as well. The camera is well made, easy to hold with the add-on grip just a pleasure. I like that the two knobs make it easy to change settings comfortably with one finger. The touch screen is so user friendly. The ability to press the ok button to toggle between screens is very helpful as well. I am so pleased with the Olympus OM-D E-M10 that I can highly recommend it.

April 27, 2014

Rob

Great Step Up from Point and Shoot

I've gone full circle from 35mm film SLR's, to early digital adopter, to point and shoot and phone cameras. I missed the functionality and capability of SLR's, but didn't miss the size. I've had this camera since it first became available, and it meets every one of my requirements, all in a small portable package. Battery life can leave a little to be desired when used all day, and lenses can be expensive. But if you're looking to go back to SLR's or thinking of trying one out for the first time, this is a great way camera. Plus it's easy for my wife to use on iAuto.

April 24, 2014

Scott

Excellent Camera

This camera is great for street photography! It is smaller than I thought (a good thing) and has superb auto focus. The handling is good, it is packed with features, and it performs well. I can recommend this camera to anyone in the market for a new camera (mirrorless or not). You will be glad with your decision. It is that good.

April 21, 2014

Rob

Great, but could be even better

This is a very nice camera. An excellent mix of both easy to use features for pointing and shooting, combined with tools for the more expert photographer. I had given up on interchangeable lens cameras since I take photos mostly outdoors, and they were big, clumsy, expensive and often lacked useful features that point and shoots had. So it took some convincing me to come back to an ILS, and micro four thirds cameras seemed to be the ticket. So I plunged and got this.

It's nice and compact. I got it with the kit 14-42 II R zoom; I sorta wish I'd gotten the more advanced EZ lens instead, since it's smaller. But other than size it's very capable, and a good choice for all around photos.

The choice of lens is excellent. I got the 75-300mm zoom, and it's been nice for wildlife photography. It's also a good test of the stabilizer. Compared to the lens-based stabilization in my Panasonic superzoom I'd say it's a tiny bit less effective, but that may be me. In any case I'll take it, since camera-based stabilization opens up the choice of lenses available.

Controls are pretty easy to use, although the choices of options in live view on the monitor vs the EVF gets a bit confusing. One button to rotate through them all would have been easier.

The monitor is OK, although it doesn't articulate as much as some other cameras. And I'd like a cover on it, or a way to flip it over to protect the screen. The screen protrudes a tiny bit in the back, so when you lay it down on its back the screen gets scratched. Ouch. Very easy to do. Using it for touch-focus is a joy.

The wifi is nicely implemented. I like that you can do a one-off connection to somebody's cellphone, and that they can then view a photo from a browser. Not enough cameras do this, and for those of us who travel in areas with no wifi and no cell it's a great way to share.

The use of the camera via the smartphone app and wifi is fantastic. I'd love to see them expand this function even more. Other cameras I own allow a camera-phone connection over wifi by having both join an existing LAN; the E-M10 only does peer to peer as far as I can figure out. This would extend the range. They also need to make the camera connect to a regular computer, and not just a smartphone or tablet for tethered shooting.

Battery life is decent, although it will chew through it fast using wifi.

It's got a great set of manual and customizable controls. The rotating dials are very useful, and easy to operate. You can do an awful lot without ever having to look up from the EVF.

Not being familiar with the details of autofocus, I had heard that with a camera like this it wasn't as good. I'm not doing sports or low light photos, and I have seen an issue. But I came from optical focusing, so perhaps I'm not a good judge. But as I said the "tap screen to focus" feature is quickly becoming indispensable.

I also picked up the lens cap lens. Set the camera in auto and you've got a slightly fat smartphone camera with super image quality. Won't fit in a pocket, but it does make an awesome point and shoot.

Movie quality is frankly a bit poor in this camera. My lower end Panasonic actually does a better job, and does 1080p at 60fps. This doesn't. It'll get you by, but don't buy it for anything but still shots.

April 19, 2014

Steven

Fantastic Camera at a Reasonable Price

I'm a proficient beginner hoping to advance both my photographic knowledge and skills. The E-M10 was recommended to me by a professional photographer and turned out to be an excellent choice: Easy to begin with and easy to advance with; great built-in programmatic support and easy-to-learn menu structure; lightweight, even when a 4/3 telephoto mounted; amazing low-light capabilities; quiet and stealthy with the AF illuminator, focus beep and monitor turned off; and fun to experiment (play?) with!

April 07, 2014

Darrell Young

Amazingly small and powerful camera!

I am an E-M1 user myself. I bought the E-M10 for my wife. The camera is tiny, yet very capable. We come from a Nikon DSLR background and find the little OM-D cameras quite refreshing due to lack of weight and advanced features. The image quality is outstanding and surprising for the smaller 4/3 sensor size. I am a photography professional and my wife is not, yet either of us can pick up the tiny little E-M10 and make the camera do what we want. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment in using the E-M10 for an emergency commercial shoot if one of my Nikons failed. The camera is a delight to use, with all the features any enthusiast would want, all the controls a professional would need, and all the in-camera support a newbie would desire—all in one little camera body. Amazing!

March 31, 2014

R.B

Very good camera!!!!

Very good camera! Purchased just before trip to US, have some tricks to use, difficult menu, very solid and quality body, a bit heavier than my pocket camera, but compact as well to put to my purse. It is different from my Olympus SH-50 which i used last year for travel. E-M10 is very good in low light even with kit lens 14-42mm II R (or panasonic 14-42, which i used on a trip just because this lens more compact than Olympus kit lens). Looking forward to buy the 14-42 EZ pancake lens,and advise you to do so too. My own opinion, this camera shoots same quality pictures like an entry level DSLR cameras, but more smaller. And very go ahead from travel zooms and pocket compact with small sensor. A bad point, RAW no recognized yet on the mac computers, even with new update. Hope it will be fixed soon.

March 28, 2014

BRH72

Big things do come in a small package.

I have owned my OMD EM 10 for a little over a month. Still getting use to the touch screen and a lot of the features. I moved over from a Sony DSLR. I wanted to go smaller. This camera is defiantly smaller way smaller. Offers a lot of manual controls. I got the kit and added the 40-150. This camera has the fastest auto focus I have seen. So glad I took the micro four thirds plunge.