June 29, 2014

Daniel F

Perfect

I am extremely impressed with the TG-850. I took many shots of the same scene experimenting with all the modes and features before going on vacation. The results were outstanding. I purchased the TG-850 as an upgrade from the TG-310 (which is also a phenomenal camera) because there are more functions with the TG-850, specifically continuous shooting. Again, outstanding photos and movies, taken from the sky, on land, and below water. I really appreciate how fast the camera is ready to shoot when turning it on. Battery life is also impressive. I snapped off well over 300 shots, which included on's/off's and photo reviews with one charge. I Love this camera.

June 22, 2014

Crash

YOU WANT IT INDESTRUCTIBLE? YOU GOT IT.

For me - it was less about quality picture taking. More about durability and a wide angle lens. I film squash with it one day, then go out a take some pretty good quality surfing video. I've dropped it more times then I can count since I bought it, and not a dent nor a scratch on it. LOVE THE INFLATABLE WRIST THINGY, that keeps it afloat. Great durability, one of the best wide lens on the market for a compact. Ain't no DSLR quality, but I love it.

June 21, 2014

Charlene

Best Camera ever

I just got this camera for a trip to Los Cabos, in Baja California, and it was great not one single problem with this great camera. We went from pool water to the Ocean and had not one thing go wrong with this camera . We also had it under the blazing Cabo sun and then back in the salt water again and under the sea with some of the best pictures ever. I was able to download all of my wonderful pictures of family and fish without a problem. I love this little camera and will be taking it on my next adventure.

June 16, 2014

Jason

Perfect performance!

I bought this for my daughter's college graduation present. Olympus fulfilled the order right away. The 16MP photos are amazing. Optional 8MP photos are as well. This cameras first mission was to a 2 week vacation in China, where, the upcoming event were unknown. It went from sea level at 100 degrees F, and under water, to above the snow line on the mountains. Flawless performance! So easy and compact, it is perfect. The whole trip was captured and recorded for the family to view!

June 13, 2014

William D

Good camera except for the excessive noise reduction.

Sadly the noise reduction is so aggressive it ruins the quality of the image. Colour rendition is good. The wide angle "21 mm" lens is very good.
If you are a pixel peeper you will be disappointed. If you just want snapshots this may be a good choice.

June 11, 2014

madre

Dissappointed

This is my 2nd Olympus Tough camera, I am replacing the 1030. I was so excited to use the camera on a recent cruise, however I was quickly dissappointed when taking pictures at dinner and all the shots were blurry and dark. The pictures we took during the day were washed out and you couldn't see the blue sky and water behind us. I'm hoping there was just a problem with the camera that was sent to me becuase I love the Tough carmeras. I'm going to try a different model and hope for better results. I did love the flip screen, it made taking pictures fun and easy.

June 08, 2014

David

Seek other options.

While the picture quality is fine the reason for buying this camera was for the waterproof capability and the tough build. Problem is, it is virtually impossible to see the display in the water or in the sunlight outdoors. We took about a thousand (blind pictures) in Belize while snorkeling. We could only make out the general surroundings unless the sun was completely hidden, making the zoom virtually impossible to use effectively. I've owned several digital cameras and have never had this severe of an issue with the display. A substantial bummer at $250.00 not to mention the inability to use the camera based on how it is marketed. Will probably ignore Olympus products in the future if this is not addressed.

May 17, 2014

Nortrees

So Far So Good

I have had several Olympus Tough cameras and all have been great. I have used underwater many times and have gotten great photos of sea turtles and sea lions. I like the idea of the flip screen as there have been times I have taken photos of fish under water while I am holding the camera underwater. Since I couldn't see the screen using previous Tough cameras I like the idea of the flip so I can put the camera underwater and see what is going on.

May 05, 2014

Jessica

Feature removed since 830. I am returning it.

The camera is fine. It's a bit heavy but that helps it feel solid. Picture quality is good. Flip screen is novel. My problem is you can NOT take stills while capturing video anymore. This feature was available on the TG-830 and I'm disappointed it has been removed from this newer version. You can capture lesser quality stills after the fact but I know I won't bother doing that as it is time consuming. I am returning the camera because this feature is missing. My camera hunt starts again...

April 30, 2014

Sean

Great Camera

Living in the Marshall Islands I always have to worry about rain, and now I don't have worry about taking my camera. I even take it surfing with me. Thanks!

April 28, 2014

Dan M.

Olympus Cameras stand up to the test

This is my second Olympus waterproof camera. I've had it for about two weeks and its worked great so far. I'm a bit nervous about the flip screen on the TG-850 and don't really see the need for it. However the few hundred photos and short videos I have taken with it so far, have been flawless. The quality of both the photos and videos are very good. I have a time share in Florida that we go to every year. I bought this camera while I was there as my Olympus stylus 790sw suddenly stopped working while taking photos of my family in the water.

Now the 790sw is about 7-8 years old and I've taken thousands of photos with it in fresh and salt water. I watched the LCD go out on it. Later that night I pulled the card and battery and found water on them. I thought 7 years of dry and wet photography was a great run. This is why I stayed with Olympus.

I want to add that as I write this I was looking over my 790sw. Remember the screen that died due to water seeping in? I'm happy to report that after letting it sit; amazingly the camera seems to be working (in a dry state or course) like it was before. I plan to look into getting the seals changed out and maybe handing it on to a family member now that I have a new one.

Bottom line is that I will always have Olympus as my waterproof camera.

April 16, 2014

profgjay

Outstanding Underwater and Vacation Camera

We just returned from a ten day sail and snorkel trip to the Virgin Islands. The TG 850 was released just days before we left, and I bought it trusting to the initial pre-reviews. And I'm glad I did. This little gem worked flawlessly in the water and on land, snapping some 1700 pics and videos over the course of the trip. The quality of the fish and coral shots taken while snorkeling was terrific, and surpassed only by the impressive videos I also came home with and that are now wowing my friends on Facebook. Daytime shots of sailing, hiking, beachcombing, and town touring all came out well too, though performance in low-light at night was predictably poor. You're also not going to count on this little baby for clear zoom pictures of birds and other wildlife. The operating system is excellent, and the scene settings for underwater photography easy to access and very accurate. Highly recommended.

April 07, 2014

michael

Great little camera that has the fastest shot to shot time.

This little snapper is the fastest shot to shot you can find. I don't ever have to worry about dropping it or falling into water. Wide angle is great and clean clear photos. I have not missed shot of my 5 year old. So glad I waited for this camera and you can do selfies.