View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 6
  6. 7
  7. 8

October 30, 2013

Richard

Truly a five-star camera

I've been using my E-M1 for a few days now and can say that it's an excellent upgrade from my E-3. I've been lucky to acquire many of the High Grade 4/3rds lenses so to have such a solid, well laid out, easy to carry, configurable camera with fantastic image quality that focuses those lenses well is just what I needed. It hasn't taken long to appreciate that even though there's a significant difference in size from the E-3, it doesn't matter. I don't even care it's an EVF - it's so good. The ZD 9-18, 11-22, 12-60 and even the 50-200 all handle very well indeed on my new camera. I'm really impressed with what Olympus have created and to offer the MMF-3 for free, which I obviously needed, was the right thing to do. I'm looking forward to many more years using my excellent 4/3rds lenses and being able to add some m4/3rds too!

October 30, 2013

Reba

Powerful Tool

The EM-1 is a powerful tool for the photographer who does not want to sacrifice quality but does not want to carry a heavy gear bag. The perfect combination of power, size, and function.
With the EM-1 you see a nice speed boost from the wonderful EM-5. With the added buttons and features there is a learning curve but it's not huge. I love the programable buttons so this camera will work exactly how I want it to.
Check out this powerhouse and be amazed!

October 25, 2013

Russell

Incredible Camera

When I first opened the box with the camera in it I thought, "Uh-oh, maybe this was a mistake..." The camera seemed really small (even though it's about the same size as my E-620), but the reviews so far have been great . Then I thought ,
"Maybe I'm just jumping to conclusions"...and I was. After testing the camera for only a couple of days, the pictures have been coming out better than I could have ever imagined!

I bought the lens adapter for the 4/3 lenses and have been surprised by the speed of the auto focus on the E-M1. I've really enjoyed using my 50 mm f2 macro lens and the camera seems to bring new life to all the other lenses as well. If you plan on using 4/3 lenses on the E-M1, I do suggest getting the battery grip; it makes the camera more balanced with the larger lenses.

Even though I know the menu system on the camera really well (thanks to using Olympus cameras in the past), there's still a lot to learn about all the great new features in the E-M1 and that makes it more inspiring and fun to use.

While I've heard that a number of people basically "jumped ship" on Olympus because of the 4/3 system being dropped, I'm happy to have stayed aboard for the entire trip. Thank you Olympus for a camera that takes both 4/3 and micro 4/3 lenses!

Now after I receive the new 12-40 pro lens, I'm going to have to watch my spending. The Zuiko lenses are addicting!

October 16, 2013

Bob

An Amazing photographic tool

This is my 1st m4:3 camera. I have a large collection of 4:3 lenses and I waited for this camera because Olympus says it will properly focus the 4:3 lenses. It does a decent job of that.

However I realize that in order to get the full benefit of the camera, I will likely buy a few m4:3 lenses as well.

Most amazing thing is the ergonomics. Amazing how such a small camera is so very comfortable in my hand. Everything seems to be exactly where it should be.

The viewfinder is astonishing! I alway reviled EVFs, but this one is different. Using it, I forget it's not an optical finder. I hate to admit this, but I actually LIKE it!

Image quality is excellent...including ISO ranges up to 3200, with 6,400 being perfectly useable. Something I'm not used to.

It has so many features, it would take too much space to cover all of them. It's a complicated little camera and it will take a while to master it. But it's also easy to use.

This camera IS the future of photography. It is to photography what hybrid technology is to the automobile.

Get one, you'll LOVE it!

October 14, 2013

Chi

Best Mirrorless camera hands down!

I come from a long line of using full frame DSLRs. Currently using Nikon D4 and the D800 with every pro lens under the sun for when I want the highest resolve power but I must say, this EM1 (body vs body) gives even the best a run for their money.

Comparatively, the body is so cheap for what you get. What I mean is that for the features packed into the EM-1, I am used to spending 5-7 thousand USD for body and add-on dongles and BS like that to get the same type of features. Not with the EM-1, it is all inside the tiny little body! Just to list a few of the major key features:
5axis stabilization which nobody has, built in wifi where u can use to remotely gain full control and trigger the camera with a smartphone. No low pass filter improving resolve power! Touch screen controls and the EVF is beautiful! Focus is blazing fast. Built like a tank! I could literally go on and on.
One other exciting fact to note is that the m4/3 lineup of lenses is already plentiful to choose from, BUT Olympus is one upping everybody by engineering the new 12-40mm 2.8 lens and from what I hear, a slew of pro level lenses like this are on the way! It shall shortly become a fully complete system leaving you with wanting nothing more!
I would highly recommend this camera to anyone pro or beginner because it is SO bang for your buck even if you don't know it, you'll be glad the features are already in this camera as you grow with it!

October 12, 2013

Carl

A great replacement for the E-5

I am a professional shooting mostly in a studio along with location and some sports work. I have owned every professional Olympus camera since the E-10. I was very content with the E-5 but since I shoot over 40,000 images per year I knew I was ready for a replacement soon. I was hesitant to think Olympus was going to replace the E-5 with a mirrorless camera and wasn't sure I was going to stay on with Olympus but I have quite a bit invested in Olympus SHG lenses and frankly just love them. After reading quite a bit regarding the new E-M1 I purchased it and am so far delighted. I really don't mind the smaller size as it actually works quite well with my current lenses. Actually, while I have not made a side by side test, I think the E-M1 focuses faster with the 14-35mm than on my E-5. The image quality is great especially in low light. I would rarely use anything above 800 ISO but I am confident shooting 2500 ISO and perhaps above. The battery grip I feel is necessary for the larger lenses like the 14-35mm although I always shoot my 35-100mm on a tripod so I feel with this lens it is a non issue. I have to say there is so much this camera can do and thankfully the menu and super control panel are laid out in a similar way that it was easy for me to figure it out. I am also thankful that Olympus has provided the camera with a variety of options for buttons and dials. There are more options than I can use! As well, I like the electronic viewfinder. I didn't know how I would like it but with use it has proved itself to be a great asset. I can now judge exposure through the viewfinder. Really, so far, no complaints. I'm just happy I can continue to use my SHG lenses, the best lenses made.

October 12, 2013

Dean

Excellent Camera

Really enjoying this camera. Right of the box it felt good. Tried my 14 to 35 f2 with the mm3 adapter and this camera focused faster and nailed the focus point. Image sharpness better than any of my previous olympus cameras. Now I really love this lens.
Camera has to many features to mention, but the most important is the images look great and the camera works flawlessly.
Thanks Olympus

October 08, 2013

Richard

Fantastic New Camera

This is a fantastic camera. It produces sharp pictures that are as sharp as any DSLR available. The many features make this a very too ease camera with lots of flexibility, and its weight and ease of use make it a pleasure to use. This is the first Olympus camera I have owned, but it was easy to pick up and use without an instruction manual. I decided to preorder it after taking it on a test drive at Mike's Camera. The Olympus representative handed each one of us a camera and lens and said go try it for 2 hours in downtown Denver. Two Mike's employees went along with us to provide any needed help. This was the first time I had ever shot an Olympus camera, and I had no problems. After checking out the pictures at home for image quality, I preordered the camera. After only 3 days of shooting with the new camera, I am convinced I did the right thing in buying the camera. I would recommend this camera for anyone avid enthusiast or professional photographer and anyone who wants a camera they can grow into.

October 08, 2013

decia d.

wireless remote control

No wireless remote control on the E-M5, and also NO wireless remote control on the new E-M1, you guys forgot that us, photographer do a LOT of selfportrait, and selftimer is no good to do this job :(
Hope the next one could have wireless remote control.

October 08, 2013

Baron Dave

Steep learning curve, but worth it (I hope)

Warning: The OM-D E-M1 is not for the feint of heart. It takes excellent photos when it does what I expect, which isn't all the time. The controls have a steep learning curve, which I haven't climbed yet. I'm going to give it five stars on the assumption that I'll climb that mountain.

Pros:
• Takes great photos, if you know what you're doing.
• Battery let's you take at least 300 photos per charge, even with some flash.
• Fast shutter delay; very responsive (even if you don't want it to be).
• Can change settings on the fly quickly, if you know what you're doing.
• Six-hour sleep; you don't have to turn the camera off most of the time.
• iPad/Smartphone app works pretty well via WiFi, if you know what you're doing
• Olympus tech support is excellent.
• Lightweight and strong, even with a lens attached, with an easy grip.
• LED screen is very good and shows a greed deal of information.
• Viewfinder is excellent.

Cons
• Pricey.
• Steep learning curve. Even on "auto" you have to know a little about the controls.
• Buttons are so sensitive that you can easily change settings or take unwanted photos.
• Included added flash is only okay.
• Lens designed to be bundled with this camera isn't out as of this writing (10/8/13) and will be pricey.


I've had the camera for a week, and have taken several hundred photos (look for me on Facebook), so feel I can comment, from a mid-level user's perspective. Most cameras I've owned have powerful controls, but if you just want to set it to "Auto" and take pics, a beginner can do it. Not so this camera.

The default settings for the OMD1 (how I tend to refer to it) are for the high-end user… with some odd exceptions. The arrow buttons change the focus. This is incredibly annoying, given how sensitive the buttons are, and if you don't pay attention the focus point will be waaaay off very easily. You can change how the arrow buttons work, but that reduces a great deal of the ease of the Live Screen controls. There is no command to lock the focus. Meanwhile, the default for the lever is "off". If you want to use the AF or HDR buttons to change the flash settings, you have to go into the menus and turn on the lever.

Most of the menu commands and settings have at least three ways of accessing them. This is good, as you'll probably want to turn off one or two. If you set it up right, one button gets you access to flash settings, HDR exposures, etc. The front and back dials give you control of two aspects on one screen. The touch screen commands take a delicate touch, but work well. I haven't even played with the function buttons yet.

The upside to the very sensitive controls: Almost no shutter delay. The OMD1 is very responsive. This is not always a good thing, if you happen to hit a button at the wrong time or chose the wrong setting by mistake. A little care is required.

Turning on the camera wakes it up quickly, but you don't even have to do that; "sleep"k kicks in after a minute (by default) and lasts 6 hours, so merely touching a button wakes it up. The battery has to handle a lot, but so far each charge has lasted over 300 shots. Haven't tried energy draining aspects like HDR combinations or RAW.

The manual is very good, and Olympus tech support is excellent (1-800-201-7766 press 1 (maybe))).

The viewfinder is great, though I usually use Live View.

Every now and then, the camera does something odd (such as take a photo for 2 seconds) that I didn't set up and don't quite understand why. I'm assuming that all will become clear in the fullness of time.

L SF (Large/Super Fine) .jpg compression puts it at resolution of 350 and smaller height x width, which means I have to massage the files in Photoshop more than I want to, even for simple Facebook uploads. This is the setting that gives the most info this side of RAW (according to tech support) and so what I, in theory, want. The extra steps in Photoshop are worth the results.

When the camera is doing what I expect, the images are excellent. Massaged in PS, they come out very nice. Sharp and clean.

The focusing works spectacularly well. I'm not sure how the AE works. It seems to be about a quarter f-stop off, at least for the people's faces when the background is lighter. I hope to figure out how to highlight the faces better.

WiFi connection via app to my iPad works, but is also non-intuitive. The app is brand new, just released, an update of a previous Olympus app. The connection, which should be simple, is handled strangely: The "Connection to Smartphone" is in a different menu than the settings for wifi connection, and you can't get out of the wifi screen when it's on. You either use the camera manually OR connect via WiFi. You have to change some settings on the iPad to connect and to allow access to the files on the camera.

So: final word, for now: An exceptionally good camera that takes great photos… when the symbiosis between photographer and equipment is complete. I do not yet grok the OMD1. I am going to give it five stars because the small camera takes great pictures. But please, note all the caveats.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 6
  6. 7
  7. 8