View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

December 18, 2013

Tom

Awesome camera

This is my first digital camera after working with film. It is beyond belief a fantastic camera. Wonderful to handle, built like a tank and extremely flexible. Expect a bit of a learning curve, even if you are fully experienced in photography. After a few weeks it all becomes second nature. To my eye, the image quality is better than 35mm film IMO. For what I do, I do not see any benefits in going full frame as the quality is fine by me.

December 17, 2013

Raymond

Great Camera!!

I have been using SLR and DSLR for quit some time but still a novice. I value equipment for performance and auesthetics (personal taste). I am not particularly wedded to any brand. I use to own the OM1 back in the 70s? followed with a Canon EOS 650 (film). I currently have Canon T1i, Nikon 1 J1, Canon 6D, EOS M and various compacts that have since died. I have to admit I love the features of my 6D specially the low light capabilities. I have several lenses for the 6D already but not too heavily invested. I am starting to get more involved with photography as a hobby. I've been surfing the internet and happened to read several reviews of the E5 then saw reveiws of the improved E1. I finally decided to take the plunge and try it out. One of the main reasons for taking the step towards the E1 was the size and weight of the 6D. Lugging the 6D with 24-105mm or 70-300mm was a real chore. I've had the E1 for several weeks and had to re-adjust to it's controls and menu system. It not a simple task plus there is very little help from existing literature to describe what all the different features do. But I am getting the hang of it and I believe it is much simpler to use than the 6D once one becomes accustomed. There was a beatiful sunrise last week and I ran into the house and grabbed the E1 to see what king of photo I can get. I didn't get a chance to review the photo until I got home from work and uploaded to my computer. Boy was I impressed! Unfortunately I can't seem to post photos. But the pictures I got is one of the best sunrise photo I've taken (my opinon). I used the E1 with the 45mm f1.8. What amazes me was the ease I was able to capture this photo. I played with the settings and was able to take many different photos using the different picture styles etc. The picture is jpeg and unedit straight from the memory card. The photo had black figures in the upper right quadrant which turns out to be crows flying high in the sky!!! The camera and lense is amazing! I could not believe the camera was able to capture (resolve??) the crows way up in the sky. I really didn't notice they were there when I took the picture. I probably could have done the same with the 6D but I don't think I am giving up anything with the E1. Plus it was very easy to change the setting on the E1 with the Live SCP menu and custom Fn buttons. The next big test for me is to use the E1 with sports. I have kids active in high scholl sports and would like to see how the E1 performs with tracking players with continuous focus. I will still keep the 6D for certain situations but my go to camera will be the E1. That's it for now!

December 13, 2013

Steve

A Game-changer

The latest in a 35 year progression of cameras that I have owned that ranged from medium format film to professional-grade APS-sized digital. The EM-1 is my first Oly and has reignited my passion for photography. So light and compact but feature-heavy, this camera delivers consistent results. It's difficult to even produce a bad photo with it! In the days of film it was the emulsion you chose that gave you the results that you sought, With digital, it's all in the algorithms that camera manufacturers use to deliver the results--the "secret sauce" that makes one particular camera produce more pleasing images than others do. The EM-1 is that cameras. It is a very powerful and well made little gem that delivers in any situation.

December 10, 2013

TRUE LIBERTY

Good Job Olympus

Im very impressed with this EM-1. Its a vast improvement over my E-30. I was always trying to keep my photos at ISO 800 and under. And now so far I have used ISO 2500 and am quite happy with the results. And the use of my 4/3 lenses works faster on focusing then my E-30 ever did. Very good job keeping 4/3 users happy!

Less then 24 hours with this camera I was doing action photography at one of my wife's marathon runs. And with the new view finder I was easily able to keep track of the subjects in multiple shots as the runners past by.

My only compliant with the camera is the horrible flash it came with. It casts a horrible shadow on the floor when using my 4/3 lenses. It would have been nice if they made it bounce capable. But the upside is my FL36 flash works great with it. But a compact flash with bounce sure would have been from Olympus with the bit of a high price tag.

December 10, 2013

Vincent

Wise decision!

My transition from Nikon D5000 DSLR to this really light and feature
filled camera has been one of the main highlights of year 2013 that will ending soon
.
I am really excited by the little hands- on experience I have had with it so far!

Navigation through various menus is a breeze although the reviews
I had read before I bought the camera had me worried. As a person who has used a DSLR before, I did not find it intimidating at all.

I love the compactness of the camera and I am also amazed at the beautiful images I got using the 12-40mm M.Zuiko PRO lens.
My decision not to move on to a full frame camera has proved to be a wise one!

Thank you Olympus!

Vincent

December 09, 2013

Tom

Fine Camera

I bought this camera based on magazine and online reviews. I wanted to move from my full frame Canon to a four thirds format. I was doing this to save space and weight. Most of my photos are taken while hiking in National and State Parks. My pack was approaching 25 lbs.

This camera and it's lens are saving me a lot of pounds and space.
So far I only have the 40 -150 mm zoom. The combination did a great job on the first outing at the Akron Zoo. I was very pleased with the results.

I am looking forward to trying other lenses and have the 12- 40 mm 2.8 and the 57 -300 zooms on order. I expect those lenses will perform even better.

My only complaint is with the lack of detailed instructions for the camera. I feel the manual does not go into near enough detail.
In particular, the exposure and focus systems need a lot more detail about how each of the choices operate and what results to expect form them. Those responsible should read the manual form the Canon 5D MKii for some insight on how a camera manual should be written.

December 06, 2013

Jim

It is a great camera

I recently received my E-M1 and have been customizing it. Several of the videos on "you tube" are really helpful. I have had an E 510 and E 620 for several years and have 4 lenses in the 4/3rd line. They work very well with the adaptor. The instruction manual needs work, in my opinion. If I was not familiar with other Olympus cameras, I think that I would really be frustrated. The wifi connection is something that sounds simple in the manual but is not that straight forward in real useage. My pictures are great and I am sure that with more time, it will be customized just right for me, in spite of the manual.

December 05, 2013

Wing

I knew this camera would be the best one for me! Love at first sight!

I owned the very good predecessor to this camera, the OM-D E-M5. The image files are great and the customizability and lens options available are perhaps the best I've ever had the experience of working with... all in a stylish retro-inspired design. When I first heard and saw pics of the new E-M1 flagship camera that basically takes everything that made the E-M5 so great, but took it up more than just a few notches, it was instant ecstasy running down the improved specs and the increased potential with the E-M1.

There are plenty of camera reviews about the features and technical marvels of this camera, so I'll let you research and read and see all that's already out there already. What I want to talk about is why I love this camera and why I think it was the best new camera for me personally. There are way too many to name in this little review, but I'll try and point out the top ones, imho.

- Improved image quality over the E-M5 with Truepic7 image processor which has improved lens correction software that optimizes final images for each individual MFT lens used.
- Dual fast autofocus system with integrated phase detect AF.. this has greatly improved the speed, accuracy and focus locking abilities for taking fast moving action shots. It's not the best ever, but for MFT systems, it's about the best that's out to date
- Improved design and ergonomics. You have better placed buttons that are spread out and not so crammed together like on the E-M5. Ever dial and button feels like they are in the right location and easily accessible. Sure, overall the E-M1 is slightly larger than the E-M5, but it's still reasonably small and compact and adds just enough body to get the right hold and placement of controls without being too big. Perfectly sized!
- Even more customizability, so much I sometimes run out of ideas on what to apply the extra buttons I can customize towards.. still, it's better than not having enough and makes adjusting camera settings as fast as intuitive as it's ever been
- Solid build.. have you seen how much metal the whole body of this camera is composed of? You will know and appreciate the solid feeling in the build as soon as you hold and pick it up.
- Oh! The new EVF! It makes viewing and framing the shots so nice and pleasurable... It's just so detailed, also, manual focusing has never been easier with an EVF.
- Speaking of manual focusing, the focus peaking feature further aids ones pinpoint focusing with confidence.

The overall experience of this camera is a joy to use and it just feels so much more faster & intuitive to use over the E-M5.. not to say that the E-M5 is bad and I would gladly have kept it as a back up camera if I didn't need to sell it to fund the E-M1 and new lenses.

Coupled with some of Olympus's excellent primes (17mm F1.8 & 75mm F1.8, for example) and the new pro 12-40mm lens... I prefer the ones that are made of all metal, this camera is a solid performer and feels like a tank or precision machined instrument like a gun in hand(s).

BTW, I was debating this over the Sony A7(&A7R) and the Nikon DF, but ultimately chose the E-M1 for the solid build and full featured packed camera with large excellent lens options for the best price possible that lead me to stick with Olympus and purchase the E-M1 for myself. I can say I am very very satisfied with my decision.

December 03, 2013

Sean

Flat. Out. Amazing.

A year ago I decided to get more serious about taking photos. I've always loved photography and I took classes in college, I used to do bottle shots in the Napa wine industry, and I love portraiture. There was one problem: I hate lugging around a DSLR and lenses, I hate how much DSLR lenses cost, and I always end up shooting everything fun in my life with my iPhone unless go leave the house thinking "today is a day dedicated to shooting photos." I hate using a flash and taking terrible flat photos with a DSLR, I hate having to use a flash because the only lens I could afford had an unacceptably high f-stop floor (anything above f/2.0 is unacceptable to me).

This lead to my Canon Rebel XT sitting in the closet for months at a time. After hearing of the advancements and affordability in the Micro 4/3 standard of camera and lenses, I decided to take the plunge. I decided to invest in a new, smaller camera so that I could have with me without it being an event in itself, one that people would not be intimidated by when I point it at their faces, one that has an affordable but killer range of lenses available. I did not want to skimp on quality.

That camera was the Olympus E-PL5. It's been a great year with the E-PL5, and I've taken the best pictures of my life with it for a fraction of the cost of a DSLR, without sacrificing any tangible quality (to my eyes). In fact, I would say the quality is actually better and more fully realized since I could now afford a wealth of lenses with much greater ease and no guilt! I now have a full range of amazing lenses to use with it from 24mm - 150mm (in micro 4/3 parlance that would be 12mm-75mm, you simply divide by 2).

Also notable is that I do not buy any lens with an f-stop floor over f2.0 - this keeps me able to shoot excellent photos in natural light even indoors with no flash required at ISO 800-1600. I never go higher than that because I hate noise in my photos. And this also means that since I require lenses at f/2.0 or below, that I will only shoot prime lenses - no zooms. It must be the physics of zoom lenses but you cannot find one under f/2.8. This means I zoom with my feet, not with the barrel of the lens. It's an adjustment but ultimately worth it for the types of things I like to shoot.

I just the sold the E-PL5 and am now rocking an Olympus E-M1, which has many similar components within it but is pretty much improved all around. It has excellent improved 5-axis image stabilization which makes my grip on the camera even steadier, enabling me to work with slightly slower shutter speeds at lower ISOs, reducing noise and the necessity of using a flash in low light. It has dedicated hardware knobs for adjusting shutter speed, aperture and ISO - so no more taking my eyes off the viewfinder to dig through software to adjust. It's got a ridiculously rugged magnesium alloy exterior and is weather proof, freeze proof and dust proof. It can connect to iOS devices through a wifi network it spawns itself, no external network needed. It takes 10 photos per second to make sure I get the one you didn't blink in. And best of all, my lenses still work with it.

Can't recommend the micro 4/3 camera world enough. I wrote this because I have never been happier shooting photos in my life, and if I were me transported back before this photographic evolution, I would want to read this review. So I hope if you experience any of the frustrations I mentioned above, that you liked this quick rant.

The E-M1 is the best experience the Micro 4/3 world has to offer. I'm amazed.

December 02, 2013

John

OLYMPUS FROM DAY ONE

I STARTED WITH THE OM-1 AND NOW I HAVE THE E-M1 AND SOME OTHER MODELS AS WELL. ALL THE OLYMPUS CAMERS AND LENSES HAVE GIVEN ME THE BEST PICTURES I COULD HOPE FOR .I HAVE NEVER DISAPPOINTED A CUSTOMER WITH THE PHOTOS I HAVE DELIVERED TO THEM.I TEACH AND WHEN ASKED TO RECOMMEND CAMERAS I SAY THE BEST BUY IS OLYMPUS .JL

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7