View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

May 07, 2014

Radhehari

Fantastic product

My limited understanding of using the a point and shoot for most of life is that a camera (as a tool) has two components: the lens and the camera itself. I have to let you know that several images that I am clicking with this are using a prime lens (75 mm/1.8f). Needless to say that the results have far exceeded my expectations.

Key winners
The best AF focusing (speed and accuracy) I have ever experienced
Much lighter than an equivalent DSLR
Weather proof design (both body and lens)
Several shooting modes where the camera adjusts itself (shutter, aperture, ISO, etc.)
Seamless backup to iPhone

Some grips
Substantial bulk in a small body
too many features (I think I should have purchased the E-M5 for the lower price tag)
poorly written product manual (I had to call them in order to attach the flash)

Overall, I would happily recommend this product to anyone, with a clear warning (about the high price tag the kit could run up); each of the pro M.Zuiko lenses are between $700 to $1,100 apiece.

April 16, 2014

Reenaj

Freakin Awesome and then some!

This camera is a perfect compliment to my older E-30, E-410, and E-500's and all my 4/3 lenses that I have purchased over the years.
Seamless transition to micro 4/3 with the adapter. Saving my pennies for the micro 4/3 12-40mm and the micro 4/3 75-300mm lenses.
This camera took beautiful pictures of the blood moon (well except for the cloudy conditions in my area) during the eclipse with a vintage manual Tamron 60-300mm lens.
Beautiful camera, beautiful shots!

March 28, 2014

gary

Nice!! Good photographic tool

This is the third of the OM series cameras that I own. The models keep getting better & better. The weight of this model is very good compared to the E-5 that I am used to lugging. The lens selection is very good. Function of the camera takes a little getting used to. There are so many capabilities that are available. I like the ability to switch on the run. WIFI is yet to be explored.

March 27, 2014

Felixberto

Not tough as I thought

I purchased the E-M1 as an upgrade to my E-M5, true the specs are great, I am amazed so much could be built into this little camera. With the 12-40mm lens the pictures are just as good if not better than cameras selling twice as much. My major disappointment began when after just a few months the carcass (the rubber trimmings) started peeling off! This does not speak very well to the ruggedness olympus is touting about! I am heart broken, took my camera back to my dealer. You will get my camera soon. I also your extended warranty thinking its a lifetime investment. Call me a not ver happy customer. FYI I also own the E-P5.

March 27, 2014

Ron

Size Matters

I just changed brands from one complete system to the OMD M1. I was getting ready for a trip and realized the size and weight of my camera gear was unacceptable. After careful thought and talking to several M1 owners I traded and purchased the new system. I do love it. The ergonomics fit and the quality is first rate. There is a learning curve from the other brands, but the features are outstanding and it doesn't take long to master the controls. I'm taking the camera and lenses on my first trip next month, so that will be the test of total satisfaction.

March 24, 2014

Wayne

Very impressive photographic tool

The Olympus OMD EM-1 is a most impressive photographic tool. This was the first new camera I had purchased in many years, and so far, I am delighted. After agonizing over whether or not to go with a full-frame DSLR, I finally decided to try the more compact Olympus micro 4:3 system based on features and on-line reviews.

This camera is a very sophisticated and well-built instrument. It functions extremely well as a high-end point and shoot camera, but it also has every imaginable adjustment, setting, and photo option that one could want. I have been working my way through the 160 page manual (which is included on the DVD along with other software) and have realized that it will take some time to be completely comfortable with all the possibilities for fine-tuning images. All the buttons and wheels are well laid out and easy to reach, however, and the camera is well-balanced and comfortable to hold even with larger hands. I was especially pleased with the customization options in which one can assign varying functions to different buttons as needed. The electronic viewfinder is very clear and the menu features are bright and easy to read. The adjustable touch-screen provides another option for manipulation of all parameters as well as quick focusing on selected areas of the picture. Image stabilization is simply amazing, and I am getting crystal clear shots even with relatively slow shutter speeds. Focus is lightening fast with the 12-40mm pro zoom lens which I purchased along with the camera. Image quality seems excellent even at higher ISO speeds, especially considering the camera’s smaller-sized sensor, and low light sensitivity is surprisingly good as well. I do wish the EM-1 had a built-in flash, although the images I have taken in relatively low light are so good that I haven’t used the optional removable flash, even once.

Battery life is so-so, so I purchased an extra one with the camera and am very glad I did. The camera’s battery indicator doesn’t give a very long warning between a full charge and a depleted battery, so having an extra battery is a must, in my opinion. I am looking forward to purchasing a couple of fixed focal length lenses soon, although the 12-40mm pro lens is excellent for most shooting applications throughout its useful zoom range, and is light-years beyond the typical “kit” zoom lens. As an avid amateur photographer, the purchase of this camera made a bit of a dent in the budget, but the kind of quality it exhibits does not come cheap, and I look forward to using it for many years to come.

March 02, 2014

Joshua C.

Photo Fantastic. Rev'd up Video.

I have great success with my new OMD EM-1. The transition from my previous Olympus camera to the OMD EM-1 was seamless and effortless.

The higher ISO choices are very powerful with no noise present. The micro four thirds and Pro lens choices highly flatter this dynamic camera. Burst mode is ideal for quick moving wildlife, or fidgeting young children. The speed of the camera breaks the sound barrier. Sunrises and sunsets gain acutely more detailed precision with the Shadow and Highlight adjustments feature. Having two dials to control Aperture and Shutter in Manual Shooting mode turns the camera into almost a musical instrument. The OMD EM-1 sings Italian Opera.

One scene mode that intrigues me is hand-held starlight. The North Star and its siblings come through clearly holding the camera in my hand.

Frigid river air temperatures are yet to overpower the OMD EM-1. At 20 degrees Fahrenheit I was able to capture the ending of a beautiful sunset with no condensation to think of.

The HD video produced with the OMD EM-1 is of excellent quality, particularly with its stereo sound. In combination with the various shooting modes and lenses, your creative potential sky rockets.

Images created with the OMD EM-1 exceed industry potential. Photoshop smiles when I open them.

If you want to be the leader of your photography abilities, the OMD EM-1 is the camera of choice for you.

February 26, 2014

Charles

Impressive Camera--and a Recommended Improvement

The E-M1 is an impressive camera...lots of features in a compact package. Don't be confused by "all the dials." It has no more dials than a comparable Nikon or Canon. They are just located differently. The menus have a learning curve, but they are no more complex with the named larger cameras, and they become intuitive with time. It focuses quickly and has a secure, comfortable feel. The viewfinder and monitor both are bright and sharp, even in bright sunlight. I have not had to test the dust and splash resistance, but my friends who have the E-M1 give that feature high marks. In short, Olympus has a winner, and I hope to use this camera for years to come...

I have one recommended improvement: Olympus needs to improve the design of the hot shoe cover and the accessory port cover. These parts are small. If a photographer, wanting to use the E-M1's flash, dropped either of these parts in the field, they would be almost impossible to find. Moreover, the accessory port cover is flimsy and might break or crack if a person put it in a pocket with other items. The small hot shoe cover and small, flimsy accessory port cover are distractions (not worth the penalty of a star in the ratings) from an otherwise superb camera and system.

February 20, 2014

peter

thank you olympus

entered the electronic viewfinder world from a full frame camera.
i don't have it long enough to give an in depth review.

16 mp will give a moderate poster size print but, in my opinion, not over a 16" poster. that is the only negative i have to say. unless i'm doing something wrong.

i can't get over the operation of this camera, it is amazing. the ease of shooting, not having to move your eye from the viewfinder, the button placement, and so many other features makes shooting 'fun' again.

not having to carry heavy lenses is a big plus, one can get buy with just 2 lenses, zuiko 12-40 pro and 40-150 pro, (which has not been released yet) so i purchased a regular 40-150, on sale, and i am not sorry. lenses are fantastic.

yes the camera is pricey and so are the lenses but you only pass through one time, might as well go for it. the quality is there.

it is fast and a real pleasure to use.

i also purchased the 15mm 1.8 lens that doesn't talk to the camera. simply move the lever to wherever, take the shot and you will be surprised.

the learning curve is interesting, buy the dvd.

so, in my opinion, this camera is great, fun and easy to use however i need to give olympus a shot;
a camera system bag for $315.99----really????

February 15, 2014

Stoney

Olympus is up on the game

I previously owned the EM-5 and loved it but sold it because it was still lacking a couple things that i knew would get better with time. One being the EVF, i love the evf for letting you actually preview how your shot will actually look with WB, Monotone, Saturation, Contrast and all but it was only good for daylight use. I found that for doing night shots like star trails or anything at night was a no go for the em-5 because you just couldn't see anything just a bright square blinding your night vision. The EM-1 to my surprise is miles ahead in that area as i found i can shoot in really dim conditions and still see through the EVF Sweet!! I will tell you from my experience being a big DSLR shooter using all kinds of camera's Canon 5d mark3, Nikon d800 and many others that Olympus is really doing some amazing things with the OMD Line. I found it hard to believe that the files coming out of this little camera can handle processing and have an incredible dynamic range right up there with the D800, believe it or not, rent one and see for yourself. I love the small footprint of this little camera along with the great build and all the programmable buttons that let me set this little gem up to my personal machine. My big dslr's get so heavy out hiking carrying glass and tripod that i longed for a small interchangeable lens camera that would be light , tough and not skimp on image quality. Believe me if the image quality wasn't there i would not carry this little camera but would still be lugging around my big guns and deal with the shoulder ache. There are only a couple of things i would love to see in the next OMD but for now i will take this as it is.
Keep up the great work Olympus!

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7