View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10

August 21, 2015

Edward

Highly recommended

I qwas in the market for a smaller lighter camnera system. I struggled with this decision for months. Should I await for newer technology, would low light performance be adequate, and what about image quality of a 16mp camera. This camera may not be for everybody but it is best for me. You really need to ask yourself what do you shoot most of the time. I do street shooting, travel photography, and landscapes. I rarely do any kind of action photography or video, While I would love to have a perfect camera I know there is no such thing and you always have to make compromises. The reason I picked up tis one instead of the similarly priced EMII is because it works with four thirds lenses extremely well. I was able to pick up three used four third zooms for less than I would pay for one pro zoom. And the focusing speed,image quality and build is great. I have not used the camera extensively just learning about it. And there is a lot to learn. Great camera. At present price probably best bang for the buck.

June 25, 2015

Stewart

Replaced my FX Canon with no regrets!

Had two Full Frame Canon bodies with a full compliment of L lenses. I photograph a number of regional, national and international competitions. Fast and reliable AF is a must. I also do a lot of interiors, both commercial and residential. I was growing very tired of hauling my Canon gear from job to job. I had looked at the EM-1 and read and watched several reviews. I finally took the plunge and bought a body with the 12-40 D2.8. I owned it for less than 2 weeks and sold all my FF gear. I now how 2 EM-1 bodies and have not looked back. I love the size, features and quality. It does not matter where I go, I always have an EM-1 with me!

May 19, 2015

Justin

Photography reinvented

This camera is my new go-to body for personal use, and on-the-job documentary work. Heavy pro full-frame bodies, and lenses have taken a toll on me in the last decade of fast-paced pro photojournalism work, made a past love a demanding chore, and last year I start looking for a lighter solution that was up to the demands of the profession. I bought an E-M5, and loved it but it wasn't quite there. The E-M1 was everything I was hoping for in the first place

(I wish the video had variable frame rates-firmware update???).

It has great low-light capability, has a fast frame rate, fast auto focus, great and bright viewfinder, it's light, intuitive to use, 1/7th the cost of my current kit, and best of all it makes my job as fun as it was when it was my hobby. This camera is photography reinvented.

May 17, 2015

John

OM-D E-M1

I handles my friends M1 and was very impressed. I had been using Canon gear for the last 20 years. It is so nice and light and very well built. It operates flawlessly and speedily. The photographs are beautiful taken with the two f2.8 lenses I purchased with the camera.
Another great feature is that it is waterproof. I lost a Canon at Iguasu Falls in Brazil due to moisture. All in all it is a perfect 5. Thank You

May 17, 2015

Jonathan

Inspiring

Amazing camera. It's just one of those cameras that makes you want to get out and shoot. And it's just the right size, even with 3-4 lenses it's still small enough to never get left behind. Great quality of workmanship and design, great feel in the hand. The camera quickly becomes intuitive, after the initial learning of the multitude of controls which are all placed in easy reach while framing pictures.
What you can get out of the camera is another reward in itself. Very pleased.
Over the last 12 years I've owned Canon and Nikon DSLR and now the Olympus OM-D E-M1. First time I ever stopped to give a review.

May 09, 2015

Rich

Glad I switched

I have been a Nikon user for many years. Got tired of lugging around my DX camera and lenses. About 7 months ago I traded in my Nikon gear for an E-M1, a 14-150 Oly and a 75-300 Oly lens. The image quality of this new gear is on a par or better than my Nikon D200 with 28-200 lens. After learning how to set up three My Sets for my favorite ways of shooting (Hand held general photography, Tripod mounted photography and Action photography) I will never look back at what I previously was able to do. I would recommend this camera and lenses for any serious amateur photographer. I can't get over how much smaller the lenses are and the reduction in weight. Thank you Olympus.
Rich

May 08, 2015

bolseg

it could be a five stars if it was NIPPON made

it is a nice camera OMD E-M1 classic look, silver (retro) to fun with it and nice good working M. Zuiko"s Lenses (4 lenses that i acquired) that performs well with the M 1. I am not a pro bought a pro cam and optics...Pro wanna be. however they are all over priced for being made in China, although the battery was made in Japan. just like i said they all performed well.

May 07, 2015

Robsshots

OMD - almost perfect

I've had my OMD-1 for almost a year, having shot thousands of images. Still learning how to make this baby sing, and sing it can. When things go wrong with what I capture vs what I expected, I know it ain't the camera's fault. Got the OMD-1 for its lightness/compactness. it does not disappoint.

My only beef is that my previous camera was an E-620. THAT had an articulating screen, which allowed for some superb set-ups on the tripod that I just can't get with this dumb sliding screen on the new model. The guy or team responsible for moving away from the articulating screen should be flogged with a thousand wet noodles. Perfect camera, except for that gol-darn screen that prevents taking many images I wish I could capture. Olympus, a simple thing technically. What were you THINKING????

That dumb screen makes me give a stellar piece of equipment a four instead of a five.

Only other beef is the low pixel count. Would have been nice to have 20 or more on a bigger sensor. But what the heck, that's nit-picking compared to that unbelievable gaff of moving to a sliding screen from an articulating screen…

It's a great camera, really delivers the punch I want when I set it up right. What more could one ask for? And the options are easy to dial in, and view, before pulling the trigger. Also got my first wiiiiide angle lens, the 9-18 which, given the slowness of the lens, is on the way expensive side. But have had plenty of fun creating dynamic and powerful landscape images with it, nonetheless.

April 17, 2015

BdK13

Great Camera!

I am fairly new to photography and I purchased this camera after using a PM2 for 2-3 months. I really love the ease of use from a beginners standpoint. I know I have not utilized even a 10th of the power and functionality of this camera, but I am anxious to learn. The pictures I have taken have been awesome and I love the wifi & sharing feature. The settings are very easy to navigate. I have been able to quickly change ISO settings as well as turn off and on the digital teleconverter. (Although I don't use the digital teleconverter much) The focus settings are easy to use and set up customize. I have recently updated the firmware and that was very easy as well.
You will love this camera!
Happy Shooting!
BK

April 10, 2015

Olympusaurus

Great Camera

I love that I can use my old E- series lenses with this camera and get better performance. This camera takes beautiful pictures and is extraordinarily customizable. I do wish for better video and the addition of features in the new E-M10.

I use this camera primarily with the 12-40 2.8 lens and the original 50-200 2.8-3.5. I get far better pics than I got with my E-30. Focusing is much improved with all lenses, and face tracking with children cannot be beat. Focus peaking is really useful in manual focus mode.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10