View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9

April 10, 2015

Olympusaurus

Great Camera

I love that I can use my old E- series lenses with this camera and get better performance. This camera takes beautiful pictures and is extraordinarily customizable. I do wish for better video and the addition of features in the new E-M10.

I use this camera primarily with the 12-40 2.8 lens and the original 50-200 2.8-3.5. I get far better pics than I got with my E-30. Focusing is much improved with all lenses, and face tracking with children cannot be beat. Focus peaking is really useful in manual focus mode.

April 02, 2015

KG

great size

I bought the E-M1 after a long consideration. I was used to DSLR and was tired of that size and wanted something smaller, yet still fully featured. I chose the E-M1 and its been great. It's got more features than I was used too, but I don't see that as a bad thing. I've read that its video performance is lacking, but I've only used it for stills so I can't really comment on that.
I love the WiFi too. It's great being able to transfer pics without connecting wires. I just wish you could connect and have it transfer in the background and still take pictures.

April 02, 2015

Guang

great camera!

After a year use, I am 100% satisfied with E-M1, very sturdy, focus is speedy, tons of settings, 5 out of 5!

March 29, 2015

Tue

Addition to the omd em10

Bought this camera in addition of the OM-D E-M10, seems to fit my M.12-40mm pro lens better. Pro lens stay on this unit and using all the prime lenses with the E-M10.

March 12, 2015

Jerry

Awesome E-M1, Another Great Photgraphic Tool

I got my OM-D E-M1 recently, and must say it is truly an amazing camera. I got it mainly because it has a built-in grip, which improves the balance and handling of the camera dramatically.

But my second reason for getting this camera was the 16.3 MP sensor, and the dual autofocus system, for contrast or phase detect focus, to allow using my existing 4/3 lenses. Not to mention Wi-Fi, HDR shooting, and Tethering to a computer.

I have not used the video yet, but I will eventually get to using it more, but for now, I am happy knowing it is available. I have little projects coming up, requiring video.

The layout of the controls of the E-M1 is much improved over the E-M5 (for me). The playback button on the E-M5 was in a terrible location, but on the E-M1 it seems to be where it needs to be.

I just downloaded Olympus Capture software, and used it initially. It seems to operate flawlessly with my E-M1. I used the USB cable that came with the camera, which is about 4.5 feet long… I will need one about 10 to 12 feet long. A larger studio could probably use a cable 18 to 20 feet, depending on space available. It would be nice if there was a printed manual for Oly Capture, or at least an On-Line manual. Or is there? (and I just missed it?)

Next, I set up Olympus Image Share App on my cell phone. (When you activate Wi-Fi on the E-M1, a special bar code will be displayed on the E-M1’s monitor) After you install OI. Share on your phone, it will ask you to scan your device (E-M1) for the bar code, which then links the phone and camera. (I was slow, and had trouble figuring this out… since I was doing this ALL with-OUT reading any manual, just “winging” it.) But then, magically, they were connected, and all my images in the E-M1 showed up on the phone… Wow… I just selected the ones I wanted to share!! Really, quite easy!

I Love the E-M1; I especially like the “lock” on the mode dial. I look forward to using the art filters more. I find the “partial color” filter to be the most interesting. Color Creator is next on the list to try.

One last point… I shoot quite a few images in the vertical (portrait) format; and often I have to get very low to the ground. The Tilt monitor just does not work so well with that shot. Maybe your E-M3 (or E-M1 mk-2) will have the tilt swivel monitor as used on the E-M5 mk-2.

This OM-D E-M1 is a great camera. The build quality is supreme on this camera, and all operations are crisp and precise. The operation of the tilt monitor seems more precise than that of the E-M5 as well. The E-M1 is a marvel to hold and use. It has become my favorite camera (not to slight my E-500 and E-5).

Maybe I’m just “Died in the Wool Olympus”.
By the way, where do you get those OM-D hats?

February 28, 2015

Kenny

Wedding Camera of our DREAMS!

Coming from the four thirds system this camera is by far worth every dollar. Light, Compact, and durable. This whole system is a dream to work with. Only con we have is the placement of the record button. Its so close to Fn2 button and press the wrong one from time to time. Easy fix is to change the button in the button program mode but other then that its stellar. 320 sync speed has made our wedding photography a game changer. We get the fake sky look with flash set up. The other two big guys cant to this.

February 24, 2015

Burt

Excellent Camera

I had been using Canon digital SLR's for years and since I am getting up in years, I decided to look into a smaller camera. After reading extensively the reviews of various micro 4/3 camera's, I opted for the EM-1. Smartest move I have made photography wise. After using it for a month, I sold all my Canon equipment. The pictures are gorgeous and the camera is like an extension of my arm. So intuitive to use. The controls are all in the right place and the menu's are easy to use. I have to say that once you get the settings to your likeness, you rarely have to go back in. I do mostly scenic and macro and it excels at both. I love being able to get to the HDR settings easily.

Like many other people, I wish Olympus would have put a full paper manual in the box. I have the PDF file, but it is a pain in the neck to use and too many pages to print out. For those people like me I recommend a book by David Busch simply named "Olympus OM-D E-M1 Digital Photography"

I like this camera so much, that I bought an OMD E-M10 as a backup. Thanks Olympus.

February 12, 2015

Joshua C

One Year with my EM-1. Momentum Made Magic.

I am writing my second review of OMD EM-1. I shoot in raw always and I want to first discuss the quality of the raw files. Second, I walk more than five miles at times taking photography walks with my OMD EM-1. It's portability will be highlighted. On a final abridged note, the advanced menu system, dials and buttons are ideal for someone who multipurposes his or her images and his or her photography techniques.

OMD EM-1. Breathe deeply. I have read other reviews discussing chromatic aberration and noise presence in the camera's raw files. I use lens hoods and filters to reduce and eliminate color distortion as well as haloing in the raw file. If any remains, I remove it in Adobe Camera Raw. For noise, I have seldom seen color noise in ISO below 1600. I have an HD video card and display. In those cases, it was in water with long shutter speeds. In all cases, it can be removed in Adobe Camera Raw.

I love walking with my OMD EM-1. My many M.Zuiko lenses are light just as is the OMD EM-1 body. Thus the 'Micro' in Micro Four Thirds. Why is the portability important to long distances other than weight? For birds, as an example, walking on a trail and shooting them requires luck, skill, and a sharp eyesight. The further you walk, the more chances you have of photographing birds. A light and portable camera system is a must: for the target subjects and your back!

Having options says you have control over your photos, but more importantly over your workflow. An advanced menu system and ergonomic dials and buttons are a must. I shoot in raw with a 16:9 aspect ratio. My initial audience is two tv stations. They sort through my images for backgrounds often. 16:9 aspect ratio is Cinematic, wide screen TV. However, my second purpose for some of my photos is stock photography. The OMD EM-1 is completely able to do stock photography. One final purpose I would like to mention is selling photography prints. As a print, usually a different aspect is needed depending on the customer. As for the buttons and dials on the OMD EM-1 body, I have the hands of a pianist. You can do a lot of customization with it. My OMD EM-1 is just the way I like it. So can yours.

If you want Pro level Performance and Prestige, Portability and Acessibility Potential, and a Device that out does all others -- Olympus OMD EM-1 is your next camera.

----

Original review (posted March 2014)

Photo Fantastic. Rev'd up Video.

I have great success with my new OMD EM-1. The transition from my previous Olympus camera to the OMD EM-1 was seamless and effortless.

The higher ISO choices are very powerful with no noise present. The micro four thirds and Pro lens choices highly flatter this dynamic camera. Burst mode is ideal for quick moving wildlife, or fidgeting young children. The speed of the camera breaks the sound barrier. Sunrises and sunsets gain acutely more detailed precision with the Shadow and Highlight adjustments feature. Having two dials to control Aperture and Shutter in Manual Shooting mode turns the camera into almost a musical instrument. The OMD EM-1 sings Italian Opera.

One scene mode that intrigues me is hand-held starlight. The North Star and its siblings come through clearly holding the camera in my hand.

Frigid river air temperatures are yet to overpower the OMD EM-1. At 20 degrees Fahrenheit I was able to capture the ending of a beautiful sunset with no condensation to think of.

The HD video produced with the OMD EM-1 is of excellent quality, particularly with its stereo sound. In combination with the various shooting modes and lenses, your creative potential sky rockets.

Images created with the OMD EM-1 exceed industry potential. Photoshop smiles when I open them.

If you want to be the leader of your photography abilities, the OMD EM-1 is the camera of choice for you.

February 03, 2015

Patrick RH

Great Camera that's difficult to use.

I've owned my E-M1 for about a year now and have captured some great images with it. But I have to agree with some of the other reviews in that it is a very complex instrument with a very steep learning curve.

Some of the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
-Small and light weight means it doesn't bog you down when taking it on a nature hike or a family vacation

-Immense amount of features and settings means that it's possible to get the perfect picture in any setting or situation
-Though focus tends to be a bit on the soft side, image quality is great once you learn how to use the camera.

-Fast autofocus and fun to shoot with.


Cons:

-More noise and chromatic aberration than I deem acceptable for a camera costing $1400 just for the body. Noise in the shadow areas is visible all the way down to ISO 200. And while the ISO can be set as high as 25600. No usable images can be attained higher than ISO 6400. I thought the amount of noise visible was normal until I saw an image taken at ISO 5000 with my friend's less expensive Nikon. It had less noise than an image taken with my E-M1 at ISO 1600. Increasing the noise filter and noise reduction only smears detail.

-A completely useless and unhelpful starter guide comes with the camera. A camera this complex needs to have a dedicated user manual that explains how each of the 200 plus features work. It seems as though the people at Olympus assumed we would know how to use all the features. For example, when setting the image stabilizer focal length, how am I supposed to know what to set it at when I have a zoom lens......or should I set it at 1000mm to ensure it's sensitive enough to detect even the slightest amount of camera shake? A manual explaining this would be helpful.

-The little hot shoe pieces are easily lost. I've had to buy some replacements already. Why not include an on-board flash like every other "professional" camera instead of requiring it to be separately connected.

All in all, this is a very good, well-built, stylish camera that can satisfy the needs of almost anyone. The image quality it produces is on par with cameras costing more and I am happy to continue shooting with it.

----

NOTE FROM OLYMPUS:
We appreciate your feedback on the included starter guide. The full OM-D E-M1 manual can be freely downloaded here: http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/cpg_support_manuals.asp?id=1648.

Regarding the IS focal length selection: The only time you will want to utilize the manual focal length input is when a legacy manual focus lens is used. Non-legacy lenses offer electronic connection and control of aperture and focus. For these, the focal length or zoom position will be communicated to the camera automatically. If you are using a manual focus legacy lens, manually inputting the focal length will allow the camera's IS unit to function properly. We do not recommend setting the length longer then the lens offers.

January 31, 2015

Tom

Amazing camera with a few issues.

The EM-1 is my fourth Olympus camera. Previously had an EPL-1 and EPL-3. Still have an EP3 and now the EM-1 which is used daily on a professional basis in a studio. Suffice to say I am familiar with Olympus cameras.

The EM-1 is a great camera with good feel. Just amazing. The photos are great. I like all the options. However I have had a few issues with the camera.

I think the best way to review this to run through the pros and cons.

Pros:
-Sturdy frame (it is so nice to not have plastic or stamped metal)

-Metallic dials and switches

-Good sized grip (I have the extra grip as well)

-Full Featured plenty of settings to adjust and customize. The menus are not too crowded and it is what you should expect from a camera of this caliber.

-Lighter than a large DSLR

-You can change the battery while on a tripod (without battery grip)

-The swivel touch screen is very useful and seems well made

-Pixel mapping

-Tethering to computer is a great option.

-Weatherproof!

Cons:
-After only a little over a month (5800 photos) the rear dial is malfunctioning. Not excited about this. This is some known problem that many people have I guess. I need the camera every day. Sending it in for service means I need to buy a second one while it is in. Maybe that was the plan.

-The power switch is in an odd location that keeps you from naturally turning on the camera as you raise it up with one hand to prepare to shoot. For this reason I do not tend to take the camera out of the studio often. I really want to, but it is the small things like this that have me lugging a DSLR outside. The EM-1 is powerful, light, and nimble. But, that is not really useful when you can actually get a full sized SLR turned on and ready to shoot faster than the EM-1. For long days sometimes the power can be off to conserve battery. Maybe I just need to train myself on how to do this. If you do not need this camera for long days of constant shooting where outside, ignore this.

-Telephoto function not available when tethered. They never mention this anywhere in the manual or other documents, but Olympus support confirmed this is not currently an option. Disappointing as I was really looking forward to this combo. Very silly not to have this available. There is also a feature in the iOS app that is not available in the tethering capture software...I think it was electronic zoom control.

-Tethered preview quality and size could be much better. I was seriously disappointed. I would pay for the software if it was better.

-The left side cover is pretty tough to open unless you swivel the screen out.

-The wifi connect feature is only useful for select moments when you know you need to use it. They market it as some wonderfully easy to do thing that will have you sharing images on social media instantly, but that is not the case. You have to turn it on, go through the setup to change you wifi connection to the camera, then take some pictures or move some pictures, then you have to go back and change your wifi connection back to the real world and then you go back to the photos and share them. I expected I could connect the camera to the same network as the iPhone and make the connection that way so it really would be more instant and easy to use, but it is not. I planned on using it, but I never do now because it is just no easy to do.

-The camera does Title all your images "OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA". This is nothing new and Olympus has been doing this for a while. That does not make it any less annoying! I spent weeks trying to figure out how to turn this off on my EP-3 only to find out it is not possible. I have a specific post process that I have to do just to remove this. Why can we not have the option to leave this data blank in the camera like every other manufacturer. The EXIF data is already tagged with the camera make model and serial number. I do not think Olympus understands how much of a hinderance this is to a number of users. I considered never using Olympus again because this really messed with the workflow. Other manufacturers give you the option to Title with a blank or a sequential number after a title. I am not sure when they will get with the program. Hiding behind the idea that it is just some small bit of EXIF data that only pops up in certain softwares because that is not the case. If they sold an EM-1 model that did not do this I would pay more for it to be rid of the problem.

Well that may sound like I really do not like the EM-1. The fact is I still really like it a lot, but it does have a few issues that and I did want to explain them well enough for others to understand. Currently the pros very much outweigh the cons for me. I want to give it 5 stars but I just can't. I am however considering buying a second one. The bottom line is it feels like it is indestructible and the photos are great. Buy one!

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9