View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

March 28, 2015


Small, lightweight, and razor sharp

Got this lens for some headshots at work (and well, I do love primes!) and have not been at all disappointed. The focus is quick, and the images are very sharp. Got a good deal on it in the refurb store to save a bit of money. This one will get a lot of use!

March 25, 2015

Manish Vanjara

Excellent portrait lens with stunning sharpness, contrast, and background blurring capabilities

I use this lens with OMD-EM10. This is another very sharp lens. It has a good solid feel. It is middle sized in my holy trinity of prime lenses which includes beside the 45mm, the Olympus 25mm f1.8 and Panasonic 14mm lens. However all three of my prime lenses + my 75-300 with a spare battery fit in my National Geograhic Africa collection small sling bag NG A4567. So while it is bigger than my other prime lenses, it is not huge. Infact it balances really well with the OMD-EM10.

The images this lens produces are stunning. They have very good colour, sharpness, and contrast. Same as the Olympus 25mm f1.8 lens. The focal length is eqivalent to 90mm of film camera. This focal lenght is ideal for portrait photography. It is sharp even wide open at f1.8. I manage to get decent background blur. People go wow when they see their picture taken with this lens.

If you are looking for a prime portrait lens, then go for this lens. It is for sure a very sharp and excellent lens. Highly recommended.

March 17, 2015


Great lens for the price.

Great for portrait as well as more general use. Nice street lens fast and sharp for the price. You won't be disappointed with it.

January 12, 2015


Tiny Wonder

This short tele lens is great for 1-2 person head and shoulder portraits. It's relatively low priced, and almost quizzically small for its focal length.

If you haven't been satisfied enough with shallow subject isolation from the kit lenses--particularly at full zoom, this lens will probably fix that.

I beat mine up pretty badly, and it looks terrible, but it keeps shooting great pictures. Sharp wide open, even sharper stopped down a notch or two. Initially I hated using this focal length, but after getting accustomed to shooting close portrait shots, I really warmed up to it, and use it as much as I can. It's a faint bit soft in the corners, but unless you're trying to shoot landscapes at hyperfocal, it's probably not a issue. Color reproduction is of course, great.

Haven't tested it extensively against my new and highly regarded 40-150mm f2.8 pro, but the pro is a bit sharper from what I can tell. Colors seem similar. Quite a feat against that monster of a (m4/3) lens! The 45 is not obsolete by any measure in contrast to that, especially in size.

Highly recommended if you're looking for something in this focal length. Great fun once you get a feeling for it.

November 11, 2014


What a great little lens!

I've been after a decent focal length with fast aperture for a while now. I did "almost" pay a lot more for a competitive brand and decided to check this 45 mm f1.8 out personally at a local dealer.

Not only is this lens great for portraits or shots requiring the focal length but the bokeh achieved by varying the aperture is quite amazing. I have been keeping it on my camera constantly as the lens of choice over the 17 mm lens that came with the camera.

I took some portrait shots recently and the subject emailed me a little while ago complimenting the work.

The price and performance of this lens is in a league of its own.

March 26, 2014


Pictures just POP, worth every penny

Well, there's a lot of good reviews here, and for good reason.

Pictures pop and explode with contrast, sharpness and Bokeh at just the right mixture. Professional prints jump at you.

A must have for tighter shots to isolate subjects.

The longer the focal length, the better Bokeh works. This is starting into the creamier out of focus, and I love it. This one is at the start of portrait lengths, and I can't wait to get the 75mm version.

There is no reason not to buy it, save.

March 22, 2014


Very Disappointed in IQ

I purchased this lens after to use as a small, portable, lens on my E-M1 expecting great image quality based on hundreds of reviews. The image quality I have experienced is mediocre at best, on par with the 75-300 V1 zoom. Both my 12-40 zoom and my 75mm are significantly sharper than this 45. I will be returning this lens and consider it to be a sub-par performer. Possibly there are manufacturing issues with it?
It is light, small and easy to handle and focuses fast which is why I gave it a 2 star rating.

March 13, 2014


Sharp, compact and affordable!

The sharpness of this lens is truly impressive. I'm simply stunned at how well this 45mm reproduces color and contrast.

To this into perspective, I pitted the 45mm against my 1500.00 dollar 50mm 1.4 Sony zeiss. Even at 200% crops viewed on an LED LCD screen I cannot tell that much of a difference. In fact, at 1.8 this lens produces plenty of bokeh where the 1.4 zeiss must be stopped down. In real world terms outside of gallery prints being viewed at 300 DPI 3 inches from your face- differences are minimal.

It's a steller lens and the price is bargain basement. I see the size as just an added bonus. It's really getting hard to justify expensive full frame lenses when you see the high quality Olympus can produce in a small package.

Do yourself a favor and buy this lens. In fact, I think if your at all serious about photography your doing yourself an injustice by not giving this a try. It's that unbelievably good. I just paired it with the E-P5 and picked up the 9-18- it just keeps getting better! Great job Olympus- keep it up.

February 17, 2014


Great portrait and general purpose lens

This lens is the equivalent of a 90mm lens on a full frame camera. I use it for head shots and LOTS of stuff outdoors. I used it to take great images of the Atlanta Braves at night in Turner Field with my E-M5. Even though I was in the "first deck", quite a distance away, the shots were sharp when viewed at 1:1 on a 24 inch monitor. It is probably the single "best value" lens in the lineup. You can use it indoors for candid closeups without a flash. It's really useful, once you understand the more limited view.
ONE precaution: The outside is NOT metal, even though it looks like metal. My particular silver example's "ribbed ring" has a few gashes and marks from being thrown in a bag with other hard objects (front and back covers on, of course).

October 31, 2013


The Must Have Lens for OM D

This is a must have lens at this price but be careful if you have a bag of zooms. After you use this you will not be pulling out the zooms much. Better get good at Craigslist...

I ended up selling all my zooms (and $6K worth of Canon DSLRs) and buying all the primes.

Does the "D" in DSLR stand for dinosaur?

This was my first prime and arguably the most useful. At this price it is a no brainer. The image quality is so much better than any of the zooms. You can actually get subject isolation on a blurred background.

I added the 75mm 1.8, the Voightlander 17.5, the Pan/Leica 25mm f/1.4, the 60mm macro and a Rokinon fish eye. Superb!

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4