View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

February 01, 2014

Mike

Very Disappointed

I had very high hopes for this camera based on my very positive experiences with two previous Olympus cameras, but in the end was very disappointed. Auto focus was inconsistent leaving pictures without good definition. Colors were washed out compared to scenes being photographed. Video focus was constantly hunting, resulting in playback that was sometimes very sharp, and others almost unrecognizable. It has lots of great functions for taking photos, but unfortunately, that functionality didn't result in good pictures on many occasions. On the other hand, some pictures came out great and were real keepers, but the inconsistency drove me crazy. I’m not a professional photographer, but I do enjoy photography and have been engaged in the hobby for a long time. This camera was not going to allow me to enjoy my avocation. I returned it for a refund after three weeks and many disappointing photos while on vacation.

January 14, 2014

Robert

Excellent camera

I got this camera to use on my daily walks, I like the range of the zoom, As I see various wildlife. Also the super macro for photographing insects and flowers, along the roadside. It fits in my shirt pocket, in cold weather able to keep it warm. Missing out on photo ops will not be a problem.

January 07, 2014

Patricia

Terrible, aweful pics and videos

My first my son got me for Christmas, was overjoyed! It sucks, I have tried and tried, blurry pictures, it zooms in and out on its own and by the time it stops doing its thing is too late to take a picture then comes out blurry. Love my sons Sony Syber shot that is ancient and love how crisp and clear the pictures and videos are. Took one or 2 videos with this and can hear the shutter noise and if you try to zoom it goes all blurry same as when I try to take a picture, just hate he spent all that money on this camera and how the heck to you tell someone after all that trouble that this camera sucks!!! He was so proud of it bought the case too.

December 26, 2013

Donna

Disappointed Twice

Got the camera and got blurry photos and videos that were not synched with the audio. Returned it and got a replacement of the same camera and the same result. This is a bad camera and
I have lost Circus and Christmas photos and videos due to this defective product. Memories that I cannot redo in photos and videos of the grandchildren.

December 17, 2013

David

Great little Point-N-Shoot

I bought this Camera a few weeks ago. This camera meets all my needs for a novice photographer. The zoom works very well and the quality of the photos even in low light are great. I would recommend this camera to everyone.

December 12, 2013

Robert

Not great.

Am not impressed with photo quality especially with flash. My 8 year old Sony Cyber Shot takes much better pics. The control button is a bit erratic and doesn't seem to respond properly. When taking video the sound of the lens adjusting is heard in the audio. Advertised as "wide angle" but doesn't seem to take a wider shot than my Sony Cyber Shot. Separate battery charger is a bit expensive.

November 09, 2013

Teresa

fair

11-9-13...just got this camera......I have noticed that I have to take multiple photos JUST to get the right quality...the first one might be blurry, the next one might be too dark...the flash doesn't flash every time....the auto mode is not good to me......when I want it to flash it does not.......i am using a 64mb memory card....when I the movie mode it is constantly trying to focus so as I am watching the movie I taped it is constantly going in and out of blurriness......Teresa in Florida

November 08, 2013

Terri

Would give it a zero if I could

I have owned at least 6 digital cameras. All of them have been Sony and I have loved every one. I got the new cameras as each new resolution update and options were released. I saw this Olympus on QVC and it seemed like a spectacular deal and a quality camera. I was especially excited for the 24X zoom and the 14 megapixel resolution. I ordered extra batteries and an external battery charger before the camera even arrived so that I would have batteries ready for trying out all the options. That was a HUGE mistake that I will never make again.
First of all, the flash does not automatically pop up when needed. You must flip a little switch to pop it up.
I used the zoom to take some pictures of an apple tree that is 3 houses away from me. The zoom worked well. I don't, however, believe that the resolution is actually 14 Mp.
I tried the macro mode and the camera kept going in and out of focus for as long as I held the shutter button halfway down. I tried pushing all the way down when it was in focus, but still never got a macro picture that you could tell what the subject was. I used just the general portrait mode to take a few pictures in a well lit room in my house of several different items. Some turned out clear while most were very blurry and even hazy in some instances. Without fail, while trying to focus, the camera made a moving gear type of sound the entire time. That was a pretty telling indication of problems itself.
Now for the movie mode. Never seen a camera take such horrible videos and make so much noise while doing it. Even in a well lit area, the video was not crisp or clear and the audio was even worse.
The bottom line is this....if it were just this camera that I bought that had these problems, I might send it back for a replacement, however, my sister bought one for her and one for her daughter at the same time. Both of those cameras had EXACTLY the same problems as mine.
I took pictures with my 8 Mp Sony and compared them to the exact same pictures taken with the new Olympus 14 Mp and guess what, the Sony photos were far superior in clarity and color than the Olympus SZ-15. It's going back to QVC for a refund.
By the way, I couldn't find any reviews on this camera until after I purchased it and got the request for review from Olympus. Had I been able to read these reviews, I would not have purchased this

October 24, 2013

Rachel

SPIFFY LITTLE CAMERA

I was really undecided at first with this camera....but after taking the time to sit and play with it I LOVE IT. I have 2 kids and the different options are really fun. I don't mind that the flash doesn't pop right up, but it does take longer than I'd like to zoom in when I'm trying to take a pic of something far away. Other than that the picture quality is great. FUN CAMERA ! ! ! !

October 18, 2013

George

Fantastic Camera

I love this camera...it takes crystal clear still shots as well as video's....the zoom is perfect...this is a great camera for novice OR Professional ppl....

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3