February 01, 2014

Mike

Very Disappointed

I had very high hopes for this camera based on my very positive experiences with two previous Olympus cameras, but in the end was very disappointed. Auto focus was inconsistent leaving pictures without good definition. Colors were washed out compared to scenes being photographed. Video focus was constantly hunting, resulting in playback that was sometimes very sharp, and others almost unrecognizable. It has lots of great functions for taking photos, but unfortunately, that functionality didn't result in good pictures on many occasions. On the other hand, some pictures came out great and were real keepers, but the inconsistency drove me crazy. I’m not a professional photographer, but I do enjoy photography and have been engaged in the hobby for a long time. This camera was not going to allow me to enjoy my avocation. I returned it for a refund after three weeks and many disappointing photos while on vacation.

January 14, 2014

Robert

Excellent camera

I got this camera to use on my daily walks, I like the range of the zoom, As I see various wildlife. Also the super macro for photographing insects and flowers, along the roadside. It fits in my shirt pocket, in cold weather able to keep it warm. Missing out on photo ops will not be a problem.

January 07, 2014

Patricia

Terrible, aweful pics and videos

My first my son got me for Christmas, was overjoyed! It sucks, I have tried and tried, blurry pictures, it zooms in and out on its own and by the time it stops doing its thing is too late to take a picture then comes out blurry. Love my sons Sony Syber shot that is ancient and love how crisp and clear the pictures and videos are. Took one or 2 videos with this and can hear the shutter noise and if you try to zoom it goes all blurry same as when I try to take a picture, just hate he spent all that money on this camera and how the heck to you tell someone after all that trouble that this camera sucks!!! He was so proud of it bought the case too.

December 26, 2013

Donna

Disappointed Twice

Got the camera and got blurry photos and videos that were not synched with the audio. Returned it and got a replacement of the same camera and the same result. This is a bad camera and
I have lost Circus and Christmas photos and videos due to this defective product. Memories that I cannot redo in photos and videos of the grandchildren.

December 17, 2013

David

Great little Point-N-Shoot

I bought this Camera a few weeks ago. This camera meets all my needs for a novice photographer. The zoom works very well and the quality of the photos even in low light are great. I would recommend this camera to everyone.

December 12, 2013

Robert

Not great.

Am not impressed with photo quality especially with flash. My 8 year old Sony Cyber Shot takes much better pics. The control button is a bit erratic and doesn't seem to respond properly. When taking video the sound of the lens adjusting is heard in the audio. Advertised as "wide angle" but doesn't seem to take a wider shot than my Sony Cyber Shot. Separate battery charger is a bit expensive.

November 09, 2013

Teresa

fair

11-9-13...just got this camera......I have noticed that I have to take multiple photos JUST to get the right quality...the first one might be blurry, the next one might be too dark...the flash doesn't flash every time....the auto mode is not good to me......when I want it to flash it does not.......i am using a 64mb memory card....when I the movie mode it is constantly trying to focus so as I am watching the movie I taped it is constantly going in and out of blurriness......Teresa in Florida

November 08, 2013

Terri

Would give it a zero if I could

I have owned at least 6 digital cameras. All of them have been Sony and I have loved every one. I got the new cameras as each new resolution update and options were released. I saw this Olympus on QVC and it seemed like a spectacular deal and a quality camera. I was especially excited for the 24X zoom and the 14 megapixel resolution. I ordered extra batteries and an external battery charger before the camera even arrived so that I would have batteries ready for trying out all the options. That was a HUGE mistake that I will never make again.
First of all, the flash does not automatically pop up when needed. You must flip a little switch to pop it up.
I used the zoom to take some pictures of an apple tree that is 3 houses away from me. The zoom worked well. I don't, however, believe that the resolution is actually 14 Mp.
I tried the macro mode and the camera kept going in and out of focus for as long as I held the shutter button halfway down. I tried pushing all the way down when it was in focus, but still never got a macro picture that you could tell what the subject was. I used just the general portrait mode to take a few pictures in a well lit room in my house of several different items. Some turned out clear while most were very blurry and even hazy in some instances. Without fail, while trying to focus, the camera made a moving gear type of sound the entire time. That was a pretty telling indication of problems itself.
Now for the movie mode. Never seen a camera take such horrible videos and make so much noise while doing it. Even in a well lit area, the video was not crisp or clear and the audio was even worse.
The bottom line is this....if it were just this camera that I bought that had these problems, I might send it back for a replacement, however, my sister bought one for her and one for her daughter at the same time. Both of those cameras had EXACTLY the same problems as mine.
I took pictures with my 8 Mp Sony and compared them to the exact same pictures taken with the new Olympus 14 Mp and guess what, the Sony photos were far superior in clarity and color than the Olympus SZ-15. It's going back to QVC for a refund.
By the way, I couldn't find any reviews on this camera until after I purchased it and got the request for review from Olympus. Had I been able to read these reviews, I would not have purchased this

October 24, 2013

Rachel

SPIFFY LITTLE CAMERA

I was really undecided at first with this camera....but after taking the time to sit and play with it I LOVE IT. I have 2 kids and the different options are really fun. I don't mind that the flash doesn't pop right up, but it does take longer than I'd like to zoom in when I'm trying to take a pic of something far away. Other than that the picture quality is great. FUN CAMERA ! ! ! !

October 18, 2013

George

Fantastic Camera

I love this camera...it takes crystal clear still shots as well as video's....the zoom is perfect...this is a great camera for novice OR Professional ppl....

September 10, 2013

c

Aweful Camera

Ok so I bought the cam thinking I'm going to get something great...I previously owned the Olympus SP 320 and was very pleased with it, only 8mp and 5X (?) zoom but it worked great.

So, I use the SZ-15 outside in bright sunny daylight at the beach, in auto mode, and the pics came out dark. I used it inside and no automatic flash popped up, pics dark and blurry. So many pics I took came out blurry and as if they were taken in dark light, even when not the case. Never ever ever had this problem w/the sp320.

I would not recommend buying this cam. Took super long to reset for the next pic. Dark LCD view screen when used indoors, could not view anything I was taking a pic of.

Would not select a star if I didn't have to.

August 16, 2013

Charles

Superb little camera!

I just received this camera a few days ago and am very happy with it! I have been fiddling around with it to get used to it. Thank heavens for digital photography and rechargeable batteries - I don't have to worry about wasting money on film and batteries. I have been taking some pictures around the area to get used to it and find it really easy to use. The camera has great capabilities but it is also very easy to use for basic shooting. The camera seems to go from off to fully on (booted up) in about a second. Focusing seems to be very fast also although I think it will be slower in low light. A full set of instructions come with the camera on a DVD. Directions are complicated but I think new users just need to take their time and gradually familiarize themselves with its different options. Some people mention that the flash has to be popped up to work while many cameras have the flash pop up automatically when needed. I don't find this a problem. If I want to use flash, I pop it up and the camera will only use it if necessary. If I don't want flash at all I leave it down and the camera will not use it. The viewing screen is very bright and clear outdoors in bright sunlight, which can be a problem for many similar cameras. This camera has about five different brightness settings for the display and I set mine to the brightest. Even with the sun shining over my shoulder directly on to the screen I could clearly see the picture. For years I have been using bigger and more complicated digital cameras. Before that, for many years, I have used everything in film photography from 1/2 frame 35mm to 8X10 view cameras. I am really happy with this little camera and think it is the perfect choice for me. It has many different options if I want to use them but it is also an excellent point-and-shoot camera with a very long zoom lens. Because of its small size, this little gem is really easy to carry around without the need for large, heavy camera bags. I bought this camera in bright red to satisfy the Walter Mitty side of me. I really think anyone looking for a great, little all-around digital camera for almost all photography will be very happy with this camera. Just be sure to give yourself and the camera a break and don't expect to be familiar with every aspect of the camera in a few minutes. This is true with any digital camera. Enjoy!

August 14, 2013

carol

SZ-15/DZ-100 Camera

The only feature that I would like to have on the camera is a view finder for sunny days so you can tell exactly what will be in the picture. Pictures are excellent. I would like for the camera to focus faster. I do not like they way the battery has to be charged but it is new to me and I am sure I will be finding out more later. Overall, as of now, it is a nice camera that can be carried in your pocket for easy access. A handheld instruction book would have been nice.

August 09, 2013

Ruthie

Love It!

I have only had my SZ-15 for a week now but I have played with it off and on and find it a marvelous little point 'n shoot. I have went from a 35mm, down to smaller and smaller digitals thru the years. Decided that they have finally have gotten the little ones as good as the SLR size. No, it will not do everything but this little camera is a workhorse. The pictures have been great even in low light (using flash of course). The easy of use is marvelous. And I just love, love, love, the "magic" function. Can't wait to use this little gem on our next vacation.

August 07, 2013

Ron

Great versitility

I have had this camera for 3 months and am impressed with how much it does well. Great Zoom range and very good flash for its size. It takes sharp pictures and is easy to handle. I am disappointed with the color as it appears washed out in Landscape mode.

July 29, 2013

Gerald

Not Happy

I've owned Olympus cameras in the past and that is one reason I bought this one. Like some of the other reviews, blurry pictures.
I haven't used it with a tripod since it is small and meant to be used while on vacation. The rear screen is almost impossible to see in bright sunlight and it does not reproduce the actual picture very well (by this I mean the actual photo on a computer is much better than what you see on the back of the camera except for low level light where the opposite is true). I love the lens 's 24x and that is one of the reasons I bought this model but overall I am not happy with the quality of the display and the shutter speed which leads to blurred pictures. I would not recommend this camera.

July 03, 2013

Becky

Disappointed

I was disappointed in the camera. The charging cord is very short, and we found that when taking the photos the stability is not good, more are blurry and fuzzy than not. It did not have a card included or an instruction book. I will return it and try something different.

June 23, 2013

TJK

nice little camera

received this camera for Christmas 2012 and I am quite happy with it. I carry it everywhere as the size fits nicely into my purse and is easier to use than my other digitals. I have had some issues with macro focusing as of late which is frustrating. Don't fee that it is user end as this just started and seems to correct if I shut the camera off and the turn it back on. That is a bit disappointing as I have only had the camera 6 months. I, like other owners, am disappointed that it did not come with a manual. It is frustrating using the camera's battery to read instructions. Also feel that the direction for the insertion of the memory card should be "highlighted" as it is extremely small and hard to read. All things considered, it is a nice little camera and over all, I am happy with my purchase.

June 03, 2013

Ladelle

Great Camera

I have been using another brand for many years and am very pleased with the Olympus. The menu on the camera is better than others, less confusing to use and the camera comes with a disk that has complete operating instructions which I love - less paperwork. It comes with a cord to charge the battery with a computer and also works well using the USB port on my car. I took about 80 pictures the day I bought it without using the flash and was surprised that it used only 1/4 of the battery power, however, the next day I took about 15 photos with the flash and it about drained the battery - I purchased a backup battery. The camera makes itself ready to take a 2nd picture a bit too slow but faster than the other brand I have. The view screen on the back of the camera can be seen in full sunlight.

June 02, 2013

Humberto

Good Camera

Just bought it and already far exceeds my expectations. Have taken photos here around the house and it is excellent. The zoom is outstanding, I've zoomed in on some birds out side and it brings then in like I have then in the palm of my hand. Recommended to one and all...hb

May 28, 2013

floyd

What a chore to use

It comes with a short length USB to camera cord which charges the camera via a Computor.There is NO Handheld Instruction Booklet however you do get a CD disc to download to your computor.Viewing it at home shows It Is a complicated camera to use.The Battery is the only way to get use to using it and you need to recharge it often and there is no memory card you need to purchace one seperately.The store suggested an SDHD for fast photo taking (the larger it is the more memory you get i.e. 2GB 20 min video , 4GB 40min video)
The photos I've taken are great photos however you WILL need a tripod to hold it still.Well I have to go now and read more about it so I can use it outdoors because NO of Handheld Instruction Manual !

May 23, 2013

Joe

Awesome camera

This is my third Olympus Camera. And the SZ15 has so many fine capabilities to make the shooting experience an enjoyable pastime.
I recently submitted a photo of an sunset to a local TV station on FB and have received over 400 likes for the pictures.
Am looking forward to taking more pictures in the future with a very compact and functional digital camera.

May 22, 2013

JOSEPH

THE NEGITIVES HURT THE PLUSSES

I had to buy a memory card. It should have come with an instruction book. Charging the battery through the camera is a pain, plus the charging cord is very short.

On trying out the camera, I liked the way it shoots indoors, even with poor light.

I think I will get familiar to its other features with more practice.