View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

June 22, 2013

Rivalbob

Great Camera for Outdoor Activities

Nice size camera for WW Canoeing, watersports, and winter hiking. One of the best features is it ability to accept filters such as a polarizer. This is extremely helpful for good pictures while involved in active outdoor sports. Have yet to try it scuba diving but hope that it will work great for that also.

June 16, 2013

Devan

JUST FREAKING AMAZING

I previously had the TG-8010, well actually i still do and it still works but this camera is amazing in low light, bright light, in the bush and on the move. I find it brings the color out of anything that i go and take and take a picture of, I just LOVE this camera and your products, oh and the macro is just incredible you can not beat it unless of course you plan on spending 600 bones for a decent DSLR lens but no body got the money nor the time for that. As for the finally you guys get 5 stars and definitely deserve them

June 16, 2013

NMHiker1

very nice camera

I just got my camera and really like it. I have been taking some fun shots around the house and took some yesterday outside just to see how it does in the sun. I got very nice photos. I am still learning what the camera will do, but I really like it. Definitely taking it with me on vacation, down the Colorado River through Cataract Canyon.The only down side to this camera is it is a power hog and can eat batteries. That's why I didn't give it 5 stars.

June 12, 2013

jonathan

Worst then my old stylus 790

So this camera takes better pictures for sure but a drop from waist height cracked the casing on it.... My old stylus took many a dropped and is perfectly fine. The only reason I got the TG-2 was because it took so much better pictures and was suppose to be a tougher camera. Olympus is refusing to repair the damage saying that it's not covered. Way to not stand behind your product. Last camera I will buy from them.

June 12, 2013

Kim

The future is here

I have happily owned the original Tough 1030SW since it was released and have been more than happy with it. I have checked out every high end Tough camera since as I have upgradeitus. Not one single one has impressed me as much as the original 1030SW. Until now that is. I am blown away by this camera and all of its amazing features, everyone who sees the pictures this awesome machine takes is too. I have only scratched the surface of the things this camera can do and am in complete awe of its performance. The battery life is more than acceptable and I was even afraid to operate the GPS as on a previous model it flattened the battery in no time. Not this one. After returning from an outdoor adventure I sit down and upload the camera to my PC and within minutes the charge indicator light goes out. The only thing Olympus could have done to make this camera better would be a smaller size like the original 1030SW [but then you lose the huge 3" HD screen] and perhaps a Titanium body so the camera would float, and get rid of the annoying noise on movies while zooming.
Buy this camera and make this summer one to remember. If your disappointed with this camera, go see your doctor for some therapy because there's something wrong with you.

June 11, 2013

Daniel

Among the best in service, oh yeah the camera is great too!

I pre-ordered this camera for my Disney vacation, the people at Olympus explained to me that the first shipment was already sold out, but the customer rep called me back twice; once to check when exactly I was leaving on vacation, and another time to check to see if the second batch of camera came on time, which it DID!!! To say the least the service blew me away. Service alone would not do it though; I am a professional photographer, and the only reason I wanted another camera was because of the cost and size of my pro gear did not seem conducive to a theme park. While this camera is not a "pro" dslr, it sure does some great shots, even in low lighting. My favorite function though is the super macro mode, fantastic!

June 09, 2013

DAVID J

Lots of great features; a couple of drawbacks

I like the camera. It has a huge variety of capabilities for a pocket-sized camera. The picture quality is excellent for a small camera and the features that make it waterproof and tough are amazing. The one touch video button is a great feature. I only see a few issues. First; it needs a lens cap. It is too easy to finger print, or get dust and dirt on the glass lens protector. Perhaps the red ring could be replaced with one that accommodates a cap. Second, the menu system is very complex causing the learning curve to be steep. Third, the camera would greatly benefit from an optical viewfinder. In bright sunlight the rear viewing panel is hard to see. Still, it will be my everyday camera

June 06, 2013

Michael

Amazing for a tough, point/n shoot

I award five stars to TG-2 for the point'n shoot category of cameras. (Not fair to compare any point'n shoot to a pro SLR.)
This is an amazing, deck of cards-sized camera capable of taking excellent images in a wide range of situations. I added some inexpensive accessories based on my lifetime experience as a photojournalist. Added the accessory ring, a hard-coated, anti-glare clear filter, and a collapsable rubber lens hood to the front, and a cheap but effective, plastic, pop-up screen hood to the back. This combo still slips easily into a bicycle jersey pocket or the palm of my hand. You don't need these accessories ... but I have a thing about protecting lenses, minimizing flare ... and seeing screens in bright daylight. I'm still learning the amazing features of this camera, but can tell you that many photos are indistinguishable from photos taken with my pro SLRs and lenses. The fast F2 lens with range from (35mm equiv.) 25 to 100mm is useful. I shoot most slr pics with a 28, 105 or 135, all fast F2 for focus control.) Having wrung out the TG-2 and finding it useable, I have on order the accessory telephoto.

There's a reviewer on this page that says the TG-2 is no better than a cell phone camera. This is not possible, in my experience. It has the capability to take high-quality pics in most situations. Suggest he either study the TG-2 manual, or ask an Olympus rep for advice.

June 03, 2013

Leon

Pretty darn good

I purchased the camera primarily for the low light capabilty and GPS. It does work very well for low light. The waterproof feature is nice but really only need rainproof. The only downside is no lens cover, I'd hate to scratch the lens. The LCD screen would not be a killer.
All the other features can be very useful.

May 31, 2013

Dr. T O'Casey

A Fun Camera

I purchased this camera because of its rugged reputation. Hiking across a Lava Field on the Big Island during a night hike, I tripped and the camera went flying. Dings to the metal housing but it still keeps on shooting.

Cons: The camera froze up during a night dive photographing Manta Rays. This is NOT the time for popping out the battery and rebooting! I e-mailed customer help, and noted another reviewer had the same problem...but alas, no answer from Olympus.

The red cord, after frequent dives begins to smell like a very stale wet washcloth.

The cheap very plastic converter ring has now fused to the telephoto lens so I can no longer put on the lens cover without buying another very cheap plastic converter ring.

Would I buy it again? Well, my wife the biologist LOVES the macro and was always borrowing my TG-2...so to her absolute delight...yes, I bought a 2nd one.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8