View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

July 03, 2013

Michael

Buyer Beware

Bought this camera after considerable research. During the couple weeks I have owned it I tested it, set it up and packed it for my family vacation. I am in Disney World with my family now and the camera stopped working (Power light blinks once when depressing power button, Charged battery). Called tech support and told them it will not power on. The "Tech support" agent asked me to turn it on. After I got her to understand the nature of my call she said I would have to bring it in. No hard reset, end of call
Now I am on family vacation with no camera.

June 28, 2013

Frank

Does NOT do well in low light

In "P" (Program) mode, the camera does not take good pictures in low light because the flash does not go off in any kind of logical pattern. Instead, the camera tries to compromise by altering other internal settings. The darker the room, the worse it functions. My Sony DSC WX150 does a much better job for approximately half the price.

However, I did not buy the TG-2 for low-light, indoor work. Although the camera is new and I have not really put it to the test, I plan to use the device in the Grand Canyon. I expect that it will do just fine in that environment. I was interested in a durable, waterproof, simple-to-use camera under those conditions. We'll see how it does and I'll report back.

June 28, 2013

P:rance

Love it!!

I was hesitant to purchase this camera because I really wanted a larger DSLR camera. What I want to use this camera for made this camera the best choice. With my active life style I needed a camera I could throw in my backpack when hiking or pocket when snow skiing. I just bought tthis camera last week and am absolutely thrilled! This exceeded my expectations by far!! I love the macro mode and it is unbelievable the quality of the close up pictures at a mere few centimeters! I just got the TCON lens also and am thrilled with this as well. I set up a setting on Custom mode so I can easily switch to this lens. Love it, love it!!

June 27, 2013

GEOFF

WOW!

Very excited about my Tough TG-2. I went solely upon the Camera Store recommendation when I asked for a camera that was worthy of the Inca Trail & Machu Picchu but that could also do underwater shots in the Galapagos. It's not a vacation one does every day and so its not a vacation that you would just want to take any old camera. I'm so pumped I'm finding it hard to leave the house without it for everyday use. - but I'll have to wait 'cuz my son was so impressed with its quality and versatility that he has taken it on vacation with him and no doubt he will soon be buying his own. Even the people on the cruise were suitability impressed, no jealous, even though many one of had extremely expensive 'land' cameras with huge lenses and accessories. One of them even had an underwater housing for their brand name (as a wedding gift due to the high cost of a housing - quote, "almost as expensive as the camera itself"), putting a housing on a 'heavy camera' just makes it even heavier. The only downside is that the small plastic ring that tightens the strap on your wrist breaks easily (well after the 7th day of snorkeling twice per day), so I was fortunate to have a back-up and somewhat frustrated that an identical 'flat-strap' is neither a standard accessory either online or in the stores. What gives! The only straps seem to be for the pin-hole cameras and not the cameras with 'flat-strap' functionality. Even the 'float-straps' are of the 'pin-hole' variety. Looks like a Marketing oversight that can hopefully be resolved relatively quickly. Thanks Olympus and Saneal Camera. Kudos!

June 25, 2013

n h

Fine camera; few items need attention

I adopt and incorporate the review by David J dated June 9, as follows: I like the camera. It has a huge variety of capabilities for a pocket-sized camera. The picture quality is excellent for a small camera and the features that make it waterproof and tough are amazing. The one touch video button is a great feature. I only see a few issues. First; it needs a lens cap. It is too easy to finger print, or get dust and dirt on the glass lens protector. Perhaps the red ring could be replaced with one that accommodates a cap. Second, the menu system is very complex causing the learning curve to be steep. Third, the camera would greatly benefit from an optical viewfinder. In bright sunlight the rear viewing panel is hard to see. -N. H.

June 24, 2013

Donald

Great Camera!

I did not get this for a video camera I got it for an all around weather camera and it fits that perfectly.
I can take the TG2 to places that I would not think about taking my Nikon D700 and know that I am going to come away with some wonderful pictures!
The Magic feature adds some real fun to your shooting and I have enjoyed it.
If you get the adapter ring it comes with a lens cap so the lens is protected (should really come with the camera).
All in all I really like it and and would purchase it again hence the 5 stars.

June 22, 2013

Rivalbob

Great Camera for Outdoor Activities

Nice size camera for WW Canoeing, watersports, and winter hiking. One of the best features is it ability to accept filters such as a polarizer. This is extremely helpful for good pictures while involved in active outdoor sports. Have yet to try it scuba diving but hope that it will work great for that also.

June 16, 2013

Devan

JUST FREAKING AMAZING

I previously had the TG-8010, well actually i still do and it still works but this camera is amazing in low light, bright light, in the bush and on the move. I find it brings the color out of anything that i go and take and take a picture of, I just LOVE this camera and your products, oh and the macro is just incredible you can not beat it unless of course you plan on spending 600 bones for a decent DSLR lens but no body got the money nor the time for that. As for the finally you guys get 5 stars and definitely deserve them

June 16, 2013

NMHiker1

very nice camera

I just got my camera and really like it. I have been taking some fun shots around the house and took some yesterday outside just to see how it does in the sun. I got very nice photos. I am still learning what the camera will do, but I really like it. Definitely taking it with me on vacation, down the Colorado River through Cataract Canyon.The only down side to this camera is it is a power hog and can eat batteries. That's why I didn't give it 5 stars.

June 12, 2013

jonathan

Worst then my old stylus 790

So this camera takes better pictures for sure but a drop from waist height cracked the casing on it.... My old stylus took many a dropped and is perfectly fine. The only reason I got the TG-2 was because it took so much better pictures and was suppose to be a tougher camera. Olympus is refusing to repair the damage saying that it's not covered. Way to not stand behind your product. Last camera I will buy from them.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7