View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

August 26, 2014

Marie

I love this Camera

I'm not going to get technical like some reviews, but I will tell you that the main reason I bought this camera was because of the reviews I read. I rented an underwater camera last year which I think was a TG830. It took some fantastic underwater shots. I previously had an ultra zoom Olympus, but it had gotten slow and old so I decided it was time for a new camera, one that could do everything I wanted. I'm not a professional photographer, but I like to take a good shot, and be able to have it printed out to a 16 x 20. This camera has great color. Start up time is amazingly fast. It has fun features, it can take multiple shots in a very short time, and the fact that it can go underwater and take great shots there too is an absolute plus for me as I am the type to snorkel for hours at a time. The macro setting is wonderful too. The only thing I would change is the zoom - I do wish it zoomed in a little farther, but other than that I haven't found a single flaw with it.

July 31, 2014

Bettina

2nd year of snorkeling in Grand Cayman

I use this camera for snorkeling and it has done a great job so far. My husband got one this year and it did leak after 16 days of perfect use and it is still under warranty so we hope to have it repaired for our trip next year. I have used my TG-2 for 2 years and LOVE it!!! This year we tried night snorkeling and we thought it took some super pictures of an octopus, lion fish,eel and other sea creatures :) We don't know much about taking pictures underwater but we are trying to learn.

July 17, 2014

Michael

Great compact, rugged camera; sometimes won't focus

TG-2 is capable of great photos -- 11x14s that can be indistinguishable from my professional-grade SLR. Only complaint, sometimes it will not find a focus. Can be maddening, and has cost me some key photo opportunities. Seems to occur only at mid-distance to landscape type pics. I'm still trying to figure out what do do when it won't find a focus (ie. shows red rectangle, won't find a focus or display a green rectangle.) Of course, there's no way to manual-focus it. However, i.e.closeup and macro capability is amazing and so fast and simple, no focus problems. I also have the telephoto accessory lens and like it a lot -- comparable to a fast and sharp, 135mm lens on a full-frame SLR. I also have a second accessory ring, with a quality Olympus UV filter always in place to protect the camera's lens surface. Finally, I bought a set of the inexpensive, mylar, stick-on screen protectors, and an inexpensive plastic fold-up screen hood to make it easier to view in bright light. The UV filter on the front, and the screen hood on the back make the compact camera thicker by about half an inch ... but that's how I prefer to roll. I could take all the accessories off again if I need a really compact carry ... and it will still be a great camera.

June 10, 2014

Christopher

BEST FISHING / DIVING CAMERA

Easy to use, never worry about weather or having to guard the camera around water in canoe's, fishing, swimming,or sport diving. Summer and winter outdoors with high quality photographs. The color underwater is superb, best I have seen to date from a point and shoot. Red body color is hard to loose. Like the lens options and have used other filters for stunning pictures. Video is noisy when using zoom but I rarely use it. This camera has met my expectations, I waited 6 months to write the review and put it to use in the elements. No issues or negative response.

June 01, 2014

Peter

For Wife

After years of using Olympus Stylus 760, for 4 years she loved the camera until we were forced to buy a new one after our trip to Alaska. After taken 475 pictures the camera just died. She love the way Olympus worked research what she loved and found it in TG-2 and we bought it. According to my wife the owner of this gift it was an outstanding camera. She told everyone on how good the TG-2 worked for her. Thanks Olympus for coming up with a great camera.

May 06, 2014

John H.

Excellent photos, average video, supermacro can destroy autofocus

The camera worked great when I first got it and I was very pleased with the photos it took (better than any other PnS rugged camera out there). The video is 'okay', but I knew that going in based on reviews (and also the noise & focus issues), but I did not get this camera for shooting video. Then I started playing with the supermacro mode. It was really cool and opened up a whole new world to me. Unfortunately, once I started using the super macro zoom, the autofocus went haywire with the camera so all of my regular photos were out of focus. I sent it in to Olympus for repair which was covered under warranty. They didn't acknowledge anything wrong with the camera, however, they ran a autofocus calibration and got the camera returned back to me in about 10 days (which is a pretty good turnaround). The autofocus seemed to work just fine, but then I used the supermacro mode again and the focus issues came back. Unfortunately, now the camera is out of warranty, so I will have to pay to have it repaired. What a bummer.

March 23, 2014

Jeff

Excellent and tough little camera

I bought this camera for a trip to Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. From ATV riding in the tropical rain forest to snorkeling offshore, this camera was exceptional. It is easy to use on the fly and was a great complement to the DSLR we didn't want to risk getting destroyed by the elements. I am so glad we decided to splurge on this camera for our trip!

March 21, 2014

bob

Only one complaint

Went driving at 45 feet, very nice camera. Easy to operate, the only problem was I lost the bezel lens they supplied. The pictures and video were very good quality. Would have no problem buying again.

January 30, 2014

Lucasrc

Vacation

Took the kids to vacationing and bought the TG-2 knowing I would be using it underwater at the pool. It definitely did not disappoint. I would recommend this camera to anyone planning to do the same.

January 17, 2014

George

Perhaps color is better underwater!

I'm sure the TG-2 iHS is a good waterproof camera, but I'm disappointed in the hue of the colors of the photos taken. There is way too much red, which perhaps make for better photo colors underwater, but on dry land, you will need a photo editing software, such as Photoshop, to adjust the colors to more natural hues.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8