March 15, 2014

Lisa

great.....but.....

This WAS the best camera we bought..... until we were away last week. After taking many amazing photos and videos, above and below water, we were the envy of our friends. Until.......one afternoon it no longer worked. No warning, but also no more pictures to be taken to capture the remainder of our trip.
If it's water and shock proof, it should be able to handle my 3 feet deep underwater pictures, and a bit of rough handling on a pedal boat.
I don't know if it's a battery thing, or another malfunction/problem. The light doesn't even come on when trying to recharge.
Awaiting a reply from Olympus on what to do with it now.

January 01, 2014

Howard

it's a keeper

Only bought this for use in freezing temps, however the battery charge doesn't last long, in general. There's no lens cover and I don't like needing to wipe the lens before every use. Those are the only issues - I love everything else.

Some things I like are the photo quality, ease of use, small size/weight, high speed sequential shooting, LED illuminator (flashlight), excellent macro and optical zoom. I already dropped it once on concrete - no problem.

Would be helpful if Olympus went into detail, somewhere, about what speed memory card is best for this camera. I splurged on a class 10 card, but would a cheaper class 6 card worked just as well with the TG-630's high speed features?

Previously, I temporarily owned a fuji xp-60 and the TG-630 takes exponentially better photos. It's a keeper.

December 19, 2013

Kurt

Not what I expected for the price

I bought this for a trip to Alaska & sent the pictures to Snapfish, they all came out blurry, but look great on a PC, so what is up with that?

Also, I wanted to mount the camera to my car & power it with the car adapter, it goes into transfer mode to a PC & won't function, what is up with that?

The battery is a joke if you want to do video, you can't shut off the display which sucks up all of the power. So you only have 26 minutes of use, but with a 32 Gigabyte SD card it should run for 3.5 hours.

So, I have 4 batteries now & four 32 Gig SD cards, but I can't keep this thing powered continuously with the power cord, what a joke this camera is for me.

October 28, 2013

Margaret

Love my New Camera

I just purchased it Friday of last week and it is now only Monday and I am in love. I have never owned a camera so easy to use and get such quality pictures. I was so much fun taking pictures at a baby shower and I reviewed with ease and had quality pictures. I am going to take a class on how to get a better picture.

July 21, 2013

John

Met my expectations

I purchased this camera to carry with me while fishing. Although a relatively inexpensive waterproof camera, it has a nice array of features and I am very pleased with the quality of the pictures that I have taken so far. The menus are intuitive. However, I sometimes have difficulty navigating the menus because the joy stick is so small.

July 06, 2013

dan

great camera

i love this camera, i keep it set on fine mode for outstanding pics, takes great action shots tooo, i have a few pics of the kids in mid air jumping into the pool

June 20, 2013

HappyDad

Pleasantly Surprised

I received this for Fathers Day. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the photos and the features. I especially like the panorama feature and how easy it is to use on auto. The automatic switch to micro setting is great as well. haven't used it under water yet so I am only giving it a 4 star rating. Seems like excellent value for the money.

May 29, 2013

Melvin

Review

Great pictures. The only thing is it have a slippery body.I drop it the same week I purchase scratching the camera

May 24, 2013

Isko

Captured my story

I have been using DSLR for 5 years now. I decided to buy a more portable compact with good image quality. My wife and I decided to buy the TG-630.

Image quality is more than good enough for my taste which i usually post photos in social networks.

I love the SCN HDR function. The Full HD video is superb, the video quality is very good.

The only setback I notice is the battery life. I need a spare battery to use for the whole day. It also struggle in low light (anyway, most of the camera in the market do struggle in low light.)

Never tried it to underwater, maybe next summer.

Bottomline, good quality compact for a very affordable price. The worth is more than every cent you spend.

Nice one Olympus.