May 17, 2015

Jonathan

if you like macro, its a must have

What a great little macro lens. The fine detail, clarity and color this lens can pickup is spectacular. Took me e moment to get used to the focus but only a moment. Pairs up nicely with the MAL-1 macro arm light. Works double duty as a decent portrait lens as well. it's small and light, yet feels well built. I actually found myself headed out with one lens on the camera and the macro in my back pocket so I didn't need a bag.

April 21, 2015

Firewire

Way smaller form factor than expected

I was astonished at how small and compact this lens is! The diameter of the barrel is along the lines of the size of a U.S. Half Dollar (if you can remember those). Way smaller than I expected. This isn't a negative, but just something I wasn't expecting. Especially since it was a F2.8 lens and a 1:1 macro.

You pretty much have to use the focus limiter when going between macro mode and regular shooting. The time to focus is too long if you don't.

Great lens, and the dual purpose of macro and medium telephoto is quite handy! I have this and the 75mm F1.8 and like them both, but the macro does have some additional benefit with the close focus ability.

Getting one refurbished was a no brainer. Looked brand new and operated perfect. Either way, it is a great lens to add for the shear AF Macro that works pretty much spot on even in low light with out the AF illuminator.

April 07, 2015

Samuel

Top Notch

Great Lens.
Fast and tough with a useful length.
Focus limit switch is a little fiddly but you get used to it.

April 04, 2015

Bruce

As sharp a macro as I've seen

Small, light fast and shaaaarp! As good as the revered Nikon 105 and 200 and much smaller/lighter. Take incredible close-ups with it and take up little room/weight in your bag.

April 03, 2015

Carolyn

Must have lens

This lens is great for getting those artistic-fuzzy background shots, or the close-up of a ladybug. I use it a lot and I'm pretty lazy about changing my lenses. I prefer to have an all around lens on my camera so I'm ready for anything, but I put this lens on so often, I've never regretted buying it.

March 25, 2015

AusSEA

Excellent Macro

I started using the 12-50mm with extension tubes for Macro photography about 6 months ago. Results were good but my minimal focal distance was very short. I recently switched to the 60mm f2.8 Macro. The lenses supplies excellent working distance from subject as expected. What I wasn't counting on was the significant increase in image IQ. This lens pull out extremely fine detail and color rendering was more pleasing to my eye.

March 17, 2015

Keith

Wonderful macro lens.

I was shooting at the Chicago Botanic Gardens Orchid show and the shots were sharp with good color. There were several people with Nikon and Canon cameras with huge lens. Good job I don't suffer from lens envy as my OM-D E-M1 with the macro looked like a toy in comparison. Having used both systems this lens was just as good if not better. Great lens but why so chintzy Olympus with not providing hoods?

January 07, 2015

Michael

A Must for Close-up Work

I use this lens all the time for product photos and portraits alike. It is extremely sharp, if you can nail the focus and keep the camera shake under control (harder that it seems!).

I highly recommend that you get a good lighting setup, or at the very least, the Macro Arm Light (MAL-1) so you can keep the shutter speed up with a low ISO with a smaller aperture. f2.8 is hillariously narrow for really close macro work.

December 23, 2014

Kent

Excellent Macro/portrait Lens

I've got to echo much of Kevin's comments. Very good macro, lens is solid and does take a little getting use to. No lens hood and impossible to find if you don't by directly from Olympus at a $55.00 price. Why do I feel like I'm getting fleeced?

June 24, 2014

Ryan

Lovely Macro Lens

This lens is the reason I bought my E-PL6. This is a lovely macro lens, and really shows the strengths of the micro 4/3 format. It's relatively cheap, small, and is a very capable macro. Looking forward to the new Olympus lenses when they come out.

April 04, 2014

Peter

New World of Macro

Never had a macro lense but this one great! Combined with the auto touch focus on the M5, it easy to use, well built and a real pleasure.
Its opened a whole new world of composition and color. Highly recommended.

October 31, 2013

David

Touch focus makes this superb

Macro focusing is always tricky. Shallow depth of field means the focus/compose/shoot cycle often leaves the critical area out of focus.
With the OM D and the touch focus feature on the LCD this is a thing of the past. Simply compose and then touch the part you want in focus.
I added a 600R flash and a mini softbox. I use the flash in RC mode. Dial the ambient exposure down 2 stops and the flash up 2 stops (from the LCD) and take amazing mushroom photos that the Strobist would be proud of!

August 22, 2013

Don

Gets better with use

I have been shooting with this lens for a few months now and I wanted to update my earlier review. This is a great lens. Yes it does an excellent job as a macro but, what I think gets over looked is this lens as a medium telephoto. In many ways I prefer it over the 75mm. I find I am reaching for this lens more and more. It has great color rendition especially in low light.

I will be selling the 75mm once the 150mm comes out because I find this lens meets most of my needs in this focal length.

June 23, 2013

AJ

Hottest micro 4:3 for uw macro

I purchased the E-PL1 with kit 14-42mm lens when the pen first came out. I have been very satisfied with the lens as a go anywhere shoot anything lens. Finally broke down and purchased the 60mm macro. This was the second best purchase I have made for shooting UW. The first would be buying the PEN. The difference is I now shoot full frame for the camera more often. Detail is greater on everything from Blenny's to Seahorses. If you have the opportunity to test grab a quarter set it on a table and see how close you can get. It will fill the frame and show the scratches. Pro's can talk tech all they want but in the end this lens is a good macro for the price (wait for the sales and its even better)!!!.

January 21, 2013

Tim

Excellent lense

I use the macro lense to shoot while we're teaching at the Port Townsend School of Woodworking. I love the fact that I can switch from taking a portrait to the detail of a joint or tool without changing lenses. Crisp, quick focus. Excellent!

November 04, 2012

zwagner

Excellent

I got this lens with my new OM-D about 5 days ago, and have been out shooting with it twice.
First let me say that sharpness is first rate. Simply outstanding, and is even very good right from 2.8. Stopping down of course grants a small bonus in this area, but there is never a point where the lens isn't sharp (unless it's due to diffraction).
Build quality is very good, and the fact of it being weather sealed is just icing on the cake.
The focus limiter switch is very useful, and part of the reason for this is that the af can be a bit finicky. I pondered giving the lens 4 stars due to sometimes indecisive af, but it hasn't affected me in enough circumstances to really warrant a whole star knock.
One of the best things about this lens is its rather modest price point. $500 really isn't all that much for a lens of this caliber, and I certainly appreciate Olympus keeping the cost reasonable.
Simply put, a great buy, and recommended without reservation.

October 29, 2012

JW

Perfekt Macro

Still on preorder, but I got my lens in September (09.19)

As good as the FT 50mm Macro, but it is much faster on the E-M5. It is lightweight and sealed. So you can take pictures under all weather condition together with the sealed E-M5.

Excellent pics quality. Thumb up!!!!!

Perfect buy for my OMD E-M5

October 20, 2012

Eric

A fantastic little lens

Users of micro 4/3 cameras have been waiting for a macro lens to rival the Oly 50mm f/2 lens for the 4/3 system. With *this* lens, their wait is finally over -- it's light, compact, and produces beautiful macro images. It's an excellent portrait and telephoto lens, too -- so it's very versatile.

October 20, 2012

Kevin

excellent macro lens

Image quality is fantastic, probably as good as can ever be wished for in a lens this small. Weather sealed & good price make it an even better deal.

The focus limit dial on the side seems a bit odd to me, hope it doesn't break or jam up.

No lens hood included? LH-49 isn't even for sale yet? That's why I didn't give five stars.