View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 21
  4. 22
  5. 23
  6. 24
  7. 25

December 16, 2010

Flipant

Great camera, cant wait to build on the micro four thirds platform

December 11, 2010

MarkE

The most photo fun I have had in years

I have owned and used many cameras in the past 30 years and the E-PL1 is the most fun to use. I usually left my heavy SLR equipment home, but the E-PL1 and three lenses go with me everywhere. The best camera is the one you have with you of course.

I am not sure why many say it is targeted solely at the point-n-shoot audience. It has all of the advanced features that I need.

For the price, it is the best value on the market, in my opinion.

November 27, 2010

KathyW

Not a great camera for hiking and backpacking

I'm hiker and backpacker who likes to take photographs. I had been using an Olympus E-410, and just loved the camera because it was lightweight, easy to use, and took really nice photos. I thought the E-PL1 would be a good replacement for the E-410, but I was wrong. If I leave it in automatic, I get an orange tone to many of my photos. This means I have to take a lot more time and adjust the settings to get good photos while I'm trying to hike or backpack. It's very hard to use the camera in bright light without a optical viewfinder, and it's really hard to use a circular polarizer with the camera. Anyway, I found a refurbished Olympus E-420 and ordered it to replace the E-PL1. I'm hoping the E-420 will be just as good as my old E-410 was.

November 26, 2010

koochfive

Awesome Camera!

I was going to buy a big DSLR camera, but didn't want the bulkyness or the weight. When I went to my local photography store, the guy showed me the EPL-1 and I immediately fell in love with it.

I wanted something that was a step up from a point and shoot that I could interchange lenses and have more control over aperature and shutter speed and this did the trick. I bought this camera 6 months ago and haven't regretted the purchase one bit. I love it.

It does really well in low light and with a flash also. In really low light it struggles a bit with the autofocus, but in dim light it does just fine.

Love the in camera filters and settings. I take this camera everwhere. The software that comes with the camera is perfect. I dont need any other post-production software other than the Olympus ib.

If you want way more than a point and shoot, but dont want the weight and bulk of a full size DSLR, get this camera. You'll be glad you did.

November 23, 2010

cshanaberger

Great portable camera, for travel or hiking.

I bought this camera to take with me places I did not want to lug the E-3 to. Overall the best thing this camera has going for it is the impressive image quality & top of the tier jpegs. My biggest complaint would be the slow menu navigation due to no dials, & personally I do not like the plastic back as it feels weak even though it has proven not to be.

November 19, 2010

HELISTATION

WOW !

I'm just like a kid with his new toy. Fun and easy to use to use. Although the lens supplied with it (14-42mm) does not feel very sturdy nor tight. Unmistakably plastic, but it seems to do the job.
Overall, I'm glad to own one.

November 15, 2010

bakonfreek

beast camera, great price, beast pictures/videos

ever since I got this a few weeks ago, i've just loved it...I really like taking HD movies and high resolution stills...it really helps me with my little movie making and photography hobbies. I wouldn't be surprised if I use this for the rest of highschool and college

November 13, 2010

Boydcarts

Overall, an excellent camera.

I was drawn to the camera by its size and styling. I was very impressed once I began seeing images. The out of camera images are phenomenal. The color and resolution of the images exceeded my expectations. I bought this as a back-up for my dSLR, but it may end up replacing it. In addition to the kit lens, I have the 40-150 and the 17mm. The image quality is superb on all these lenses. I only have three complaints about the camera.
1: NO REMOTE CONTROL!!!!? It's astonishing that a camera of this level doesn't have any provision for remote control (wired or wireless). 2: The design of the 14-42 lens makes using a polarizing filter difficult if not impossible, as turning the filter causes the lens helicoil to move triggering a "lens error" on the camera. 3. The door covering the USB connection seems lightly constructed and likely to break.
If it weren't for those three items, I would have unhesitatingly rated the camera at 5 stars. The image quality and feature set provide and excellent camera in a compact package.

October 23, 2010

Onder

Best JPEG Camera Ever !

Hello,

I was plan to buy a DSLR to remplace my old one. And while a photo camera first job is to take picture I compared all jpeg taken with all camera even with top rated DSLR. Results : E-PL1 is clearly winner. Very very suprised and look into detail on it. Yes it is not DSLR not have all big specs but is does something very important. It gives me a real photo best ever to this date! Look forward results samples coming from this camera and compare with others you will understand.

October 23, 2010

insanalkitab

E-PL1 - the end of my long searches

I would have probably decide to buy E-P1, as I like it's retro design more, and as it has a better quality. My only concern was that it doesn't have a flash. So, when the new model E-PL1 appeared in March, it was the end of my long searches.
Pros:
- very portable;
- the built-in flash;
- in-body image stabilization;
- good high ISO performance;
- the dedicated button for video and the amazing quality of the video;

Cons:
- you need at least a bit of light to be able to autofocus. You can not autofocus in darkness;
- the flash is low powered, so you can't count on it when the subject is too far;
- Low resolution screen that's hard to see in bright light; you may consider the optional electronic viewfinder;

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 21
  4. 22
  5. 23
  6. 24
  7. 25