View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 19
  4. 20
  5. 21
  6. 22
  7. 23
  8. ...
  9. 25

January 28, 2011

Henry

nice camera

This is a very nice compact camera which is as good as many D SLR's.
I wish Olympus would make a fast 2.0 or 2.2 lens with a 14- 100mm lens at an affordable price for this camera.

January 26, 2011

Pouchboy

Excellent pics---quality images---buy it!

I switched from a big DSLR to the E-PL1 and have not regretted it. The proof is in the photos. They are sharp, they are accurate except under some mixed light situations, and there are many, many ways to manually override the auto settings for more control. The build is good and the kit lens sharp, though the lens is a tad plasticky-feeling when zoomed to tele. Not the best at low-light focusing, but there are workarounds that are worth it. Remember---if you want sharp photos, ones that can be blown up without quality loss, the E-PL1 really is a great choice. (OLY---you should have made the Super Control Panel the default instead of being so hard to set.) Only real downside to the camera is lens noise when shooting HD video.

January 26, 2011

fdevine

Excellent Mix of Features and Quality

This camera is an excellent buy for those wanting more than a point-and-shoot without the bulk of a DSLR. The image quality in most cases is outstanding! The quality of the sensor is obvious when you blow up a raw image on a big screen. The art filters and auto functions are great for some users. I loaned the camera to a friend and she loved the art filters.

There have been complaints about slow focusing and noisy images in low light and there is some justification to that. The slow, or difficult, focusing in low light is a problem, but only for VERY low light conditions.

I shoot most challenging subjects using the manual modes and have found the image quality is actually very good in low light if you manually control ISO, shutter, etc. As good as any DSLR I've used in most cases. The small flash built into the camera is much better than I expected and functions extremely well considering its size. If you want night shots, as with most cameras, get a tripod and set things up manually. That way you avoid disappointment.

I do a lot of underwater photography and Olympus makes outstanding housings for their cameras. The E-PL1 is no exception. The PT-EP01 is GREAT and the combination of housing and camera is as good as you can get without buying an expensive DSLR, housing, ports and domes.

Overall, I've been extremely pleased with the camera and would have given it 5 stars if the low light performance of the autofocus were improved, and there were less noise when using the auto shooting modes in very low light.

I've included some shots taken this past Christmas in no to very low light. These shots were taken without a tripod, camera in hand, using manual camera settings, so the ISO was set higher than ideal. Some detail was lost converting to jpeg small enough to download, but it's easy to see that the camera will work well in low light. You just need to learn how.

January 26, 2011

The Digital Man

This product has some really great features

This is definitely a camera with great potential. The jpeg engine is really excellent. It offers a lot of features for the money, including raw combined with jpeg. The built in flash is also a great asset of this camera. The large micro four thirds sensor delivers excellent image quality, especially in low light at higher ISO's. My only little quibble is the autofocus is slow in low light. The bottom line is this is a really fantastic camera and a great value for the money.

January 25, 2011

Awesome!

Great size, pictures

This is a wonderful camera with DSLR qualities ever I had . However, the menu is not user friendly. The charger has a lengthy cord is not that advantage for carrying.

January 25, 2011

Jimbo

Great little camera

This is a great little camera with lots of features at a decent price. I will keep this short.
The only reason I did not give it a 5 rating may not concern everybody in which case it would then deserve a five rating.
Two things I would have changed is no lag time between pushing the shutter and getting the image.
Second I would heaved liked manual controls for the f-stop and shutter speed, with having to use the electronic menus.
Other wise this is a top notch little performer.

January 25, 2011

doubtingtom7

Overall Great! Needs some accessories!

I love the overall quality of this camera, and the pictures that it takes! Anything i have to criticize is basically nitpicking. Because the lens is expensive, i highly recommend putting a protective UV filter on it, and i wish that the lens cap had a way to tether it to the body. I always have to remember where i shoved the cap. Also, for ease of naming, i wish there was a GPS sensor for image location tagging purposes. Like i said, nitpicking! I love this camera, and takes great pictures for my family!

January 25, 2011

Blueridge

A great value

I bought the E-PL1 as a backup to my SLR that was simple enough for my wife to use with video capabilities and that could (with the MMF-2) adapter use my existing Olympus four-thirds lenses. The camera has actually become my primary camera. I have been very impressed with the build quality and sophistication of systems. Some have complained about a lack of direct dials, but I have found that the Live Guide is accurate under most situations with minor tweaking and when I need more the "Dummies Guide to the E-PL1" is a great resource to reach the more advanced features quickly.

January 25, 2011

Anonymous

SUPER CAMERA

This camera is aperfect bridge to aDSLR. Does everything I want it to do without the bigger size and price.

January 25, 2011

mamola

excellent IQ and great value for money

Excellent camera and fun to use.Lightweight and in fact used more than my E 3. Have recently applied for A.R.P.S. -for most photographs used the Pen. My impression is that the weaker anti-ailiasing filter helps significantly.
Great little camera

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 19
  4. 20
  5. 21
  6. 22
  7. 23
  8. ...
  9. 25