View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

November 06, 2011

pat-the-cat

Great image from a tiny cam, fiddly menus

I like the small size and the aperture range is great. I doubt that current technology allows a bigger zoom range without adding so much bulk that the camera will go from shirt-pocketable to "jacket required." The optional viewfinder is superior to what the other guys offer.

My big complaint is the menu system, which can be confusing if you like to make adjustments while shooting. My SLR has no macro mode, so the XZ-1 is my go to camera for this. There are just too many steps needed to get in & out of macro!

October 24, 2011

rongorongo

Really Good Macro

I bought this camera as a secondary camera for quick pix. But the super macro turned out to be so good that I keep it at that setting to get super-closeups of bugs and flowers. I use the Macro Arm Light often. The menu is a little annoying to scroll through to change the settings. I'm not thrilled with the movie button- I'd rather set the dial to movie and use the shutter like the rest of my cameras. And oops- don't forget to make sure the audio is activated for movie mode!
The zoom is not impressive, but it's OK if you are only shooting "average" snapshots and are not at a zoo or out in the woods where you can't get that close to wildlife.
The picture quality is actually nice and sharp for a point n shoot. But the macro is the best on any point n shoot I've used by Olympus or the other two-or three, etc. I also like the Art Filters, especially the soft focus. I use it for close-up flowers and other background images. There is also a "Document" picture mode which is very convenient. It's not quite as sharp as a scan- but it's good enough to file documents, checks and such. If it wasn't such trouble to change the settings- I find the ring for changing the settings can be unintentionally rotated and that is rather troublesome; and if there was more zoom, even 10X; and the movie mode had focus tracking when zooming- I'd say this camera was near perfect for a pocket camera and grab shots. Oh and this camera also has RAW which is good if the lighting is really flat or you suspect you'll need to make a really large image for display or do post-editing.

October 16, 2011

lefabwolkr

A fantastic compact camera

I've used my new XZ-1 for a month now, extremely satisfied. I've been looking for a good compact camera for 3 months, not easy task given the saturated market.

Very easy, handy and functional for newcomers, it provides very good pictures in any light condition.

Despite the zoom hasn't a wide range, it fulfills 95% of the situations and does its job quite well. I mainly use it on trips or holidays, when I cannot carry my SLR.

The only backside is that it's again a "made in china" product...

October 15, 2011

PaulInNC

Nice in theory and in practice!

After years of using all kinds of cameras, I was looking for a camera that I could experiment with and my spouse could use as an effective point-and-shoot as well. This came out on top, as we wanted a camera that could take quality pictures both indoors and out without spending a ton of money.
So far, we have really enjoyed the results in shooting our 9 month old as well as pets, outdoor scenery, and tiny outdoor items as well - flowers,mushrooms,insects and such.
The detail on the JPEGs is pretty amazing and it is a real treat to get an f1.8 on a reasonably small camera.
I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants a really good lens on a compact camera.

October 09, 2011

TriadX1

Excellent optics

This camera has very fast and VERY sharp optics. I really love this camera and get great photos, but there are two complaints.

1. The quality of jpegs are HORRIBLE. They are over compressed and look like that have some sort of strong smoothing applied to them, and loose a lot of subtle details. I have to shoot everything in RAW and use lightroom to get a good photo. Done this way they are Excellent.

2. The focus on movies is worthless. I have found you can get ok movies if you put it in manual focus, but that is a pain.

My guess is these items can be addressed in a firmware update. Please oly listen to you users!!!

October 03, 2011

Diga

Exzellent stills

I recommend this camera to everyone who is in search for an well build compact camera with excellent picture quality and good controls. The picture quality is on par with entry DSLRs. Dissatisfying is the really poor video quality. Don't buy the camera if video is very important for you.

October 02, 2011

pressphotogMike

Excellent camera - takes sharp clear photos

This is a great little camera that is well worth the money. It takes excellent photographs, is great in low light, its controls are easy to use and the settings all work as they should, to allow you to take the photos you want in the conditions you want.
Problem areas are the useless lens cap. A camera like this should have a threaded lens so you can put on a protective filter. The access door to plug in the USB cord seems very cheap and doesn't have a solid click or feel to it. The USB cord is also way too short; should be at least another 12 inches long, especially since there is no separate charger included. The battery must be charged in the camera. When you pay this much for a camera, it leaves a bad taste in your mouth to have to go out right away and buy a stand alone charger. THIS CAMERA NEEDS A GRIP! Very hard to hold. A large protruding molded in grip under the word OLYMPUS on the front would be great - hollow it out to hold a second Li-50 battery. It would be nice if you could load two batterys into this camera so the camera could be powered by two. Battery life is good, but long shoots require extra batteries. Also, the mode dial on top of the camera should have positive click stops. It is too easy to accidentally switch modes.
Despite those few complaints, this is an outstanding camera. Beautiful, clear photos. Nice bokeh. Quick response time. This is my first digital camera. I have continued to use my Olympus OM-4T's, OM-4's, and OM-2N's. I love those cameras and the bodies, along with all the lenses, bounce grips, drives, etc. all still work great. When I saw the XZ-1, with its' 1.8 Zuiko lens, I couldn't resist.
Now Olympus. This is what you need to do. I always carry two OM bodies with me. One with a 35-105mm and one with a 65-200mm. I'm ready for anything. You now need to create the Olympus XZ-2. This would be a camera that picks up where the XZ-1 leaves off. It would be just like the XZ-1, (hopefully including some of my above suggested improvements) but unlike the XZ-1 the XZ-2 would have a fast 140-250mm (in 35mm) Zuiko zoom. Then I could leave both my OM bodies at home, and take my XZ-1 and XZ-2 with me and be ready for anything.

I haven't tried the video - no interest in video. If I want video, I'll buy a video camera.

September 16, 2011

Nature Shooter

Great still photography

I have had the camera for 4 months. I wanted a pocket sized camera that could shoot RAW and produce great JPEGs. The fast f 1.8 lens has allowed me to take wonderful indoor candid shots of my family without a flash. The Panorama feature is easy to use and has produced some great shots.
The camera comes up short on the movie function otherwise it would rate 5 stars. It continuously is searching for the correct focus as you shoot a movie. The result is that the subject of the movie is going in and out of focus making the result virtually useless. If you are buyig the camera for its ability to shoot HD movies you will be disappointed. In spite of firmware updates (v1.4) Olympus has not fixed this problem as of this date.

September 12, 2011

Noe

Best buy of my life.

This camera is truly one of the greatest gifts I have ever received. I am only 15 although I have really found the true potential of this camera. I am an underwater photographer (I use the PT-050 housing) and it is truly my best dive partner. it has a great auto focus as well as an auto focus lock, to lock onto fishes and such.

Love the camera, I suggest it to any avid divers, photographers or just people trying to have some fun with a camera.

September 07, 2011

phazelag

Fun and Pocketable

I have to give it 5 because I have not had any problems and it has done exactly what I wanted it to do. I wanted a nice point a shoot that I could do Manual "Pro" type work with and this is perfect. Coming from another brand I am impressed with the Olympus Menu system and how well thought out everything is. For me the reason for getting this over a PEN series is that it fits in my pocket and has versatility. The photo quality is great in .RAW. The Jpegs are fine if your not a pixel peeper but if you are, you will find the noise reduction is very high but still nicer than most I have seen from others in this category. The High ISO performance is great, but with an F1.8 lens I shoot lower ISO more often than not for even better pics. I wish the Panorama Mode saved a .RAW file but not a big deal. My images are so great I bought one for my oldest son too! My favorite part so far are the Macro and super macro!

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8