March 11, 2014

Tracey

Overall nice camera.

Very nice and just the right form factor. Nice zoom length and even clear crisp pictures zoomed all the way out, even with digital zoom. Nice pictures even in low light. High enough for the type of camera ISO. The only drawback with the camera is with the autofocus, it is very noisy and seems to never stop even right up to when the image is in focus and the shutter is ready to be snapped! The only thing I can think of even after reading all the specs and other reviews on the camera is that the excessive noise is a combination of the autofocus and the image stabilization. Overall for what I paid for the camera used, but in excellent shape, it is a perfect all around camera in both form and function! Even after all I covered, I forgot to say that this camera takes beautiful pictures, from macro to full zoom, to low light without the flash and even better in extreme low light with the flash! I dare to even say that this camera is perfect for anywhere from the beginner to the expert! So besides the noisy focus and/or image stabilization, I give it 4 stars. If it would be a little quieter and smoother on the focus and zoom, I would have given it 5 stars! A must have camera for every day use and like I said from amateur to expert, it is a great camera!!

October 15, 2013

M. Cristina

Great Camera

This camera is very easy to use, I love it. The pictures are great and also the videos come out good. It is small in size and you can carry it in your purse although I have a special case for it. Olympus is the best.

October 07, 2013

Nicholas

great camera

it has so much of what a professional camera has but smaller. its one of the greatest point and shoot cameras that I've used in all time. everyone that wants a camera that they can use for anything to selfies to great professional pictures this is your best choice when you want a point and shoot camera

October 04, 2013

Muzik

OK CAMERA FOR THE PRICE HOWEVER...

This is a decent camera for the price. However, after using other cameras that are a little more high end, I find this camera to be just above average. It's somewhat slow regarding shutter speed. Don't be inclined to take rapid pictures. I'm not speaking of continuous firing, just quicker picture taking. By the time you take the shoot and ready for your next shoot you have to wait that extra second or so. If this doesn't bother you then this the camera for you. I'm also using a class 10 16GB card as well. If you're just a sub novice picture taker this camera is for you. However, if you used a higher end camera you will be frustrated through the process. Don't get me wrong the outcome is decent but oh so slow. It takes forever to delete pictures, sooooooo slow to say the least. Again, if these problematic issues don't bother you enjoy. Hope this helps. Good luck...

October 02, 2013

GLENN

Good camera, difficult software and Charging

I have had the camera just over 1 week and it replaces a previous Olympus model. In downloading the software it took a while with a couple of false starts and the first charge took overnight and even when charged it asked me not to remove the cable. On first use it was pretty good both for stills and video. The features are again good but difficult to use. Its not a point and shoot device but when you get the hang of the set up routine its very good for the price paid.

August 23, 2013

Stephen

Very,very good camera

The SZ-12 is great! Other than ultimate photos, the menus on the screen are easy and completely understandable. Not only that, there is a help button right on the camera that will take you through any procedure you are attempting.
Already we've taken great pictures of ourselves and our animals, and even a photo of the rare Blue Moon. Looks just like a regular moon by the way, but it's a blue moon after all so we wanted a shot. The Olympus did a perfect job in the dark, the moon was clear and it even got a good shot of the surrounding clouds and trees framing the moon. You can set this camera for almost any photo and it's very easy to do. Thanks to Olympus, we are very happy with our choice.

July 26, 2013

Jim

Olympus SZ-12

This is my first digital camera and I couldn't be more impressed.I really didn't know what to look for.Walmart was the only place I could go to at the time,so,I really didn't have any sales help to speak of.I wound up just taking a shot and picked the one that was priced midway between cheap and expensive,leaning a little towards the high end.I'm an astronomer and I set it up on a tripod to shoot the Moon.After figuring the focus and shutter speeds I began creating beautiful images in different phases.With a little manipulation with the camera's software on my computer I can create 9"X11"photo quality prints.People have actually asked me what kind of telescope I used!!When I show them this little camera mounted on a tripod they don't believe me.
Keep up the good work and when I'm in the market to upgrade,Olympus is the one I'm choosing.Thanks;
Jim Martin

June 16, 2013

Paul

SZ-12 Excellent Camera

This little camera has it all fits in your pocket and always ready to go.
For the price you cant beat this camera, You can shoot in just about any light. I looked at some others too at the time I got this. This is my third Olympus camera I still have the other two and they still work fine.

June 08, 2013

Travis

Great Camera!!!!! Bar None!!!!!!!

I purchased the Olympus SZ-12 only a few days ago and I am already satisfied. The 24x zoom is to me the best aspect of the camera. It is very lightweight as well. I have only taken a dozen pictures and they all turned out clear and crisp. The Olympus SZ-12 is a must buy!!!

April 22, 2013

Lisa

Absolutely LOVE this camera

Previous to this camera, I had always owned sony or canon - and I will never go back again. This camera has way exceeded my expectations. I am still just in the learning phase. My Sony had gotten stolen back in November, and I was so upset. However after I received this camera - I am glad they stole - that way I had the opportunity to replace it with this one. Olympus you are awesome - please keep up the great work!!

April 13, 2013

Steve

Great Camera

Pictures and videos are great,,, ease of use, battery life, and price,,, exceptional value..This is the best Camera for the money,,,,

October 18, 2012

Bernadine

Sharp, Clear.

Love the 24 x zoom. I can get shots now that I never could before. Plus nice clear and sharp family pics.

July 27, 2012

UWheel

This products is great

Crisp sharp pictures, and easy to use, includes flash option for pictures.

July 27, 2012

travelinggal

it takes great long distance shots

I love this camera it takes some great pics went to alaska and spain and all my pictures were great even taken from buses or behind glass

July 26, 2012

Tiny

Took the SZ-12 to Rome and came back with amazing photos. 24x lens brought everything to me from some distance.

July 26, 2012

BOLT

THIS CAMERA HAS EVERYTHING I WAS LOOKING FOR.

THIS CAMERA HAS EVERYTHING I WAS LOOKING FOR IN A DIGITAL CAMERA. I LOVE THE HIGH POWER ZOOM, LOVE THE EASE OF USE, LOVE THE LARGE, VIVID DISPLAY...WHAT CAN I SAY, " YOU GUYS AT OLYMPUS MAKE A GREAT CAMERA".

July 26, 2012

zoom2you

Great clarity and phenomenal zoom!

The Olympus SZ-12 has proven to be one of the best cameras I have ever owned! Phenomenal zoom capability and crisp, clear pictures!

July 26, 2012

dragonlady

great play toy

found that i can do more with this camera then other's. plus it will take the picture i want and not secont or two lator. that has alway's been my biggest complaint. took a picture vacation over the 4th, had a blast.

July 26, 2012

jeaniebeanie

I love my Olympus camera. So easy to use and it is serving my purposes wonderfully. Going on vacation soon and it will be in my hands everywhere we go. Will see relatives I have not seen in over 40 years so I wioll come back with many photos and many memories of days gone by. Will buy another Olympus when this one no longer suits the purpose of why I bought. keep up the good work

July 25, 2012

Lobri

Great compact camera

We love this camera. We recently went on vacation and got many wonderful shots of our trip. Very crisp bright pictures. We are thinking about getting anothe one.

July 25, 2012

Ted

Great Point & Shoot

I have heavy use to my point & shoot camera for work. By far the best I have had in 7 years. Thanks for a great product.

July 25, 2012

rrruss

Very poor cd guidelines

I've just started to go through the manual(cd) that came with my camera and so far I find the instructions so very poor that I think the wrong cd was packed by mistake! Very poor!

July 25, 2012

Alaskan Cruise

I love the zoom feature. You can zoom up really close and it is not blurry. It takes a little bit to remember all the different settings.

July 24, 2012

SleeperSteve

Lots of stuff

I like this camera due to it's larg monitor for viewing pictures, love the satin steel finish. my memery cards from my old camera fit this camera also saving me a lot of money. it also takes really great pictures it has so many different gagets on it. It does everything but light your cegar!

July 21, 2012

Ted

Great Point And Shoot Camera

The camera is a great product. The software however could use some enhancing updates though. Very difficult to crop a shot with the camera and bring the subject closer.

July 18, 2012

Tom C

Best digital I have purchased (8 others)

I am very pleased with this product. The zoom has great quality and is very clear. I can see the picture before I take it, even in bright sun.

July 17, 2012

Pottsville Tom

Great camera for the price

This is a great little camera at a decent price with some very nice features that even a moderate user like me can easily use.

July 17, 2012

Bob

A big step up.

I recently purchased an Olympus SZ 12 and photographed the Sarasota Fl area. This is the best camera I have ever used. Light, easy to use and with a 24x zoom it out classes other cameras in its price range. Highly recommended.

July 17, 2012

Kram

Short Notice

We bought this camera and received it 2 days before going on vacation. Right off the bat, the main thing wrong with the camera is no owners manual. You have to download 80 pages! Downloaded and printed enough to get us through the trip. You pay enough for the camera, they should pay for the paper to print the manual on. For the little we used the camera, it seems to take great pictures. Once we learn what everything does, we're counting on bigger and better things. We'll see how well the body holds up as it is made of plastic.

July 15, 2012

Doug

A great camera. Purchased same brand as my wife ob

I purchased this camera for the ease of working the controls. My wife has the same model and I loved taking pictures with hers. I like the powerful wide angle/zoom lens and the movie recording feature. A lot of features combined in one camera.

July 14, 2012

Dicky00

My third one

This is the third Olympus that I have owned, and I have nothing but praise for the camera and the company. I just gave my D-450 zoom to my daughter and it is as functional now as the day I bought it new. My new SZ-12 is a most amkazing camera, in that it has so many features in such a small frame. We are gypsies, and have taken over 10,000 photos of our great xcountry adventures.

July 12, 2012

Michael

Overall an Excellent camera

my desiding factor was the 24X zoom, I travel a lot with work and like the small simple to use features, or go into it's menu to change the settings for the more demanding shots. Over all I am very pleased with it.

July 10, 2012

olympusHAPPY

I Love It!

I am extremley happy with this camera. I am not a photographer yet, every photo I've shot looks amazing!

July 09, 2012

Old OM1 guy

A good camera for the money

I wanted a new digital with plenty of resolution and this one has it. I have not finished learning all the settings but so far it has been fun exploring them. It is also just as easy to set it on automatic exposure then just point and shoot all you want it does a great job of reading the light.
It has a powerful zoom as well as macro
The battery could last a little longer and it would be better but overall I really like this camera
I have owned many cameras since 1979 and this ranks as a good one for my style of shooting pic's.

July 05, 2012

Dman

This product takes great pictures

There is only one way I would improve this product.
I would like a Remote Cable Release for my SZ 12 camera. I take a lot of bird pictures. But I will to the best I can with what I have.

July 05, 2012

Do

Love it, great product, great pictures. Easy to carry around, record and takes pictures that are awesome.

July 04, 2012

colt45

This camera is very easy to use.

Although I haven't had this camera very long, I'm very pleased with it so far. It seems to have a lot of features. The built-in guide is great for quickly accessing information about the camera and how to use it.

July 03, 2012

Mimi66

Great quality

Love this product awesome... Will always recommend Olympus products

July 03, 2012

Fadingbreed

I am impressed. Although I am still learning the camera, I am enjoying the "Magic Filters." Auto is wonderful although I prefer to choose the scenery...pictures are clear and colorful. The image stabilization is a huge help to me as I have mild tremors...have yet to take a blurry picture. Highly recommend the SZ-12...I'm confident you won't be dissapointed.

July 02, 2012

Leo

Camera sz-12 from Olympus

A good product. Still learning how to get full advantage of its functions.

June 28, 2012

Petunia

Love the camera.

Easy to use. Love the zoom and autofocus. Great value.

June 28, 2012

tio

way beyond expectation

I was looking at a camera that was 2.5 times more expensive when I decided to try the sz-12 thinking that I might return it.

What a surprise! Great in every area. Total zoom is 96 times (24x4). Picture qualit is excellent. Easy to use and it is still small enough to fit in a pocket.

Try it before you spend much more on other cameras.!

Also impressed with the video.

June 28, 2012

RLamb

I have only had the camera a few weeks and only used it a few times. I have a case and use it everytime the camera is not in use. Yet somehow the display screen is scratched already???

June 28, 2012

Honeybeb33

Finally got one for myself! :D

I love this camera. The zoom is amazing, the "magic" features are so much fun, and size is just perfect. It was a great birthday gift and I would recommend this to everyone ^_^

June 27, 2012

enchanted

LOVE!!!! this camera

I love this camera! I initially got it to take pictures for my portfolio but its great for everyday use! I use this camera everyday I love that it has awesome zoom-in power! It came in handy for my graduation my family sat pretty far from the stage and they were able to zoom into the podium when I say the zoom-in power is awesome I mean it!!!! I love that it has the option to take many pictures at once with little kids or sports this comes in VERY handy! Wish I would have gotten it sooner!!!

June 27, 2012

Sabrshse

The camera is easy to hold onto

I really like my new camera. It has been a few years since I bought my old one, and this one has so many new features. I like the unbelievable zoom lens. It is easy to use. All of the features are easy to use. I miss the paper owners manual, but the online one is acceptable. I tend to shake a little, but the camera makes the pictures look solid. I would definitely recommend this camera. I am sure after a few more weeks of looking up what it will do, and after taking it on vacation, I will give it even a greater recommendation.

June 26, 2012

Anonymous

This camera is worlds apart from our previous Olympus 5mp camera and has so many features that make great pictures easy to take. The price was good compared to many cameras that don't have nearly the same features. We love it.

June 25, 2012

bigfrank

Great little camera

Haven't used the camera much yet, just a few shots to get familiar. This camera take great pictures and has an awesome array of features for a camera its size. Easy to use, simple layout and the 24x telephoto zoom you won't find on many if any cameras in this class. Off to South America thursday for a month to give it a real workout.

June 25, 2012

Anonymous

24X zoom

I was looking for a camera with a high zoom. I am impressed with the 24X optical zoom. It's like I am right there, up close, taking the pictures.

June 25, 2012

cobra2girl

Absolutely love it

I'm not really smart when it comes to cameras. My last one was simple but the zoom was terrible. I wanted one that didn't take alkaline batteries and had good zoom and easy to understand. I seen the 24x zoom and lythium battery and got it, not thinking about anything else. The first time I used it It was so simple. I understand everything and I can just push the button and take a picture. Everyone who tries it loves it. Now they want one.

June 24, 2012

Tom in Jennings

This is the camera to get!

I have been truly amazed at the multiple features of this camera and the quality of the pictures I have taken. I have a Digital SLR that was expensive and does give excellent pictures - but, the mechanicx of going around with a heavy camera around your neck and bringing along additonal lenses got to be a bit much. It is going to be hard for me to put this SZ-12 down. Seriously, I do not see how you can find a better camera for the price and for the weight.

June 23, 2012

GRANDMA

LOVE THE WI-FI

TOOK A WHILE TO GET GOING BUT AFTER FIRST DOWNLOAD EVERYTHING'S OK

June 23, 2012

CROSSFIRE

I have not used all the features yet but the pictures are excellent, it is very easy to use. The fact that it is very compact was a big plus. I have done some professional photography (I used a 6x7) and always liked the 35mm style camera, but for my use now, they are just too bulky. This fills the bill for me. I would recommend this camera highly.

June 23, 2012

Goofy

The camera performed very well on Alaskan cruise. I still need more experince to use all the tools that it includes

June 23, 2012

Jen RN

Great product, decent price!

I have tried several different cameras over the years, but I have never had an Olympus. I lost my camera and went to the store to find another. The SZ-12 caught my eye. It performs a lot better than any other camera I have had around its price range. It is easy to use. It takes clear pictures of moving things, such as my toddler and cats. Also, it takes great pictures of animals without getting that weird eye reflection that you get with most cameras. Other cameras I have had did zoom a little, but when you took the picture, it was really fuzzy. With this camera, you can really zoom a lot and the picture will still come out clear like you are right next to the object. I really do love this camera and would recommend it to anyone.

June 20, 2012

rds

This is a amazing camera, for picture taking and video from a far distance, I like it alot.

June 20, 2012

frank

The quality and performance seem to be very good. However, I find the menu to be extremely frustrating to deal with. I believe you need to completely rework the the menu to be easier to search and understand .

June 19, 2012

LeftySig

Superb Product

This compact point-and-shoot has awesome features. The zoom range is amazing, and the quality of the image at max zoom is terrific. I'd have liked an optical viewfinder as an alternate to the viewscreen, but very few of those are produced these days. Personal peeve: Olympus (and most or all other camera manufacturers) should provide purchasers with a paper owner's manual!

June 14, 2012

JessKa

Love it!!

Just bought this camera yesterday and I LOVE it. Havent learned how to use most of the little perks and whatever else.. but I LOVE what I've seen so far. :)

June 14, 2012

ATX NETO

This cameras picture quality is excellent

This cameras ability to capture lifelike images is amazing. Their is one downside to this camera. The battery tends to drain rather quickly. I don't know if it's that i might have a defective battery, but going back to my retailer to see if i can get another battery to resolve this issue. Other than that minor detail the quality is excellent,and the pictures you can capture with this camera are awesome!!!

June 12, 2012

NanaZ

Great Camera for the price...

I am a simple person that just wants to point and shoot. This camera allows me to do that. It has taken awhile for me to get used to holding the button halfway down then push all the way down but overall I am greatly please with the camera.

June 12, 2012

SeanW

Just all around awesome

I went in to get this camera and the photo depart was arguing about how the last one was supposedly be kept and used by them. I realized I must have picked a good camera

June 12, 2012

limy

Outstanding camera for the price

Have only had camera a month.
camera is great,i have other cameras much more expensive,but this camera is great when i dont want to carry a lare camera.
My SZ-12 is great.
A little advice to people who are getting blurry pics
(Squeeze the shutter button dont snap it) Also wait for green rectangle,(this will tell you the camera is focusad.

June 10, 2012

Dandie

junk

ll my pictures were so blurry. I put in the cd that came with it and guess what NO instructions at all. I tried everytrhing to get a few pics but nothing worked. Would NEVER buy or recommend this camera to ANYONE !!! NOTHING amazing about this. Took it back and got my money back.

June 10, 2012

Chuckls

Olympus SZ-12

This is a good camera for general picture taking - without needing any fancy features. Seems to have an 'orange' hue in the picture whenever taking indoor shots. These can be cleaned up with color balancing software. Menu's are a little less than intuitive and could use some simplifying. Documentation on CD is great - if one happens to have a computer at hand to read. Otherwise - the provided hard copy documentation could use a little boost. Satisfied - just not impressed.

June 09, 2012

aslaw

So far, so great!

We bought this camera after seeing one at a friend's house - the friend hadn't even taken it out of the box yet! But the 24X optical zoom got us thinking that this would be ideal for an upcoming trip to Europe. When we saw how lightweight it was, on top of that zoom, we decided to look at it.

The fast shutter response is what sold us. Virtually no "lag" (0.2 seconds in the online reviews) and a fascinating panorama feature, convinced us that this was a camera we had to have! So far, the photo quality is excellent, and what looks good on the little lcd screen looks great on the computer!

We'll know more after we take hundreds of shots on our upcoming sojourn, and perhaps we'll have more to say. But after a few days, this one is a winner! (Our first Olympus since the very first digital camera in 1999! Maybe a new love affair is blooming!)

June 08, 2012

Muley

Very easy to use and lots of features.

I got this camera after extensive research for which Olympus camera I wanted. I did have a Camedia D-540 for several years and love the Olympus product. Since this is a relatively new model, I wasn't sure about it but the reviews I saw were very positive. I got the camera just 3 days before a trip and I was really pleased with the pictures I got. Even more impressive was the battery life. It had only used one bar in two days of shooting. It is light weight and fits comfortably in my hand (I have small hands) and the controls are super easy. I do wish it came with a written manual but I downloaded it to my computer and it is also on the camera itself. I would highly recommend this model. It makes a great bridge between simple point and shoot and more complex models.

June 07, 2012

easy shot

ease of use

can't believe how well this camera works. Love the ease of operation and compact size for what this camera accomplishes. Everything that I need to accomplish with this camera,, I can. I have purchased a camera every year for the past 4 years looking for the features that I have found in this camera. thanks for making such a great product.

June 05, 2012

Anonymous

Its ok

The pics it takes are awesome as I took it to Hawaii this spring. HOWEVER the Panoramic portion failed to perform as promised. they did not line up right then it just wouldnt work all together. Other than that, the camera works great!

June 04, 2012

nana

just great

have had it to short of time will use alot more in the near future

June 03, 2012

cnceric

Exelent camera

using it for revolutionary war reenactment the zoom lets me get candid pictures from a distant, small enough for my pocket. The zoom is so good i need my tripod to steady the camera.even with the steady program on. the macro and super macro are excellent taking pictures of my sons mini models came out great. I own a 35 mm slr with zoom lenses and fish eye lense for close up this camera is very close to the pictures from my 35 mm camera

June 03, 2012

Anonymous

Very good camera and picture quality. Simple to use and I really like the way to battery charges with the AC plug and also the USB plug.

June 02, 2012

manchita87

excellent camera,perfect prize,every feature 100% reliable

May 31, 2012

Chief5

This product met my expectations

Went to Alaska and this camera took exceptional pictures of the wildlife and vast ranges of mountains. With the 24x,got up close to whales, eagles, seals and bears. The only issue I had was you need to be careful where you placed your finger, the on/off is close to the shutter button and the ok button at the bottom can be easly pushed by mistake.

May 30, 2012

warrior

details outstanding!

I love this camera. this is my first true camera that I have bought. I am loving it! My daughter graduated high school and I tell you I was picture taking everything just to practice before I took the real deal of the graduation. The zoom is what I love. color details is awesome. differernt feeatures is so cool. I look for a reason to use this camera.

May 30, 2012

joy

Love this camera!

I didn't want to spend an exorbitant amount of money on a camera, but wanted something that made me feel at least a Little professional. This camera has the features that allow me to have fun and be creative. Am still learning how to be at ease with the controls, but am very happy with what I've seen so far.

May 29, 2012

camearrah

higher level funtions easy to get at and use.

good logic function flow.
wonderful 24x optical zoom.
fits nicely into hand.
quality construction.

May 29, 2012

nana

I love my new camera. It is fun and easy to use.

I am so pleased with my new SZ-12 from Olympus camera. It takes great pictures and is so easy to use. I am enjoying taking pictures. With my old camera the pictures were always a disapointment.
I am very happy with this camera.

May 27, 2012

eeglenn

takes great pictures and video. the menu is easy to get to and the scene selection is great

May 26, 2012

jrm-kan

quality of photos, size of camera ... great value

excellent photos of high quality; easy to use; good pricing; Olympus has been my camera of choice for over 10 years and each has done a great job ... this works great with 24x zoom for bird watching, capturing pics in my flower gardens; great for pics at recent family gathering ... I just like it and am very happy with it!

May 23, 2012

ekwyne

Love the zoom

I like this camera's ability to get close in shots from a distance and to stop motion as well has deliver high quality low light pictures

May 23, 2012

oh-shoot

Easy and fun!

I needed something in between my pocket camera and my DSLR, so I chose this after doing my research on comparable cameras.

It's very user friendly, I think it would make a great beginners camera, but it is perfect for more advanced users too.

The images are sharp and beautiful, and the magic art filters are just a bonus!!

May 21, 2012

Twinly

Great features

All my prctures turned out great:) it does not take for ever for it to take the picture and great zoom.

May 18, 2012

Melissa

Love the features

I just bought this camera & I love the beauty effect it comes with. Just by the click of a button, it will smooth out blemishes and wrinkles! every women's dream! love the zoom! Took great pictures @ my company picnic. I highly recommend this camera.

May 17, 2012

Ronster

Best camera ever.

This is the best and easiest camera I have ever owned. If you are looking for a poiint and shoot with zoom power that produces high quality pictures, this is the camera for you.

May 17, 2012

Sports fan

Many features, difficult to keep still

I bought this for the great zoom as I film my kids sports events, football, track, baseball. The camera takes good pics, but I find it difficult to hold steady & get good pics, even with the IS mode. Especially in videos.

May 17, 2012

bshmdot

I had been looking to replace my 5 year old Olympus SP-500 10X zoom, with a low cost 20+ zoom. Low & behold the new Olympus SZ-12 with 24x zoom just came out with very reasonable price.

So far, I am extremely happy with it and all the features.

May 16, 2012

smiley

very good focus at all ranges

fast easy and sharp picture,very good focus,response at all distances

May 16, 2012

quiltmama

product has excellant features

i find that the features are wonderful but explanation on how to use them was lacking. for instance there was nothing in quick start are in manual on how you download pictures from camera. used trial and error to get thru ib. have not workedn with viewer yet. also when using the widelens telephoto button i have a hard time doing a minor adjustment it zooms out too much and when i try to zoom back in i have to try several times.is there a button or something where i can zoom in and out in small steps.

May 15, 2012

jokuel

Alot of features

This camera has all the bell's a novice might want. My previous camera had 8x zoom which i thought was good but it doesn't compare to the 24x this camera has! Only minus is there is no book to help with all the nomenclature associated with operating the camera.

May 13, 2012

Scoutmaster

Best Buy

Luv the zooming capabilities to 24X with a clear picture. Great image stabilizer. Easy to use; but still learning features.

May 12, 2012

Daniel

The Zoom, makes the camera almost alone!

I love the great zoom this camera has.
It makes the camera beyond its special with its ease of operating already.
It also makes videos (with ZooM!) and holds ALOT of photos....with a card though you have to buy 1. No problem, even a 8 GB card is more than enough.
I was surprized how easy it was too get it ready and learn it from a large manuel~~~~minutes!
Of course its wonderful to see what you've taken a photo or video of instantly, and store hundreds + of.
It looks great, the flash works awesome, the zoom makes it even more special (the zoom alone could make it 1 you want), and storage and photo quality are great.
For the price........probably impossible to beat~~~~and the Olympus name foretells its quality.
I suggest you buy a medium size belt carrying case that comes with a shoulder strap...........and your going to be taking photos or videos near everyday from purchase on out.
It is way neat! Enjoy!

May 11, 2012

mandygram

Good Performance, some surprises

I was replacing another small camera that had ceased working correctly. The Olympus is slightly larger. It has a great zoom, but I have trouble holding it still especially in the wind. My old one had had a through the lens viewer which I didn't think I needed, but holding it to the eye helps steady the camera. The pictures are great. The magic part that puts up to 10 pictures on the same frame was a surprise. Interesting. Charging while I am taking pictures off to the computer is a great addition.

May 09, 2012

greywolf591

It does the job

I am not very tech and I had less than a day to learn this camera and would suggest it to anyone beginner or advanced. My pictures came out great and I cann't wait till I learn all the difrent modes and features it has. I wish other products I have purchased were as well designed and easy to work.

May 08, 2012

Cat

An excellent product for the money.

It also has a lot of features, and takes excellent pictures.

May 08, 2012

greenery camera

So far I am liking this camera

I just purchased this camera, so I am still getting familiar with all the functions.

May 08, 2012

shutterbug

great value.impressive features.love it!

I bought this camera for my wife on her birthday.
She loved it. We are still learning to use all the features, but the ability to unpack it and begin taking quality photos immediately made it a big
hit with her. The software package is amazing. We own five other cameras, but I think this one will become our "daily driver".

May 07, 2012

photobee

Easy to learn all features .

I was looking for new camera, and while at store I happened to see the sz 12 . After looking floor model, I went home did research, and went back to store and bought it, as it was cheaper in store than on line. I am very happy with it and was very glad I bought it. About the only thing I did not like is the location of the video button, and you end up hitting it, until you get used to the regular buttons. I used it over weekend and have tried all camera functions and really enjoy it. I feel is a very good product from Olympus.

May 07, 2012

MikeP

Truly Amazing Camera

The Olympus Z-12 is a fantastic camera for the money. It's very lightweight, easy to operate, produces fantastic photos, has lots of photo options/scenes, and has a great zoom!! I have had this camera for a little over two weeks and have already taken hundreds of photos. We hike a lot and were frustrated with our other camer's zoom capabilities, especially when trying to photograph birds, deer, and other creatures from a distance (who run or fly away when you get too close to them). The Olympus Z-12 solved our problems with a need for more zooming capabilities while giving us great photographic quality. Even though the image stabilization works great, we will be purchasing a tripod soon. It's amazing how much our hands can shake when zoomed in 24x and there is not a tree nearby to steady ourselves with. I definitely highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants to step up from the typical 3x, 4x, or 5x zoom of regular cameras and still have great photo quality at an affordable price!!

May 06, 2012

Anonymous

Great "small" camera with a fantastic zoom

I bought this camera because it has a 24x zoom and I did not want to lug a giant zoom lens camera around with me and look like a tourist.
My only complaint is that it is very slow to start up.

May 02, 2012

djonelove

This product has alot of wonderful and fun options

We got our camera less than 6 months ago and there are so many fun things we keep learning about it. We love the picture quality that it has in the day, but the nite pics are still sometimes a little unclear. I tell everyone about it and def lovve the 24x joom it has. We'v looked at the online store and cant wait to get one for under water. I love taking pictures of everything, and with this camera I am always looking for the next best shoot!!!

April 27, 2012

Anonymous

I enjoy the simple functions - not hard to learn! Thank you.

April 22, 2012

Schnauzerlover

This little camera really packs a punch

Long time Olympus user and finally upgraded to the SZ-12. I love everything about this little pocket size behemoth. The zoom is fantastic and the number of options afforded on this model make it a great go anywhere camera. I would recommend this model to my friends.

April 19, 2012

Brakeshoe

This product has great features for a small size.

A handy size to carry in cargo pants pockets. the pictures are of great quality and the special effects features are fun to use. Olympus makes great cameras and they are reliable. Thanks!

April 19, 2012

simplyme

Being just an amateur photographer, I find the SZ-12 one of the easiest cameras to operate with the best results. I also like the size and comfort in operating. The 24 zoom makes it great for getting those difficult shots of animals that are easily scared off if too close. The quality of the prints, the sharpness, the color and ease of uploading is wonderful. I would recommend this camera to anyone no matter what their experience with photography happens to be.

April 19, 2012

Jiddo

Great camparable value

The camera is reasonably priced for a quality camera/ultra-zoom. It has a good feel, easy to use. Navigation through the settings is a pleasant change from most of the cameras in the price range I was looking at. It takes great pictures and satisifies my wish to zoom.

April 18, 2012

Ruthie

Great zoom

I love the 24X zoom, but when I use it, the camera appears to "shake", even if it's steady on a tripod.

April 18, 2012

WyoCam

Great Value and Versatility

What a great value! For the price of a very low-end zoom lens for my SLR, I have the ability to take 600 mm equivalent pictures with this very compact camera. Compact means that I will bring it on hiking trips, when I would think twice about bringing the SLR and several lenses. While this won't take the place of expensive high-quality lenses for the professional photographer, for the hobbyist who would like to get some nice animal close-ups that are in focus, this is perfect. And the price is between 20 and 100 times cheaper than true professional gear, which I will never be able to afford.
The camera has many settings which give you a nice range of versitiliy once you take the time to learn them. My favorite features so far are:
* Very Compact and Lightweight
* Great Zoom (25mm to 600 mm equiv.)
* Close-up / Macro Mode
* Quick Focussing
* Easy Flash

April 18, 2012

SirSweets

A really nice camera.

We were leaving on a Friday for vacation when our old camera broke. My wife and I went to the the store to buy a new camera. We found this camera and just had to rely on the information on the display card. We have been pleased so far. We used it that week, first week of April, at the beach for spring break. The high speed option is great for action shots and shots where kids don't want to be still. We have not been ble to explore all of the features, but so far so good with the camera. The zoom is really good on this camera also.