View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

February 17, 2012

red gzz

Is good that this camera has an option shooting in black and white also with preferences in colors, what this, example if I want take a photos and has has only in color example red or green. And the rest of the picture in black &white, other thing that has rubber around of camera, for more body, other thing like accessory is a floating when the customer use at water.(in orange or yellow color)

February 10, 2012

Carlos

This product es good,

This product has failed in closing the battery and memory sector. Join moisture at a depth less than 2 meters. producing the display get wet inside. In Aregntina not get to buy laptop battery and charger original. The original battery has very little active duration. Recharge the battery for connection to PC takes a long time. The colors of the captured images are not of good quality

January 05, 2012

Anonymous

Great water camera, but lacks some performance

This is my seconded Olympus water camera and I love them, but they all lack some performance compared to a non-tough version for the same price. My only complaint is that the camera is slow when taking a picture or trying to catch that shot. Tried different settings and the only way to speed things up is without flash and lower quality picture. I don't like the joystick, it is clumsy and i find myself trying to select the wrong item over and over. I wish they stayed with the flat buttons. Overall I think these are the best water camera's on the market.

January 03, 2012

NHJ

DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA IF YOU WANT 10M WATERPROOF

I strongly recommend anyone looking for an underwater camera to use whist snorkeling to give this shoddy piece of work a wide berth. I am on my 3rd warranty replacement for failure to hold a watertight seal past 20mm let alone the advertised 10m. 15 of these cameras have come on to our remote island since the camera was launched in Australia and 100% have failed at very shallow depths (less than 200mm). Olympus warranty takes ages to replace, nor does it cover extras like memory cards or postage.

If all you are after is something that can take photos in the rain then this is a fantastic basic camera that takes amazing pictures and I would recommend it, otherwise don't touch it with a 100ft barge pole.

December 29, 2011

Bruce

good camera, but has some flaws

This camera takes good pictures both above water and below. I found it fairly easy to use underwater. I do like the date stamp on the pictures.

The flaws or problems I have with this camera is that several buttons turn it on. If it is put in a pocket or camera case it can come on. It either takes video of your pocket or camera case or else just stays on and drains the battery. I can't find a way to lock the camera. This is pretty frustrating.

There needs to be a way to charge an extra battery without having to stop using the camera. It would be nice to be able to charge a second battery while using the camera, so the batteries can be swaped out or charge both to be ready for a day of shooting.

December 20, 2011

heffe76

Great Camera, Some Flaws

This is my third Olympus, and second Stylus/Tough model. My reason for purchase was for use on an ocean kayaking trip in June 2011. The camera survived 180 miles of a salt water beating. I never have to worry about it in the rain. The 720p HD video was also a strong selling point - and looks great (however, see below). And I love the shutter that closes over the lens. I have used that many times to wipe away stubborn water droplets.

Minor annoyances: 1) I'm not a fan of the digital zoom, unless you like fuzzy close-ups. 2) Their idea for charging the battery in-camera was poor. Avid users will have a second battery and you can't charge your primary if you're still shooting. 3) As for the GPS, it works great for me, but is a major power drain. 4) I've drained the battery many times by accidentally turning it on in my pocket by hitting the 'play' button, and I have more than one 30-minute 'pocket movies'. 5) and it is likely my own fault, but the anti-glare coating didn't survive long (possibly due to sunscreen?)

Extreme dislikes: autofocus in HD movies... When recording any sort of action, the video will periodically refocus itself, thus ruining what you are doing. Additionally, I wish there could be better video stabilization.

So, yes, there are a lot of poor comments here, but I assure you, I love this camera. For the average user or someone planning on getting wet a lot, this is a must! At least now you know what you're getting into.

December 18, 2011

cpmiv

Tough camera

I got this as a gift and was very impressed. We were headed on vacation and I wanted something that would take underwater pictures. I was very pleased. It worked like a charm and the GPS function was an added plus.

On waterproof and rugedness I give it 5 stars.

The only things I can say I wasn't impressed with and the failing of all point and shoot cameras. They are a little slow and the battery never lasts as long as you wanted it to, but again this is all the point and shoots so it was expected.

December 11, 2011

micksTG810

3-d funtion is poor and dif to use, poor photos

poor in door auto focus photos, 3-d to difficult to use, not as high quality photos as I expected from an Olympus. not very happy, Opinion may change later we'll see.

December 09, 2011

Asht

Love the pics just hate the small buttons

This is our second Tough Camera. Our first was the Tough 8000, no complaints at all. Loved it! So got the newer version 8010. The quality is still there but HATE the tiny button that is not user friendy. This camera is not nearly as easy to use. Wish I would have returned it when I still could have.

November 29, 2011

hamburgerlar

A tough camera with a few minor flaws

The camera takes great pictures in normal conditions. Once dark or super bright lighting conditions come into play, this camera falls a bit short. This is not a big deal though because the camera is not designed to take the worlds greatest pictures but instead be durable enough to withstand the elements. We have dropped this camera many of times without any problems or physical damage to the camera. I would like to find someone who can say the same about any other point and shoot.

GPS drains the battery and does not acquire signal quickly which is quite surprising when it has a clear view of an open sky.

The flash can be a bit overwhelming sometimes and over expose some pictures in dark lighting conditions.

The camera also takes a few seconds to turn on which is not a huge deal but can make you miss some of those spur of the moment shots.

We use the camera under water, snowboarding, and hiking. We would not feel comfortable carrying around any other camera but our tg810. We dont leave home without it, we just throw it in our bag and go.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5