View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

March 14, 2014

linda

Love this camera

I have had this camera for almost 2 years now and it is by far my favorite that I have ever owned. I originally got it for the beach and pool. Having two young boys I didn't want to risk my more expensive SLR getting damaged trying to chase after them. Took wonderful clear pictures both under and out of water. I also took pictures in the snow and it was great. This little camera is my go to even over my more pricey camera. It has withstood both my clumsiness while hiking and my toddler finding and playing with it several times. I have recommended this camera to everyone I know and will continue to do so.

December 04, 2013

Andrew

Fantastic!

I am 70 yrs old and have had a lot of cameras in my life, let me tell you this is the best most efficient camera I have ever owned. It is the only camera I feel comfortable in letting my grand children use, it is a real value in today's market place, you won;t go wrong with Olympus.

July 08, 2013

Gordon

Great camera

A great camera at a great price. I've had and have several small pocket cameras so I've got something to compare to. My Leica was my favorite, but this Olumpus now gets the nod. The picture quality on this camera is terriffic. Used it in the mountains at the beach at motorcycle rallies and it's worked for 98% of the conditions.
Highly reccommended. My SLR just stays in the camera case!

June 03, 2013

Shark Girl

Best waterproof like this I've seen!

I got this camera as a Christmas gift for my trips to Belize and the Galapagos this year.

Compared to other "tough" and waterproof cameras I've seen and had others on my trips use, this one never gets condensation in the lens, and I've never had issues with water drops in the screen like, which I've seen happen to friends as well.
Also, I lost this camera on a rough wet landing in a Zodiac and one of my friends found it two hours later. I ran some fresh water over it and soaked it to get some of the sand out of cracks and the camera worked 5 minutes later after being rolled around in the tidal zone and getting covered in sand. There were multiple people on these trips with different brands of waterproof cameras that failed to work and left them hanging, because their camera broke.
I drop and break everything, but this camera holds up great and takes beautiful pictures and video. I especially love that I don't have to change to the video function but just need to hit the record button at the top right of the screen.

Everyone was super jealous and impressed with my camera on both trips, and I always get compliments on the great pictures it takes underwater.

May 29, 2013

Pravin

Excellent Camera at great price

Hello,

I bought this Camera on Ebay for $165. My primary reason to buy this camera was to shoot under water.

I tried in our swimming pool on a sunny day with very clear water. The photo quality was awesomely good. i even shot video's under water and all of them were with an excellent quality. I was more than happy to see the quality. Surprisingly the lens were not keeping the water droplets on it, which could have disturbed the photo quality.

The normal day photography is also very good, i tried almost all the modes with different light shades and the camera always pleased me with great results.

I tried taking snap in pitch dark room and when i see the picture i couldn't believe that the room was pitch dark. the flash does the right job although its complete dark. All the objects in that 15 X 15 feet room was clearly visible.

Zoom option works very well in video mode too. Panorama mode does a descent job, it does have a 3D picture mode, but not yet tried it. The multiple shot works well. I tried clicking the shoot button in picture mode repeatedly and i got all the shots clicked.


Problems
---------------
Super resolution zoom which is 10X. At this zoom level the colors gets distorted, also it needs great control on your hand while taking a picture at this zoom level. Although this a is common problem in all entry level digital camera's but a little shake while clicking button blurs the entire pic.

Another major problem i found is related to autofocus, at time i felt that if i am already in zoomed in mode, the camera doesn't automatically focus if i change the angle. I had to zoom out and zoom in again to get focus set correctly.

I have yet not understood the tap feature, although i tried to set is through menu, but couldn't use is. Although this feature is not commonly used, but sill feels bad not to know about it.

Overall, I am extremely happy about the underwater and normal quality of this camera. I definitely recommend this product.

Pravin

May 28, 2013

Yachta Yachta

So far it is a Great Little Camera

I got this to take with me out on the boat and perhaps the kayak so that I would not be freaking out or ruining the very expensive camera I usually "lug" around. I have already cracked one of my expensive camera's by it flopping around in a bouncing boat (and had to replace same) and believe that my new one is not really liking the humidity that comes along with our Southern Florida summer heat. I used this my TG-820 for the first time this memorial weekend on the boat and felt the camera was perfect for the job!! I want to take it in the water someday soon, and may review again at that time. I bit scared tho...... I have had a waterproof camera (Milnolta) about 25 years ago that did not last too long after I tried it. That was back in the film days....

December 25, 2012

edward

olympus tough

I had this camara bought for me on a ship to alaska I love it the pic's are awesome and my friends used it snorking in alaska they love it also..two thumbs up from me ..

July 26, 2012

Kyp

Really great camera!!!!!!

I took a long time researching a waterproof camera.
After reading many reviews the Olympus TG-820 seemed like a good buy. I used it on a small island vacation and was very happy with my purchase.

I would definately recommend it to anyone.

July 25, 2012

Laborman

A Fine All-Weather Camera with One Caveat

This camera is a replacement for the TG-610, which was pickpocketed on a trip. I liked that camera. But the TG-820 is even better. HD video and much better performance in low light and indoor situations, even without flash. I waited until I had put it through the ringer before writing this review. I have now used it while kayaking in the rain around icebergs and glaciers in Alaska and snorkeling in Hawaii. The picture quality has generally been excellent. The camera performed flawlessly under water during extended snorkeling trips. My caveat is that the lens fogged up on the inside one day while kayaking in Alaska, resulting in some missed shots of humpback whales. The snorkeling came after that. As there were no issues during snorkeling, I'm thinking it had something to do with the temperature in Alaska and not a failure of the water proof feature. Assuming the fogged lens does not become a recurring issue, I would highly recommend this camera for a very wide range of picture-taking situations. There is really very little sacrifice in image quality for the waterproof and other "tough" features.

July 24, 2012

halvi

Better than expected

Our last cam. was ruined by dust that worked its way into the lenz that had to come out and in every time you used it! I just got back from a mission trip, was not only able to take GREAT pictures(some underwater!) and vidio but the battery lasts a long time! There is truly not enough room for me say how pleased I am with this camera! Great Job & Thanks!!! B.H.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5