March 29, 2014

Gregory

Good camera, BUT

Had this cameras for two years. Takes good to great pictures. Recently been using it for mostly indoor pictures. Unfortunately the battery compartment door fell off recently. Close examination shows that part of the hinge is broken off. I can still secure it OK if I'm carefull and door's locking mechanism will hold it in place. It's a hassle every time I need to change out the SD card and/or battery.

February 01, 2014

Tammy

Overall a Great Camera

Pros: light weight, small (fits in purse), great crisp photos, nice looking camera, nice pop up flash, nice camera strap, easy to use and learn, and it's very quick to regenerate...

Cons: NO DATE STAMP (from camera) on photos (only through their software which is definitely a pain and very time consuming); also the case it came with is almost useless since it only fits the camera itself (with no lenses or flash attached)...

January 20, 2014

Bill

Excellent Camera

I bought this camera to replace a small action video camera. I also purchased the Oly underwater housing to go with the camera.

Eveything is very simple and easy to use. The autofucus on the video mode is fast and the AVCHD recording mode gives me superior video - plays back as BluRay quality!

January 11, 2014

Daniel

Great Value, a little small though.

This is my first non-point and shoot camera. I've always wanted to experiment and now I get to. I got a great deal on the E-PM1. So far I've had it for 4 months and am only now starting to try the different manual mode features. Pros: Great prices out there. Fantastic photos especially in 5f/sec mode for skaters and skate boarders. The flash is not as "bad" as I worried, with it had some adjustment, got some great shots of confetti and such with it. Light weight. Big screen. Nice choice of "Art" modes. Cons: Very small, I have small hands and still my hands are too big for this camera, they corrected this in subsequent models. No view finder, I miss that, especially in bright light. The "decorative ring" below the lens cover was lost in the 2nd week...useless. The case is also a waste, not sure why it is even offered.

Overall I really like my new camera, I've had good comments about my pictures and my camera from friends who HAD to purchase the latest, greatest and BIGGEST SLRs from N and C, after a full day, they envy my little package, and their pictures don't have much (if any) better resolution than mine.

November 10, 2013

leszeff

good

I bought this camera as a complement to my Panasonic GX1. It is more pocketable and although it has only 12 mgpixels, with the proper lens (in this case the Lumix 14mm F2,5) it is the perfect size to have with me all the time. Good quality build (I added a grip which improves the handling) and I get great shots (RAW) processed with DXO lab 9 and further worked with Photoshop CS6.

September 16, 2013

Forrest

Great value great capability

Find the quailty to be outstanding.The menu takes some effort but is fine after a bit of work.Would like to see the viewfinder added to a camera of this ability.lack of flash is ok...the factory lenses would be a little longer would be great,no one likes changing lenses .viewing pictures and getting around the photo ia awkward. Great camera ...thankyou.

August 13, 2013

adrian

Pen e pm1

I have had my pen e pm1 almost a week, love it , it is just the right size and light in weight, easy to handle, I have severe arthritis in my wrists, and this camera, allows me to continue with one of my favorite pass times, photography.

PS I have only ever owned Olympus Cameras

July 30, 2013

Anne

Learn it and you'll love it

I absolutely love this camera. The only issue I have with it is navigating all the menus. Make sure you download the manual from the disc to your hard drive (or print all 120 pages of it) and familiarize yourself with noise reduction, white balance controls, auto/manual focus settings and anything else that pertains to your picture taking situation. Once you do this, you'll be blown away by the difference between this camera and any point and shoot you've ever used.

July 02, 2013

Therman

NOT BAD...

I purchased this camera because of the stylish look. I really did not think it would be all that different from my other cameras until I took my first few photos and printed them out side by side with my other cameras...(keep in mind my "other" cameras are point and shoot cameras that I keep in my pocket) Anyway the difference was evident. The PEN was brighter and clearer. I only wish that the zoom was greater...I will have to update my lens soon. But overall cool camera, nice pictures, decent learning curve, room for expansion, compact, and great conversation piece...

June 24, 2013

Jeff

Fits the bill

I wanted a small camera with interchangeable lenses. E-PM1 meets and exceeds those requirements. After about 6 months of use, including a trip to Italy, I have the following opinions:
PROs:
great form factor-lightweight, easy to handle, controls all in easy to reach places
picture quality - limited only by the owners skills
price
availability of lenses/accessories
CONs:
menus require some searching, if you use infrequently, plan to spend time with the manual
hard to figure out how to date stamp pictures. It can be done, but its hard to find out how

I had the opportunity to take a private photography lesson with a professional landscape photographer. He uses Nikons, but had just purchased a digital point and shoot. I could tell that he was rethinking his purchase after seeing the capabilities of the E-PM1. He was very impressed.

May 13, 2013

john

not easy to use software

The software as compared to Cannon's is not user friendly, to download pictures is a 4 step process, when you plug it in to the computer you have initialize the process to download instead of the software recognizing the camera and starting the process. You also must make sure they are downloaded correctly before you delete them from the camera. Overal picture quality in Auto flash is very poor. Not happy with the camera at all, should have got a Cannon, I hope I can return this paper weight.

April 07, 2013

Zoran

The worst camera

I got this camera about month ago and yesterday i tried it for first time at perfect weather condition and i`m very disappointed of its quality actually it has more noise on daylight photos than my iphone 5 has at night shots, i don't know why user are writing 5 star review???

February 21, 2013

connie

OMG!

Let me tell you I know squat about cameras and photography. I only have had point and shoot cameras.( I took horrible pictures.) I started reading reviews of cameras, and learned that most everyone loved their Olympus E-PM1 cameras, so I purchased THE PINK ONE!

This camera helps me take the most wonderful pictures. I took it out of the box and played with it for a few minutes, Not knowing anything I have had the best pictures. I just bought a new lens 40 -150mm! Its a keeper. Small, light, well built. It doesn't feel cheap at all. I am very happy with my purchase and suggest to anyone who wants great pictures and ease of use for beginners to get this camera. If I can do it I know anyone can! The only draw back to this is all the extras seem to be a bit spendy, but I already added extras because the camera is well worth it. Thanks and have a great day!

November 15, 2012

Ksmith.pi

The Perfect upgrade from the SZ-10

I have owned the EPM-1 for 2 months now and have been amazed. Since purchasing this camera I have done macro, candid, landscape & concert photography. An example to demonstrate the quality of this camera. I went to a concert where the R&B singer Song writer E### V###r was performing and took my EPM-1 just to test it out. I took pictures throughout the night and posted them to Facebook a few hours after the concert and tagged some friends. Two days later I got a call offering me a job touring with E### V###r. I was on the road for two weeks taking photos with my EPM-1 and had a blast experimenting. Also the included flash is awesome it allows for super fast transitions between no flash & flash shots. There were a couple draw backs though, just compared to the SZ-10 that I was not expecting.

- First was the audio on videos:
There was no gain control which made any video I did almost worthless because of high SPL's i was not able to adjust for, the microphones often distorted especially in the lower frequencies, the high did not distort as easy where as the SZ-10 also without gain control handled everything I threw at it (lows distorted even with low SPL's).

- Second manual focus:
When in this mode the LCD screen zooms in which makes it difficult to quickly find the subject of focus.

I am very happy with this purchase despite the minor draw backs and would make it again in a heartbeat. I will be leaving the country for six months and can't to see what happens. I am ready to try this camera out with the PT-EP06L underwater housing when scuba diving to compare with the K#####. .

Thanks Olympus

July 26, 2012

Amore89

Best of Both Worlds

I have to start by saying that it was difficult for me to choose between the various PEN camera styles. The most important feature to me was the ability to focus in a low light situation, and only the "newer" PENS offered that particular feature; so that narrowed the field. I wound up selecting the PEN (Mini) E-PM1 because it offered a very full line of features yet it came in a small/compact package like a point and shoot. Also on a limited budget, the price point was great. Yea, the E-PL3 and E-P3 offered a bit more, but I honestly feel that there are a lot of features that would seldom - if ever - be used. I purchased the camera online through a store offering no hassle returns in the event that I didn't like the camera. Buying the camera without having the ability to pick it up and see how it felt in my hands, this was important. I found that despite its small size, the camera has a nice sturdy feel to it, unlike the usual point and shoot. It reminds me of my old SLR camera that I used and loved for years. I consider it the best of both worlds. I now have a camera that reminds me of my tried and true SLR with state-of-the-art technology that is outstanding. I have only used the camera for a little under a month, but the pictures I have taken are unbelievable. The color is true and the details could not possibly be any clearer. It is in my humble opinion an outstanding camera.

July 26, 2012

Grandma

Had the camera about 2-3 months. Love the compact size. Pictures are great. Have used mostly automatic. Low light pictures came out real nice of my granddaughter at her prom.

July 25, 2012

Newbie

This is a great camera!

I'm new to this type of camera but I love this one! The pictures are fabulous and I can't believe the clarity and detail that I can get now. I don't like the video because it doesn't focus fast enough as I pan an area. It comes out blurry. Other than that it's a terrific buy.

July 15, 2012

Chuck

Very disappointed

Color is very good....pictures no better than my point and shoot....poor movie quality..movies are jumpy and jerky....have tried many corrections along with updating to 1.3, but little help....using super fine quality. All around disappointed except for color quality.

July 11, 2012

new2oly

PM-1

We purchased this camera because we were going on a cruise and originally were considering a video camera, as we already have a larger DSLR camera. We decided to compromise and go with this camera so we would have less to carry. All I can say is WOW. THis camera takes great pics with the least amount of effort. We got some great pictures, and had fun taking them. A gentleman on this same cruise, was poking fun at this small camera I was taking pictures with and so we compared my pics versus his which were taken with a larger DSLR camera. He quit poking fun. Will definately be getting the larger lens.

June 28, 2012

rwisem

A great camera for a great price.

I shot 35mm slr's for years, but have just used point and shoot cameras in the digital age. The E-PM1 offers nearly everything the digital SLR's have at a much better price.

June 23, 2012

spotmatic

Exceptional functions

Start out in auto mode, fantastic pictures. Get a good photography book and you can become a pro with all the features on this camera.

June 18, 2012

noovie

I want to take more pictures!

I am so intimidated with big DSLR cameras but would like to have an upgrade from my point and shoot. This camera fits my need from having the user friendly features, compact size and my budget. Overall, I am satisfied and amazed with the excellent images. Thank you Olympus!

June 11, 2012

AmateurAim

Portability with a kick

I'm very impressed with the capturing ability of the Olympus E-PM1 pen camera. I'm relatively new to the DSLR world, though I know I can aim at a particular subject and capture the best I can-the E-PM 1 enabled me to express the view that I wanted to capture. My creativity instantly multiplied using this powerful portable camera.
I often stop to smell the roses when I can...Now I can also capture images of the roses through the Olympus E-PM1.

June 08, 2012

Turtle1

Underwater Photography

This in my opinion is the most versitile camera to come out for underwater use since the digital age started. With the 4:3 system and compact size it gives as good a quality picture as any large DSLR on the market. It also has the versitlity to do super macro in one photo and because of the use of wet lense macro magnifiers, be able to remove that lense and take a photo at 28mm of a turtle in the next shot. I am a small person and refused to change to digital until I could find a camera with equal quality and compactness to an underwater film camera . This is it. I have not found anything not to love about this camera. I can go anywhere from 3/8 inch squat lobster to a shark that is fairly close all on the same lense, and it is not heavy or bulky.
THANK YOU OLYMPUS!!!

June 03, 2012

Jymoak

Awesome System Camera

I live in very active community. The performance of the camera in capturing events for posting on facebook has been impressve. The e-portrait feature in particular has been a huge hit. The ladies are saying its a GREAT camera- no wrinkles : )

June 01, 2012

Anonymous

This is a great small camera with features of the larger cameras. I love the fact that I can change lenses for different situations. I'm still learning the features but I love the camera so far.

May 25, 2012

Anonymous

GREAT

At the present time I'm rating this camera as GREAT although I am still learning about it. All of the features that I have explored are amazing. I want to get to know the camera better. Right now the feature I like best is the weight.I'm sure there will be more as I get more familiar with the camera.

May 24, 2012

Glenrexellyn

Perfect blend of size and function

Small enough to carry when you don't want to be lugging a huge camera plus it has great picture quality and shooting options. Fast autofocus is perfect for working with kids. My wife and I could not be more pleased with this camera.

May 20, 2012

pix2fun

Overall easy to use and produces great shots

The E-PM1 was very easy to use. The menus allow quick access when taking pictures. I found myself using them much more than I would have imagined. I have had other Digital point and shoot cameras and never utilized their special functions.

I was very impressed with the way the camera analyzed a scene and the way it adjusted for dark and light areas was much better than I have been used to. My photos came out great.

The Art Filters are also easy to access and allows me to do more with an image. The Art Filers weren't something I was looking for but I have found that I use them quite a bit now.

I love the interchangeable lenses, too.

The lightweight, compact camera and lenses didn't make carrying it around all day burdensome.

The LCD screen was much better in bright light situations than I had thought it would be.

Overall, I am really happy with my E-PM1. I am glad I made the decision to go with E-PM1.

May 19, 2012

Tiffany

This is a great overall camera

I had always used Olympus Point and Shoots and was now ready to move up in the world but wasn't ready to spend a fortune on a DSLR! This camera is small and has wonderfully uncomplicated features that makes taking great pictures a snap!

May 19, 2012

33333333333

very nice camera

very nice camera, long lens set-up could use a bit more emphasis for the kit lens

May 16, 2012

Davo

Exceptional re-entry into photography

I was into film photography in the early 1980's and have had a couple of decent digital point-and-shoot cameras in the last 10 years. I purchased an EPM-1 to get back into a higher level of photography and I am completely satisfied with the EPM-1. The clarity of the photographs is really amazing right out of the box. I can't believe how "intuitive" this camera is because it just keeps producing great photographs no matter the conditions. One of the most incredible aspects of this camera is its "low-light" capability. I've taken better photo's in very low light, than any other camera I have ever used. The extreme quickness of start-up and focus have already proven their value when I recently photographed Fire Fighters and HAZMAT Technicians during a drill related to a hazardous chemical spill.

May 16, 2012

Larry shooterl

Great little camera

I am already the owner of a OlympusXZ-1 which
is my carry camera because of weight and
lightning fast Lens. For the price I could not pass
the EPM1. I bought it to pick up where the ZX-1
leaves off. I am going to get a telephoto lens for
it so I can shoot the Indy cars when they come to Detroit. I am also going to use it to shoot the
Gold Cup Hydroplane race on the Detroit River.
Both places you need a longer lens.
As for shooting with the EMP1 with the standard
lens it took a little getting used to with no funtion
dial on the top deck like the XZ-1 dose. Once
you get used to using the display screen to
select function the camera is smooth to use.
The stock lens that comes with the camera is
perty darn good. I got some good shots with
landscapes, closeup, and still lifes.
The color and sharpness just knocks your eye
out. I also have and VF2 electronic view finder
which you can use on either camera.I really
recommend this to owners of either camera.
I am sure I will get good results with the EPM-1
with the telephoto. So far the only complaint I
have is the EPM-1 dose not have the cross hatch
pattern in the view finder like the XZ-1 has.
It is very helpfull on horizon shots to keep things
virtical and horrizontal. Other than that it is a
real shooter and a keeper.

Larry

May 06, 2012

usmcpics

very good picture quality, great camera

i purchased this camera about 3 months ago and since then have taken about 3,000 pictures, the quality of the pictures is very good and the the fast autofocus is truly amazing i took 650 pictures at an air show this past weekend, being able to turn the camera on point and shoot pictures all within a few seconds at the full 42mm with clarity i did was awesome. the one complaint i do have is the in low light situations the on auto mode the pictures almost always blur due to the longer shutter speed it needs to compensate even with the flash, however if you go into the menu with a few adjustments you can fix this. i recommend this camera for any one looking for something better than your typical point and shoot, but not wanting to brake the bank on a crazy SLR.

April 16, 2012

Jumper

Great little camera!!!

This Olympus camera takes beautiful shots. Love finished product with some cool tools included to play with; such as one-click black and white or sephia. Lightweight and was not a burden to carry as I travelled through South Korea for a month and took about 1000 pictures. Just wish I had the 40-150mm zoom lens as this sometimes didn't make the items close enough.

April 11, 2012

hotpicke

amazingly small

small package but pack great IQ and easy usage
great to carry around for casual street pictures
white camera look good with silver lens

April 04, 2012

DSLR user01

Great lightweight kit

Got the E-PM1 for my wife. Wanted something small & light to go in her purse. But didn't like the quality of the point n shoot cameras out there. This is a very capable little camera for both the beginner or the pro. Put the 45 1.8 prime lens on it & you will be in love..
I will likely buy another one for my self. The wife always has this one with her.

March 28, 2012

ttsloman

It is good on design and size along with performance. I looooove this e-pm1. I recommend it

March 22, 2012

Pic man

This product is not easy to use.

The good pictures I shoot are great. However I get alot of bad ones. Im sure I just need to get use to the camera. If you dont know about cameras, this is not the camera for you. Im afraid im going to have to buy a regular point and shoot camera. one a little more user friendly.

March 17, 2012

PYS

Happy Photos

Very satisfied with purchase. Compact and lighter weight compared to DSLRs. Large back screen. Easy to use.

March 12, 2012

KBsnaps

Great Value=performance+size

There are better cameras out there, but for the price & the sheer size-weight-performance package there's nothing that can beat this. Micro fourthirds has matured with great but small lenses. I got the Oly 45mm almost after and it has become my new standard lens!
EMP1 gets more sharp pictures than one other m43 maker (my wife owns another brand m43 camera in pretty pink and almost as small in size) perhaps the EMP1's built-in stabilizer helps. For m43, you will have to compromise and put up with the noise when shooting in low light. With that in mind, I become a happy shooter! Otherwise, spend a few days set up the camera to your liking (has great SLR tweaks internally like the e series cameras I had used, I usually tweak the shadow contrast so it's flater) and for a camera this small, fast & fun, the pictures never fail to impress friends & relatives. For me now, this camera replaces a prosumer digi-compact and sometimes a full-frame DSLR especially when I want only jpegs out of the camera!
Even without a grip, I actually prefer the feel/ button layouts of this very compact camera to another compact mirrorless APS-c camera. The fewer the buttons, the less chance to trigger something by mistake (I felt this after using my wife's m43 camera)
I do not work for Olympus, or am I in any camera sales: FYI.

March 11, 2012

rnb2

Excellent take-anywhere camera

Great little camera - excellent as either a very high-quality walk around alternative to a DSLR, or as a step up from a point and shoot. Very impressed with the performance and feel of the camera.

March 09, 2012

KJBPhotogtaphy

Amazing camera!

This camera is simply amazing! I am an up and coming photographer and I cant imagine a better bang for your buck! The way this camera filters light through the lenz is simply amazing! I love the grainy film setting as well as the pop art, soft focus, and dramatic settings! Not only can I take great regular pictures, I take dynamic artistic pictures! I am so happy I purchased this camera!! Thank you Olympus!!

March 03, 2012

alansf

Never leave home without it!

Good light weight camera with a bigger sensor than a point and shoot camera , but small enough to out in a large jacket pocket or a small bag. I also bought the VF-2 view finder but rarely use it because it sticks out too much over the camera. My go to camera is a DSLR but I don't always want to carry it. The PM-1 is a decent replacement for most situations except in low light.

February 29, 2012

Photographer want to be

So far I love this camera

I'm a novice at photography and I have a lot to learn about this camera but I'm really impressed with it so far. Without using any of the special features, it takes great pictures. Struggling a little with the menu at this point, but am hopeful that it will get easier as I become more accustomed to the camera. I love the size of camera. I considered a heavier DSLR camera but didn't want to carry a heavy camera when traveling. This little camera has a lot in a little package! My only complaint is the operator's manual. It can be hard to find what you're looking for.

February 24, 2012

Mz

Innovative camera

E-pm1 combines performance and conviniece together what you see is what you'll get,with fast AF and 5fps continuous shooting. Progressive video alsoprovide the ability to cut frame from video.

Hope Olympus can make full frame 35mm camer!

February 22, 2012

Yendor

Great camera. Affordable with plenty of features.

I'm a hobbyist and was looking for an affordable compact camera with plenty of features and picture quality comparable to more expensive DSLRs. This one fit the bill. None of the other competitors in its class has as much capability for the price.

February 19, 2012

jonh918

Great for novice

i've had my e-pm1 for about 10 days now and i'm very happy with the performance and quality, the pictures i'm getting are nice and clear coming from a point and shoot i love my e-pm1...

February 17, 2012

oldguy

love this camera

I am not a photographer, I am a snapshot taker. I bought the E PM1 to help me move to the next level, and I am not disappointed. The images are crisp and bright, and I love how fast the autofocus is. I would be happy to recommend it to anyone!
P.S. I haven't used the art filters, I'm not there yet with my skills so it wouldn't be fair to comment

February 15, 2012

newPhotog

Good camera for the price

I've been really happy with this camera, especially for the price. My friends and coworkers who have spent much, much more for cameras were also extremely impressed with the quality for the price, when compared to their expensive DSLR's. Of course, at the price, you lose a few features found in higher-end cameras, but you'll likely discover an easy work-around using the great and super-customizable menus.

February 12, 2012

brookee84

Best camera ever owned

The pictures are so crisp and clear! I love the art features, and how fast the auto focus is, and I love the fact that I control the whether or not I want the flash on... even when the setting is on automatic. I love this Camera!

February 11, 2012

PhotoLife

E-PM1...a must have

I took some of the best film photos of my life with a Pen EE that was lovingly passed down in my family, so I always wanted to reconnect with the Pen E brand.
After learning about the E-PM1, I jumped at the opportunity to bring this into my digital camera line-up. And I am so so so glad I did.
The best camera is "the one you have with you" when you are in that moment that has to be captured by a photo. The E-PM1s size makes it the camera that you can always have with you for great moments. And its lens, action and software make it powerful enough to capture great images. For example, I have already had several images using a E-PM1 "art" setting were so good that they have been published in a regional economic journal.
I have used a variety of SLR, medium and PaS formats, so I know their strengths and weaknesses well. I am so happy to have reconnected with the Pen E family. It is taking my love of photography and advancing the quality of my photography so fast. I am sure it will do the same for you, too, regardless of what your current level is. Go get an E-PM1. You will be thrilled with it! And you will be thrilled with the Customer Service. I had some questions about a few things and I received email responses within minutes (from "Sam") that were spot on as to answering my question. Honestly, I have never experienced better customer service in the past 10 years than this.

February 07, 2012

knitkittiekat

I love this camera!

I'm still learning to use all of the features, but have taken some great pics so far.
One thing would help; it would be nice if the instrucion book had more info on each function.

February 06, 2012

MarSpkr

This is a great camera!

The only features I miss would be a built in flash and being able to look via a built in viewfinder.

January 30, 2012

Anonymous

I wanted a relatively compact camera that would perform well indoors. This camera has delivered great results.

January 29, 2012

william

Great Product

I love the speed of this camera , it is what it claimed " fastest Pen camera in the world " , the video 's sound is so clear that exceed my expectation ! The picture quality is impressive , especially in a low light scene :)

January 28, 2012

Ms.B

Love this little thing!

I was searching for a replacement for my very outdated point and shoot, but was hesitant to replace it with another point and shoot. I find that I'm always disappointed when I take that camera places and think of how much better the photos would have been if I would have lugged my D-SLR around. This is the perfect solution. small enough that I can easily carry it in a beach bag/large purse with the standard lens, or I can take a whole kit (additional lens, flash, extra battery) with extra space in my D-SLR bag. I love the many accessories and options available for this camera, especially the lens converter. I would like to find filters though.

January 16, 2012

LovePEN

Nice for the Price

Love the fast focus and sharp pictures - have yet to seriously take movies. Once I got the thing configured for me, a more advanced photographer, I'm pretty happy with it. I kind of like the single toggle button but it is just too small - try it with fat fingers or while wearing a glove. It does better than expected. I bought it knowing its not exactly what I want...

...I've been waiting for a PEN Digital that reflects more than just the body design of the PEN-F but the simplicity too. I'd trade all the art filters (can do these on a PC), iAuto, and other novice extras for more straightforward exposure control and OM-4 style multi spot metering. The OM-4 was the only camera I could shoot [low dynamic range] slide film without ever bracketing. Never once missed an exposure.

C'mon Olympus, we know you can. Why not make a PEN-om4 that a pro would be proud to drop in their jacket pocket?

January 13, 2012

puppyperson

purchased this camera to take pictures of puppys.
It has done what we wanted, still learning all the
options of the camera. It has many options we can use.

January 12, 2012

Mitch

Great upgrade from point-and-shoot

This camera is great for those who don't know too much about photography (and probably for those who DO as well). It's mostly intuitive, yet there are still a bunch of settings/effects that can be controlled, perfect if you're willing to read through the manual a little bit. The picture quality is great. I can't believe how much better it works than point-and-shoot cameras!

January 11, 2012

PahalaBoy

great LOW light performance

I switched over to the PEN series because they are light, use the same sensor as the E5. But the newer Pens which I just purchased (E-PM1) have newer and improved sensors which make capturing moments so enjoyable and the FPS...YEAH! I love it!

January 11, 2012

snoresalots

i think the camera is great. there are lots of special features on the camera. still reading and getting to know.

January 10, 2012

labell

Awesome camera!!

I received the Olympus E-PM1 as a gift and it was the best thing that I could have ever gotten. While on vacation I took unbelievable pictures that looked like a pro took them. The art and scene mode makes your pics pop!!! Best gift ever!!

January 09, 2012

Kam

You will love this camera!

I shot the above video ENTIRELY with the E-PM1 and the kit lens, in rain or a dark and gloomy day! Prepare to be amazed. Not necessarily by the video but by the functionality of the E-PM1.

It's small for a person who has big hands but it's fantastic. I use it for video and the interchangeable lens feature is a MUST! Keep up the good work Olympus.

January 09, 2012

F111E8

So much fun to use!

Takes great pictures--love the Olympus colors. Really enjoy the art filters! Fasst focus except in very dim light and Super Control Panel makes changing settings a breeze. Unbelievable amount of customization of settings. Really pleased with this camera.

January 08, 2012

Anonymous

exellent camera. Great quality photos and very easy to use.

January 05, 2012

Ansel924

I so love this camera!!

I'd been wanting a small digital camera, but didn't like what was on the market, until now. The Pen gives me pretty much everything I wanted a camera for plus a couple of cool extras. I love how portable it is and the absolutely beautiful shots I get. And with a wide choice of interchangable lens, there's also lots of flexibility.

January 03, 2012

DexterPR

Great camera

Great camera for people who wants to upgrade from a point and shot camera, really good quality pictures.

December 31, 2011

msbassman

Pen E-PM1

I purchased this just before Christmas wanting a compact DSLR. I've been happy with the pictures after I got familiar with the controls & settings. They are a little cumbersome. On the gulfcoast now and realize you have to purchase a viewfinder as you can't see the display in the sun, and they're pricey. I would like a 2-x converter to extend the zoom. Overall I'm satisfied with the camera though they get you the add-ons. I would recommend for the novice getting a camera with a viewfinder built in.

December 24, 2011

InkImpediment

Just one notch short of amazing..

I prefer this camera, in comparison to another DSLR that I own.. It has all the same great features, only made of better material and small, of course. The ONLY problem I have with this E-PM1 is the flah that comes with it. Th light from the flash doesn't travel further than four feet and my pictures end up dark. With that being said, if the flash isn't needed, then the camera beats my other much more expesie, brand popular, and heavier camera. Aston needs to reconsider who he wants to work for..

December 20, 2011

whynotaDVDmanual

Manual is confusing.

I can not speak about the quality of the camera yet since I am still early on in the learning curve but do believe the manual could be better organizes and more readable. You have to flip back and forth through 120 pages since many of the topics are scattered throughout. Maybe as I get into I might see the bigger picture but for now it leaves me scratching my head.

December 19, 2011

Thanks2Ellen

This camera is amazing!!!

The auto focus settings work great for the novice. Excellent Images. Easy menu navigation. I can't wait to see where this camera takes me.

December 17, 2011

Photobug

Great little camera!

I guess I fall into the specific demographic this camera was geared for. I was old school...SLR shooting film with 5 lenses from 20-200mm and a hand-held light meter. Then, for 10 years, ended up using a point and shoot digital and lost my creative edge. This camera brings me back to the days of manual focus, playing with aperture and shutter speeds and spot metering. I added an electronic viewfinder and the 40-150 zoom and the wide angle converter lens to the kit zoom...so now I have even more range than I had before...in a small light-weight package. The quality of the pictures is excellent and the speed is the same as what I was used to with my SLR. Although there's a learning curve with the how to get the most out of the camera and how to manage the different menus...it's worth it to get that old school photographic creativity in the digital age in such a small package.

December 13, 2011

hbtv

excellent in almost every way.

Compact, powerful, beautiful, functional, creative. Cons: not great with night shots.

December 11, 2011

ShootLite

Featured-rich in a smaller footprint

I like the compactness of m4/3 camera and fell in love with this little gem. At first, I was disappointed with the lack of buttons and controls/settings of the camera but as I worked with its Menu's options to get deeper inside, I've found the camera provides me with all the features and controls I need as from a conventional DSLR. It is a bit hard to get to but they all are there. I like the info display as I navigate the options/settings in the Menu, it is handy without looking them up from a Manual.
I also like the preset of various shooting styles, art filters which are very convenient and effective; particular I love the option to overlay images. You have to play with these control (setup) lots of times in order to get familiar with them and get at them faster. You'd definitely do faster with external buttons/dial switches...as you would find them on the E-P3 model.

I like the choice of available body colors, mine is white but admittedly this is my first non-black/silver camera and it looks cool being so.

December 08, 2011

BunkyFOly

So light and compact you hardly know it's there!

I desired a lighter camera to take on vacations replacing my large, heavy DSLR. I already have two point and shoot (P&S) cameras whose image quality (IQ) is totally unsuitable to me. When Olympus released the E-PM1, I noticed it was about the same size as most P&S cameras. I, then, viewed several of the E-PM1 images on line and noticed those images were as good as or better than those images produced by my full size DSLR. I also observed that the E-PM1 had other features my heavy DSLR didn’t: 1080 HD video, to mention one. I, therefore, ordered the E-PM1 with the kit lens and the VF-3 electronic view finder (EVF). I love the removable EVF; it’s like a little TV sitting on top of the camera. The price of the E-PM1 was right too; less than what I paid for my much inferior P&S cameras.

When I hung the camera with the lens and EVF around my neck, I hardly knew it was there (WOW!). Next step was to use the menus and take pictures. The menus are COOL; I got used to them after two or three short photo-excursions. I shoot pictures using RAW in aperture priority. Once again, not disappointed! The E-PM1 still images are absolutely beautiful; they capture incredible detail. I have included a few E-PM1 images with this review. I have used briefly the video section of the camera and the videos appear to be excellent too. I really appreciate how easy it is to activate the video recording with only the push of one button. I have since purchased the M40 – 150mm lens that also produces beautiful images (see the cat picture included). Actually, I am a little concerned that this little E-PM1 may push my beautiful, big, and heavy DSLR into the background. We shall see.

December 08, 2011

Gus V

Great Camera

I own an EP1 also and there is a difference between them for example the buttons, but the EPM1 is very simple and the controls are right there if I need to tweak them a bit. I use to have an SLR and all it had was Aperture ring and Shutter dial, and that's at my finger tips on the EPM1, the buttons on my EP1 some times get in the way and touch them some times by mistake and I have to reprogram again. YES, I would recommend the EPM1.

December 07, 2011

wally

This camera great. I have taken so many pictures

Camera is easy to use. As I dig into it I am starting to use the filters and play with more buttons. It is fun. I am not a good photographer and yet I have taken some wonderful portrait fotos of my young students and colleagues. I look forward to my next vacation to learn how to use it to do landscapes.

December 06, 2011

Paul

Overall, I am dissappointed in this camera. It has confusing menus and the lack of a built in flash and viewfinder make it clumsy to do any serious photography. As opposed to the way this camera is marketed, it is not a DSLR replacement or equivalent. I think the average photographer would better spend their money with an inexpensive DSLR than investing in this camera. Once the viewfinder or flash is added to this camera, it really is not significantly smaller than a DSLR.

November 30, 2011

druidlens

a real pocketrocket

I admit I gave it a head start. I put my 9-18mm lens on it, not its kit lens, together with a heliopan polarizer. The results are astounding. I would tell you about my other cameras but the writing guidelines prevent this. It is a real keeper. I wish the 1.8 lens were available as I only shoot in available light.

November 22, 2011

Pickle

Love the fast autofocus

Really like the portability and speed. Do miss my viewfinder from my E-30 and will probably get a EVF. Soze is nice for travel but like the ergonomics of my DSLR, E-30.

November 19, 2011

Nobba

Good but not great

Over all this is a nice compact DSLR, but there are many improvements that could be made - Whats good: very compact and perfect for travel. With the optional pancake lens it will fit in your pocket or purse; its too bulky to fit in a pocket with the lens that comes with the Camera and obviously any telephoto lens makes it way to large. Auto focus is good, art filters are very useful and produce great results. Manual mode has all you would need to take complete control. Pre set up modes (sunset, portrait etc) are ok. Ease of use and navigation between set up screens is ok. So whats not good...the photo software that comes with the camera is TERRIBLE I still cant use it, its very confusing and there is absolutely no usable help manual. I use a Mac and there is no seamless interaction between iPhoto and the Olympus software. The Panorama function does not work (yes, i am using it correctly) No paper manual altho down loading a version and storing it as a pdf is easy. no built in view finder - you can get one as an accessory but price is high. Battery life is poor so always have a spare. Image stabilization is not that good at all and watch out in low light and low f-stop. Also by the time you have purchased a couple of additional 'must have' lenses, a view finder, an additional battery, a case and a decent memory card, you will have spent a lot of money. I would like to be more happy with my purchase. Olympus has work to do before this
camera really meets the expectations their advertising sets.

November 17, 2011

redhead

this is a camera that is very easy to use. I love the fact that my pictures come out looking professional and I am such an amateur at photography! Yes, I highly recommend this camera. Its a small camera that acts like a big expensive fancy professional one!

November 13, 2011

Rags

Excellent product, very compact.

I like the feel of the EPM1, it feels very solid, it's very compact. The menu system is very easy to use and the features are great, especially the art filters and the manual modes.

November 13, 2011

jld

Easy to use, great presets and manual settings

This is my first 'high end' camera and I find it easy to use. It's best to play around a bit, to get the feel for the different settings and how to use them under various lighting and background areas. Not sure how it compares with the more pricey models, but overall a great product for the money.

November 13, 2011

BressonWannaBe

The lightweight and image quality is amazing

My father bought a Pen-ee while in Vietnam Nam in the 1960's and the small size, high quality and level of fun was amazing. The same is true now of the newest digital Pen E-PM1. You will never take good pictures if you don't have the camera with you, and the small size, light weight, and incredible image quality makes this an amzing camera system that you can take anywhere. I bought the vf-2 viewfinder to make the camera feel more like the classic rangefinder cameras I love, an extra lens, and a Macro adaptor that works on both lenses. It's genius!

November 10, 2011

gnurotic

perfect compromise

The E-PM1 is the perfect compromise in balancing image quality and portability. With the M. Zuiko 17/2.8, the Lumix 14/2.5, or the Lumix 20/1.7 mounted on this camera one can obtain comparable image quality to an APS-C DSLR in a package half the size. In fact, pretty much the same size as some of the popular enthusiast compacts.

Build quality is excellent. I thought I might be a bit annoyed at the lack of dedicated control buttons/dials, but if one familiarizes oneself with the menu options and sets the camera up properly, the work arounds are quite adequate.

November 10, 2011

iamfelipa

Excellent!

The E-PM1 aka PEN Mini is not my first camera, but OMG this camera is the best! The size of a point and shoot acts like a DSLR but VERY light! Great in low light, and very bright light as well. I rarely find myself using the attachable flash that is included. I say if you are past the point and shoot stage but do not want to commit to a large bulk DSLR camera this is a GREAT intermediate product! Very powerful. I got mines in purple. I get compliments from friends that are photography majors, they love it!

November 10, 2011

Dc73pd

Good camera but too small

My left hand kept interfering with the low light sensor when I would try to zoom the lens and take a picture. Otherwise it was an ok camera. I returned it because of the above issue.

November 10, 2011

mariafaye

Fantastic!

Beautiful images. The best smaller camera I've ever had! The HD video is amazing and the battery lasts forever.

November 10, 2011

NorthJerseyGuy

High quality camera

My E-PM1 is not only high quality product that takes excellent photographs, but it was relatively easy to learn how to use.

November 10, 2011

M

Though I don't have too much experience with other DSLR cameras, this one is great, affordable for a DSLR, and just plain fun!
My "point & shoot" by another company, is quick while I drive and just point...This one hasn't proven to be quite that, yet, but the Macro is so incredible!
I wish I had purchased it direct as I would have also gotten the next lens, up. As it stands, I can't afford it, just now.
The included flash is quite handy, portable, and easily accessed.
The only "complaint" I would have, and it seems to be with ALL digital cameras, is the "ready-set" for the next shot. Sometimes it is slow to "recover."
I can't comment on the movie aspect as I have not played with that, yet....at least, not on purpose. lol
FUN! FUN! FUN!
Thanks, Olympus!

November 10, 2011

PhotoPhil

Fun, Fabulous and Tiny

As a pro shooter with 40+ years experience I was originally skeptical but the Olympus E-PM1 proved with every capture that good things do come in small packages.

It took me a little bit of studying to comprehend the menus but once I set the camera to RAW files and started playing with the built in art filters I was creating images that were ready for publication without spending hours on the computer.

I especially liked that when shooting RAW with the Art Filter setting as I received both a RAW (that I could manipulate later) and a processed JPEG file simultaneously. I fell in love with the Pinhole Art Filter which vignettes the corners.

I even used the PEN in the studio with radio remote flash thanks to the hot shoe on top.

My PEN E-PM1 has become my constant companion. Now I'm lusting for the 12mm lens and a VF-3 finder.

October 30, 2011

Stevebancr

Great features.

Excellent choice. Really a home run for Olympus. Highly recommend.

October 18, 2011

psbern

Many features to take great pictures

The mirror-less system makes this camera very compact and light weight. I have taken many photos in natural light and they have excellent resolution. The included flash is good for a short distance to get people lighted.
The enlarged sensor allows very low light shots
The button for the video operation is close to the thumb placement and you can start video without knowing it.
The menu system is awkward at first,but with a little time you can get used to it

September 07, 2011

justinmk3

Solid

This is a great camera. If you did your homework you will know why. Recommend this for those who demand better than Point and shoot quality. I'd like to write more detail but can't due to the censorship rules on this site, thanks Olympus. I can't divulge technical details. Anyhow, check out the images below, I took today and I know NOTHING about Photography, just a huge techy.