View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

August 12, 2011

Judy

Exactly what I need

I am thrilled with my new Olympus E-PL2. I am an amateur photographer who travels internationally, often in the third world. I am also a new grandma!
In the past, I've been afraid to use a big DSR camera for fear of being mugged, but I have wanted to take good nature photos. My new camera is small, light, and inconspicuous. The lenses have enormous range. The software installed easily and seems intuitive. There are a range of lenses available that are very intriguing. My hope is to be able to photograph family as well as natural scenes, in comfort and ease, without fear.

August 12, 2011

R.Glaser

A lot of fun!

I wanted a camera to take along when the situation didn't call for a DSLR. I also wanted good image quality and lots of control. Beyond all that, I wanted the Art Filters. It is so much fun to go into a situation and use the Soft Focus or Dramatic Art Filters or Pin Hole and be amazed by what comes out. It's brought out the fine-artist in me.

I would suggest a class 10 sdhc card, and, that you read the manual. These two things will help get the most performance and understanding of this small camera.

Also, things to get are a better neck strap that's easier on the skin and a spare battery.

The E-PL2 is the right size and price for a lot of fun.

August 11, 2011

jwc

A small camera that does it all...

I almost got the E-PL1 until I read up on the reviews about the E-PL2. I just like the way the camera feels in my hands, and performance wise, I have not had a bad picture yet. I still have an E-500 which I will be passing on to my son. The only complaint I have is that it doesn't come with a viewfinder, but you can purchase one at the Olympus web site. I wish it came with the camera, but I guess you can't have everything. I really love the art filters, ect

August 11, 2011

David-Lehigh Valley, Pa

Very nice!

Impressed with size to weight ratio. It's small, but not too small. (Reminds me of my old C730UZ.) Haven't given it a good workout yet. Lots of nice features. Menus seem easy to use, once you understand them. The external viewfinder, though pricey, does provide additional viewing options. Overall, I'm pleased with my purchase. Looking forward to using it at DisneyWorld.

August 11, 2011

pasttintz

Amazing!

Vivid color reproduction. Love the natural tones. The art filters are amazing and a lot of fun in the field. Very well built.

August 10, 2011

Anonymous

Needs Focus Assist Lamp

Great Camera! However, it doesn't have a focus assist lamp for low light. Even the Olympus FL-36 external flash focus assist lamp doesn't work with this camera - not 100% compatible. Suddenly the newer "P3" versions have this feature. It's a basic feature on other company's point and shoot cameras. Otherwise great pictures from this camera!

August 09, 2011

RedRam10

Full featured compact

I've been a devoted Olympus user for many years and the E-PL2 was a replacement and upgrade from my E-510. I choose this body for the compact size and full feature set. I also wanted the ability to utilize occasional video capabilities of this body. I read many reviews before my purchase and am excited to say I'd buy another.

July 21, 2011

Coleman Lodge

I DID buy this again!!!

After losing our first one off the top of our car and never finding it again, I went ahead and bought it for a second time! I cannot say enough good things about this camera. Just a photo enthusiast/amature photographer, I can say that with the QUALITY of photos taken with the E-PL2, family and friends wonder if I've secretly taken classes, did we spend an obscene amount of money??? This camera has it all - and safely packaged small enough to fit in a lunch box! Comparing to the other cameras of similar price and function, Olympus has won my heart for sure. I would recommend this model to anyone, especially since we have purchased it for a second time!

June 23, 2011

thomask

Best of the Best

My experience in digital photography goes back to the earliest days and I find this camera to be the very best in terms of construction, features, quality and value. For an exhaustive review please refer to dpreview.com where you'll find detailed comparisons to other micro four-thirds cameras and examples of photos at every ISO. I am always delighted to show off my EPL-2 and it's fantastic photos. To compare apples to apples for sensor size I recommend going to sensor-size.com as trying to determine this important factor can be difficult.

June 03, 2011

Ron

A superb camera for quick, on-the-scene shooting

I have used Olympus cameras around the world starting with the OM-1 and working up. I absolutely refuse to consider other D35 cameras as they don't have the flexibility of the Olympus gear. Another extremely important point to me is weight. Olympus is around 3/4 the weight of the others and that makes a difference when you're running up and down a football sideline or trying to outrun a bull in Pamplona, Spain. I was skeptical of the EPL-2 but figured it would be a good backup to my E-520. It almost immediately took center stage. The features it has that no other camera offers, plus the 4/3 lens system are fantastic. Instead of one main camera and a backup, I now have two mains.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8