View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 6
  6. 7
  7. 8
  8. ...
  9. 12

January 16, 2013

Brad

Great little camera

This camera finally renders my dSLR system obsolete. Finally, one camera can serve both my advanced studio and stock photography needs, as well as be a pocketable (jacket) mini camera when outdoors or with the family.

It is packed with useful features like fast AF, in body image stabilization (incredible with video as well), high quality EVF, twin control dials, fast operation, weather sealing, 9fps shooting, nearest eye face detection and more. I don't find it the easiest camera to just hand to someone and get great results, but it is so customizable that spending some time with it is very rewarding.

Olympus really got the ethos of mirrorless right with this camera. It is great to be able to own the 'best' Olympus body for less than the price of a mid line dSLR. Combined with the growing system of lenses this is all the camera most people need.

Complaints? Custom slots (mysets) are a bit complicated to use, and it can sometimes be hard to quickly check all your settings as they don't have physical switches, and battery life is lower, but basically it is a solid little camera that just gets the job done.

December 20, 2012

LYS

Awesome camera. Goodbye DSLR.

I've sold off my other cameras (names deleted) after I got my OM-D EM-5. I've recently also purchased E-PL5 as my second body and nearly have all m43 lenses now! This is such a great m43 body, I could do more things with it than any of my previous cameras! 5-axis IBIS is truly impressive!

December 08, 2012

Paul

Very Good Camera:definitely worth buying.

I would have given this camera a 5 out of 5 but for the "on/off" switch.
I have large fingers and the switch is difficult to use, especially in a low light situation. The other complaint I have is the lack of the viewing screen's ability to have full movement- roll, pitch and yaw- as in the E-30, I have.
Now the good points. I am a Photographic Engineer and have an optical test chart that I use to test camera lenses. Considering the lens, that came with the camera, I found the quality to be to be excellent. This testing lacked all of the refinements normally used to test lens quality, but my eye and a 7x loop and a comparative lens. My friend has a Leica with a Zeiss lens- fairly close to the 12-50mm Olympus lens. We both found the Olympus lens to be sharper and yet, you might say, equal to the Zeiss. I used the Mil Std 150 AF Target and the Pin Wheel for our basic comparison. We could see no distortion or aberations.. On a shot of a steel structure, approximately 500 feet away, I was able to blow up the Zeiss image 17X, and the Olympus image 16X without seeing any pixcels. We were amazed at the results.
There is a lot more to this camera, that I have to learn; but, I am looking forward to my continuing education. Keep up the good work. I have normally used Nikons. I began my digital experience with the 5MP Olympus camera, in 2005. From there the 8MP, 10MP and 12MP. All Olympus products and all to my satisfaction. Thankyou.

November 27, 2012

Johnnymac

Who needs aps-c?

I have had my OM-D for 4 months now and the experience just gets better each time I use it. I have the 12mm, 25mm, 45mm, 75mm, 7-14 and the 14-42 kit lens. My friends keep seeing my images and can not believe the resolution quality. Funny thing is that my N#### and C##### buddies admit that I have a 'nice little camera' and they are right. I have looked at past jpeg images from cameras past from many manufacturers and the EM-5 is easily better every time. So don't let your friends tell you that you need an aps-c size chip. You don't. And by the way, you can rest easy and shoot all these lenses WIDE open.

October 18, 2012

Stuart

This is a marvellous camera

I am an enthusiast photographer, I own a number of good cameras, dating back to before the OM-1 and OM-2 cameras of the '70's and '80's, which were very far ahead of their time, with TTL exposure control (including flash), the OM-2 never missed, whether it be macro or telephoto!
For my E-M5, I purchased OM and four thirds adapters and can report that they work fine. I only wish I had better better manual focus control, for example a split focus screen or interchangeable focus screens, for such work - maybe a future release, Oly? (But no real complaint, I am delighted to be able to use these lenses.) I have 25 year old bellows for extreme macro work, and use the FL-600R remotely controlled, and find the setup awesome, maybe even as good as the OM-2, which is saying some! Using it with E-series: I have the 50mm f2.0 E series lens for "high end" MACRO work, it is ultra-sharp corner to corner, and bright. I have the 70-300mm for telephoto macro, and extreme telephoto, and can recommend it with this camera (note - some focus hunt, but lets face it, 600mm equiv. in a small handheld setup is unbelievable ... took it to sports events with very good results). The 11-22 f2.8-3.5 is also a superb lens -with this camera. For "regular" work, using the 12-50mm "kit" lens, this camera really performs, whether it be taking 4+ fps of our yellow lab running towards me at full tilt, or the grand baby in available light (shadow control is superb), or attending a class reunion in a badly lit restaurant with mixed light sources, or available light around a bonfire and marshmallow roast. JPEGS are excellent, so much so that I take far fewer RAW pix, now - reserving RAW for important occasions where I might need the extra dynamic range, colour correction, etc. I have to commend Oly on the small included flash - works very well as a fill-in flash, does not overpower the exposure. Picture quality and colour: Excellent. Focus speed: Excellent (with M.Zuiko lenses). Resolution: I am very happy with the camera - severe crops printed 8x10" are very usable. Available light performance: very good, certainly to 3200, useable past that if necessary. Gyro stabilization: simply superb, its about time somebody brought out a gyro stabilized platform in this type of camera - this is a breakthrough, lenses are consequently lighter, simpler and more rugged. Weatherproof construction: Magnesium - aluminum gasketted (with the 12-50mm lens) - I just added the weatherproof 40-150mm - I travel around the world, and appreciate being able to take a small high quality camera into imperfect weather, and not having to leave my good camera in the hotel room. Thanks Oly! This camera was well worth the wait!

October 08, 2012

Gerry

A really, really good camera

I bought this camera for two reasons: so that I could shoot HD video on trips without having to bring along a separate video camera, and to get better photos. I haven't been disappointed.

I came from an Olympus E-620 and the only thing I miss about that camera is the fully articulated screen. I've gotten very used to the small size of the E-M5, and in fact, love it. Because of my previous Olympus experience I was also quite used to the Olympus way of building menus in the camera, so that has never been an issue. But the fact that virtually every button is customizable is really a dream. I've got the camera set up for the way *I* use it, and that's great.

The 12-50 kit lens is wonderful, but I did buy a 14-150 to replace it on day-to-day shooting.

I like this camera so much, I can only find "nit-picky" things to complain about: I wish the MYSET settings could have customizable names; as it is, I have to have a piece of paper taped behind the viewing screen to remind me what MYSET3 is set up for.

Second, I'm not crazy about the way the camera focuses when in video mode. It seems I constantly have to half-press the shutter button to get video to refocus. Also, I bought the external mic attachment and although it works well, it also picks up more of the Image Stabilization motor noise. However, the video quality itself is magnificent, tho I do wish you could change exposure settings on the fly. But that's a minor nit.

Art filters? Who needs 'em? It'd have been nice if the dial presets were re-settable so that I could change "ART" to one of my MYSETs. Again, a minor nit.

Great job, Olympus! Please don't come out with a better camera in the near future... I can't afford to switch and like my E-M5!

July 27, 2012

Gertie

Pro results from an efficient and elegant camera.

This camera works efficiently and looks great. I cannot comment on any of the auto modes as I have only shot in manual in the few months I have been experimenting with the EM-5. I like the speed of focus, the 9FPM aqnd the ability to easily and quickly make changes on the fly - a great improvement over my previous EPL-1.
No comment on video which is my next area of experimenting which I am anxious to use as opposed to reluctance to try video in previous cameras.
I have used this camera in various types of natural lighting , both day and night, and with flash and studio lighting indoors and out and have been amazed at the consistenly good results at a wide vaiety of settings.
I like that I can easily carry a variety of lenses and assorted other gear without being obvious. I carry it with 2 lenses, battery holder attached, fllashes(FL 36Rand FL 300), and a few accessories plus a minimum of "purse stuff" in a bag which doesn't scream photographer and am always ready to shoot.
The EM-5 is aesthetically pleasing, not klunky like larger DSLRs. As a person with limited hand strength I find this camera to be easy to hold and use. I used my daily bag as described as a carry on in a tote with a few other items on a recent trip via air and Amtrak and packed my extra gear in a second carry on in a wheeled bag. On this trip, I went directly from JFK to Central Park in NY for a shoot - a studio on the go with no need for an assistant! Working, I normally carry just the camera on a sholder strap with extra lenses, flashes, and assorted gear in a bag and my tripod on my sholder if needed and perhaps a second bag with a stand to hold an umbrella or fold-up reflector. If I need heavier or bulkier gear it goes in a wheeled bag.

July 25, 2012

NotMyFirstOlympus

Excellent camera let down by minor quality issues

I bought this camera at the end of May. The image quality is excellent, given the sensor size and compactness of the camera including lenses. The kit lens was much better than I expected. Operation is a joy, even though there is some small room for improvement. For instance, one cannot engage at the same time the horizontal/vertical gauge and the red/blue warnings for dynamic clipping. I would also have loved GPS. Unfortunately there are minor quality issues. The glue on my eyecup did not hold. I am still waiting for replacement and in the meanwhile, not having the protection, the glass behind the eye cup got slightly scratched. This happened even though my glasses are made from plastic and should be quite soft. The decorative metal plate on the lens cap also fell off.
Over all I am still happy with my purchase, I just wished that Olympus would not have skimped on delivering the quality of cheap parts such as eye cups.

July 25, 2012

kaohsiung

As I am currently living abroad in Taiwan, I needed a camera that could deal with the wet summer weather and not break the bank, so the Olympus OM-D is the camera for me. I have not been disappointed by it at all. The image quality is fantastic, which is a relief as this is my first decent digital. I used almost exclusively film before switching to the OM-D and I have been pleasantly surprised.
Overall I'd say it's a better value than its competitors in a similar price range. It definitely competes on a higher level than that of a micro four thirds. The 12-50mm lens is fantastic and cannot wait to expand my lens kit.
The camera is small, light, and aesthetically pleasing. It is great for travel/street photography as it is not too imposing. I'd definitely recommend it to those looking to travel with it. It's already begun to save me from the rising cost of film.

July 24, 2012

The Underground

very nice. but...

very good image quality, solid build except for the view finder cover, who comes out easily.
very good video mode.
(very)high iso is unusable.
great creative filters and scenes mode. very good lcd and view finder.
hard orange and green pumping colours in auto-mode.
pocketable with a pancake lens (if you have large pockets in your trousers).
love it.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 6
  6. 7
  7. 8
  8. ...
  9. 12