View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12

June 05, 2014

AV8TOR

New to mirrorless

After studying mirrorless camera tests and reviews for months, I finally pulled the trigger and bought the OM-D E-M5. Small, light weight, and weather proof, it is fantastic as a travel camera. And with its fast autofocus and superior five axis image stabilization, it produces fantastic images. I added the two piece HLD-6 grip which improves handling and provides the option of having a fully charged second battery available.

May 18, 2014

Ted

Another Great Olympus camera.

I've only had E-M5 for two days of shooting, about 300 frames so far and as usual I'm very pleased....Of course, I've been and OLY fan for many years (OM-1N was my 1st 35mm film camera). This one replaced a E-P3 but still use E -5 and E-620. At 77 yrs old I like the lighter weight now days. All my glass is Zuiko both Micro and regular 4/3's. With the HLD-6 it is perfect for my old arthritic hands. Picture quality is significantly better that the E-P3 on all my printers. (Epson's). This is a great camera if "stepin-up" from a point and shoot... Tinkered yesterday with regular 4/3's 50-200mm 2.8-3.5 using a monopod on the E-M5 and although a bit lens heavy, the shots were very good and the AF was much faster than any of my 3 OLY's.... I'm a satisfied customer.

May 16, 2014

Eagle_eyes

Lightweight camera and excellent quality of pics

This is very good camera if you're travelling a lot and like to do outdoor. Very sharp pics and good quality of product.

May 04, 2014

Robert

New to digital SLRs.

I purchased this camera to replace my OM-1(s) that have served me well since 1976. I am impressed with the features of the E-M5 and look forward to creating some outstanding photos with my daughter and her different brand SLR. It is compact and seems natural to use without the bulk of most digital SLRs. I must say that it will be hard to put the OM-1s down and if I could get them serviced by Olympus, I probably wouldn't have bought a new camera. Right now, I hope the E-M5 is as reliable as the film OMs.

May 01, 2014

JH

Body design is not ergonomic

So Far i'm satisfied with my Olympus OM-D E-M5 with 12-50mm. The pics came out good and sharp picture. The only problem is when i hold the camera and push the shutter button it's kind little odd because im used to it with canon camera

April 15, 2014

Roseann

I love it!

An amazing camera that takes phenomenal pictures! I love to shoot wildlife and particularly birds, which can be difficult. This camera and 70-300mm lens are great. Focus, image stabilization are super. Have gotten some really good shots. The settings are many and can be daunting, so I suggest the downloaded manual as opposed to the paper manual. It gives more information. I also googled some questions when I needed extra assistance. In addition, I got the 12-50mm lens which is also a quality lens. I'm glad I traded in my other camera for this small, feature packed gem of a camera!!

April 13, 2014

Mark

WOW.......................

having previously owned olympus,pentax,minolta and canon for the past 45 years i can only say, WOW. what a dream. no need for me to go into all the bells and whistles that everyone else has covered just to suffice i'm very pleased. very steep learning curve for someone not familiar with digital camera technology but just sit back with your manual and explore. i'm very happy.

March 30, 2014

Howard

A wonderful camera

Just got it and learning the camera, so far it is a great camera. This is my 3rd OLYMPUS SLR and this one is the best!!!

February 28, 2014

Scott

10/10 - definitely recommend

I am absolutely in love with this camera. When I set out to buy into a mirrorless system, I debated the merits of Olympus vs the slightly larger Fuji X platform (which I'd had previous experience with), and took a risk on the OMD. I haven't looked back once.

The ergonomics are great (especially with the optional grip) and the user experience is super-easy to master. I especially love the touch-to-focus-and-shoot capability on the rear LCD.

I've found that this camera is best paired with the fast primes that are available - I already have the 17mm f/1.8 and 45mm f/1.8, and just ordered the 12mm f/2.

The standard hotshoe allows me to use the remote triggers I already have to fire any flash remotely. I'm not locked into a proprietary system for off-camera flash, which was very important in my purchasing process.

The battery life is incredible. I can shoot all day, even using the large rear LCD for image preview/review.

I was afraid that a compact system would limit my creativity, but I am able to achieve incredible results with the OMD system. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this camera to a friend - even fellow professional photographers.

February 26, 2014

Gary

Excellent

I've not had a chance to use the camera a lot, but my initial impression is that it's extremely well made. It's on the small side for my old fingers, but I wanted something compact. The included flash is sufficiently small to usually stay attached to the camera, so lack of pop-up flash isn't an issue.

This unit is reconditioned, but I can see no marks on it. I did dig around, and found that it has about 2200 shutter clicks, but I'm sure some of that came from QC, and the reconditioning process; not something to fret.

I did have to update the firmware, and that was a bit of a challenge, but I did complete the process. Not without trepidation, though, as the site has no real progress meter, so one never knows, and one dare not disconnect, as it may mess with the current program.

The down-side comes with the manual, or lack thereof. First, Olympus should supply a comprehensive manual. Second, even the on-line manual is extremely confusing. It really should be given more attention. I had a devil of a time to find and display the Super Control Screen. I will need time to learn what can be done with the various buttons. I think, however, that after I have things better studied, the camera will not be extremely difficult to manage.

I have already ordered a 40-150 lens. I had planned, and still plan, to use my legacy lenses, but the micros seem so compact that I opted to get the next longer for general carry.

One caution potential buyers might consider, when I registered the camera on line, I was immediately given a certificate for 10% off accessories good for 20 days. With the camera, I ordered a spare battery and the larger VF cup. Had I waited, I could have saved a few bucks. For that, shame on Olympus.

Because of the very poor manual, the unit gets only 4 stars.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12