View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12

December 13, 2014

Daniel

Classic Look, Great Performance!

I am a previous owner/user of two PEN cameras, the E-PL1 and E-PL2. I liked the E-PL2, but I preferred having a built-in viewfinder, so I ended up moving to another brand of camera. I got reasonably competent with that unit, but I found that big lenses with stabilization seemed mismatched on a small camera body. Recently, I looked at the Olympus brand again, and decided that the E-M5 might be the package I had been looking for. After a month of use, I think I made the right choice.

First, the camera is very well built, solid and easy to handle. With stabilization in the body, the lenses are smaller, which makes the camera balanced and less front-heavy. I am finding that I have a steadier hold with the E-M5. Second, I much prefer the focus area identified with a highly visible green frame. With my previous camera, I had a hard time putting the little red auto-focus dot where it needed to be to achieve subject focus. In addition, I find it easier to change focus areas with the Olympus than with the other brand.

Finally, I am very comfortable with the Olympus menus and controls. There are a lot of settings, but the combination of control dials, function buttons, and touchscreen means that the photographer can really personalize this camera to suit his or her use. I like the E-M5 for its classic looks, build quality, and sharp, colorful pictures. The only reason for my four-star rating is that, at this price point, Wi-Fi should be included. That is not a deal breaker, though. Overall, I have no problem recommending this camera!

December 13, 2014

Thomas

My new camera

I bought the discounted OM-D E-M5 kit and an extra lens, M.17mm f1.8, then took a trip to Europe. I sure do like the camera and both lenses. They are just the right size to travel with and don't weigh all that much. Took some pictures in the rain in Amsterdam with no problem at all. I got my first camera in 1966 and this is my first Olympus and again I love it, all I need is the new f2.8 zoom lens.

December 10, 2014

Gunter

Perfect Camera

It is a great camera, AF is very fast, I. Have the M.25mm f1.8 and M.45mm f1.8 lenses and the are great and sharp. So far the best camera I ever had. It is small and handy, good for travelling and street photography. I have the camera nearly a year and no regrets. For me it is the perfect camera.

December 06, 2014

Jesse

TOTAL AWESOMENESS!!

E-M5 exceeded well above my expectation! I am so happy with the decision I made. E-M5 fit perfectly in my hand. It took a while getting used to though. It was smaller than I thought but was a good surprise. I hated that cheap plastic feel of DSLR but E-M5's fit and finish was like BMW of DSLR world! Compact and tight yet heavy metal felt just right in my hand! Its compact weather proof body and EVF are the two features that you can't find in other brand, and speaking of EVF, switching view from 3" OLED screen to EVF was flawless. No delay at all. I don't have to carry around those bulky DSLR anymore. I can carry E-M5 anywhere! Highly recommend!

November 16, 2014

Nora

Fabulous Easy to Use Camera

I am just a regular person, love taking photos, have no idea about f-stops etc, but the quality of these pictures are amazing. The sharpness of these pictures is totally amazing, and when doing landscape even the way distant areas are sharp as a tack......Sequential shooting mode, hold on because this baby shoots so fast, and incredible at the results. they are great, and amazing to see birds in flight, or deer on the property running away.
My favorite is the built in eye piece, to me should be on all cameras, and the fact that is is water resistant. I like walking on the beach and taking photos of boating etc. This sale price is awesome and with the 5 axis stabilization built into the camera you CANNOT and i mean you CANNOT get better. So go for it you will love it!

November 04, 2014

UDAYAN

A very beautiful system

I bought this camera with the 12-40mm ED lens two weeks ago. It was just delivered.

I must say the first thing to strike you is the sheer beauty of the system!

The Display is crisp and brightly lit. The electronic viewfinder is activated by proximity detectors. For somebody looking for looks as much as value, this camera delivers with a bang. I use a manual Nikon FM10 for black and white photography, which I will continue to pursue. However, I must say I am very much impressed and looking forward to my new life in the world of Digital photography with my new E-M5 camera.

October 23, 2014

Apolony

Awesome

The OM-D E-M5 is exactly what I was expecting after reading many reviews from different sources. I am still discovering all its possibilities but so far I am indeed impressed with picture quality and handling. It is true that it takes time to figure out the somewhat complex menu but once adapted to my shooting type all is smooth and easy. It also doesn't hurt that it looks great and feels great in my hand. After the E-PL3 (which I enjoyed) its like stepping from an econobox car to a sporty performance beast.. Great cam!

June 20, 2014

Linda

Problematic Chromatic Aberration - Visible color flaring

There are simple mathematical programs to correct Chromatic Aberration, but Olympus neglected to include these programs like Panasonic does.

I get strange flares of purple, blue, yellow or green every place in the picture where the light changes from very dark to very white. Image taking a picture of a beautiful tree covered with dense leaves, with a light blue sky behind it. Everywhere the light blue sky is visible between the leaves, there is an artificial color flare. This is extremely annoying and makes photos look that they were taken by a very cheap camera.

On a foggy day or in low contrast situations, the camera is fine.

June 05, 2014

AV8TOR

New to mirrorless

After studying mirrorless camera tests and reviews for months, I finally pulled the trigger and bought the OM-D E-M5. Small, light weight, and weather proof, it is fantastic as a travel camera. And with its fast autofocus and superior five axis image stabilization, it produces fantastic images. I added the two piece HLD-6 grip which improves handling and provides the option of having a fully charged second battery available.

May 18, 2014

Ted

Another Great Olympus camera.

I've only had E-M5 for two days of shooting, about 300 frames so far and as usual I'm very pleased....Of course, I've been and OLY fan for many years (OM-1N was my 1st 35mm film camera). This one replaced a E-P3 but still use E -5 and E-620. At 77 yrs old I like the lighter weight now days. All my glass is Zuiko both Micro and regular 4/3's. With the HLD-6 it is perfect for my old arthritic hands. Picture quality is significantly better that the E-P3 on all my printers. (Epson's). This is a great camera if "stepin-up" from a point and shoot... Tinkered yesterday with regular 4/3's 50-200mm 2.8-3.5 using a monopod on the E-M5 and although a bit lens heavy, the shots were very good and the AF was much faster than any of my 3 OLY's.... I'm a satisfied customer.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 12