View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 13

July 14, 2015

Don

So far, So good!

I am a longtime user (still) of the OM 35mm System. I indulged in the OM-D, as my initial foray into digital was a bit of a let down. The OM-D E-M5 was easy to start using right out of the box, and I am pleased with the results so far, just using the automatic functions. The viewfinder and flash are very functional for me, and the retro size and styling make it like the original OM; a camera you can easily hold and carry in your hand.
Will keep posting as I do and learn more. The newer E-M5 MkII sounds like a real step up, but this camera is a great deal and a great little camera.

June 29, 2015

Corey

A great camera.

I preordered this camera back when it was first released. I've been using it now for over three years with a number of different lenses and it's been amazing. It has never had any problems, it still works just as well not as it did when I first received it. Even years later I'm still happy with the image quality which was an amazing step up from my previous DSLR.

June 04, 2015

Will

The perfect travel camera

Simply put, the OM-D E-M5 is the perfect travel camera.

A little background on me. I've been shooting with a full frame DSLR for years and I was so happy when I discovered the OM-D E-M5 and made the switch over. My back thanks me. I'm not even that old but at a platform level mirrorless and M43 is everything you'd want in a travel camera for prosumers.

ABOUT THE CAMERA
This little guy produces amazing photos. Sure there are some drawbacks to M43 when it comes to depth of field and so on but for the trade offs in size and weight, this camera comes pretty darn close. The stabilization is amazing and love the quick focus. Travel is all about getting those quick snaps on the road and this does flawlessly in those situations. While the menu system is complicated for some, I thought it was actually awesome at doing everything I wanted to do especially coming from the DSLR.

IMPROVEMENTS
This wouldn't be a fair review if I didn't say areas that it can be improved in.
1) Low light - Where I could shoot comfortably with ISO 3200-6400 on my DSLR, it's not that great here. Its grainy and you just don't want to go there if you can avoid it.
2) Ergonomics - Love the small form factor but I did need the HLD-6 grip to make it easy and comfortable to hold
3) Max shutter speed - You don't think about these details at first but when you're in super bright situations, you just won't be able to shoot at f/2.8 because the shutter can't go any faster. So you'll en up stopping up to f/4.

OVERALL
Best camera ever (well until the MK2 and E-M1 came out). I bring it around everywhere now and love how it's compact and more importantly that it's not intimidating around other people. I love how people just think it's another point and shoot...except it's not. The M43 platform gives you so many possibilities with its massive lens selection and you can pretty much do everything you would want to do with a DSLR.

June 02, 2015

Schwankster

Amazing camera!

I've been an avid photographer for almost 40 years, and I've really enjoyed this camera. I've been using it for over a year now, and I'm still discovering new features and things it can do. It can be as simple or as technical as you like. My wife and young son can pick it up and take great photos in one several automatic modes, or I can use it with the more advanced features. Very durable and reliable! I've taken it on several hikes and it has had it's share of bangs and bumps on the trail, and it just keeps on taking great shots. The layout of the controls makes it easy to tweak shots on the fly. Highly recommended!

May 27, 2015

noname

Best in Class

Because Olympus made such a fun camera to use, I owe them a review. Its already been said but this is the best most fun to use small format camera made to date. I know because I have wasted money on others !!! Of course it has a few dings but nothing to hurt its top ranking in my book. All you have to do is look at the build of this camera and then compare with others on the market today. The rest is simply fun to use and good pictures. The one major con is its going to make you spend more money on great glass just to see how good your pictures can be. Even if you don't go for the better glass you will be amazed at the pictures the cheap lens can produce, I know I still am. Keep it up Olympus, you have clawed your way to the top of this class camera.

April 25, 2015

Ron

It's a great everyday camera.

I did a lot of research before I bought this camera, so i was very excited when I order it. It is a camera that I am going to grow into, and right now the options seem limitless. Besides being ridiculously gorgeous, it is compact and smaller than I expected. The body is approximately the size of my iPhone 5 in it's case, and about twice as thick.

The only real con I see is the battery, which you can pick up extras for a reasonable amount. You should probably go ahead and order backup batteries because once you start shooting pics, you're not going to want to stop. People complained about the grip and placement of the buttons, but I just haven't found it to be an issue. I have bigger hands but it works fine for me.

April 16, 2015

Sima

Great Camera without wifi

Olympus OM-D E-M5 is a great camera. I got it before last Christmas with a camera&lens bundle deal at less than $1000. I bought it with the 12-50 mm kit lens, which is also a convenient all-purpose lens.

I am very new to photography, but this camera is quite easy to get my hands on. I usually use the P function to take pictures, so I only need to adjust the white balance depending on the outdoor weather condition or indoor light condition. It almost always gives me satisfied pictures especially when I am taking pictures during day.

The 5-AXIS is a very useful function too. Sometimes when light is not so good, I could still take satisfying pictures by handheld.

The only regret is EM-5 does't have a build-in wifi, which makes it a little inconvenient to share photos right after you took them. You will have to download everything to your computer after the day. Maybe a wifi card could kind of solve the problem.

Another tiny regret is the keys, wheels and buttons of EM-5 are not as good as it successors.

April 02, 2015

Chris

Love this Camera.

Been looking at getting back to the Olympus system as it was my first 35mm ILC. I had an OM 2000.

When the price dropped on the OM D E-M5 I could not resist. I had been researching it and found really positive reviews. I wanted something light, durable and would capture the world I see.

I was using Canon DSLRs and was getting tired of hiking in the woods/mountains with the heavy system. I do not have that problem anymore. Carrying a camera around is no longer a chore.

Thanks Olympus for making this great camera!

April 02, 2015

javamama

My main selling point -- stay with Olympus

I had dithered for years on what SLR to buy. I have an OM-1 film camera that still works today after 30+ years, along with a variety of Zuiko lenses. What sold me on the OM-D -- its light weight, enough features to experiment with and with buying the MF-2 adapter, I can still use my old manual lenses! ((good for the earth, reuse). The pictures have come out great!

March 25, 2015

jake

Great camera

Bought this camera as a nice compact travel camera and found that it became much more than that! Its so small that I bring it everywhere, and since its weather proof I can bring it everywhere I go. Great camera for everyday, or if you need something really tough that can withstand the elements!

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 13