View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. 10

November 20, 2011

rayg220

Great Camera, Great Value!

I wasn't going to upgrade from my E3, but decided it would be a nice, early Christmas gift from my wife. :) I have no complaints about the E3, it's also a great camera, but the quality and clarity of the photographs were noticably better with the E5. The fact that it's compatable with all my lenses, batteries and the HLD-4 battery holder makes upgrading from the E3 a painless process. Olympus glass is also some of the best made, so you'll never have to worry about lens quality - and some after market companies make some decent lenses too if you're on a budget (but Oly is still the best way to go). I like the fact that you can do video, but, since I've been doing photography for over 20 years, I have a hard time using live view. You can only shoot video in live view and I'l not use to that at all (I always look thru the view finder). Now this is MY problem, not necessarily the camera's. If you look at the video I've taken you'd probably get motion sickness, but I'm confident I'll get the hang of it with some practice. I'm including two basic photos. One of my dog and one of the ferry we went on across the Tennessee River. Although it was quite cloudy that day, I think the photos came out well. There was no learning curve for me to use this since I upgraded from the E3. Only a few buttons have been moved to make room for the large, much clearer LCD screen. And if you never used a E series camera, it's really not that hard to figure out. I really love this camera and plan on having it for many years. Rock solid construction make it a bit heavy, especially with the HLD-4 battery holder (which I highly recommend), but it's shock and water resistant. Besides, personally, I like a camera with a bit of heft to it. You can't go wrong with this camera - I love it!!

November 19, 2011

Dean D

excellent tough camera

great feel in hand, this camera can take some punishiment. performence is excellent. prints up to 17x11 look great with no upscale there size

super high grade lens with this camera. fast focus and great color and sharpness

November 04, 2011

Martin Klar

Great camera

Have had the camera for over a year and taken over 4000 photos during some travel adventures and it performs superbly

November 03, 2011

Lenny

Great Camera

IT IS A Great Camera! Just a little bit bulky for everyday use, but that shadows over the quality of shots variety of options it delivers

October 25, 2011

Convert

Superior camera with the best glass available

I have shot both the other "big" brands and must say the E5 is miles ahead of them. The camera is an absolute beast that can put up with anything I throw at it, as I am an "action" photographer that is tough on equipment. It won't scratch, wear or dent not matter what I do to it. I am amazed with the abuse that it just laughs at.

Beyond being tough, the E5 picture quality is amazing. I love the fact that the exposure is almost always dead on when I am in Aperture Mode. The jpegs are extremely sharp and accurate (I don't like spending hours correcting photos, I would rather be shooting). Colors are correct and vibrant. The controls are easy to use and all of the buttons are well placed and I very rarely ever mistakenly change modes or settings as I did with the "other" cameras. All of my pictures are tack sharp if I follow proper shooting guidelines.

Some of the other things I like about the camera are the durable and awesome swivel screen. What top rate, pro camera offers this? I love the Art filters. Are they a little corny? Maybe, but if it a dreary day they can add some fun to the pictures. Dramatic tone can make an overcast day awesome. Best yet, the filters don't touch the raw file. I also love and treasure the anti shock feature. Gone is the stupid mirror lock up feature. For a landscape photographer, this is huge benefit and true genius from Olympus. I also like the in-body camera stabilization. Put good glass in the lenses, not electronics. I like the two card slots also. Now I can use both type of cards and never run into memory problems if I have 2 cards in.

I love the feel of this camera. It feels tough and it fits my hand well. You feel like you are holding a professional (which you are) piece of equipment when you hold the E5. Throw on the superior Zuiko glass and you have a heavy duty masterpiece.

I only have two complaints with this camera. The eye cup. Watch out, it falls of easy, so if you move around a lot with the camera, have extras in your bag because you are going to lose one or two. The remote cable release was not well thought out. For a tough camera, this is the camera's Achilles Heal. You look at it wrong and it will break, costing you over 60 bucks a clip. This has been a big frustration to me.

The E5 is a big winner. I have a much more expensive competitor's camera and it stays in the bag all the time. I have 2 E5 bodies and an assortment of the top level Zuiko lenses. I absolutely love them. When I read reviews that say the Olympus is expensive compared to competitors similar models, I think they are comparing the wrong models. The E5 is a professional camera that should be compared to the big two's pro cameras that cost almost 3 times more.

I have compared images in exact same settings and the E5 images are sharper, more true to color, and better exposed. Add that to the super tough body, and you have the best of all features in one camera. Well done Olympus. Please keep the DSLR cameras going. The E-PL system is awesome (I have one of those also), but the E5 is simply the best. It makes my photography better and much more fun.

October 03, 2011

DogPix

The E-5 produces exceptional color quality.

You can feel the build quality the moment you pick up the camera. It's built like a tank. The ergonomic design fits naturally when taking photographs. The autofocus is amazingly fast. Particularly with the ED 50mm,f2.0 lens. I have a picture of a bubble floating in an outdoor breeze to prove it. I enjoy using the art filters to show different perspectives. The processor processes RAW files quickly when doing high sequential shooting. The ability to access menus and make changes is quick and easy. I am most impressed with the picture quality and color. In my opinion, the Olympus E-5 produces better picture quality and color than any other camera in it's class and better then many of the competitors' more expensive high end cameras. I also own the Olympus E-3 in addition to the E-5. With the weather sealing, I feel very secure using these Olympus cameras in foul/stormy weather conditions and when boating, etc.

Thank you Olympus. You keep DSLR's like the E-5 coming and I'll keep buying. :-)

September 30, 2011

Art_Norton

Dramatic Upgrade

As a longtime E-1 user, who skipped the E-3, the E-5 is a significant upgrade. I have less than two weeks with this camera, but the improvements in image quality and responsiveness are significant. I really love the 3" LCD, the viewfinder and the information displays. I will have a more cogent review in a few months, but so far, so good.
Note I listed good for value, as similarly capable bodies, from other manufactures, sell for less. If I factor in lens quality vs. price, for Olympus DSLR cameras, the value borders on excellent.

September 25, 2011

Nashville to New York

Superior Camera need to know the future

I've shot Olympus SLR since the E-10.
I have all the pro series zooms from 7-4 to 90-250mm. I shoot about 500 frames a week.
The quality of the colors and clairity beats my friends. The sharpmess and image quality stand out.

I just want to know that the E system SLRs will continue.

September 20, 2011

BAM

Excellent masterpiece of art and technology

Simply a masterpiece product from Olympus. Combined with almost any Zuiko lenses, you will get beatiful photos. E-5 is an excellent tool for any type of photography. I have used in several countries in different weather condition, the camera and lenses never failed. Oh yes, you can take stunning night photos without flash.

September 15, 2011

Wet in Seattle

Image quality rivaling those costing up to 4X more

My E5 makes all the other cameras in it's price range feel like plastic toys. Pair an E5 with a SHG Zuiko lens and I don't think you can match the image quality no matter what you spend!

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. 10