View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10

November 24, 2014

William

Olympus E-5

I think over time the Olympus E-5 will be regarded as one of the finest cameras ever built because of it's superb build quality, it's on board Image stabilization, it's Titanium water proof and dust proof body, very good quality video, articulating LCD screen, superb low light shooting capabilities, and a multitude of Professional functions and setting that put it into a professional class among the best cameras anywhere in it's price range. It's really unfortunate that Olympus chose to discontinue the Professional E-series four thirds mount cameras when it could have had a winner if they had continued to improve such a fantastic series. What were you thinking Olympus?

November 27, 2013

Paul

Two Plus Years Later

Still I am learning more and more about the E-5.
Purchased for the daughters' weddings of 2011, I have used it in more hockey arenas than I can count since.
Any sports photographer will tell you that there is no such thing as constant lighting in any arena even those that hold professional games.
The E-5 has dazzled me when compared to my EV500 under these conditions.
The auto WB is more than enough in most of these lighting conditions and the ISO advancement keeps the hi-res jpegs clear and refined.
Kudos also to Olympus for keeping the batteries for the E series DLSR compatible through out.

October 21, 2013

Darrell

Built Like A Tank

This IS a professional camera because of it's rugged build and it's use of the finest lenses ever produced for any camera system.

Olympus may be marketing their EM-1 right now which is also a fine camera but for some the E-5 is the perfect size. The E-5 while not having a modern sensor like the new EM-1 still stacks up favorably against the competition because of the SHG f/2 lens suite that is available, and no other manufacturer even offers lenses of this caliber.

For now the E5 is still a good choice for those who already have 4/3 lenses but because Olympus will no longer make DSLR's, those just starting out and wanting a more substantial body then mirrorless cameras have, you may want to look at other brands.

September 30, 2013

Jerry

Amaziing Camera... Love my E-5

I reviewed this camera back in April, and gave a good description of what I thought were bits of valuable information; I will try to give a better opinion here.

I have shot with Olympus (Exclusively) since 1976 (except for 1989 & 90, when I shot a medium format Mamiya 645, maybe 20% of the time); Most of my images were made with an OM-1, manual camera.
I have a degree in commercial photography.

The E-5 is a true workhorse of a camera, built solidly and very comfortable to hold. It is heavier than my E-500 or EM-5, but with heft comes stability! which helps reduce camera shake. For me, the weight is perfect... all my lenses feel balanced when mounted on the E-5 (50 f2.0 Macro, 11-22, 12-60 even the 50-200, and the 14-45 std zoom and 40-150) they all work great, they all focus quickly, and images come out great.

The best features of the E-5 are the adjustable image monitor, the Layout of controls on the back, and top, and the fact that there is a "grip" where the shutter button is located.

This "grip" is what makes the camera so easy to hold, for me.
Your index finger rests on the shutter button, and just below is an adjustment dial, easily accessed.

I love the location of the "view images" and "trash images" buttons around the OK button etc. Makes it easy to review images, and delete bad shots, and such.

The rotatable monitor is really handy when you need to use an extreme camera position (that your body simply is not able to get to). By switching on Live View, and rotating the monitor to the required view angle, you can make the shot.

I like the built in flash, and use it for fill-in when light is a bit low, or contrast is lacking.

Now for the features that I don't care for, or I think should be improved!

First, the 12.3 MegaPixel Sensor really needs to be higher!!
16 MP is a minimum, but really needs to get to 20 -25 MP
(But that is asking A Lot!, since Olympus's Image Sensor has the Highest Pixel Density {Pixels/mm^2} of Any camera system today)
So, an increase in MP rating is first on my list, but to be honest, I have taken some truly impressive (sharp and contrasty) images with 12.3 MP.

ASA, ISO rating needs to be in-line with the EM-5 and EM-1.
I took shots when re-modeling our kitchen, of the inside of a drawer... which was really dark, no flash, but the EM-5 bumped the ISO high enough to get a clear image... the E-5 was limited in that respect.

I like the EM-5's Live Image, mirrorless environment. The E-5 has it, but you have to activate it (I think by locking the mirror up). This feature works good, but maybe the mirror-less design would be good for the E-5 in the future.

Finally, the Art Filters! I really like the art filters, on both my E-5 and my EM-5... but the E-5 does not appear to have the Art Bkt option; and there are not as many filter choices on the E-5.
Art Filters make photography FUN.... (wish my E-500 had them)

The E-5 is really a joy to use! There is also a sense of pride in owning such a fine camera. I understand the restriction that Cost puts on a person's choices, and the cost of this camera is high, but it was definitely worth the expense for me. I was looking for quality, and found it nestled in excellence.

p.s. I have a spread-sheet, illustrating Olympus's image sensor Pixels-per-mm^2 density, compared to Nikon and Mamiya, and Olympus's density on their 16 MP sensor in the EM-5 and EM-1 far exceeds any others.

April 02, 2013

Jerry

AWESOME CAMERA, VERY IMPRESSIVE!

I got my E-5 over a month ago now, and was really overwhelmed by the quality of the camera! My E-500 does not compare! The E-5 is a heftier, solid work of art. The layout of controls seems to be Much better and easier to use, focus is extremely fast and accurate, ISO range is way better, there are much improved art filters, and the pop-up flash works the way I prefer… everything is superb.

I also have an E-M5, which compares more favorably to the E-5, but I really like the E-5 better. It fits my hand more correctly, while the E-M5 is much smaller, made for someone with small hands.
Focus speed seems very fast in low light. I have noticed the ISO (in Auto ISO) will jump up to 800, 1200, or better, depending on how low the light may be. ISO goes to 6400 with the E-5, which seems to be more than adequate.

The E-5 holds two media cards, just as the E-500 does, which is a Great advantage. I like to shoot on smaller media cards to allow a photo project to be on a card. If I happen to shoot two weddings in a single day, it is convenient to switch to a new card per wedding, keeping everyone in the correct group (2 Meg cards were great, but 4 Meg are just fine too) But now days, it is harder to get CF (compact flash) cards, so with those I take what I can get. The Nikon D600 takes two cards, both SD, so maybe the E-5 (or the next generation) should have two SD media cards as well. The E-M5 only has one media card slot, and that is not as nice.

The adjustable LCD monitor really helps when shooting “Low” viewing angles. I have found I can rotate the monitor down, so I can view images at waist level (just like I would with my old Mamiya 645 with waist level finder). The E-5 can give me the same viewing angle, but there are so many more angles… the E-5 was really thought out well! Plus, you can shut it, so it is protected, when you turn off the camera.

When using the E-5, I feel like I am shooting with a professional camera (which I AM!)

The camera seems to function as if all parts respond in unison. Everything works well together, and all parts respond logically when utilized. It may be the Perfect Camera! (at least for me, it is!)

I think all E-System users should get a chance to Try the E-5 to appreciate it. I would like it to get upgraded to the higher 16MP sensor, and increased ISO range, but other than that, it is an absolutely amazing camera. Everyone should have one!

July 26, 2012

Vulcan1500

This camera does everything I wanted it to do.

I have owned an Olympus E-5 for 2 years. I have used it to do Macro, Landscapes, wildlife, family, sports. It has handled everything I have tried effortlessly. The results have been absolutely beautiful. I have used it on beaches, in the mountains and everywhere you can think of. The weight, balance, color clarity, sharpness are beyond reproach. All in all just what I imagined before purchase has been confirmed since purchase.

June 15, 2012

Tor

Awesome image quality

Upgraded from an E620. The E5 is superbly built camera, with phenomenal picture quality, gorgous LCD screen, built like a brick. Highly recommended.

May 12, 2012

Picture guy

So far, so good

This is an upgrade from my E-30, which I like very much. However, noise in the30 is a problem. My testing to this point suggests that I will be happy shooting @ISO 800, which I think will be enough for me.
I like the camera features and operating it is easy. A bit heavy with a 50-200 but stil manageable.

May 09, 2012

JR

Olympus E-System is FANTASTIC!

The E-5 is an inspiration to use. Olympus should be blessed to have developed it. I have a lot of experience with APS-C and full format bodies of the big N, and the red dotted rangefinder. What I miss in all cases are really good colors. I remembered the great colors of my E-620, that I sold two years ago, and hoped that the E-5 would bring them back. I bought it together with the 12-60 lens. What can I say? I am amazed by the image quality of the E-5. I absolutely love, love, love the high quality of the RAW files. It is simply fantastic to see which intensive colors, contrast, and dynamic range, not to speak of the very high sharpness, can be squeezed out of the E-5's RAWs. It's mind-blowingly great. Olympus, please do not drop the E-System, it is one of the highest quality digital camera systems on the market. I think it is two notches above the M4/3 system (which I also know from the Pen E-P2).
Apart from the very high image quality, I LOVE the excellent viewfinder. The camera simply fits perfectly to the eye (even with glasses on!), so that I can shoot with full concentration on the subject. Again, the E-5 is inspiring.
Ergonomics, grip, everything is excellent.
Olympus, you did an excellent job. Again: Please keep this system alive.

May 05, 2012

Anonymous

Very Expensive, great lenses, inuitive(for me) op

Feels great in the hands, great build quality. Seems to be much easier to use than my e-620 which was pretty easy :)
Olympus lenses bang for buck are amazing, the cameras much less so. A little bulky maybe but i wouldnt complain about that considering how it handles.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10