October 10, 2013

Robert

What a nice and powerful camera..

When I first received the camera I thought it wasn't going to be what I expected, but was I wrong......Takes beautiful pictures, sunsets,
close-up's, nature, insects and the zoom is powerful, all of the functions are at hand and simple to change, the digital zoom is great, pictures in dark or light no problem, she can handle them, and on top of all this is a beautiful looking camera, you can't go wrong. try it and you will be amazed.

October 05, 2013

Robert

Great Camera this SZ-30MR

Let me tell you how great this SZ-30MR is.When I first received this SZ-30MR I was kind of hesitant, it look like it was a flimsy camera, but boy was I wrong...This camera is light in weight (I own a NikonD5000)
in comparison, the pictures are great, the functions are at your finger tips and are simple, the HD1080 movies are awesome, the zoom and macro lens is great, the flash never comes up unless you want it to, this is how great the auto functional part of speed and ISO combination works. You can use it in manual mode and it works great, I have the camera in silver and it looks elegant. I bought it because I need a smaller camera than my Nikon, but short of a few functions it performs as good as the Nikon, I'm considering selling my Nikon and buying an interchangeable lens Olympus brand. All that been said, if you are considering buying this camera, don't hesitate you will not be disappointed. Thank you Olympus for a great product.

July 13, 2012

linnypooh

compact and sturdy

I was aprehensive when coming to first use this camera, but everything is made easy for you . It takes great pictures ,easy to handle, sturdy, well made and not too large.
Minus side you certainly need a tripod for long zoom pictures and it is also best to forget auto for these and work the camera to get best results, some of the magic features I find a waste of time, but overall the camera has exceeded my expectations, excellent.

June 29, 2012

nurseniki1

It's a good camera and easy to use

I like the picture quality most times. Although some of my pics have not been very sharp, so I am still trying to figure this out. I do like the Magic options, although the drawing option did not turn out as well as I had hoped. I guess I need a bit more time trying the camera out. Most disappointing feature was there is no setting on the camera to take black & white or sepia photos, which most cameras offer this as a standard now. If there is a setting and I am just missing it, please tell me where to find it.

June 07, 2012

Cjcjcj

Love it

Its fast to turn on and the zoom is awesome. I love the fact that I can shoot video and take pictures at the same time.

June 01, 2012

Anonymous

Camera

The camera is good quality. I have not had a chance to take much test photos with iut as yet. But I explore some of its feature and it is awsome. I will love to email you a photo once I take some nice ones.

April 30, 2012

JT123

Excellent camera with many features.

As a advanced amateur photographer I can honestly say this camera is one of the high end point and shoot cameras on the market today.

March 25, 2012

Pachanga71

olympus quality

Nice and amazing photos ,easy to use and good zoom.

March 20, 2012

IONE

Love, Love, Love this camera

This is about my 15th Olympus camera. I must say one of my favorites!

The zoom is terrific and yet the camera is small enough to fit in my purse.

So far I have found it takes great people shot and landscaspes.

We are getting ready to go on a trip and I know I will use this camera more than my Pen or E Volt because it is so compact yet has the 24 X Zoom.

March 05, 2012

Anonymous

Good product but not for night scenes very very good in daylight and for normal persons

February 20, 2012

Grandma Sue

Super easy to use

I hate buying a new device 9 (cell phone, tv, mp3,
camera, etc) because you need to learn how each one works.
This camera was so simple to use. It didn't take hours reading through a manual. I absolutely love it. I would highly recommend it for someone who wants big camera features in a small, lightweight camera

January 22, 2012

Chuck

I simply love this new camera. It is very user friendly and the picture quality is the best and so easy to download to my PC and iPad.

January 14, 2012

ilovestitch

everything you could want in a small camera

only had for two weeks now but it takes great pictures love the night vision on the camera love panoramic view photos zoom outstanding easy to use never even read how to use it. also the editing is also a great feature you dont even need a PC. The pet feature also cool!

January 06, 2012

Sue

I love the features on this camera!

I got this camera as a gift for Christmas. It is wonderful. I am especially enjoying the auto feature which captures the cats and dogs' faces. We have two cats and they are always entertaining us and we've gotten some great shots of them.

December 21, 2011

lawlessbreed

wishing for more

I looked for nearly six months to find a camera that I could take on vacation, that would fit in my pocket and that had a zoom that would replace my old film camera, in other words had a long zoom. This camera has it. It does not have a view finder, but that is a sacrifice I can live without. I am pleased to have all the options, such as your magic settings, though you could eliminate the whole bunch and I would never miss them. The panorama feature is wonderful, though I seldom use it. I have had problems downloading pictures and found the battery ridiculously short term. I have had problems with focusing action pictures. I talked to your customer service and found them very accommodating. I believe they will be able to solve my remaining problems. If not, I will be adding to this list. It is the right size, the right zoom and feels great in my hand. So far, that is wonderful.

November 12, 2011

HawaiiParkRanger

Perfect Camera for the Outdoors

Great, versatile camera that fits in your pocket. My job requires me to be outdoors a lot, and this camera allows me to take great photos of wildlife, scenery, etc w/o having to handle large, clunky gear. Love the many settings and options.

October 10, 2011

WhyDoITakeSoManyPictures?

Wonderful Little Camera

I had wanted a newer longer zoom camera and decided to try the Olympus SZ-30MR due to its variety of features and because of good reviews by other users. I haven't been disappointed. I've now take over 500 pictures and a few HD movies. I mostly use the P mode with -0.7 exposure (to get deeper color) and "sunny" white balance (also to get deeper color). Also use "spot" focus but leave everything else at the default settings. This produces pictures equal to or better than any of my previous cameras. I really like the light weight, the easy controls, the smooth and fast zoom, and the long battery life (248 pictures and several HD movies totaling over 4 minutes on a single charge. Having no GPS probably helps.) Overall, I highly recommend this camera for amateur photographers. Professionals may also like it as an easy to use second camera.

September 27, 2011

mikee

Its handy and good features

I found this olympus sz 30 mr good for the money, the camera per se is a classic designed and has a good features into it.

September 22, 2011

Anonymous

Compact, stylish, durable, with great features

This camera is compact yet has an incredible zoom lens. It is very stylish, quite durable and has a lot of good features.

September 09, 2011

needs help to understand and use the camera

Need Help!!!!

Having read the instructions I need help!!!!!
There are so many options that I find it difficult to understand the directions.

August 27, 2011

Bucener

Great upgrade from my Olympus Styles 1020

Great upgrade from my Olympus Styles 1020 that I loved. I have not had the camera long enough to experiment with all the functions. I do have a major complaint, the camera come with a new software Olympus Viewer2, the camera shoots movies in MP4 format but the software can not play the movie it takes you to Yahoo Music Box??? why?? I then have to convert the MP4 to AVI which the software likes. What am I doing wrong??? or how do I correct this software glitch problem??

August 16, 2011

putertutorlady

New user

I have had my new camera for a few weeks and so far, so good. Took a beautiful pic of my little dog & posted to facebook. Great response.
I ordered the manual from Olympus & had it in my hand in 3 days! Much easier to learn with manual & camera together. Haven't had much time to play with it, but will do soon. Looking forward to taking great pictures on our upcoming vacation!

August 14, 2011

Agus

Excellent digital camera

SZ-30MR Olympus is a high-tech product.
I am very satistified.

August 10, 2011

Susan_S

Enjoy Using it

I wanted a long zoom camera but had doubts that I could handhold it at the longest part of the zoom. It turned out that I can get a clear shot even at dusk. It's practically a zen thing where you have to hold yourself very still, hold your breath and push the shutter very gently.

I was concerned about how many pictures I could get on one battery charge. When I charged the battery the first time and ran it all the way down I only got about 150 pictures. However, after I used the battery for a few cycles, I now get 250 pictures.

Overall, the quality of the pictures is good and I am enjoying using it.

August 09, 2011

benzaholic

Concert photos

I recently had the chance to ust this camera for the first time. I did notice that when you are taking video and zooming in that the sound quality goes down . Most of the pictures came out good but sone where blurry but i think that is due to my in experience with the camera ans the wrong ISO setting I had it set at 1600 and thought it would be high wenough for taking fast motion and someone walking and moving around a stage.

August 09, 2011

Foreigner

Was not I expected

I bought this camera to take pictures while I shoot movies, but in full resolution I can only take 2 pictures, I use 16gb class 10 SD. So for me this "Multi Recorder" camera is useless. In few times using it I has 2 bugs and have to take off the battery to re-use the camera.

August 09, 2011

BigEd

Love this camera

the Multirecording function feature is not that easy to work. I can not get it to pan the right way I am either to fast or to slow.

August 09, 2011

Anonymous

Takes great pictures and is easy to use. The zoom feature is its best feature.

July 10, 2011

brkon

it is a very good pocker size camera

I own couple older S series Olympus cameras. I decided to update to a better one. I spent considerable time doing research online and in retail stores on difference brands of digital cameras based primary on size, wide angle zoom, features and specifications. As I compares the SZ 130MR with the other brands in the similar class, SZ 130RM was on the top of my list. I bought it because of its long range zoom and the size of the camera (pocket size). It is very convenient to carry it around especially when I am traveling. The camera is a big plus over the previous models. Excellent quality, very good features, easy to use. There are few areas need to improve or incorporate into your next pocket size camera, there are as follows: faster picture processing speed, auto flash on or off (without flip the switch), AC DC battery charger separate unit should be included. it is very inconvenient and can not use the camera when it is charging with the camera. I finally bought a separate AC DC charger with an extra battery online for ? of the price as compare to your charger offered in your accessory.
longer battery life, include a small Manuel, a feature that can take high speed actions pictures or movies at 40 fps and playback at the smooth slow motion. If you improve and incorporate the above items, you will beat all your competitors hand down. Your next update on this camera will have five STARS rating in preferments, quality and values and I will update again.

May 28, 2011

bbmertz

Great features in a compact camera

Overall great camera with unbelievable long range zoom and indoor image quality even in low light, in a form factor which was much smaller than I expected. Extra features are really nice including 3D photos (which looked good on my plasma 3D TV) and panorama photos, as well as continuous shooting mode which takes so many photos in rapid succession that they look like a video. One fun feature is pet detection mode which automatically snaps a picture whenever it senses a cat or dog face. (Didn't test multi-record mode yet.) Menus are fairly easy to navigate.

Although I am satisfied with the camera, there were a few areas which leave room for improvement. Shutter lag as well as processing time after each picture (particularly when zoomed in) was a bit longer than I expected, with the camera freezing for a second or two when "busy" preparing for the next shot, even when using a class 10 SDHC card. Photo quality was generally very good, but was a bit blurry when capturing moving objects or some extreme telephoto shots if not holding the camera very still. Video was good but the microphone picked up some wind sounds in a light breeze.

May 16, 2011

Dign4gold

Had High Expectations

I own a SP-600UZ and absolutely LOVE that camera. However, I wanted to upgrade, and choose the SZ-30MR. The pictures, for the most part, turned out pretty good. The face detection feature is great. However, I did notice that in group pictures, not everyone would be in focus. I also take a lot of pictures at sporting events and was unable to achieve nearly the quality that I do the 600UZ. I loved that you can shoot sequential shots at 16 megapixels, but many of my shots came out blurry, especially using the zoom. I achieved phenomenal low light pictures as well! I loved the size of this camera and loved the filters. Great camera for stills and landscapes, just not great for the pics that I take.

May 13, 2011

Waynecameraguy

Awesome

This is simply a pocket of photographic dynamite!
The wide angle zoom is such a wonder tool in this little gem, feature packed excellent small camera!
Awesome 1080 video, all in all a wonderful camera!