July 28, 2014

Richard

Great camera for the price and fantastic pictures

Found this camera by accident and bought it for my brother who is a real estate appraiser. It was refurbished and had a scratch one the screen and he didn't want it. The scratch came from the broken cd in the box so I inherited and happy I did because it's an amazing camera great stability even 36Xand fantastic pictures. Thanks Olympus.

November 16, 2013

Lawrence

Fantastic

Bought this Camera on line and thought I got it for a good deal , Which I did . I didn't want to give it a review till I used it a while. After skimming through the owners manual I was ready to go. The pictures are Fantastic . I've been told that some of them look magazine quality . From inside at wedding to scenes taken outside all come out great , I know I should read more of the Manual more because there are things I'm still learning on the camera , But I'm having fun with it and again no complaints ..So far

October 02, 2013

Samuel

Just got it, seems great so far!

Great zoom, just shot pictures from the upper deck of PNC park for the wild card playoff game! The pictures turned out great, just have to be very still with it zoomed way in!

July 19, 2013

DANIEL

good to a point

I've had the camera about (3) weeks,i've read the manual from start to finish & it is very hard to follow.it does not speak with common sense or easy to understand tearms,this is a menu camera,which means to use menu & forget the manual.so until I get use to menu its hit or miss.

March 11, 2013

Vasilios

auto seclection

i have a sp-810uz . It has great zoom and i like the camera. The only thing is, when i turn the camera on, i would like to have the auto option selected for the pictures instead of the manual witch it is setup to start on. That way you take pictures faster when you need to.

December 14, 2012

R

Needs Bulb setting

I love my olympus 565uz. Had it for 5 years now. I would love to buy an 810uz camera but unfortunately it doesn't have a bulb feature. Please consider for future camera releases. I do a lot of night photography and opening the shutter indefinitely is a critical feature. Be sure to include the remote shutter cable so the camera doesn't shake.

Thanks, olympus!

July 26, 2012

Mymaria57

I love the zoom on this product.

This camera takes wonderful picture and I love the zoom feature. It is so cool to be able to zoom in and pull the subject closer. And the panorama feature is amazing. I have had loads of fun with it. My only real issue with the camera is I can't seem to keep it stable at times and the pictures are fuzzy or out of focus because of the movement. Other than that I love the camera and am so thankful that I spent the extra to get it.

July 26, 2012

Denverdays

Love this camera

I did quite a lot of research and finally decided to purchase this camera and am glad I did. It has wonderful zoom capacity, takes beautiful pictures and I love the image stabilization. It is a bit slow to be ready for a subsequent shot, but, all other aspects are great.

July 24, 2012

Oma

Love it!

I love this camera. It takes great pictures. I'm still learning things about it. I need a tri pod beacuse when it is zoomed all the way, I can't hold it still enough. That will be a near future purchase.

July 24, 2012

stunningCK

Hard to figure out

We thought we'd just pick up this camera & point and shoot, like our last 2 digital cameras. One week later, we're still trying to find a setting that works. We purchased it to take indoor pictures w/o flash and they're either too dark or just blurry even using auto settings. Oh well. This camera may be good but not for our purposes.

July 19, 2012

ShotGirl9

I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!!

The amount of super features are remarkable and easy to use. Navigation between features is a quick study. Having such a great assortment of special effects in a compact camera is over the top! My hands feel like the the SP-810UZ was handmade for me.

July 07, 2012

mamarazzi

luv the special effects

am the mother of 3 girls so all the special effects are a blast to play with. i know once i figure out all the extras will b taking even MORE pics. it is a perfect size so it is ALAWYS in my purse !!!!!

July 01, 2012

Tina

Great Camera

I am a 79 year old male who has been taking picture sense I was 12 years of age. I have taken thousands of pictures with many cameras. My Olympus SP-810UZ is the best camera I have ever owned. There is not a camera I have used that has given me brighter pictures. I now wish I could have owned my Olympus when I was on my trips to Africa taking pictures of many many animals.

June 18, 2012

Oak Tree

Very Frustrated with my Purchase

While this could be a great camera, I am very frustrated due to software problems and a non-functional monitor, leaving the camera useless on the trip to Europe. Very dissatisfied. Have not had time to return the camera to the store where purchased for assistance.

June 14, 2012

ghm

Camera is a WIN -WIN

I have a sp-565uz and its performance was outstanding knowing its limitation and only taking shots that were within it capability
I do the same with my new sp-810uz. The camera gives great photos if you just know its limitation.
What really surprised me was that this camera at full zoom still produced great photos
I really love this camera and would recommend it to everyone.
The only thing I miss is shooting raw photos..
The night or low light is not as good as I would like,
The flash is also not as good as I would like.
So I do bring an addition small camera with me to fill in these areas.

June 10, 2012

chanson

I can't get it to work!

I'm sure it's a wonderful camera, but i can't get it to work. I have done everything in the manual but all I see when I hit the shutter is a message telling me to initialize the camera.

June 08, 2012

rjbiker73

still learning about the SO-810UZ

have not used the 3-D or Face/Pet detection, Like the movie recording, autofocus great of items on moving.

May 30, 2012

Zemuppetfan

Absolutely LOVE this camera

This is my first digital camera. I bought it because I needed a digital that had a macro feature. This camera has two macro features and many other really cool features. I love the dog/cat setting that will automatically take a photo of a dog/cat when they look at the camera. The video is great too. I also love all of the Scene settings. I had a difficult time trying to take a picture of my 3-day granddaughter in low light, so I switched to the candle light setting and the picture was fabulous.

May 30, 2012

jackmac

fatastic

this camera takes great pictures,the zoom is fantastic,and is easy to use.some of the functions i haven't used yet.i do have a problem geting the cable pluged into the camera to transfer pictures to my pc.

May 27, 2012

Termitus101

Olympus SP-810uz

The main reason for purchising the SP-810uz was the 36 power telefoto ability. But I have been a fan of the Olympus film camers for years and I still have four of them. My first one was an OM2n, purchased in 1972. I fell in love with it and enjoyed it tremendously! The SP-810 takes wonderful photos. Ihave not learned of all the features it contains, Ihave only had it for two weeks!

May 26, 2012

valleylass

Just Learning

I have just started using my camera and for the most part things are going well. My only complaint is that I was at an important function and after using my camera at only one other event the battery died before I could get the most important shots. I surely thought it would last longer than it did. Do I have to use the rechargeable battery? I would prefer to be able to use a purchased battery in a pinch. I am looking forward to becoming proficient at using it well in all kinds of situatiions.

May 20, 2012

Stevie

I could not have chosen better for the price

This thing is simple to use it has an outstanding zoom and impeccable picture quality. You are able to go from still distance photos to HD move mode with only one button. I love it! It’s light not bulky and so much like having a SLR it’s scary! It is truly a highbred one lens does it all.

May 20, 2012

Duncan

SP-810UZ

Have to say that I find this a lovely camera to work with.

I had wanted a “bridge” type and had looked at a lot of units before I made a purchase.

Still getting to grips with it and find that there is enough automatic control to ensure that my pictures turn out well and enough manual functions to let me feel in control.

Picture quality is excellent for most of the subjects that I want to work with. Ideal for garden photography and I have managed some very nice lunar shots too.

I would have liked the camera to have been capable of time-lapse continues delay shooting and for the format to be selectable between JPEG and RAW. But I had to make that trade off to get the other features that I wanted … If Olympus ever do a firmware upgrade, they may take that into account.

All in all .. a super camera and well worth the money

May 19, 2012

DoubleR

All around easy to use camera.

Without the telephoto lens on the camera (or without the use of binocculars) I would not have been visually able to identify the birds in the attached photos.

May 19, 2012

shutterbug

Simple to use

I am just getting the hang of my camera but it is much easier to use than I thought it would be. Great camera!

May 16, 2012

mamaange

this product is quite easy to use.

I wish it had intercangerbale lense so I could put as stronger zoom on it.

May 15, 2012

Poetry Lady

This camera is great.

I love this camera.All the features are so easy to get to on this product..I especially love how it records it's just so easy.

May 13, 2012

nurserachet

This camera is easy to use, but read your instructions. Itook s little time to get used to it. Love the xoom and it makes beautiful pictures.

May 10, 2012

sml9882

Amazing

Perfect camera for a beginning photographer! If you want to try your luck at photography and need a good camera that doesn't cost both your arms and legs, than this is the way to go! Beautiful picture without having to really try that hard.

May 04, 2012

catfish

My wife bought this camers for my birthday and she couldn't have bought a better gift. The pictures are beautiful and the ease of use is great. She and I are both Skywarn Weather Spotters and occasionaly we need to e-mail weather related pictures to the National Weather Service and the quality of these pictures is fantastic. Thanks for making such a great product.

May 03, 2012

Photog63

Terrific quality!

I received the camera a couple of days ago.I charged the battery and the next day I tried out some features.
The quick response upon firing it up made a good impression with me.
First:I maxxed-out the zoom and was amazed at how clear and crisp the very far-away objects looked.
I played with the magic art filters and they are way cool.
Second:I took a couple of macro shots,indoors with and w/o flash.Again,the crisp and clean pics knocked me out. I have not tried many of the features because it rained all day and night.
Tomorrow I will try the 3D,Pet/face detection,and panorama.I am positive they will be amazing!
I can't rate all of the features until I can test them out.

May 03, 2012

Pelado

Amazing product!!

Great quality, clearest images, excellent zoom!!

May 02, 2012

casualphotographer

Great Camera

When doing research on features and price this camera came out number one. Read the reviews and with the exception of a few stating blurred photo's and shaking most reviews were positive. Happy I listened to the positive ones because I love love this camera. The photo's are so clear and colorful and the ease of using this camera was great. I am very happy with my purchase and friends who have witnessed my photo's with this camera have done nothing less than given me compliments on the photo's I have taken. This product was worth the money and I am very happy.

April 30, 2012

curlyjrt

I love this Camera

This camera is awesome. Best camera i have ever owned. Takes great pics.I went to a few baseball games and a concert and can't believe how close i have gotten with some of my shots. Wouldn't trade it for the world.

April 29, 2012

PicGeek

Supper buy for the features and performance

I purchased this camera as a replacement for my Olympus D580. It gives me the convenience of the point and shoot and some enhancements that I get with a digital SLR. I am amazed at the quality of the photos with the maximum zoom from about 100 ft or more away. I like the fact taht you can manage the flash only when you need it.

April 29, 2012

PicWiz

The Best Camera

I love my camera, it is easy to use and takes fantastic pictures. I can not wait to use it more. I woould recommend it to everyone.

April 28, 2012

Wooly

Simple to use point and shot

Reading the manual a must. Easy to set to take photo's. Have not had it long enough to try all the features.

April 28, 2012

segneod

I got pushed into Quality

I have always used the $49.00 "easy camera", only to find out they weren't easy, or reliable. My Olympus is everything I need. I first thought this is going to be over my head, I'll never understand it. But stand back, because I love it, if I didn't know better, I'd swear there was a genie in there doing the button pushing.

April 27, 2012

sermommy

Great camera for the price!

I have only had this camera for 2 weeks, but I have had a fun time with it. It takes great pictures of my kids running around. I haven't had trouble with blurry pictures other than close ups, but that might be just my inexperience. I love it!

April 26, 2012

NEFARIOUS

AMAZING CAMERA THAT TAKES AMAZING PHOTOS

an A+ camera once you learn all the setting & a quick tip spend a few days in all types of light, dark,portrait landscape get yourself a small tablet & write down the setting you had it on when you took the picture that came out to the best of your liking it will save you time trying to remember what setting you had it on, I have read reviews on bad pictures in low light failing light like dusk or dawn & blurry pictures at full zoom once I learned the settings I have takin some absolutely amazing night pictures & long distance pictures , yes camera's like DSLR camera's are amazing but with the economy the way it is who can drop extreme amounts of money on professional camera's, so once you learn the features & get used to this camera & am sure like me you will grow to love this camera, I would recomend this camera to anyone & not just the budget minded consumer but to anyone looking for a great camera, you cannot go wrong with this Olympus..

April 23, 2012

olddog

When I have the zoom lever at max wide angle I get shadowing in the top right & bottom right corners of the pictures and view finder. The same happen on the left side depending on the way you hold the camera. You move the zoom lever in a little it goes away. Its like the lense is loose. Need help.

April 23, 2012

Flytyr

Great features,, great price !

Lightweight, and the zoom is sensational. Amazing how close you can bring in your target. And when you want to do some macro shots, it is wonderful. Has tons of features.

April 23, 2012

Anonymous

Great Product!!!!

Wow! what an excellent product for such an amazing value! Cannot say enough about this camera.

April 22, 2012

Love2click

Excellent Camera

I can't believe the pictures I've taken so far, almost like a real professional. I'm having so much fun with all the features that it will take me a while to go through and perfect how I used them. I've waited years for something special. So I treated myself with a great toy. I'm so enyoying this. I take it everywhere I go. Hooray for me....

April 20, 2012

Tinkerdar

Love the zoom feature!

Just returned from a trip to Disney World and was beyond pleased with the pictures! The zoom allowed me to capture memories beyond my expectations! Love this camera!!!!!

April 20, 2012

humbled

Great Quality

I feel this camera is a great value. The quality and ease of use are outstanding as well as the many built in features.

April 19, 2012

Big Dave

WOW!!!

Great pricing, superb quality pictures, very versatile piece of equipment, lots of bang for your buck!!!!!!!!

April 19, 2012

Abbie'sDad

Above expectations

I was a little worried after reading the reviews of some other buyers, I needn't have been. This is a great little camera. The 36X telephoto is great and when you add the digital telephoto its unbelievable. By taking reasonable precautions and reading the directions online and following them I have taken some beautiful sharp pictures that I couldn't improve on with a camera that cost me five times as much. If you do the same I believe you will have the same results. Go ahead buy the camera its a lot of fun.

April 19, 2012

Serge

Some pluse, Some minus

Zoom and pixels were great!
However, no eye-view. I am not comfortable using the scene view. Some delay from the time you click to the time the shutter snaps. I had difficulty focusing distant images with the zoom. Just not my cup of tea.

April 19, 2012

picture perfect

would recommend to all.

this is my 2Nd Olympus camera, love not having to replace the battery. Color and extra features on this camera is well worth the price and After my first Olympus a friend of mine bought an upgrade of what I had and he to loves everything about it.

April 19, 2012

Anonymous

Nice camara, excellant zoom feature.

Still getting used to using the camara but so far so good. I do hit the on-off button sometimes just handling the camara which will turn it off , hands might be to big.

April 18, 2012

alaska boy

The features so easy to use

name brand , the feactures , the quality , the price , and the photos all outstanding,thumbs up

April 18, 2012

jonjon

This camera is a excelent bargain,many great featu

I would recomend this camera.For the price it is a excelent bargain.Has many great features like the 36x zoom.Using the right menus it takes excelent pictures.The 2 macro functions are acceptable but not excelent.For the price and features this is a groundbreaking camera.The zoom is very good.I do recomed this camera !

April 18, 2012

Cyber Jet

This product has great features

The price for the Olympus SP-810UZ was very reasonable. Shipping was very fast. Get ready to get up close and personal. Ready to see your favorite subjects in a whole new way? Reach for the SP-810UZ digital camera. Its incredible 36X optical zoom lets you get closer, more detailed shots than ever before. All in bright, beautiful 14 megapixel detail for photos so realistic that they seem to jump off the screen.
Make the most out of every shot. From a Beauty mode that removes unwanted wrinkles and blemishes, to a Pet mode that automatically tracks even the peskiest of critters, the SP-810UZ gives every subject the attention they deserve. It even captures wide-reaching panoramas with in-camera stitching, and full 720p HD video for memories in motion.
Picture-perfect gift. The SP-810UZ puts the control, precision, and pure photo power of a DSLR camera in your hands--or the hands of your favorite shutterbug. You'll be giving the ultimate lightweight, user-friendly, point-and-shoot experience. This camera will give any professional camera a run for their money.

April 18, 2012

Roof

I like the ability to get great picture with just point and shoot and I like the 36X zoom.

April 18, 2012

nanatoomany

I LOVE this camera

I wanted to upgrade my camera from 8mp to something sharper and did a lot of research before buying this one. I love the zoom. I can take great pictures from up to a quarter of a mile away from my subject. It is very easy to use. The pictures are clear and beautiful. It is so easy using the panorama feature on auto.

April 18, 2012

Aceman1150

Issues

I like this camera. But I want to attach it to a telescope and take night pictures of objects in space. Can not attach it however, because it does not have threads to attach a T-ring adaptor to it. THAT is a real bummer. So I give it an average rating. Smaller, cheaper point and shot cameras have T-ring adapter capability.

April 18, 2012

Ole lady

Much quicker than my previous camera.

I've only just started figuring out whats what on my camera. I love taking scenery and nature shots, and of course family shots. So far it is great and pretty easy to work with.

April 18, 2012

Missie

Love it!!!!

Great camera just wish for a larger screen. Sometimes it is hard to switch the focus

April 18, 2012

pappy0352

Not enough manual settings

Overall this is a very good camera for the money. The downfall is manual settings. If it were to have an AV setting it would be a great camera for the money.

April 18, 2012

Roxy53

This product does have great features!

I just love this camera and have done a lot different things with it and all its great features.

April 18, 2012

Fong

Excellent Camera

I really like this camera, and is easy to use. The only feature I don't like is that I need to disable the sound If I want to record a movie using the zoom.
But for me I really like this camera.

April 18, 2012

Olympus Appreciation

Great Camera and an awesome value.

I purchased this camera after having used a larger Olympus model for many years for our companys' virtual tours. I have developed such an appreciation for the quality of pictures and for the beauty and color depth that only Olympus can deliver for the price. Our clients always say that we work magic with our camera. Much to my chagrin, I have to admit to them that the Olympus camera is a major contributing factor. When I decided to purchase a camera for family photos, I chose the camera that I knew could capture that "One moment in a lifetime". Last night my grand daughter was performing with her class and I was able to zoom from quite a distance to capture sharp clear images. Needless to say, I am immensely pleased with the zoom capacity of the camera. A word to the wise-study the camera and become familiar with all the features, and you will also develop an appreciation for this camera.

April 18, 2012

lucymama

Best Camera I've ever bought

Best point and shoot camera that I've purchased. Awesome quality!!!

March 24, 2012

siamese cat

great camera

this camera is fun and easy to use. pictures come out clear and bright. zoom is cool. if you want to you can take advantage of a ton of advanced features. my only regret is i did'nt buy it sooner.

March 10, 2012

jonjon

Product many great featues,good price!

This camera is a very good bargain.Many outstanding features and zoom is great.Macro functions are ok but i wish i had a little better instructions on really close ups.Overalll its a outstanding bargain!

February 21, 2012

Overrated amera

I did not get the product that I expected

The camera was not easy to use as a novice. I had difficulty focusing and the battery did not stay charged for long. The auto-focus was disappointing.

February 07, 2012

Photos4Fun

Great Buy!

I was a little uneasy about my purchase because I already have a good digital camera. But so glad I did now because it has so many more capabilities.

February 06, 2012

desertroadie

*picture error*

Although this camera has the potential to be great, my unit continues to give me "picture error" message when trying to view my photos. The user guide informs me that this is caused by a corrupt file on my storage disc. However, when I pull the disc out and view it on my computer, the disc is fine. Also, I can view my photos for a period of time before I start getting the error message. It will start with one photo, then start growing until I get the error message for most all of them. When I reformat the disc or start fresh with a new disc, I start getting the error message all over again.

February 06, 2012

Medallas

Awesome!

It is a great camera ith a great zoom and features. I have had a lot of fun with it and do not regret buying it. It's zoom is the most amazing thing of it really worth it

February 05, 2012

caliartist

Great Features

This camera was a gift. I was holding out for a DSLR purchase and had been looking at another brand point and shoot for the panorama capabilities until I could afford the DSLR. I'm very impressed with this camera for the features and host of "automatic" and "preset" modes. I'm an interior designer and amateur photographer...and this camera will provide the features I need for a long time. The flexibility of settings, both manual and preset, seems to be as extensive as a DSLR and the zoom provides most options for shooting distances and wide angle. The automatic panoramic stitching mode works well for interior shots but distorts at distance with more than two side-by-side shots. However, some interesting effects can be achieved with "offset" images. Overall...a great camera and more compact than a DSLR!

February 05, 2012

deekin

the zoom feature is it's best asset

I find it really good for daylight work, the zoom feature especially, not quite so good in conditions where you want do take snapshots indoors of people that are moblie, Ie not posing.

February 05, 2012

legotrains

little confusing to use at times, not had it very long. need to use more

February 05, 2012

jeterfan

good value but would like manual

i get alot of out of focus pictures for me i would like a written manual with step by step instructions and hints to refer to.

February 04, 2012

photonut

nice camera but...

some how feel disappointed in this camera. perhaps my expectations were too high. i like it but i just feel disappointed....

February 04, 2012

KingArthur

More quality and features for the purchase price

First, I am a returning buyer, user. I have several of your products and know Im' always getting the best quality, backed by service when I see the Olympus name. The camer is water proof, compact and does more things than I expected, I'll call the camera Langanape,, an expression meaning an unexpected gift or pleasure.

Thank you for the opportunity to toot my horn about the latest purchase of the excellent camera.

February 04, 2012

disappointed

Disappointed

I was very disappointed that there was not an instructional manual included with my camera purchase. Instead, I had to copy 77 pages from
the downloaded instruction on-line. As a result,
I have not had any time to use my camera since I was busy trying to figure our the whole
downloading and copying process. What is the
point of not including a preprinted manual with
the purchase of the camera?

February 04, 2012

Anonymous

Glare on screen

there is no small viewfinder to look into, only the screeen and in sulight the glare on the screen makes it difficult to see the scene you are photographing. The finished photos are great. It is lightweight and fairly easy to use othe than the glare is sun

February 04, 2012

karbob74

Excellent value

I have had this camera for 1 month now and an very impresssed with it for ease of use and quality of photos and videos

February 04, 2012

Beach Gal

Nice weight

I wanted a camera that had all the features of this camera but that seemed to make a camera heavy. I have a neck problem and need a camera that isn't to heavy.
This Olympus was my answer! It takes great pictures has the features and zoom that I wanted but is of lighter weight.
So for me it is perfecxt! Thank you Olympus.

February 03, 2012

MADASHECK66

NO HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT

THIS CAMERA AFTER ONE MONTH IT BROKE, INFERIOR PRODUCT

February 03, 2012

photoblur

the lenses on this camera are great

I actually caught the moon out in the daylight with a blue sky and it came out great you can even see the craters and shadows on it. I still have a lot of practicing to do but so far I love it.

January 10, 2012

jonjon

So many excelent features!

This camera has so many awsome features!The long range zoom is very neat,dont have to carry around extra lens!3d is a very cool feature also! Highly recomend this camera!

December 29, 2011

Coat

Camera does what I wanted in a camera

I wanted a camera with a better optical zoom then most digital cameras come with in this price range. This one has the features without going to one that has a large size lens and large price tag

December 25, 2011

mastershand photography

great intermediate camera

I am just beginning to learn about manual photography. The settings on this camera give me so many more options. While the camera has good auto features that make it easy for anyone to use, it also has features that challenge you to take even better, more dramatic shots than before. If you are having trouble with focus, read the manual:)

December 05, 2011

BLC

Best Camera Ever

I know that review name sounds like hyperbole but it's not.
I used my camera for one week so far. I have been on a scenic motorcycle ride, a Christmas dinner, and played with the features including taking pictures of my cats and dog.
After playing with the features, I have not taken a bad picture.
I LOVE this camera.
It is easy to use and iit is by far my favorite that I have ever owned.
I would recommend it to everybody.

November 20, 2011

firsttobuy

SP810uz olympus

This camera is a great on for its price, all of my still shots and 3d shots are great. it is easy to use and fast. the clearity of the pictures are great. the zoom is great and all pictures come out clean crisp. I would recommed this to anyone who wants a very easy and great camera to use.

November 20, 2011

Disappointed

This camera wa a disappointment

This camera was very slow on auto-focus and caused a lot of blurry pictures when using the zoom. I was quite disappointed with the photos and returned the camera after 2 weeks. I would not recommend this camera.

November 18, 2011

Augustin Man

A somehow surprinsing upgrade

As the SP-810 has been presented as an upgrade of SP-800, I'll also make my considerations by comparing the two cameras.

It's rather unusual, but for those who don't want to read it all, here is the conclusion: SP-810 is even more a P&S than SP-800, but the IQ is better and the IS much better. It's a camera for a hobbyist traveller, not for a photographer traveller.

The aspect of 810 is more impressive, but the shooting position is with the lens more extended, like the 800 on super macro setting. It seemed the Olympus people also saw this, so if you switch to display mode, the lens retracts after 15s. Of course when you switch back, there is a notable extra time to revert to the shooting position. They also changed the functioning of the display button: you can start displaying and switch to shooting mode, but you have to put off the camera using the general on/off button, something better I think.

From the tests I've made, mainly landscape and zoom by day in P mode, by night SCN-Night Scene, the 810 was all the time better than 800.

Other observations: I've imagined that the 810 was more than 800 in choices; well, I was wrong, because the 810 is much LESS: for instance, the SCN-Night Scene has the timer only, compared to the added EV and WB of 800. There is no bracketing, no colour editting and the setting menu was significantly reduced. There isn't the AREA choice of AF, something rather disturbing, as you have to choice SPOT or try refocusing again and again; a tip is to zoom in to the wanted area and than zoom out again; the mark will remain there. Also shooting movies with sound prevents using the zoom, something clearly explained in the 800 Instruction Manual, but not in the 810 one; in exchange the so called "Fine Zoom" of 800 is no more called like this, but explained as a trimmed raw image and, more important, shown at the zoom scale also. The All Erase option was migrated to the display menu, probably better, I don't know...

That's all for the moment.

My advice: if you are a hobbyist in love with big zooms like me, go and get an 810, because it's better and cheaper than 800; otherwise think again...

November 06, 2011

Melly

I just purchased this camera for myself as an early Xmas gift for myself and I LOVE IT!!!! Everytime I use it I learn something new about it.