December 03, 2014

Daniel

NOT UP TO PAR

For this price, get a prime. Period. This lens gets no use on my camera, it feels silly using this when the Zuiko primes are so good. This lens also feels cheap and plasticky, not worth the full $600, I'd be comfortable paying half that for this lens.

The only acceptable quality for this is at the low end of the zoom. At the 150mm range quality is really poor and shadowed. I really believe that the E-M1 deserves a lens that wows. Spend your money elsewhere.

July 24, 2014

James

Great All-Around Lens

I bought this lens (refurbished from Olympus) to go with my OM-D E-M10 body (also refurbished). It looks and works just like new; worth the savings. I will keep this short by saying that I agree with some of the other reviews in that there are some limitations to this lens (but really I think that's true of just about any lens with this range). There is very noticeable barrel distortion at the very wide end, but lets face it, that can easily be corrected with most any software. I'm very happy with the overall sharpness; I got a shot of a bee on a flower (fully zoomed to 150mm and hand held) and it is actually very sharp. I had the 14-42 & 40-150 with my old E-620 and it seemed that as soon as I switched lenses, I would need (or want) the one that I just took off. Now I always have the range that I want in small package.

January 02, 2014

Joseph

A novice photograher like myself....

enjoys this photo lens. I bought the E-PL1 a few years back which came with a 14-42 mm lens. I felt that I needed something extra for distance and just general photo shooting. This lens does just this for me. I have been able to use my camera's editing tools to zoom in on a crop dusting plane in the air around my town and a hot air balloon show in Ohio. I would love to attach the Darth Vader helmet balloon. I have noticed that when I do get to the end around the 150 mm, it does get blurry and doesn't focus as well. That being said is the only problem I have with the lens itself. I would say this is a good everyday lens for general shooting.

October 31, 2013

David

I thought it was good until I tried a couple of primes

And then I sold it.
It does not measure up to the primes. Of course that is reasonable.
On this small sensor you need absolutely the best optics in front. The small sensor and this super zoom are just too much and the image quality takes a beating.
For now at least to get image quality that is comparable to the prosumer DSLRs you need to go to primes. The PRO zooms may change that but for now this lens is just too soft.

April 04, 2013

Linda

Handy but compromised.

The long range is handy because it avoids frequent lens changing; however it is a huge compromise.

The lens tries to cover to long a focal range and that builds in compromise. At 300mm this lens is NOT that sharp. I used it last week to shoot hummingbirds and the lens was not a sharp as my friend's who was just two feet away.

Chromatic Aberration can be a problem. If bright light is coming through trees, I see a thousand little flares of blue yellow light. A simple algorithm would correct that if Olympus built it into the camera, but Olympus does not. Panasonic does on their micro 4/3rds, so I wish Olympus would too.

I'd rather have a prime 300 mm (600mm in full frame terms.) for wildlife shooting. I don't think Olympus makes that for the OMD-EM5 but I will have to research that.

February 28, 2013

Daniel

The outdoor traveller lens

The M.14-150mm is the M4/3 equivalent of the 28-300mm in 35mm format lens. It is the kind of flexibility you are looking for a one zoom package when you are travelling especially in outdoor country.

The M.14-150mm is a compromised design using low maximum aperture. My best results have been obtained at its widest setting (re : 14mm) in daylight. I have never experimented vignetting results even when using the lens hood. It may be have been auto-corrected by the camera post-treatment software as many modern cameras do now.

The handling is good since the lens is light and have a moderate size. The so-call « plastic » (polymer) construction is well made considering the price-point of the lens.

Color rendition when using it with the EP-3 was respectful of the real scenery.

Since the low maximum aperture of the M.14-150mm, I agree with other reviewers to use the electronic viewfinder (VF-2/3) with the PEN series to get a better stabilized combination.

I recommend the M.14-150mm for a one-zoom option in particular for outdoor traveler in open space.

February 24, 2013

Daniel

A good outdoor traveller one-zoom lens option

The M.14-150mm is the M4/3 equivalent of the 28-300mm in 35mm format lens. It is the kind of flexibility you are looking for a one zoom package when you are travelling especially in outdoor country.
The M.14-150mm is a compremised design using low maximum aperture. My best results have been obtained at its widest setting (re : 14mm) in daylight. I have never experimented vignetting results even when using the lens hood. It may be have been autocorrected by the camera post-treatment software as many modern cameras do now.
The handling is good since the lens is light and have a moderate size. The so-call « plastic » (polymer) construction is well made considering the price-point of the lens.
Color rendition when using it with the EP-3 was respectful of the real scenery.
Since the low maximum aperture of the M.14-150mm, I agree with other reviewers to use the electronic viewfinder (VF-2/3) with the Pen series to get a better stabilizeted combination.
I recommend the M.14-150mm for a one-zoom option in particular for outdoor traveller in open space.

December 07, 2012

Page

My Favorite Lens

I like the range and use it for most of my photographs. The only two lenses I carry most of the time are this and a 75-300 although I do occasionally use a 500mm lens for extreme distance.It is just too convenient to do without.

November 24, 2012

Doug

the Go-To travel lens

This adds a bit of bulk to the Pen, especially the smaller ones, but the range and functionality are great. Combine this with one of the f2.8 or faster primes and you have a solid day / night combo that won't weigh you down and will preform very well. I have 12,000 photos to prove it.

November 21, 2012

Don

Nice

I gave the lens a real workout in a dusty, smoking outdoor environment - a Civil War re-enactment. Photo subjects were from 30 to 500 feet away. Olympus Pen E-P3 body and VF-2 View Finder. No hood used but did attach a Quantaray DMC-1A filter. Shot 300 + photos in one afternoon's time. No vignetting noted. I did not shoot directly into the sun, but did shoot at such an angle where I fully expected flare. No flare noted. Depth of field was exceptional.

Sorting through the photos, I found no throw a ways due to poor focus, movement blurs, or flare. I did have some throwaways due to composition and a few because of exceptionally high contrast between subject and background.

I contrast this lens review with similar Canon, Vivitar, and Nikon lenses, I've owned. Some in the 35mm film format; others in 35mm digital lenses.



It works for me.

February 28, 2012

Felix

14-150 lens on the PL-2

On the PL-2, the pop up flash leaves a large shadow when at the wide end, therefore not an all around lens ....

February 05, 2012

Reza

Excellent and versatile, but takes some practice

This is an excellent all around lens and you can get spectacular results, but it takes some practice to learn the quirks and get around them.

When you use this lens, your camera *has* to be in A (Aperture Priority) mode for the best results. From 14mm to around 35mm, you should stop it down one stop to get sharp results (F/5.6). From around 35mm to around 80mm, you can soot wide open, but then from 80mm to around 130m you have to stop down to f/8. At the longest end, you will get the best results at f/9 to f/10.

Of course if there's not enough light you can shoot at larger apertures, but the results won't be really sharp.

Know these limits and try to adapt yourself to them, and this lens performs excellently. If you ignore these and shoot in iAuto or P mode, then you might get disappointed with the sharpness and CA (Chromatic Aberrations).

Also this lens is very susceptible to flare, but then again many other lenses are like that too. For the best results you absolutely have to use a lens hood. The Olympus LH-61C lens hood that is made for the classic 4/3rds 14-42mm lens fits on the Olympus 14-150mm micro 4/3rds lens, as well as other third party lenses (Like LH-J61C from JJC), and they do the job.

I travelled to europe last year with only this lens (and a prime for night shots), and knowing its limits it performed very well.

July 24, 2011

Capt. Matt

Great Travel all in one lens!

I have had this lens for a few months, and find I like it more the longer I use it. Without the VF 2 I was getting some fuzzy shots at the long end, due to holding it at arms length with such magnification (equal to a 300mm on 35mm). When I use it with the VF 2 my images are sharp throughout the range. Yes, I see a little darkness in the corners sometimes, but has not been a significant problem or concern. I really like the weight, size, overall image quality and the great colors I get from this lens. It focuses substantially faster than the kit lenses, making getting pictures of the kids much more hit than miss. On that note, even the slowest AF out there is generally much faster than manual focus, something we tend to forget.

July 22, 2011

Anonymous

This lens is not the sharpest, particularly at the long end. However, it's biggest flaw is that the projected image circle doesn't cover the entire sensor at 14mm, leaving your raw files with black corners. When the image is corrected for barrel distortion, the corners are pushed out and the occlusion is no longer visible. If you don't want to correct the distortion then you will have to crop the image to remove the defect.

On the plus side the lens is very small and light, so it can go along when larger alternatives are not practical.

July 11, 2011

Anonymous

Great all-in-one travel lens that makes the PEN a little larger, but a far better travel companion than a full DSLR.

June 29, 2011

CaptMatt

Great all around lens

This is an ideal lens to use with the Pen cameras, in addition to the 17mm 2.8 of course. With these two lenses you are set for just about any travel adventure. The lens has a metal lens mount, and considerably faster focusing than the 40-150mm. It is well made of high quality plastic, which allows for a small size and light weight, the whole point of the Pen system. I found this lens ideal for photos of the kids, as well as travel and landscapes. It is fairly sharp wide open, very sharp one to two stops down, paricularly sharp in the low end of the range 14-50mm, and very respectable in the rest. It is also very quiet while in video mode, not distracting like some other brands. I would recommend using the VF-2 for this lens though, especially at the long end. Even with stabilization you won't get the sharpness you expect holding the camera at arms length to see the back screen. You will have many more keepers holding the camera up to your eye to keep it steady. While it costs a little more than the 14-42 and 40-150mm combined, it is worth it in my opinion due to convenience, construction, optical quality and focus speed.