September 05, 2014

Sa Ang

Great lens to have for wedding.

With the aperture wide open, it is excellent for wedding photography.

December 12, 2013

Jerry

VERY GOOD LENS

I purchased this lens about 5 months ago, and have used it on my E-500, OMD E-M5, and the E-5. This is really a fantastic lens; colors really Pop off the screen (or print), Contrast is corner to corner, and I see no distortion. And the bokeh is impressive.

The price is reasonable, and the quality is there; get this lens. You will love it.

November 27, 2013

Jerry

EXCELLENT MACRO LENS, GREAT BOKEH

I purchased this lens about 5 months ago, and have used it on my E-500, OMD E-M5, and the E-5. This is really a fantastic lens; colors really Pop off the screen (or print), Contrast is corner to corner, and I see no distortion.

And the bokeh… I submitted a couple of shots in the November 2013 Gallery, and the bokeh in them was (for me) captivating; and their bokehs were shot at f/4.0 and f/5.6. I didn’t have to use f/2.8 or f/2.0 to get good results.

I shoot a lot of images with Manual Focus, and this lens is certainly the easiest lens I have for focusing manually. But on the AF-S/MF setting, focus is quick and usually precise. When focusing very close, on a macro subject, distances change quickly, which causes the 50mm to miss locking in at a focus. I also set my system to Spot metering, which helps reduce this problem; stay away from ESP and Center Weighted metering when shooting macro, since you will never know what the computer will select as a focus point… which probably gives others problems when shooting macro. (or use MF)

The price is reasonable, and the quality is there. Open your vision to include macro and portraiture, and get this lens. You will love it.

April 26, 2013

Jeff

Superb lens -- macro, portrait, or general purpose

In combination with my E-620, this "portrait" length DSLR lens delivers the highest resolution and best ergonomics I have ever experienced. In fact, if you can forego zoom capability, it will probably become your default lens. More information is available at dpreview.com.

July 21, 2012

Ckraft

My GO-TO Lense

I have used this lense for almost 2 years. I love the fact I can take pictures in low light without a flash. I have other lenses but it seems this is the one I tend to use the most. It does take some getting used to if you are used to a zoom lense but it is worth it.

March 05, 2012

BobTech

Excellent macro/portrait lens

I love photographing flowers, small creatures and technical things in detail. I read many rave reviews about this lens and I haven't been disappointed by its optical performance. The pictures from it are very sharp and clean.

However on my E-520, the autofocus often 'hunts' back and forth through the correct focus point. If I manually focus close to that point then switch it back to autofocus, it usually locks OK. Also it focuses fairly slowly and noisily. I still think it's a great lens and I recommend it.

March 01, 2012

Melcuellar

What a beautiful lens!

I've bought this lens for it's typical properties which are mainly for macro and portrait photography. Up to now, I am impressed EVERY time of the results! The depth, perspective and quality are somewhat not comparable to a standard lens. Of course, since that it is a 50mm, you have to be ready to "walk around" your subject instead of using a tripod, but the image stabilisator of Olympus camera combined with this lens will create a clear, sharped edge and wonderful picture without an difficulties!
I will recommend this one in a heartbeat!

September 07, 2011

Ashley

This lens just makes everything better

I had been using my Olympus E-500 body for about 3-4 years with the provided kit lenses. While I love those lenses and what they have given me in the past, I desperately wanted something that would give me that gorgeous bokeh that comes with a smaller depth of field. I also wanted something that I could use indoors more successfully without a flash (although my Olympus Fl 36-R flash, bought at the same time, helped out majorly as a bounce flash) My expectations were exceeded in every way possible, and this lens is a dream to use! So much so, that it has hardly left my camera body since. It does have a harder time focusing in the dark or on darker objects sometimes, but that can all be excused for the gorgeous pictures it has given me. The bokeh is stunning, and the sharp images it takes blows the kit lenses out of the water, imo. I don't know how I have lived without this lens, seriously. It takes a little getting used to because it seems so close to the subject when you look through the viewfinder and the fact that it doesn't zoom, but I wouldn't give it up for anything :) The first full model photo shoot I used it for, I was blown away. My model, who was also a photographer, kept wanting to look at the images I was taking, because she was so jealous how incredible the images were turning out. It has been invaluable for every photoshoot I've done, and it is truly my most treasured piece of photo equipment. I cannot believe this lens isn't priced twice as expensively as it is.

July 19, 2011

Bill

Great Macro Lens

I use this mostly as a macro lens in conjunction with the ring flash. It does a stellar job with that, especially with flowers. I have also been happy with it as a portrait lens for indoor use; for outdoor portraits I prefer my 35-100 Zuiko zoom lens. Can take a little time for focusing but that is expected for a multipurpose lens like this.

I generally use it with the ring flash (adapter needed)

July 13, 2011

annemarie

remarkable quality

my lens fell into a Japanese lake for 10 minutes. Feeling stupid and sick I read on line to keep it
submerged in rice for a week Still being stupid I put it in the rice without the caps. Rice then entered the little opening at the entry point. Every day I would check to see if the water drops were evaporating and then shake the heck out of the lens to get rid of the rice inside. Finally after a week I shook out the last bit of rice, mounted the lens to my 620 and to my surprise it works now. Amazing

June 28, 2011

Lacunapratum

Superb macro and portrait lens

Crystal clear images and gorgeous tonality from macro to infinity. Great bokeh. Two minor limitations: focusing speed at macro range and overall limitation to 1:2 or life size with adapter. I miss OM series committment to macro photography. Those times are gone. For today's E-series philosophy, the 50mm/2 macro is simply one of the best lenses.

June 22, 2011

TatianaRene

Best lens ever

Very crisp and clean, this lens is perfect for portraits and theatrical shots, as well as MACRO shots that take your breath away. I absolutely LOVE this lens!!

April 27, 2011

newbee

I'm in love

The customer service line is awesome. They can answer all my questions. I trust their recommendations. The fact that I can later invest in another Olympus body but still use the lenses I have is great.

I bought this lens in preparation for a friend’s daughter’s wedding. It did great. I use it for everything!!! The macro is awesome. My next investment will be the 12-60mm f2.8-4.0.

March 20, 2011

os13

Best Zuiko lens

For the price, you cannot get anything better than this... it can work as a macro, portraits or general purposes lens.

Small and very light.
Portraits are awesome!!!
Macro are unbelievable sharp!!!

This lens should be in any 4/3 photographer's bag.