View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. 8

December 29, 2013

Thomas

features are amazing

I upgraded from the Olympus E-3. The only negative thing I had about the EM-1 is the size. there is a large difference going from the Pro version of the E-3 to the EM-1. Using the Verticle Grip helps to balance the difference in the feel.
So far, I have used the camera around the house and have been impressed with the sharp image display. I have been a working pro for over 30 years and have always used Olympus for my personal camera.
The features brought in with the EM-1 I hope will bring back many of those that were hesitant in making the change waiting for the next camera in the E series line.
I was skeptical until I put it in my hands, the options took over and I could see the improvements over my former favorite camera. One of the features that helped sway my choice was the option of being able to use the full line of E series lenses I already have.
The MMF-3 adapter makes it a breeze to both maintain the splash proof seals and the investment I have in my glass. My general all around lens (the 12mm to 60mm ) feels good on the camera.

December 29, 2013

PhotoGuy

Pro Level Camera In a Small Package!

I am very impressed with this camera. With the addition of the PRO 12-40mm lens I have a setup that is second to none! I know the common argument is the price, but with the latest upgrades to the e-m1 this camera is priced in a range that compares to other cameras at the same price. Olympus is really on to something here! The new sensor is nearly perfect at high ISO's and the detail is a bit better than the e-m5! Good buy!

December 27, 2013

Gary

Gorgeous camera

I don’t need to mention about this camera too much. There are lots of positive reviews from experts on line. Having been used E-PL 5 with Pan 20 mm, Oly 45 mm for last one year, I had been convinced I have to buy this one and ordered it with 12-40 mm, 75 mm. Now only one week’s try with 75 mm (still waiting for 12-40 mm) is not enough time to judge, but I am totally exhilarated with both of them. Only minor problem with me is my Light Room 4 can’t support E-M 1 Raw file, so I am going to upgrade to LR 5..3(Using Adobe DNG converter 8.3, I noticed more noise in LR 4 than Oly viewer 3)

December 24, 2013

Agedrunner

Great camera

Great full featured camera with a wide selection of lenses. It has all of the features of my Nikon D7000 and several more that I find useful such as HDR in camera: a wide range of bracketing with 3, 5, and 7 shots instead of just 3 shots: remote control from a smartphone; and color creator for a few examples, The image quality is as good as well as the quality at high iso settings. It is very easy to quickly change settings. viewfinder is sharp and Peak Focusing helps when using manual focusing. The number of shots per second is higher with the M1 along with a much higher buffer capacity. The size and weight of the camera make it very easy to carry and shoot. I find myself taking the M1 with me almost all of the time now and taking a lot more pictures.

December 24, 2013

Paul

Excellence

I hardily concur with the reviews praising this beautiful, powerful, and efficient (size wise) camera. There is little left to say that hasn't already been said, so I will dig down deep and find some faults and offer a few suggestions to Olympus...
1) The lens cap ought to come with a tether. I ordered one from eBay for $3 - problem solved.
2) The little plastic cover for the hot shoe is just begging to be accidentally knocked off and lost. Mine disappeared after one day, despite my being aware that the slightest brushing against my clothing could remove it. Now the hot shoe contacts are exposed. Should I be concerned?

Wish list: 60 fps video

So that is it. It has been a long time since I was as impressed with a product as I am with this camera. Oh, the 12-40 PRO lens is very sharp and has beautiful creamy bokeh.

December 21, 2013

Lawrence

Great Camera

I have been buying the top of the line Olympus camera starting with the E10 through the E5, and I have always been pleased with the Olympus design.

I love the features of the E-M1, but am disappointed that I can't tether this camera to my Windows computer. I shoot in my studio and have been tethering my cameras for many years. For me, this is a very important feature that is missing from this camera.

December 18, 2013

Tom

Awesome camera

This is my first digital camera after working with film. It is beyond belief a fantastic camera. Wonderful to handle, built like a tank and extremely flexible. Expect a bit of a learning curve, even if you are fully experienced in photography. After a few weeks it all becomes second nature. To my eye, the image quality is better than 35mm film IMO. For what I do, I do not see any benefits in going full frame as the quality is fine by me.

December 17, 2013

Raymond

Great Camera!!

I have been using SLR and DSLR for quit some time but still a novice. I value equipment for performance and auesthetics (personal taste). I am not particularly wedded to any brand. I use to own the OM1 back in the 70s? followed with a Canon EOS 650 (film). I currently have Canon T1i, Nikon 1 J1, Canon 6D, EOS M and various compacts that have since died. I have to admit I love the features of my 6D specially the low light capabilities. I have several lenses for the 6D already but not too heavily invested. I am starting to get more involved with photography as a hobby. I've been surfing the internet and happened to read several reviews of the E5 then saw reveiws of the improved E1. I finally decided to take the plunge and try it out. One of the main reasons for taking the step towards the E1 was the size and weight of the 6D. Lugging the 6D with 24-105mm or 70-300mm was a real chore. I've had the E1 for several weeks and had to re-adjust to it's controls and menu system. It not a simple task plus there is very little help from existing literature to describe what all the different features do. But I am getting the hang of it and I believe it is much simpler to use than the 6D once one becomes accustomed. There was a beatiful sunrise last week and I ran into the house and grabbed the E1 to see what king of photo I can get. I didn't get a chance to review the photo until I got home from work and uploaded to my computer. Boy was I impressed! Unfortunately I can't seem to post photos. But the pictures I got is one of the best sunrise photo I've taken (my opinon). I used the E1 with the 45mm f1.8. What amazes me was the ease I was able to capture this photo. I played with the settings and was able to take many different photos using the different picture styles etc. The picture is jpeg and unedit straight from the memory card. The photo had black figures in the upper right quadrant which turns out to be crows flying high in the sky!!! The camera and lense is amazing! I could not believe the camera was able to capture (resolve??) the crows way up in the sky. I really didn't notice they were there when I took the picture. I probably could have done the same with the 6D but I don't think I am giving up anything with the E1. Plus it was very easy to change the setting on the E1 with the Live SCP menu and custom Fn buttons. The next big test for me is to use the E1 with sports. I have kids active in high scholl sports and would like to see how the E1 performs with tracking players with continuous focus. I will still keep the 6D for certain situations but my go to camera will be the E1. That's it for now!

December 13, 2013

Steve

A Game-changer

The latest in a 35 year progression of cameras that I have owned that ranged from medium format film to professional-grade APS-sized digital. The EM-1 is my first Oly and has reignited my passion for photography. So light and compact but feature-heavy, this camera delivers consistent results. It's difficult to even produce a bad photo with it! In the days of film it was the emulsion you chose that gave you the results that you sought, With digital, it's all in the algorithms that camera manufacturers use to deliver the results--the "secret sauce" that makes one particular camera produce more pleasing images than others do. The EM-1 is that cameras. It is a very powerful and well made little gem that delivers in any situation.

December 10, 2013

TRUE LIBERTY

Good Job Olympus

Im very impressed with this EM-1. Its a vast improvement over my E-30. I was always trying to keep my photos at ISO 800 and under. And now so far I have used ISO 2500 and am quite happy with the results. And the use of my 4/3 lenses works faster on focusing then my E-30 ever did. Very good job keeping 4/3 users happy!

Less then 24 hours with this camera I was doing action photography at one of my wife's marathon runs. And with the new view finder I was easily able to keep track of the subjects in multiple shots as the runners past by.

My only compliant with the camera is the horrible flash it came with. It casts a horrible shadow on the floor when using my 4/3 lenses. It would have been nice if they made it bounce capable. But the upside is my FL36 flash works great with it. But a compact flash with bounce sure would have been from Olympus with the bit of a high price tag.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. 8