View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

February 10, 2014

OldPhotoBuff

Every Oly users deserves this one

I've only had mine for 3 days and I can hardly tear myself from the manual and trying all the new things offered. For example, every button, it seems, can be re-programed. I've finally settled on using the FN1 for obtaining the 2X digital zoom, and the FN2 for setting the ISO. The other buttons I've left as is. The Info button can bring up full info of the settings and you can make other changes from there - in that respect a carry over from the E- series, except with the M1 it can be there all the time and disappears when you bring your eye to the finder. The size of the camera is perfect - just a bit smaller than my E-620. Great camera.

February 07, 2014

Stephen

Fantastic New Features!!!

Love the new EVF, sharp and great colours.The grip is a great addition.Camera feels like a "Pro" model , a little heft to it.
Wi-fi is also a great addition.All in all love it more than my EM-5, which
i was also crazy about!!

January 22, 2014

Deana

OM-D should be OMG!

I love this gem of a camera! Wow! It is so lightening fast and so well made, it is a true pleasure to use. I don't want to put it down. I am very impressed with the photos. I also own a Canon EOS Rebel SL1, which I also enjoy using, but this is my favorite and since I can't put it down, my husband will be using the Canon from now on. ;-) I definitely recommend this camera. Try one for yourself; you'll see what I mean.

January 18, 2014

John

Everything I wanted & Needed

For a few years I was feeling burdened by my Pentax K-5. It did nearly everything I wanted. But… It was big. It was heavy. You know what I mean. I had been watching the rise in CSCs and M4/3 caught my eye because of the great selection of lenses. So I planned my transition. I bought a used EPL-1 with two kit lens. Played a round. It was fun inspire of the technical limitations.

So I planned it out. I sold my Pentax gear after investing in an EPL-5. The upgrade was a good camera, The EM-6 had been out quite awhile & I decided to be patient & get Olympus' upgrade. When the EM-1 came out the sticker shock was real. I bided my time & read all the reviews and waited until the back orders were mainly cleared.

When the time was right I bought it. It is everything all reviews say. Tear them. even the criticisms are true. For me it is the perfect camera. I'm not a pro so all that doesn't matter to me. The moment I held it it fit well in my average size hands. The ability to customize the controls is awesome and intimidating. The Olympus image quality is great. I already knew form the EPL-5 how to work the supper controls so I was off & running.

I know I will be keeping this camera for a long long time.

January 13, 2014

Randy

Amazing piece of technology!

I know it will be some time before I uncover all the hidden gems in this camera, but I have been sold on Olympus since film days, and have had several Olympus digitals (C-2500L, E-20N, SP-565UZ, and two E-620s) before picking up the OM-D E-M1. I must admit that I NEVER thought I would be able to accept an Electronic ViewFinder in my primary camera, but the E-M1 demonstrates that the EVF's time has finally come. I also typically ignored Scene Modes, but was intrigued by the "Hand-Held Starlight" mode, which takes a quick sequence of shots and stacks them into one, as is typically done in astrophotography. I tried it out it recently while walking through the "Magic Christmas In Lights" nighttime display at Bellingrath Gardens in Mobile, AL. The results were spectacular! Yes, it was an expensive purchase, but I'm glad I took the plunge! [I would also add that while it's nice to be able to use my old Four-Thirds lenses, the Micro Four-Thirds lenses are so much lighter and more compact that I'll seldom travel with the old lenses!]

January 01, 2014

Randy

Super Upgrade from E-520

After a lot of research, I decided that my first DSLR would be an Olympus 4/3. Although not stellar at the time (2009), I decided to go with the entry level E-520 and invest in glass (12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD). Since then I added extension tubes and flashes. I was becoming more and more frustrated by the E-520 capabilities and kept waiting for a significant upgrade. When it became clear that there would be no replacement for the E-5, I was getting close to jumping ship from Olympus. Thankfully, the EM-1 came out which allowed me to use the glass I had already invested in while getting a first rate professional body. This camera is amazing and blows my old E-520 away in every way. It works great with my legacy 4/3 lenses and I love the high ISO performance.

December 29, 2013

Thomas

features are amazing

I upgraded from the Olympus E-3. The only negative thing I had about the EM-1 is the size. there is a large difference going from the Pro version of the E-3 to the EM-1. Using the Verticle Grip helps to balance the difference in the feel.
So far, I have used the camera around the house and have been impressed with the sharp image display. I have been a working pro for over 30 years and have always used Olympus for my personal camera.
The features brought in with the EM-1 I hope will bring back many of those that were hesitant in making the change waiting for the next camera in the E series line.
I was skeptical until I put it in my hands, the options took over and I could see the improvements over my former favorite camera. One of the features that helped sway my choice was the option of being able to use the full line of E series lenses I already have.
The MMF-3 adapter makes it a breeze to both maintain the splash proof seals and the investment I have in my glass. My general all around lens (the 12mm to 60mm ) feels good on the camera.

December 29, 2013

PhotoGuy

Pro Level Camera In a Small Package!

I am very impressed with this camera. With the addition of the PRO 12-40mm lens I have a setup that is second to none! I know the common argument is the price, but with the latest upgrades to the e-m1 this camera is priced in a range that compares to other cameras at the same price. Olympus is really on to something here! The new sensor is nearly perfect at high ISO's and the detail is a bit better than the e-m5! Good buy!

December 27, 2013

Gary

Gorgeous camera

I don’t need to mention about this camera too much. There are lots of positive reviews from experts on line. Having been used E-PL 5 with Pan 20 mm, Oly 45 mm for last one year, I had been convinced I have to buy this one and ordered it with 12-40 mm, 75 mm. Now only one week’s try with 75 mm (still waiting for 12-40 mm) is not enough time to judge, but I am totally exhilarated with both of them. Only minor problem with me is my Light Room 4 can’t support E-M 1 Raw file, so I am going to upgrade to LR 5..3(Using Adobe DNG converter 8.3, I noticed more noise in LR 4 than Oly viewer 3)

December 24, 2013

Agedrunner

Great camera

Great full featured camera with a wide selection of lenses. It has all of the features of my Nikon D7000 and several more that I find useful such as HDR in camera: a wide range of bracketing with 3, 5, and 7 shots instead of just 3 shots: remote control from a smartphone; and color creator for a few examples, The image quality is as good as well as the quality at high iso settings. It is very easy to quickly change settings. viewfinder is sharp and Peak Focusing helps when using manual focusing. The number of shots per second is higher with the M1 along with a much higher buffer capacity. The size and weight of the camera make it very easy to carry and shoot. I find myself taking the M1 with me almost all of the time now and taking a lot more pictures.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7