View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

July 03, 2014

Bruce

Astonishing flexibility

I was a Nikon shooter, going back to the justly proclaimed F and ending with the D610. The weight, price and size of lenses and bodies was getting to me. After reading reviews of the E-M1 and the m4/3 lenses for it, I went to B&H to try one out; I was hooked! Small, by DSLR standards, light, solid and incredibly flexible. The mysteries of the menu system become clear after 2-3 hours with camera/lens in hand and reading the manual. Customizable beyond belief and intelligently laid out. Once you get past more depth of field than you are used to and lower battery life (buy at least one spare!), this machine takes great pictures. The in camera shake reduction is exceptional and the lenses, even the less expensive ones, are superb.

Get the M.Zuiko 12-40mm PRO and Zuiko ED 35-100mm ranges; the M.Zuiko 9-18mm is an excellent Wide Angle and close to as good as the Zuiko ED 7-14mm offerings and a lot smaller, lighter and cheaper and takes filters!

July 01, 2014

Michael

Downsized and Happy

I have been traveling a lot lately with a wonderful but heavy DSLR--the Pentax K3. After hauling two bodies, four lenses, and a flash across two countries and on several flights, I decided to switch to a mirrorless system. I was very worried, of course, that I would lose image quality, especially if I moved to a 4/3 system. But I chose the Olympus E-M1 ultimately because of good reviews and an extensive array of very light lenses. So far I've bought the M.Zuiko 14-150mm (28-300mm equivalent), which is unbelievably small, light, and sharp. I've also bought the M.Zuiko 45mm f1.8 portrait lens (90mm equivalent), which I think has no weight at all. Amazing lens.

I am very happy with the choice. The image quality is terrific, although I lose a little bit when I try to get a really sharp image after cropping 80% or more. Other than that, I'm getting terrific image quality.

The camera is a bit complicated to use. ( I still have lots to learn). An intelligible manual would be a big help. Too much to hope for, right? But I've been able to figure out enough to get the photos I've wanted on my most recent trip. I found a tutorial that looks helpful just before my trip. I'll see.

So--this camera and the lenses I chose have done just what I wanted. Lightened my load without any significant loss of image quality.

May 27, 2014

Norman

Simply amazing

This is truly an amazing camera. The photos are terrific...in good light they are as good as you would get with a full frame camera. The incredible number of things you can do with this camera is almost overwhelming. Another great thing: I can use my legacy lenses (with an adapter) that I purchased more than 30 years ago. And also great is, IS works with them because the IS is in the body, not in the lens. Finally, it's a beautiful camera.

May 16, 2014

King

Functioning as good as claim, IBIS better than expected.

Own it for 6 days, still learning. So far working good with 50-22 swd and 12-60, 45mm 1.8, 20mm. Fast focus, accurate. IBIS is magic, my old Signa 180mm 3.5 marco turn out handheldable; I can get sharp pics at 200mm +2x at 1/25sec handheld. 0 sec anti-shock is good too. Really good camera, fun to use, super good pic quality, also appreciate Olympus lens.

May 07, 2014

Radhehari

Fantastic product

My limited understanding of using the a point and shoot for most of life is that a camera (as a tool) has two components: the lens and the camera itself. I have to let you know that several images that I am clicking with this are using a prime lens (75 mm/1.8f). Needless to say that the results have far exceeded my expectations.

Key winners
The best AF focusing (speed and accuracy) I have ever experienced
Much lighter than an equivalent DSLR
Weather proof design (both body and lens)
Several shooting modes where the camera adjusts itself (shutter, aperture, ISO, etc.)
Seamless backup to iPhone

Some grips
Substantial bulk in a small body
too many features (I think I should have purchased the E-M5 for the lower price tag)
poorly written product manual (I had to call them in order to attach the flash)

Overall, I would happily recommend this product to anyone, with a clear warning (about the high price tag the kit could run up); each of the pro M.Zuiko lenses are between $700 to $1,100 apiece.

April 16, 2014

Reenaj

Freakin Awesome and then some!

This camera is a perfect compliment to my older E-30, E-410, and E-500's and all my 4/3 lenses that I have purchased over the years.
Seamless transition to micro 4/3 with the adapter. Saving my pennies for the micro 4/3 12-40mm and the micro 4/3 75-300mm lenses.
This camera took beautiful pictures of the blood moon (well except for the cloudy conditions in my area) during the eclipse with a vintage manual Tamron 60-300mm lens.
Beautiful camera, beautiful shots!

March 28, 2014

gary

Nice!! Good photographic tool

This is the third of the OM series cameras that I own. The models keep getting better & better. The weight of this model is very good compared to the E-5 that I am used to lugging. The lens selection is very good. Function of the camera takes a little getting used to. There are so many capabilities that are available. I like the ability to switch on the run. WIFI is yet to be explored.

March 27, 2014

Felixberto

Not tough as I thought

I purchased the E-M1 as an upgrade to my E-M5, true the specs are great, I am amazed so much could be built into this little camera. With the 12-40mm lens the pictures are just as good if not better than cameras selling twice as much. My major disappointment began when after just a few months the carcass (the rubber trimmings) started peeling off! This does not speak very well to the ruggedness olympus is touting about! I am heart broken, took my camera back to my dealer. You will get my camera soon. I also your extended warranty thinking its a lifetime investment. Call me a not ver happy customer. FYI I also own the E-P5.

March 27, 2014

Ron

Size Matters

I just changed brands from one complete system to the OMD M1. I was getting ready for a trip and realized the size and weight of my camera gear was unacceptable. After careful thought and talking to several M1 owners I traded and purchased the new system. I do love it. The ergonomics fit and the quality is first rate. There is a learning curve from the other brands, but the features are outstanding and it doesn't take long to master the controls. I'm taking the camera and lenses on my first trip next month, so that will be the test of total satisfaction.

March 24, 2014

Wayne

Very impressive photographic tool

The Olympus OMD EM-1 is a most impressive photographic tool. This was the first new camera I had purchased in many years, and so far, I am delighted. After agonizing over whether or not to go with a full-frame DSLR, I finally decided to try the more compact Olympus micro 4:3 system based on features and on-line reviews.

This camera is a very sophisticated and well-built instrument. It functions extremely well as a high-end point and shoot camera, but it also has every imaginable adjustment, setting, and photo option that one could want. I have been working my way through the 160 page manual (which is included on the DVD along with other software) and have realized that it will take some time to be completely comfortable with all the possibilities for fine-tuning images. All the buttons and wheels are well laid out and easy to reach, however, and the camera is well-balanced and comfortable to hold even with larger hands. I was especially pleased with the customization options in which one can assign varying functions to different buttons as needed. The electronic viewfinder is very clear and the menu features are bright and easy to read. The adjustable touch-screen provides another option for manipulation of all parameters as well as quick focusing on selected areas of the picture. Image stabilization is simply amazing, and I am getting crystal clear shots even with relatively slow shutter speeds. Focus is lightening fast with the 12-40mm pro zoom lens which I purchased along with the camera. Image quality seems excellent even at higher ISO speeds, especially considering the camera’s smaller-sized sensor, and low light sensitivity is surprisingly good as well. I do wish the EM-1 had a built-in flash, although the images I have taken in relatively low light are so good that I haven’t used the optional removable flash, even once.

Battery life is so-so, so I purchased an extra one with the camera and am very glad I did. The camera’s battery indicator doesn’t give a very long warning between a full charge and a depleted battery, so having an extra battery is a must, in my opinion. I am looking forward to purchasing a couple of fixed focal length lenses soon, although the 12-40mm pro lens is excellent for most shooting applications throughout its useful zoom range, and is light-years beyond the typical “kit” zoom lens. As an avid amateur photographer, the purchase of this camera made a bit of a dent in the budget, but the kind of quality it exhibits does not come cheap, and I look forward to using it for many years to come.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8