View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

July 06, 2014

Kevin

Primo

I am loving this wonder. Learning as I go, as I'm not too keen on manuals. Olympus has been in my pocket or backpack for quite a few years, and never disappoints.. the E-M1 rocks it.

July 06, 2014

LA Sutton

Amazing Camera

Purchased the OM-D E-M1 about one month ago and have to say it is just a fantastic camera! Finally, the "big boy" and lenses can go to a new home and make somebody else very happy. OM-D E-M1 is a very intuitive camera to use. It is simply amazing how many features that are packed into that little camera. The OM-D EM-1 paired with the PRO Series glass is win-win scenario.

The cons:
#1. The batteries are very short-lived they need to be better;
#2. There needs to be a dedicated wireless remote control device. The Olympus Image Share app is nice but it doesn't replace a wireless remote control device;
#3. Olympus please include pouches/cases as well as hoods for your lenses in the box, it is silly to have to piecemeal this stuff after you purchase lens, it isn't like those lenses are given away!

Despite these things it deserves a full 5 stars!
Wish list stuff: PRO Series telephoto super zoom.

July 03, 2014

Bruce

Astonishing flexibility

I was a Nikon shooter, going back to the justly proclaimed F and ending with the D610. The weight, price and size of lenses and bodies was getting to me. After reading reviews of the E-M1 and the m4/3 lenses for it, I went to B&H to try one out; I was hooked! Small, by DSLR standards, light, solid and incredibly flexible. The mysteries of the menu system become clear after 2-3 hours with camera/lens in hand and reading the manual. Customizable beyond belief and intelligently laid out. Once you get past more depth of field than you are used to and lower battery life (buy at least one spare!), this machine takes great pictures. The in camera shake reduction is exceptional and the lenses, even the less expensive ones, are superb.

Get the M.Zuiko 12-40mm PRO and Zuiko ED 35-100mm ranges; the M.Zuiko 9-18mm is an excellent Wide Angle and close to as good as the Zuiko ED 7-14mm offerings and a lot smaller, lighter and cheaper and takes filters!

July 01, 2014

Michael

Downsized and Happy

I have been traveling a lot lately with a wonderful but heavy DSLR--the Pentax K3. After hauling two bodies, four lenses, and a flash across two countries and on several flights, I decided to switch to a mirrorless system. I was very worried, of course, that I would lose image quality, especially if I moved to a 4/3 system. But I chose the Olympus E-M1 ultimately because of good reviews and an extensive array of very light lenses. So far I've bought the M.Zuiko 14-150mm (28-300mm equivalent), which is unbelievably small, light, and sharp. I've also bought the M.Zuiko 45mm f1.8 portrait lens (90mm equivalent), which I think has no weight at all. Amazing lens.

I am very happy with the choice. The image quality is terrific, although I lose a little bit when I try to get a really sharp image after cropping 80% or more. Other than that, I'm getting terrific image quality.

The camera is a bit complicated to use. ( I still have lots to learn). An intelligible manual would be a big help. Too much to hope for, right? But I've been able to figure out enough to get the photos I've wanted on my most recent trip. I found a tutorial that looks helpful just before my trip. I'll see.

So--this camera and the lenses I chose have done just what I wanted. Lightened my load without any significant loss of image quality.

May 27, 2014

Norman

Simply amazing

This is truly an amazing camera. The photos are terrific...in good light they are as good as you would get with a full frame camera. The incredible number of things you can do with this camera is almost overwhelming. Another great thing: I can use my legacy lenses (with an adapter) that I purchased more than 30 years ago. And also great is, IS works with them because the IS is in the body, not in the lens. Finally, it's a beautiful camera.

May 16, 2014

King

Functioning as good as claim, IBIS better than expected.

Own it for 6 days, still learning. So far working good with 50-22 swd and 12-60, 45mm 1.8, 20mm. Fast focus, accurate. IBIS is magic, my old Signa 180mm 3.5 marco turn out handheldable; I can get sharp pics at 200mm +2x at 1/25sec handheld. 0 sec anti-shock is good too. Really good camera, fun to use, super good pic quality, also appreciate Olympus lens.

May 07, 2014

Radhehari

Fantastic product

My limited understanding of using the a point and shoot for most of life is that a camera (as a tool) has two components: the lens and the camera itself. I have to let you know that several images that I am clicking with this are using a prime lens (75 mm/1.8f). Needless to say that the results have far exceeded my expectations.

Key winners
The best AF focusing (speed and accuracy) I have ever experienced
Much lighter than an equivalent DSLR
Weather proof design (both body and lens)
Several shooting modes where the camera adjusts itself (shutter, aperture, ISO, etc.)
Seamless backup to iPhone

Some grips
Substantial bulk in a small body
too many features (I think I should have purchased the E-M5 for the lower price tag)
poorly written product manual (I had to call them in order to attach the flash)

Overall, I would happily recommend this product to anyone, with a clear warning (about the high price tag the kit could run up); each of the pro M.Zuiko lenses are between $700 to $1,100 apiece.

April 16, 2014

Reenaj

Freakin Awesome and then some!

This camera is a perfect compliment to my older E-30, E-410, and E-500's and all my 4/3 lenses that I have purchased over the years.
Seamless transition to micro 4/3 with the adapter. Saving my pennies for the micro 4/3 12-40mm and the micro 4/3 75-300mm lenses.
This camera took beautiful pictures of the blood moon (well except for the cloudy conditions in my area) during the eclipse with a vintage manual Tamron 60-300mm lens.
Beautiful camera, beautiful shots!

March 28, 2014

gary

Nice!! Good photographic tool

This is the third of the OM series cameras that I own. The models keep getting better & better. The weight of this model is very good compared to the E-5 that I am used to lugging. The lens selection is very good. Function of the camera takes a little getting used to. There are so many capabilities that are available. I like the ability to switch on the run. WIFI is yet to be explored.

March 27, 2014

Felixberto

Not tough as I thought

I purchased the E-M1 as an upgrade to my E-M5, true the specs are great, I am amazed so much could be built into this little camera. With the 12-40mm lens the pictures are just as good if not better than cameras selling twice as much. My major disappointment began when after just a few months the carcass (the rubber trimmings) started peeling off! This does not speak very well to the ruggedness olympus is touting about! I am heart broken, took my camera back to my dealer. You will get my camera soon. I also your extended warranty thinking its a lifetime investment. Call me a not ver happy customer. FYI I also own the E-P5.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8