View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

March 30, 2013

Kay

awesome camera!!

I bought the Tough TG2 to replace an older Olympus. This camera is incredible. Easy to use and perfect for our work, which involves being able to take EXCELLENT close-up photos of homes/buildings. It's rugged yet easy to carry & the picture quality is great. Aside from my DSLRs, the TG2 is probably the best camera I own! Thanks, Olympus!

March 28, 2013

Borg

Nearly perfect Tough Point&Shoot

I really like this camera.
Especially the aperture mode allows you to get great quality images out of the camera. If you pick the right aperture and limit the ISO to a reasonable value. You will get very good image quality out of it.

I was also very positive surprised by the output of the magic filters. It is very easy to create some amazing fun pictures with this camera.

One other very nice feature are the two custom modes, which allows you a fast switch to your preferred settings.

I am very sure I will have a lot of fun in the next years taking pictures with this camera.

For a perfect camera I would just wish tow more things:
- RAW image storage to allow optimized post processing (or at least a setting to define the level for noise reduction as there is very good noise reduction software available).
- make a little bit smaller so that it fits even better into jacket pockets.

March 27, 2013

Chris

Tg-1 vs tg-2?

When I heard this was coming out I made a deal and sold my tg-1 to a friend for $150. The super macro and updated resilience appealed to me. I Also didn't have a doubt in my mind that Olympus would address all the sound issues, noises, in video mode... Boy was i wrong, After reading the reviews and seeing the tg-2 actually got I worse rating from user I want my camera and $250 back :( I feel kind of stuck because I already have all the attachments for this camera. Just why in gods green earth would Olympus not fix a known issue on a previous model. As its well known Einstein's definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different result. So me next question is why? Or am I wrong and did Olympus do this knowingly..???? They had to of known, how could they not. Now did they factor in this major flaw and crunch numbers only to decide they will make enough of a profit to pull out ahead regardless, I Did notice Olympus blocked the reviews of the higer rated,older tg-1. Is that because they can't admit failure, to save face? Surely it is. To top it off the tg-1 has 3d, tg-2 no. The tg-1 is 9.8mp effective, the tg-2 9.7mp effective, also a few other items on the tg-1 make the quality better. really tg-2 is just slightly tougher with super macro as upgrades.I just though Olympus was better than this.

March 24, 2013

Richard

Great for travel cam

The camera lived up to everything. We went on a trip to 3 islands in Hawaii. Used it for hiking , Swimming and underwater shots. only complaint is the ring that goes on the lens area fell off several times the last on a boat and fell over board. Gone. Works fine without. I well continue to use my Larger full size cam for everyday use but this is a great pocket cam for travel and skiing.

March 18, 2013

Ken G.

Nice design, great features, TOO MUCH NOISE REDUCTION processing

I bought this camera to use while snorkeling, kayaking, fly fishing, and hiking. It certainly seems tough enough to handle all of that. I like the physical design of the camera. It has a fast 2.0 aperture when shooting at the wide-angle end of the zoom.

What I found to be a major issue is the amount of noise reduction Olympus applies to the images - the fine details come out looking like an impressionist painting. Too smoothed out, smeared. If this camera applied LESS noise reduction to it's images I'd have kept it, even without manual controls or the ability to shoot RAW images.

Hopefully Olympus and other manufacturers will offer a tough waterproof camera that puts out a less processed, finer detailed image in the near future. I'd buy that camera tomorrow.

March 17, 2013

Liz

Great Camera!

I have taken some amazing pictures with this camera and absolutely love the way it performs. I have had occasional issues in a dark environment or with extreme zoom with getting the camera to focus, but have otherwise had an easy time using this camera. The magic features work well, as does the aperture priority mode.

There is noise when recording video, but it doesn't really bother me.

Overall awesome camera!

March 15, 2013

BobG

The TG-2 iHS is the Best Camera I have Ever Owned!

I received my TG-2, Opened the Box, immediately read the manual and installed my new 32 gig (1080P) memory card. Then I took a few photos around my desk, trying out the different features, settings and options available on the TG-2.

I have yet to use it under water (wish I had owned the TG-2 during our last cruise, I could have used it on my snorkeling adventures) but from what I have seen thus far, I expect the underwater features will also exceed my expectations.

The most interesting trial shot I made involved taking a picture of a picture of my daughter. The original photo was pretty good but using the features available in the Beauty Settings I was able to make her look like a model straight out of a magazine. I showed the results to my wife of 36 years and she said that she wanted me to take some shots of her. Now that is an excellent advertizement of the capabilities of my new TG-2.

I made a short movie walking along the creek behind the house and the 1080P video was outstanding. I am already looking forward to making movies of my grandson's athletic endeavors this spring and summer.

Thanks - Olympus for making my photography efforts/results better than they have ever been!

March 14, 2013

Gary

Great Tough Camera

I ordered my Olympus TG-2iHS camera as soon as I could find one in stock. This is my 5th Olympus camera and again I am not disappointed. I love the features on this camera. I will start by saying that what you may have read about the noise on a video from the zooming in and out of the camera lens is true, but this doesn't bother me as I don't shoot many videos. The microphone on this camera is very sensitive and I see no way they could make it without picking up the lens zooming in and out. I bought this camera to be tough and to take great photos, and in that it shines. I like the lens being in the center of the camera and not in the top left corner as some of the Olympus cameras are. I love the new button to turn the camera on. I have arthritis in my hands and some of the other Olympus cameras are hard to turn on with the tiny button. The controls on this camera are simple to use and simple to understand. It takes great photos and very good low light photos. The only trouble I had was trying to view my videos on my computer. I called the Olympus Tech team and the gentleman talked me right though it. I had to download the software that comes with the camera, and I had not done that. You also have to have Quick Time on your computer and this is a free download also. After I did those 2 things everything was fine. Again I am glad that Olympus went to the SD card storage system as they are available at a reasonable cost almost anywhere. I do a lot of trail camera photography and it is so nice to be able to take the card out of your trail camera and pop it in your TG-2 iHS camera and it works great. And the large viewing screen on the Olympus gives you a good view of the photos from the trail camera. Also as in all Olympus cameras I have used, the viewing screen is easily seen outside in bright sun light. I have not used this camera under water, but I feel certain it would do a good job. Overall I am greatly pleased with this camera.

March 12, 2013

Raffia

Makes noises when recording video

I wanted to like this camera mainly because of all of its features for travel i.e. waterproof, drop proof, freeze proof, dust proof.

The pictures are pretty good

The main issue with the camera are the noises it makes when recording video. There is no end of clicks, grinds, beeps etc as it, I am assuming, tries to adjust focus. They are actually quite loud when you play back the video. Also when you zoom in there is a fairly loud buzzing sound.
These sounds for the most part make the video almost useless.

if they fix these sound issues, this would be a great travel camera. The way that it is now, this camera is almost useless for travel

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7