View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

June 27, 2013

GEOFF

WOW!

Very excited about my Tough TG-2. I went solely upon the Camera Store recommendation when I asked for a camera that was worthy of the Inca Trail & Machu Picchu but that could also do underwater shots in the Galapagos. It's not a vacation one does every day and so its not a vacation that you would just want to take any old camera. I'm so pumped I'm finding it hard to leave the house without it for everyday use. - but I'll have to wait 'cuz my son was so impressed with its quality and versatility that he has taken it on vacation with him and no doubt he will soon be buying his own. Even the people on the cruise were suitability impressed, no jealous, even though many one of had extremely expensive 'land' cameras with huge lenses and accessories. One of them even had an underwater housing for their brand name (as a wedding gift due to the high cost of a housing - quote, "almost as expensive as the camera itself"), putting a housing on a 'heavy camera' just makes it even heavier. The only downside is that the small plastic ring that tightens the strap on your wrist breaks easily (well after the 7th day of snorkeling twice per day), so I was fortunate to have a back-up and somewhat frustrated that an identical 'flat-strap' is neither a standard accessory either online or in the stores. What gives! The only straps seem to be for the pin-hole cameras and not the cameras with 'flat-strap' functionality. Even the 'float-straps' are of the 'pin-hole' variety. Looks like a Marketing oversight that can hopefully be resolved relatively quickly. Thanks Olympus and Saneal Camera. Kudos!

June 25, 2013

n h

Fine camera; few items need attention

I adopt and incorporate the review by David J dated June 9, as follows: I like the camera. It has a huge variety of capabilities for a pocket-sized camera. The picture quality is excellent for a small camera and the features that make it waterproof and tough are amazing. The one touch video button is a great feature. I only see a few issues. First; it needs a lens cap. It is too easy to finger print, or get dust and dirt on the glass lens protector. Perhaps the red ring could be replaced with one that accommodates a cap. Second, the menu system is very complex causing the learning curve to be steep. Third, the camera would greatly benefit from an optical viewfinder. In bright sunlight the rear viewing panel is hard to see. -N. H.

June 24, 2013

Donald

Great Camera!

I did not get this for a video camera I got it for an all around weather camera and it fits that perfectly.
I can take the TG2 to places that I would not think about taking my Nikon D700 and know that I am going to come away with some wonderful pictures!
The Magic feature adds some real fun to your shooting and I have enjoyed it.
If you get the adapter ring it comes with a lens cap so the lens is protected (should really come with the camera).
All in all I really like it and and would purchase it again hence the 5 stars.

June 22, 2013

Rivalbob

Great Camera for Outdoor Activities

Nice size camera for WW Canoeing, watersports, and winter hiking. One of the best features is it ability to accept filters such as a polarizer. This is extremely helpful for good pictures while involved in active outdoor sports. Have yet to try it scuba diving but hope that it will work great for that also.

June 16, 2013

Devan

JUST FREAKING AMAZING

I previously had the TG-8010, well actually i still do and it still works but this camera is amazing in low light, bright light, in the bush and on the move. I find it brings the color out of anything that i go and take and take a picture of, I just LOVE this camera and your products, oh and the macro is just incredible you can not beat it unless of course you plan on spending 600 bones for a decent DSLR lens but no body got the money nor the time for that. As for the finally you guys get 5 stars and definitely deserve them

June 16, 2013

NMHiker1

very nice camera

I just got my camera and really like it. I have been taking some fun shots around the house and took some yesterday outside just to see how it does in the sun. I got very nice photos. I am still learning what the camera will do, but I really like it. Definitely taking it with me on vacation, down the Colorado River through Cataract Canyon.The only down side to this camera is it is a power hog and can eat batteries. That's why I didn't give it 5 stars.

June 12, 2013

jonathan

Worst then my old stylus 790

So this camera takes better pictures for sure but a drop from waist height cracked the casing on it.... My old stylus took many a dropped and is perfectly fine. The only reason I got the TG-2 was because it took so much better pictures and was suppose to be a tougher camera. Olympus is refusing to repair the damage saying that it's not covered. Way to not stand behind your product. Last camera I will buy from them.

June 12, 2013

Kim

The future is here

I have happily owned the original Tough 1030SW since it was released and have been more than happy with it. I have checked out every high end Tough camera since as I have upgradeitus. Not one single one has impressed me as much as the original 1030SW. Until now that is. I am blown away by this camera and all of its amazing features, everyone who sees the pictures this awesome machine takes is too. I have only scratched the surface of the things this camera can do and am in complete awe of its performance. The battery life is more than acceptable and I was even afraid to operate the GPS as on a previous model it flattened the battery in no time. Not this one. After returning from an outdoor adventure I sit down and upload the camera to my PC and within minutes the charge indicator light goes out. The only thing Olympus could have done to make this camera better would be a smaller size like the original 1030SW [but then you lose the huge 3" HD screen] and perhaps a Titanium body so the camera would float, and get rid of the annoying noise on movies while zooming.
Buy this camera and make this summer one to remember. If your disappointed with this camera, go see your doctor for some therapy because there's something wrong with you.

June 11, 2013

Daniel

Among the best in service, oh yeah the camera is great too!

I pre-ordered this camera for my Disney vacation, the people at Olympus explained to me that the first shipment was already sold out, but the customer rep called me back twice; once to check when exactly I was leaving on vacation, and another time to check to see if the second batch of camera came on time, which it DID!!! To say the least the service blew me away. Service alone would not do it though; I am a professional photographer, and the only reason I wanted another camera was because of the cost and size of my pro gear did not seem conducive to a theme park. While this camera is not a "pro" dslr, it sure does some great shots, even in low lighting. My favorite function though is the super macro mode, fantastic!

June 09, 2013

DAVID J

Lots of great features; a couple of drawbacks

I like the camera. It has a huge variety of capabilities for a pocket-sized camera. The picture quality is excellent for a small camera and the features that make it waterproof and tough are amazing. The one touch video button is a great feature. I only see a few issues. First; it needs a lens cap. It is too easy to finger print, or get dust and dirt on the glass lens protector. Perhaps the red ring could be replaced with one that accommodates a cap. Second, the menu system is very complex causing the learning curve to be steep. Third, the camera would greatly benefit from an optical viewfinder. In bright sunlight the rear viewing panel is hard to see. Still, it will be my everyday camera

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8