View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

October 08, 2013

Dianne

No view Finder makes extreme weather conditions imposible to photograph.

I bought this camera over a year ago. I use it to photograph sports action in Alaska. When the sun is bright or it is raining I can't see a scene, I am lucky to find the horizon. I end up just shooting many shots and hoping to get one good one. Everything else about this camera is perfect. Why no view finder?

I have to take my OM2 on rides, which I can't shoot with while driving my atv. But I have to take this bigger camera so when I stop I can be sure to get at least some good shots. It only takes one flaw like this to make a great camera bad.

October 06, 2013

David

Just one complaint

The two bezels they supplied, one red and one black, were lost in a matter of a month. A better way to lock it in place until you actually wanted to take it off would be nice. Other than that this is my second tough camera and I like it so far.

September 27, 2013

Jessica

Very Satisfied

I purchased the TG-2 iHS specifically for the durability features and waterproof features. Primarily, I have used this camera in the pool, on small boats and general indoor/outdoor settings. The camera has performed well and I have taken wonderful pictures. The video quality is pretty good for a camera. The menus are easy to navigate and there are plenty of filtering options if you like those. The waterproofing instructions seem silly, but I think they are important to maintain the quality of the camera. The only downside so far is that the lens is exposed, so I bought the optional lens adapter which came with a lens cover; problem solved. I also purchased the floating wrist strap and works as one would expect it to. I would recommend this camera to a friend.

September 23, 2013

Donald

Go anywhere do everything camera

I bought the TG-2 iHS to use while kayaking, hiking, biking and traveling. It has proven to be versatile, durable and convenient. I use it much more than I thought I would and generally leave the large DSLR at home in favor of this much smaller and tough Olympus.

The captured photos are of good quality for web based sharing and printing in smaller formats. We shot video in the back country of Alaska and were very pleased with the results using the optional telephoto lens. My experience with underwater shooting has been limited but successful with both still and video shots. I'll try it out in earnest on my next Hawaii vacation.

The menus have been easy to figure out and I have used mostly aperture priority and scene modes with excellent results. I've played with the magic filters and found the results to be entertaining but not really anything comparable to available photo-editing software.

Some have complained about the lack of a lens cover. I've remedied that by attaching the auxiliary lens adapter in place of the trim-ring and then using the auxiliary lens cover with only the adapter ring. Works great! My only complaint with the camera is the trim ring and it's attachment, which is not that secure. It works much better using the adapter ring.

I have recommended friends consider this camera over other similarly priced point and shoots, and if I were to lose it, I would buy another.

September 20, 2013

Thao

DON'T GET THIS CAMERA

I don't know how wonderful it is to other people but it is and has been the worst camera I have ever had. I got this tg2 ihs last march and after 4 months, the screen was broken. I sent it back to olympus to have they check it out for me and it took them 1 month to finally tell me that it's a physical damage and the warranty won't cover it. I would have to pay 138 bucks to get it fix. That is ridiculous, I didn't drop my camera or anything and the screen just got broken by itself. I already paid more than 400 for the camera with all of my trust for Olympus and they just let me down for the first experience with their camera. I will never buy anything from Olympus again. And if you're planning to buy a camera, go to the store and get it. Don't buy it online.

September 02, 2013

Bryon

Seems good!

Just have had for two weeks. Took on ocean fishing trip. It was rough and wet out there. Seemed to work well, no problems with getting wet. Battery life seems a little short.

August 20, 2013

Govert

2 weeks in

I bought the TG2 about two weeks ago as a sidekick for my Nikon D7000. I like to travel relatively light and carry on my Nikon a 18-200 lens that is very comfortable for most situations. Two things that are hard though is macro and getting it into the water. I find that the TG2 does wonderful macro and is okay for regular pictures. I haven't taken it into the water yet. Obviously I have to cut the TG2 some slack when i compare it to my Nikon D 7000 since the CMOS sensor is maybe 1/4 or 1/8 the size of the CCD the Nikon has. I notice the difference when zooming in on a picture and see that the edges of objects are a bit soft. I haven't seen a small digital camera yet that delivers the same quality as a digital SLR.

The menu is easy to use I find and i have a few favorite settings I have set the dial on which then makes it easy to switch between modes quickly. Under the magic setting it will do some fun stuff like creating a dramatic look but personally i would use those options very little. Under the SCN setting i have options like HDR and Panorama. I want to explore HDR further as i haven't noticed much difference in contrast yet between the regular picture i took and the HDR one. I found Panorama to be a disappointing setting. It gives a choice in three settings in which the 'auto' setting makes it very easy to align three images but the stitching usually goes horribly wrong and there is such a clear difference between the exposures that it really looks like 3 different pictures were glued together and then not even matching the transitions correctly. The second setting is 'manual' and allows you to match up your pictures yourself on screen but that may be very hard outside in bright sunlight on your view screen. The last option lets you take pictures and you then use the provided Olympus software later to match them up on your computer. I haven't tried this yet, but honestly i want this camera for ease and i would have that when I could you take a good panorama and be done with it.

As for the GPS, it would be nice to have the data but it really means you have to turn it on before you start to take any pictures if you want to spare your battery. I found it a drain on the battery and it limits the number of pictures you can take strongly. Switching the GPS on requires going into the menu and is not hard to do but i'd prefer the GPS to switch on automatically when i activate the camera. I understand that the GPS will need to find a location and that may take time but switching it on manually every time is something i don't see myself doing. An added feature would be the detail of the information the GPS gives me. If it would actually give me a street map of where I am i would think that a very useful application while roaming the streets.

For the rest I am loving this little camera that easily fits into my pocket.
It will do what i wanted it for, has a great lens for a camera this size and i consider it to be a great buy for it's price looking at what else is available in its range.

August 14, 2013

TERESA

Phenomenal

I have just started working with this camera and I love it already!! I have been waiting for a camera like this for years! I cannot tell you how excited I am about this camera.
It is so user friendly and easy to use. I love the Macro feature and I plan on using this camera exclusively for all my shots.
I cannot believe how lucky I was to have found this camera!!
And Olympus' reputation speaks for itself. I work in the healthcare industry and Olympus is the best of the best!!

August 14, 2013

NMHiker1

Rafting trip

I bought the TG-2 for a rafting trip down the Colorado River in Utah. This camera survived me and the Colorado River. It took some nasty hits on the ground and rock and still took great pictures. I'm glad I put a floating strap on it, at one point when swimming I looked out near my hand and there was the top of my strap with the camera attached to it floating by. The camera still took fabulous photos after that. I had no issues of it not working. I was surrounded by chocolate colored water and sandy beaches. I had no sand issues with this camera at all. I did soak it in clean water once I got it home and let it dry before uploading pictures. The pictures of the trip were great. Love this camera.

August 13, 2013

Robert

A Lot of Good To Say about this Camera, A few Small Bad things

Bought Aug 1st 2013.
Had the Camera 2 weeks.

The Camera is Very easy to use.
The Camera Takes Very good Pictures.
The 4 way Selector Switch on the back Works Well even underwater with scuba gloves on.
The Menu is long, but is full of features that are actually useful.

Having said all that.....
Learning the GPS function, I thought I had it but guess not. I want it to tag the pictures. If I format my memory Card, does that turn off the GPS feature?

Probably the biggest Complaint is:
Lens Cover? It would be nice to have a lens cover to protect the lens when transporting the camera. Placing it in a small camera case is okay, but it is harder to look into a black case and make sure there is no debris to scratch the lens. If you had a Silver Dollar sized Lens Cap, that would be easier.

Then I lost the Lens Bezel on my Second Dive, don't know how. Someday it maybe found by another diver. What exactly is the function of that bezel?

In light of these small issues, I WOULD buy this camera again.
I have had several other point and shoot, this is the best so far. I also have had several Canon DSLR's 7D with L glass.
This is my second Olympus. So Far I really like this camera. I have shot a few hundred photos and a couple of hours of Video.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7