View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

December 26, 2013

Tina

Held up in some rough conditions

Took great pictures at Mt. Rainier park in pouring rain, cold, snow. A few times I had condensation on the outside of the lense get into photos, but no other problems.

December 17, 2013

James

Descent camera with a few HUGE flaws they dont mention in reviews !

I "upgraded" from a first generation Sony TX-10.
I'm an avid outdoor photographer. I snorkel and scuba dive.
The TG-2 is a great all around outdoor camera. The Menus and programs are well laid out and effective. The camera is tough and does everything as advertised.
My main issue with this camera is video quality.
Besides the colors being totally over-saturated, the camera constantly tries to focus so often, the focus is never sharp.
The camera motor makes a distracting noise when you zoom and out. VERY bad for a 400 $ camera. My Sony TX-10 shot much better video and was totally silent, when the zoom was engaged.
Here is what I'm talking about for video. This camera shoots such bad video, it's unwatchable !
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8HUFzjuBD4

Surprizingly, my 3 year old Sony outperforms this camera in almost every way !

Not to mention the video format is .MOV. This is not compatible with windows. So PC users are out of luck. And you cant change the format. I have to convert all the videos, before editing. Terrible.

November 18, 2013

Guitarkar

Good pictures and video but a major flaw

Quality of underwater pictures is excellent. Its better than the Panasonic Lumix I had purchased a few months earlier which was not bad either. Both cameras work well under water but the Olympus TG-2 pictures are brighter. The video was excellent as well. But there is a major issue with this camera. While taking video if you zoom in/out, the camera records a loud buzzing sound as if the gears are turning. In fact the sound is so loud that it becomes a distraction in playback. So I pretty much stopped using the zoom.

I did send an email to Olympus but they had no response. It's as if they don't even acknowledge the camera has a problem. If they had responded I'd probably give the camera 3 stars or even 4 stars. If they solve my issue, I'd give it 5 stars.

November 09, 2013

Leonard

excellent photos; not tough when the screen scratches so easily

Great camera, but it has two really bad design flaws.

1. first time we used the camera we somehow managed to put a very bad scratch on the LCD screen. We were careful and had it in a soft case but now have a big scratch right across the image viewer. So what is the use of a tough camera if the screen can scratch so easily?

2. Unlike the online photos, it is metallic shiny red - just great for attracting barracuda

October 11, 2013

Michael

perfect camera to carry year round for outdoor pics

Used the TG-2 the past 2 days for fall foliage shots. With a polarize filter attached..took awesome landscape pics. Can't wait to use on our Grand Canyon trip in a few weeks.

October 08, 2013

Dianne

No view Finder makes extreme weather conditions imposible to photograph.

I bought this camera over a year ago. I use it to photograph sports action in Alaska. When the sun is bright or it is raining I can't see a scene, I am lucky to find the horizon. I end up just shooting many shots and hoping to get one good one. Everything else about this camera is perfect. Why no view finder?

I have to take my OM2 on rides, which I can't shoot with while driving my atv. But I have to take this bigger camera so when I stop I can be sure to get at least some good shots. It only takes one flaw like this to make a great camera bad.

October 06, 2013

David

Just one complaint

The two bezels they supplied, one red and one black, were lost in a matter of a month. A better way to lock it in place until you actually wanted to take it off would be nice. Other than that this is my second tough camera and I like it so far.

September 27, 2013

Jessica

Very Satisfied

I purchased the TG-2 iHS specifically for the durability features and waterproof features. Primarily, I have used this camera in the pool, on small boats and general indoor/outdoor settings. The camera has performed well and I have taken wonderful pictures. The video quality is pretty good for a camera. The menus are easy to navigate and there are plenty of filtering options if you like those. The waterproofing instructions seem silly, but I think they are important to maintain the quality of the camera. The only downside so far is that the lens is exposed, so I bought the optional lens adapter which came with a lens cover; problem solved. I also purchased the floating wrist strap and works as one would expect it to. I would recommend this camera to a friend.

September 23, 2013

Donald

Go anywhere do everything camera

I bought the TG-2 iHS to use while kayaking, hiking, biking and traveling. It has proven to be versatile, durable and convenient. I use it much more than I thought I would and generally leave the large DSLR at home in favor of this much smaller and tough Olympus.

The captured photos are of good quality for web based sharing and printing in smaller formats. We shot video in the back country of Alaska and were very pleased with the results using the optional telephoto lens. My experience with underwater shooting has been limited but successful with both still and video shots. I'll try it out in earnest on my next Hawaii vacation.

The menus have been easy to figure out and I have used mostly aperture priority and scene modes with excellent results. I've played with the magic filters and found the results to be entertaining but not really anything comparable to available photo-editing software.

Some have complained about the lack of a lens cover. I've remedied that by attaching the auxiliary lens adapter in place of the trim-ring and then using the auxiliary lens cover with only the adapter ring. Works great! My only complaint with the camera is the trim ring and it's attachment, which is not that secure. It works much better using the adapter ring.

I have recommended friends consider this camera over other similarly priced point and shoots, and if I were to lose it, I would buy another.

September 20, 2013

Thao

DON'T GET THIS CAMERA

I don't know how wonderful it is to other people but it is and has been the worst camera I have ever had. I got this tg2 ihs last march and after 4 months, the screen was broken. I sent it back to olympus to have they check it out for me and it took them 1 month to finally tell me that it's a physical damage and the warranty won't cover it. I would have to pay 138 bucks to get it fix. That is ridiculous, I didn't drop my camera or anything and the screen just got broken by itself. I already paid more than 400 for the camera with all of my trust for Olympus and they just let me down for the first experience with their camera. I will never buy anything from Olympus again. And if you're planning to buy a camera, go to the store and get it. Don't buy it online.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8