February 20, 2014

Natalie

Excellent DSLR Alternative

I have been shooting with a Canon Full Frame as well as an ASP-C body for a few years. However, I was noticing that if I went out with a DSLR I was taking my 5D3 over the 60D. So, I had been contemplating selling the ASP-C camera and EF-S mount lenses for a while. Then, I bought tickets for a concert that the venue prohibits DSLR camera's but you can take interchangeable lens camera's.

I have been following Olympus 4/3 since they came out 4 years ago and have always been impressed with the comments of professional photographers of the PEN system. Therefore, in deciding I wanted something more portable and lighter, I turned to Olympus.

I learned that of the Micro 4/3 selections, Olympus and Panasonic camera's have the best lenses available with a wide range (currently) and best yet...they are interchangeable with each others brand.

I bought the E-PL5 used for a steal ($300 Canadian with 200 shutter count). I figured if I didn't like it, I could resell it and not lose money. Well, I've since fallen in love and bought the VF4 view finder, 45mm 1.8, Panasonic 25mm 1.4 and the Olympus 60mm 2.8 macro/telephoto lenses - all of which still left me with 100.00 extra from trading in my Canon 60D + lenses. I do plan on getting the 17 1.8 from Olympus shortly and then my system is complete.

Will the E-PL5 replace my Canon 5D3 + lenses. No, but it is what I am using more often for my personal use. The Olympus body has IBIS (in body stabilization) which I like. The E-PL5 has the same sensor as the OMD E-M5 and has a very quick AF system. The colour in JPEG's is too red, which has been mentioned but I prefer to shoot in RAW anyway so that is adjustable but something I think Olympus needs to review and improve.

Over all, the system and camera were a pleasant surprise despite my hours of research before I invested into the system. I would HIGHLY recommend this system to someone who is looking into buying a camera. An interchangeable lens micro 4/3 system is definitely the way to go over a P&S.

January 31, 2014

Andras

Small size with good quality

I recently replaced my Cannon Rebel T3i to E-PL5 because a DSLR was too big for me to take everywhere. I got what I expected with the size. I fell in love again with the photography. It's really small. I can bring it without a big bag to anywhere. I bought it with 17mm f1.8 len. I like the quality of the photos.
The weakest points of the cam: - the JPEG photos are too red. Especially in low light. I turned off all the settings which makes the image too red but it didn't help. If you want to get back the same color you need to shot in raw and post-process the images.
-Display doesn't have too big resolution and one part of the display are not used. I really like the touch screen. However at a very sunny day you cannot make manual focus because it's not possible to see whether you are in focus.It would be desired to have at least same resolution as a newer smart phone.For example Samsung S3. You can buy an addition view finder. However If you want to use the screen display it doesn't help.
- Bracketing is not possible to use with self-timer. I hope this will be fixed soon in one of a wireframe update. I needed to by a remote shooter because of this. I love to make HDR photos and the bracketing feature would quick up the work. However I never shot HDR from my hand..
Despite of these weakness I would choose this cam again instead of any DSLR because of the compact size. This is my main priority small size with the possibility to make good quality photos. So, thanks Olympus to have this cam and hope all the weakness which can be fixed by a wireframe update (red colored images, bracketing vs self-timer) will happen soon.

January 29, 2014

John

One tought little camera

I have own this camera for a year as an alternative to my Nikon SLR’s. Although not as quick as the SLR’s it is so very light and compact I seem to carry it around a lot. It takes great photos. Last week I had an accident and the camera fell from the kitchen counter to the porcelain tile floor. I thought I lost it but I picked it up and after playing around with it for a minute it worked fine. No dents – not ever a scratch. Amazing – this is one tough camera. I had the older 14-40mm lens (from my E-PL1 camera) and the Olympus VF-2 Electronic Viewfinder (you have to buy this) attached to the camera – yes they both survived the crash. I also recommend the Metz mecablitz 24AF-1 Digital Flash – It is just the correct size for this small camera.

January 09, 2014

Victor Lee

Excellent image, fast focus, takes great picture with the 45mm f1.8 zuiko lens

I have the EM-5 camera that I like very much. However, I need a second camera body that is lighter and smaller that I can take it with me on casual occasions. The EPL-5 is the perfect solution. It takes beautiful portrait pictures with the 45mm f1.8 lens. The lens and camera combination is perfect in size. The 14-42 lens is pretty small and takes very good quality pictures. Highly recommended.

December 31, 2013

Alisha

Amazing

Amazing camera
It does above and beyond what I expected. I can't find one flaw. The pictures come out amazing. Great job Olympus, this is my first olympus camera and I will be sticking with them. This camera one up's the colour of my Canon Rebel

December 29, 2013

Coyote Joe

Christmas Present To Myself

Rather than getting into the whole history of why I purchased this particular model I am going to stick to the particulars.

First: The camera is solidly built. It has heft without being too heavy, the buttons react with just the right resistance when pushed and when a lens is mounted there is no doubt that a connection has been made. I am of average height and the camera, with the grip added, feels very comfortable in my hands.

Secondly: Although I eventually changed some of the default settings to suit my desire for higher end results, the camera takes very good pictures right out of the box at the default settings (the good...).

Thirdly: To get the most out of this camera, the included full manual is required (the bad...) and, because the camera is almost infinitely adjustable, becoming familiar with the menu system is definitely a requirement (the ugly...).

Believe me when I state that, Olympus has provided a menu system that allows the user to do almost everything but, that flexibility comes at the cost of complexity. I am no novice to digital cameras and, it took me a few frustrating days to get the hang of it.

Finally, as of yet, I have no regrets. The flexibility that the menu system allows was well worth the learning curve.

Oh, one final thing. I did have the opportunity to contact tech support via email (about navigating the menu system) and got a response the same day. Go Olympus!

December 25, 2013

Herbert

Surprisingly great

I bought the PL-5 as a second camera as I already have on OMD E-M5. I am very pleasantly surprised at what a competent and high quality camera it is. The images and image balance are great.
My only suggestion is to add a view finder at a reasonable price.

December 24, 2013

Michael

Excellent camera

I currently own a Nikon Coolpix point and shoot and a Canon T2i DSLR and wanted an in-between camera for the size and quality . Spent lots of time researching and testing before buying the PEN E-PL5. All I can say is that this is quickly becoming my primary camera. I'm getting exceptionally high quality shots in every shooting mode and environment. The features on the PEN E-PL5 are similar to my favorite features on the other two cameras. Learning curve was minimal. PDF manual is adequate but could use some improvements e.g. hard to use index makes it necessary to page through to find what you want. All in all this is a fine camera and I see myself using it often and with pleasure.

December 10, 2013

Raymond

Portable and Fast AF

I just received this camera so I have not been able to utilize all of its features, i.e. have not started to wade through its extensive menu. But using auto and P setting --so far the AF response is very fast--sometimes too fast--kit lens needs to complete focus. Camera is smaller than my Sony Nex 6 but has solid feel--even more solid than the Nex 6 and smaller..Feels and looks like a P&S but it is a DSLR. The kit zoom is okay for now--it is tiny and makes the camera even more portable-- a plus. I like the Oly's zoom mechanics better than the Sony's kit lens--though I think the Sony 16-50 MM zoom is slightly superior in resolution, but Sony Nex 6 's AF is noticeably slower than EPL5. I have no other PEN lenses yet. Would like to get 40-150 ,MM Oly zoom, Panasonic 20 mm or 25 mm sub f/2.0 primes in the future. May give 5 stars after I learn to use more of the camera features.

October 14, 2013

Paul

Great Extra Camera

I started using Olympus cameras with a C-740 Ultra Zoom 3.2mpx.
I moved up to an E-500 8mpx. I started accumulating ED lenses. 14-54 was my first upgrade. I couldn't resist the E-620 which I have used for about a jillion pictures. Last year I got the E-5 and sold my E-500. The E-5 is the ultimate 4/3 system camera. It is however quite large and heavy to carry about so I kept my E-620. I resisted the micro 4/3 cameras because I didn't want to stop using my ED lenses.
Finally I got the E-PL5 16mpx. and discovered that with an adaptor I can use the old lenses from my 35 mm Canon cameras and another adaptor makes it possible to use my existing lenses!!! It works fantastically. I am getting world class photos with a camera that is the same size as my now empty wallet. The picture quality is incredible and with a WiFi SD card you can send pictures to your smartphone.

September 24, 2013

Kevin

Impressed

I enjoy motorcycling as well as photography and bought this camera to replace the Point and Shoot I take with me on the bike.
I had noticed my Olympus VG 160 P and S requires fewer post processing adjustments than my Nikon D5100 so when shopping for a 4/3rd camera I easily looked to Olympus first.
From the moment I opened the box I have been pleased with the EPL5.
It seems to be well built, it functions precisely as one expects it to, and it's shooting results are nothing short of spectacular. I anticipated that I would feel the touch screen functions to be a "gimmick" that I would rarely use, but this camera has made a believer out of me. Ditto the same worry about a lack of viewfinder. Although I have had the camera only 3 weeks, i have shot over 1,500 photos with it and not only am I comfortable shooting at arms length, i use the shutter release only when I am attempting what I consider to be a complex shot. I absolutely LOVE this camera.
There are a few quibbles;
The battery life is marginal at best. Although the camera is physically small, I think battery technology is such that a more efficient one should be employed by Olympus.
The documentation is terrible. There is no reason a company as large as Olympus should produce such inexplicable prose.
I should also note that I never use the camera ... any camera ... for movies; I have no idea how the EPL5 fares in this regard.
Conclusion ? Buy one

August 29, 2013

MarcoMarks

Spreading the Word About An Industry Overlooked Jewel

I do residential real estate photography and wanted to get into HDR but almost all dSLRs only do auto bracketing of 3 or 5 frames (unless you exceed $1500 for a Canon body) .

The dynamic range of a living room with a wall of bright outdoor light coming through windows just can't be captured with 3 frames - 5 frames many times will fail as well. Result - blown out windows or dark rooms - requiring extensive post editing to salvage the shots.

I wanted 7 frame bracketing even if each frame was only +- 1EV which would offer a 6 EV range. I searched the Internet daily for a month to find any camera I could afford to achieve that goal. Yes, I'm aware you could do two overlapping 3 EV brackets but I don't have time to screw around with something like that when shooting a $3 million home.

Apparently reviewers don't care about extreme bracketing and sometimes don't even mention bracketing at all because they're too busy jabbering on about how good the video output is for two or more pages.

I read somewhere that the Olympus PEN E-PL5 has 7-frame auto-bracketing and I finally found just one reviewer who mentioned that it has a specialized HDR-bracketing function of 7 frames at +- 2EV which is astounding. A 12EV range!!! His snide comment was, "Why would Olympus even bother?" My answer is - For ME and multi-thousands of real estate photographers who do what I do! Yes, 12EV auto-bracketing is excessive for shooting a mountain, rusty old truck, or a collapsing old barn, but it's absolutely perfect for specific fields of work where you need excessive range. Olympus didn't have to add that feature in this price range but they did - while no other manufacturer even tries to serve this market until you get into the big buck models.

I bought the camera this month, bought an inexpensive Olympus .75X converter add-on to take the 14mm end of the kit zoom down to 11mm, and got a remote control from eBay. After getting the three items in last week and reading the full manual (available online and on the CD that comes with the camera) several times (the manual really needs to be re-written), I took my new baby out for some exterior shots when I did a real estate shoot on Saturday. I did the interior with my dSLR. The exteriors were very natural color so I pumped up saturation in post.

Today I got bold and tripod-mounted the Olympus PEN rig on my tripod and shot all of a $500,000 12th-floor condo in 7-frame HDR auto-bracketing using the remote control. I took my dSLR and flashes along and shot the place with it too - just in case.

I found out Saturday that the kit lens is superior to all the Minolta, Sony, and Sigma lenses I have for my Sony dSLR. I found out Sunday when I took the E-PL5 with me to a Chinese Buffet and shot my wife and 3 year old son across the table from me that the image quality of the 4/3 sensor and the pure daylight color of the flash are perfect. Last night I shot head and shoulders of my son for passport pictures and they were so good I had one enlarged to 8X10 today and framed it. This morning I shot 217 frames of 7-frame HDR auto-brackets (31 compositions) with aperture priority mode, in very difficult lighting circumstances at the condo mentioned above, and the results are breath-taking.

Instead of spending six hours trying to fix my flash-based dSLR single frames in post-editing after the shoot, I just put all in one folder on my PC, told Photomatix to bulk "fusion merge" them in groups of 7, and took a nap! When I got up I touched each one up a little and resized them to the size my employer requires, uploaded them, and I'm done!

The E-PL5 is going to save me 3.5 to 4 hours per assignment because now I can just touch up the fusion results instead of doing battle with two software packages until my eyes fall out from staring at the monitor.

The E-PL5 has clearly superior image quality that rivals any crop sensor dSLR output I've seen, so my results are far better.

The E-PL5 is built like a little tank and even the kit lens feels smooth like it's much more expensive than it is. When you push the shutter button you hear a solid and smooth action going on inside that is reminiscent of FAR more expensive German cameras.

This model is worth FAR more than the $599 to me in what I do. It's a steal, top quality, and very versatile for customizing every button and dial by digging down into the menu system. You can shoot P, A, S, or M. Or you can just put it on i-AUTO and let it do everything. It has a pretty extensive "Scene" mode (SCN) that I'm going to dabble with this weekend when I do a family portrait session for a realtor I work with regularly. I'm betting that will be excellent as well.

The only negative is that the E-PL5 is so small that it doesn't look like a camera that a "professional" would use. It looks like a sturdy almost-pocket-sized point & shoot instead of a big hunk of "pro" gear. Sticking a big Guide Number 140 flash in the hot shoe would look absurd so I'd probably put it on an arm attachment instead. That image might bother some shooters but I don't care at all because this is the ultimate camera for my needs. It saved me a ton of money, cut my post editing time by 60%, and that's while it doubled the quality of my real estate work immediately.

If there was a rating of 10, I'd use it!

August 03, 2013

Skitnick

Diving?

After a TON of research I chose the E-PL5. My criteria limited the options – I wanted a single use compact camera for dive vacations. It had to be small, take exceptional pictures and have interchangeable lenses. No other camera on the market does a very good job covering all of those bases. While I have yet to dive with the camera the land pictures I’ve taken have come out great – there are plenty of lenses to choose from too. I considered the OM-D but the size was a concern. I plan to dump my Nikon DSLR and purchase the OM-D due to my experience with the PL5. I wish the camera came with a view finder – shooting in bright sun is a problem – if you’re not concerned with the size I would recommend going for the OM-D since the price is the same after you purchase the add on view finder for $250. Many reviews point out the documentation for this camera sucks – I found this to be true – there are many references to pages that don’t exist. I would have never expected to purchase an Olympus prior to my research but my criteria dictated the decision without regard to brand preferences. Bottom line – this is an exceptional camera with tons of options in a sexy form factor that takes great pictures.

July 28, 2013

Edward

Very good camera

I own both the Epl1 and the Epl5. The 1 is better to hold and feels better in the hand due to the bigger grip and metal body. I wish the 5 had the 1 body and pop-up flash. That said, the 5 is a blast to use. I love the touchscreen focus and shoot via finger tap. The focus speed has to be seen to be believed. Picture quality is superb with the Pany 20mm or Oly 45mm. Color rendition is great. I use the electronic viewfinder so I tend to use the 1 inside at family events where I may need the pop up flash with a Gerry Fong puffer diffuser as I get better results. Outside I use the 5 due to the faster speeds available and way quicker focus and shoot times. I bought this on sale from Olympus for $499 with a case, very small tripod and 4 gb card. Overall I think this is one great camera to own!

July 19, 2013

Quartz

Excellent Performer

I have used Olympus cameras starting with the E-510, E-3 and E-PL1 and own several lenses. The E-PL5 is a game changer. It has the best image quality of all the Olympus cameras I own. The dynamic range, focusing speed, resolution are all excellent; the size and weight are just perfect, I took me a while before I could fully transition from the "full size" E-3 to the pen series, but today this is the camera I use for all my photography.

July 10, 2013

Tom

First olympus

Decided to break away from Nikon and Canon and try the Olympus PenE-PL5 with the kit lens and the 75 to 300 zoom lens.
Was on a boat trip in Northern British Columbia where we were swarmed by bald eagles. Main trouble was panning quickly enough to catch the birds at particular moments of flight with the zoom lens. Very quick to focus and shoot multiple frames.Light weight.Rather small buttons for large male fingers.Sharp and always good exposure in automatic.Will just have to keep practising on those swooping birds and using the touch screen to click.Very satisfied.

June 23, 2013

Mike

Awesome!

I am a novice when it comes to cameras, digital or otherwise. All of the other reviews, seemed to be speaking French, at least for a novice, like me. So I decided it would be a good idea for me to write a review from the "novice" perspective.

First of all, there is a website, http://www.digicamguides.com/learn/digital-camera-terms.html, that helped me to understand, more clearly, the camera terms that I was running into. With that "under my belt" I was able to move on. Let's face it, if you know what is being said, but don't clearly understand, it is guesswork.

With that said, to the camera. I have had it for a month, and, so far, I love it! I am learning so much. It will do exactly what I want it to do, all by itself, in the iAUTO mode. I enjoy immensely, taking pictures of landscapes, so I am especially fond of it's panoramic feature, in the SCN mode. I am just beginning, but this camera seems to have all of the features that I will ever need. One more thing, I love the ability to change lenses. Obviously, it makes the ,camera more versatile. If I should "run into something" I wish to do in the future, I have no concerns, at least not yet!

Happy Shooting!

June 05, 2013

ParrySights

Wow, something special.

Picked up this little beauty over the weekend and have had a chance to work with it. (FYI, I typically shoot Nikon D600, D3200. Formerly shot OM-1 and OM-2 with film.)
This is mostly a replacement for a Canon point and shoot (SX260) that has developed dust motes on the sensor and isn't user cleanable. This should not be a problem with the E-PL5 using a dedicated sensor brush.

So far it has exceeded my expectations. The image quality is very good (14-42 lens) in RAW, and the touchscreen makes it easy to operate. There really is nothing I am missing in comparison with the Nikon, except for the viewfinder, but the articulating screen makes up for it.

The size is small enough to easily carry (although I wish it would fit in a pocket). I'm looking forward to attaching some of my old Olympus equipment (Zuiko lenses and bellows). I have an adapter for my older Nikon equipment that will let me reach out an effective focal length of 600 mm (f 5.6). I'll need to worry about the connection but it manual focuses and auto exposes nicely using the aperture setting.

And of course it feels much like my old OM-1 and OM-2 which were something special. I have been very pleased with the E-PL5 to date. Small, great image quality and a bargain.

June 04, 2013

Garrett

Excellent Stills. Ok Movies.

As a stills camera, this camera is fantastic. As for video, I don't know why Olympus refuses to include 24p or a greater-than 20Mbps bit-rate on the E-PL5, OM-D, or even the upcoming E-P5.

May 11, 2013

Thomas

Compact OM-D on a budget

Superb camera in a compact package. Does most of what the OM-D does, just in a much more compact and less expensive package.

Here is what's missing compared to the OM-D: built-in viewfinder, weather sealing, and IBIS. Still does IS. However, the camera has the same excellent sensor as the OM-D.

I use it with the larger grip and the VF-2. Wonderful for low angle photography.

Fantastic bargain!

April 10, 2013

Glenn

just how cool this camera is

The E-PL5 is truly a contender with a know out ability to capture a moment as you travel. No one notices the camera. BUt with the right Lens from Olympus like the 35mm f 1.8. You can go into the low light an bright light realm and shoot quicker and bag more frames than someone with a big full frame. I just got back from Holy Week in Antigua Guatemala .

March 17, 2013

Ping

Great value Camera.

I sold my Nikon D50, lens & flash, I was looking at replacening with the Sony Nex 5 or the Fuji EX 100. I wasn't even considering any Olympus product. After reading the review I began to think that the ELP 5 was a great deal. The improvement over the Nikon D50 is amazing. For $599 a great deal.