June 24, 2015

Marshall

Cost Effective

I started with a 14-42mm kit lens and this lens made a great addition to my range of focal lengths. Its performance-to-price ratio is fantastic, and the 40-150mm zoom range is very useful in most settings.

Since this lens is inexpensive, it has to sacrifice certain attributes. The maximum f4.0-5.6 aperture can be an issue in some situations, and the image isn't maximally sharp at all zoom levels. As others have said, it can be soft when zoomed all the way out to 150mm.

June 23, 2015

Mark

Great lens for the price!

I picked this lens up on sale. For what I paid it is outstanding. It only softens when you are zoomed to 150mm and even then it is not terrible. It weighs next to nothing and is quite compact considering the zoom range.
Some drawbacks are
1. Plastic lens mount
2. Does not include lens hood.
There is a bit of CA but not obnoxious. All in all it is well worth the money I spent.

June 20, 2015

Eliska

Great value

This is a surprisingly good lens. It arrived in great packaging. It offers great zoom and sharpness is decent, present even on the long end of the zoom. The lens is also sturdy so far and easy to use. I will definitely continue using it. Of course, it is not as good as its DSLR counterparts, but for the price and size and weight, it is very good quality image.

June 06, 2015

Mustafa

Nice for the price

This won't be the definite solution for zooming into the moon or any object in the sky, but it does a good job of being small as a fist and quite light to the point I attached a mini-tripod to my epl5 with this lens, pointed it to the side where the 2 legs are open, maxed the zooming, and it did not tip over (unless it was pointing downwards). In other words, it is quite easy to handle even at maximum zooming. The images aren't super sharp but are more than you expect from a $99-$199 zoom lens.

Note: I did not purchase a macro extension lens for this lens yet, but the mcon-p01 seems like an excellent add-on to this lens.according to ephotozine:
http://www.ephotozine.com/article/olympus-pen-converter-lenses-tested-16886

May 30, 2015

BnKS

Great Lens for the Price

As a beginner, this lens has been fun to learn with my E-PM2. The photos are very sharp and focus is quick. The lens is very lightweight and has good range. However, as other reviewers have mentioned, it does seem to get a bit "soft" after 100mm. This may be overcome the more I learn how to use the multifocus option on my camera. Overall, the M.Zuiko ED 40-150mm is a great lens for the price.

May 24, 2015

Tomato

For the price, excellent.

If you are on a budget, this lens is a no brainer. Performs excellently in bright sunlit environment, although at the longest focal lengths it may soften the image a bit. Chromatic aberration is there, but only noticeable in torturing high contrast scenarios. Both MF ring and focal length adjustment is smooth to operate, and despite its plastic construction, it feels solid when handling.

May 21, 2015

Anthony

A good inexpensive lens

I jumped at the chance to test this lens when it went on sale. The worst situation would have been if I didn't like the lens. I would send it back. I was taken back.

My first impression of the lens was ,"Boy this is a very light lens". I thought it must have VERY LITTLE glass inside. My expectations were, less then apprehensable . I took it outside with my E-M1 and took a few pictures. I did notice that it is much slower focusing then my M.Zuiko ED 12-40mm f2.8 PRO. That is understandable. The images in my opinion were very acceptable, the color was rich, I did not feel that it's razor sharp. I did not feel that it's a good indoor lens. For the price, this is an excellent digital lens for a good price.

April 06, 2015

Hank

Cheap, and awesome? Really?

I bought a E-M10 kit recently, that included this lens. My intent was to sell it off to help fund other lens and accessory purchases. I decided to try it out before I did that, and boy, am I glad I did!

It delivers the same punchy colors as the 12-40/f2.8 PRO, which shocked me. Yes, it is really cheaply made, but it's a feather for a telephoto that covers 80-300mm (35mm equivalent).

It's nice and sharp through 100mm (200mm 35mm equivalent). At 150mm, it's a bit softer, but I'm not sure if that's because IBIS can't compensate, or if it is the lens optics.

Needless to say, this lens stays in my kit at all times. I'm glad I gave it a chance, and I'm glad Olympus has given us such a great lens at the bottom end of the price spectrum.

April 03, 2015

Martin

Impressive for the price

It really knocked me down the moment I did some sharpness tests on this lens. I had another similar zoom, which I thought was sharp enough, but comparing it with the 40-150, I was amazed how incredibly sharp and contrasty the images resulted. Is also very light. Only downsides, at least for me, is that does not come with a lens hood, but at this price range, I'm ok with it. Also the filter thread is 58mm, I would have preferred to be a standard 52mm. Although, I fixed that with a step down ring, which being a tele zoom, does not vignette at all. It has a plastic mount, but that doesn't seem to matter in quality. Overall a stellar performer, highly recommended for the budget minded.
I'd love to see more of this kind of products from Olympus.

March 28, 2015

Daniel

A telephoto option at low cost with good results

If you are looking for a telephoto option that is giving a similar performance compare to the M.14-42mmII R kit lens this is the obvious choice.
No discussion in term of economic (price) point of view. But what about the photo evaluation?
First it is a very light lens easy to carry everywhere. Construction is fine and tied mounted. Zoom and focus controls are large considering the overall size of the lens. At its maximum length the lens expand for the double of its initial size. Balance is on the camera side which means you have to hold it tightly to prevent shake movement.
It is a slow lens that will crank up you camera ISO and alter your picture quality in low light condition. But in good and outdoor lightning condition it performs very well.
Doing portrait especially at 150mm setting is very interesting and give you a very narrow creative deep of field.
For the money and occasional convenience the M.40-150mm R is a winner.
P.s. If you are looking for a faster alternative you can turn yourself to the M.45mm f1.8 option.

March 25, 2015

jake

great zoom

Amazing lens for the price! Its inexpensive yet gives great quality, also has a great range!

March 24, 2015

Jstoner

A cost effective lens for the E-M1

I purchase this lens for my E-M1 and I'm really please with its pictures. I have been using my old lens from my evolt 300 and 620 with the adapter. The focus was a little slow on these lens but the micro ed 40-150mm was great.

February 02, 2015

Gary

Good bang for the buck, I hope

I purchased this lens directly from Olympus January 25, 2015 when the price was dropped to $120 from $200. My standard 14-42mm kit zoom lens failed at 18 months immediately following a firmware update, so I'm hoping to get more longevity from this version. I've had it just a week, but so far, so good. It appears sharp enough for what I need. Be wary of doing any lens updates!

----

Note from Olympus:
Sorry to hear about your experience with the M.14-42mm kit lens. Is this something that you have contacted us about previously? We would like to learn more about what happened with this lens. Feel free to contact us at 1-888-553-4448 (M-F 9am to 9pm).

January 25, 2015

sylvia

Good lens

I use it to take shots of birds in my backyard, I notice when I zoom in there is a blur in the background. I really enjoy this lens.

June 20, 2014

Joel

Fantastic value!

At the beginning I had doubts because of the price. Well, this fits the bill, an inexpensive lens I could take to sporting events that I can't afford to bring a high end lens to. For snapshots, this lens is good enough.

Took it to a dirt bike race in the desert (lots of dust) and got many nice shots of the action. Dirt bike magazine wasn't there but looking for some pics for their magazine. My name came and they picked one of my pics. This has great details and good actions. Wow, proud to see it on the May 2014 issue with my name (credit) on the side.

March 26, 2014

Antoni

Useful telephoto range, high chromatic aberration

This is a very useful range (80-300 equivalent), but the chromatic aberration is very high, does not seem to be corrected in the software (EPM2), unlike my compact zoom (1/1.7 sensor size). Surprisingly the quality of the pictures is similar, slightly better in Olympus, but chromatic aberration is a big issue for me. show us at both short (40mm) and long (150 mm) end of the range.

October 12, 2013

Quentin

Very Pleased with performance and price

I purchased this lens on sale before a trip and used it as much as the kit lens on my E-PL1. Impressed with the zoom that it provided and excellent image quality. I'm very happy with this lens!

October 11, 2013

Kenneth

this is an excellent lens

Get this on sale now and you will not be sorry . I have made some really sharp images at all focal lengths using this lens...for this low cost zoom this is an amazingly good value...this is great for macro work as well...put your camera on a tripod...add some extension tubes...and your results will blow you away...I get a pleasing bokeh with this and I like the specular highlights that this produces much better than that of the 60mm 2.8...I am very pleased with this ...and on sale it is even better...do not let the low cost make you think low quality...because it is not

June 09, 2013

Virginia Reader

Excellent surprise

I assumed that a $200 40-150 zoom was likely to be quite soft -- I grew up in an era when the Nikon original 43-86 zoom was a soft workhorse. But in fact the little Oly is respectably sharp at all focal lengths. I have a tendency to shoot it stopped down one stop or wide open, and often go to the full 150mm zoom, and I'm judging on that basis. I judge image quality by looking at a 100% zoom on a 24-25" class flat-screen monitor. When I'm steady, this lens is sharp to the pixel at 40- to around 80mm, and no worse than 2 pixels at full zoom.

The lens is very light weight, which I find distinctly appealing. Every time somebody tells me you can't make something as precise and rugged out of modern composites, I mumble something to the effect of B-2 Stealth Bomber (air frame entirely of composites). You can do it, and I think Olympus did!

I'm sure Olympus could put its optical prowess into an f/2.8 constant aperture 40-150 zoom, and it would be sharper at f/4.0 than this zoom is. I also couldn't afford it or carry it. For its purpose and price, the current M.Zuiko 40-150R is a a fine lens.

I reserve my five-star ratings for lenses which are truly extraordinary -- say the Leica 35 mm Summicron that I frequently use on my OM-D E-M5 in low light. Hence 4 stars for this M.Zuiko.

May 31, 2013

Thian Sung

Great zoom lens

A great zoom lens, light and sharp. My only wish is that the zooming be smooth, maybe it is new and the zooming ring is tight fitting, you really have to twist it harder, just got the item on May 27th 2013.

April 21, 2013

paul

Excellent Lens

I had read the reviews of this lens and was somewhat sceptical, I got the lens on sale from Olympus for $149. This lens is fantastic value,
small light weight , very sharp. I am very happy with this lens. I have it on My E-PL5 which is another Olympus product I am very happy with.

April 05, 2013

Peter

Excellent lens for portraits and distance shooting

This is a super lens for almost any type of shooting. It is light, compact, and has an excellent telephoto range.

You can shoot very nice portraits at the short end with decent background separation. The edges are very sharp at the short end and only slightly fall off at the far end. The centre of the frame is always very sharp throughout the zoom range.

The focusing is extremely fast and near silent. This is a super companion to the stock 14-42mm kit lens on most PEN cameras.

For the price there isn't a lens out there that can match the performance and quality of this lens.