March 26, 2014

Antoni

Usefu telephoto range, high chromatic aberration

This is a very useful range (80-300 equivalent), but the chromatic aberration is very high, does not seem to be corrected in the software (EPM2), unlike my compact zoom (1/1.7 sensor size). Surprisingly the quality of the pictures is similar, slightly better in Olympus, but chromatic aberration is a big issue for me. show us at both short (40mm) and long (150 mm) end of the range.

October 12, 2013

Quentin

Very Pleased with performance and price

I purchased this lens on sale before a trip and used it as much as the kit lens on my E-PL1. Impressed with the zoom that it provided and excellent image quality. I'm very happy with this lens!

October 11, 2013

Kenneth

this is an excellent lens

Get this on sale now and you will not be sorry . I have made some really sharp images at all focal lengths using this lens...for this low cost zoom this is an amazingly good value...this is great for macro work as well...put your camera on a tripod...add some extension tubes...and your results will blow you away...I get a pleasing bokeh with this and I like the specular highlights that this produces much better than that of the 60mm 2.8...I am very pleased with this ...and on sale it is even better...do not let the low cost make you think low quality...because it is not

June 09, 2013

Virginia Reader

Excellent surprise

I assumed that a $200 40-150 zoom was likely to be quite soft -- I grew up in an era when the Nikon original 43-86 zoom was a soft workhorse. But in fact the little Oly is respectably sharp at all focal lengths. I have a tendency to shoot it stopped down one stop or wide open, and often go to the full 150mm zoom, and I'm judging on that basis. I judge image quality by looking at a 100% zoom on a 24-25" class flat-screen monitor. When I'm steady, this lens is sharp to the pixel at 40- to around 80mm, and no worse than 2 pixels at full zoom.

The lens is very light weight, which I find distinctly appealing. Every time somebody tells me you can't make something as precise and rugged out of modern composites, I mumble something to the effect of B-2 Stealth Bomber (air frame entirely of composites). You can do it, and I think Olympus did!

I'm sure Olympus could put its optical prowess into an f/2.8 constant aperture 40-150 zoom, and it would be sharper at f/4.0 than this zoom is. I also couldn't afford it or carry it. For its purpose and price, the current M.Zuiko 40-150R is a a fine lens.

I reserve my five-star ratings for lenses which are truly extraordinary -- say the Leica 35 mm Summicron that I frequently use on my OM-D E-M5 in low light. Hence 4 stars for this M.Zuiko.

May 31, 2013

Thian Sung

Great zoom lens

A great zoom lens, light and sharp. My only wish is that the zooming be smooth, maybe it is new and the zooming ring is tight fitting, you really have to twist it harder, just got the item on May 27th 2013.

April 21, 2013

paul

Excellent Lens

I had read the reviews of this lens and was somewhat sceptical, I got the lens on sale from Olympus for $149. This lens is fantastic value,
small light weight , very sharp. I am very happy with this lens. I have it on My E-PL5 which is another Olympus product I am very happy with.

April 05, 2013

Peter

Excellent lens for portraits and distance shooting

This is a super lens for almost any type of shooting. It is light, compact, and has an excellent telephoto range.

You can shoot very nice portraits at the short end with decent background separation. The edges are very sharp at the short end and only slightly fall off at the far end. The centre of the frame is always very sharp throughout the zoom range.

The focusing is extremely fast and near silent. This is a super companion to the stock 14-42mm kit lens on most PEN cameras.

For the price there isn't a lens out there that can match the performance and quality of this lens.