View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. 11

August 12, 2013

Kelsey

Excellent camera but with part quality problems

I recently got this camera this past Christmas and it's been wonderful. I had previously only worked with film, so my main goal was a small package with a big punch without losing quality.
I got the black system with the 14-42 weather proof kit lens (unfortunately there are no other weather proof lenses...)
PROS
-The camera body and lens themselves feel very solid and sturdy, and the camera is a joy to hold and use.
-The image quality is fantastic, suitable for anywhere to blinding light (beaches), hiking, portraiture, through to night scenes (cities, concerts etc.)
-I find myself using the touchscreen all the time to assist with tricky focusing and the like.
-The viewfinder was also a must have, coming from film, and although evf cannot compare to an old school full frame optical, this one does very well.
-I have previously read some complaints about the cameras navigation buttons being mushy, and they do have some merit. You more or less need to actually push the button instead of a light touch, but I actually like it. It cuts down on accidentally pushing the wrong one and I personally just like it.
-In addition, I had also heard that the menus were very confusing to navigate and the operating system was finicky, but I have found the opposite. The system is logical to work through and is highly, highly customizable. I am really happy with how easy it is for me to use, and the settings dial is great.
-Last but not least is the body itself. I'm so so pleased with how small and compact it is, and had been perfect for travelling. Its weathered being left out in the rain, beach sand, and generally being rough handled.
That being said, there's a big BUT.

CONS
Although I commend its small frame and weather durability, I'm EXTREMELY disappointed and displeased with the quality of the little parts. I've not even had this camera for a year yet, but I'm already having parts falling off and disappearing.
-The main top dial up and decided to pop off in June after threatening to for weeks. I have since been unable to find a way to put it back on without superglue (which I'd rather not do).
-Second, the battery has been performing less than I'd expected, lasting only a handful of hours in a day of moderate shooting at best. I don't feel free to pull it out at anytime because the battery dies so quickly. This is frustrating when I'm travelling, as I have little time to charge my battery when it needs to be performing.
-Thirdly is the paint on the body. I have an all black system and was very shocked to find the paint already worn away at the top of the viewfinder, around the hot shoe.
-Lastly, and most recently, the eyecup has decided to abandon ship. Before it had also threatened to pop right off, and after a day of heavy shooting, today it's gone. Support said that the eyecup was an "accessory", and that I would need to pay for their faulty craftsmanship.
Bottom line is: I paid way too much for this level and amount of problems.

FINAL
All this together is frustrating, but overall I still love my camera. It's compactness cannot be rivaled anywhere, and it delivers excellent pictures in every situation. Fantastic to use discreetly and casually as well as with intention, and it's perfect for travel.
Overall, I love this camera and, with one or two reservations, would highly recommend it.

August 09, 2013

Greg

I don't reach for anything else

I am not a tech guy. When I get around other photographers who start throwing out numbers and letters about cameras and lens, I rarely know what they're talking about. But I don't care. I know I have the best camera for me. I love this OM-D. It fits well in my hands, it feels great in my hands, its small enough to be discreet on the street yet powerful enough to shoot at a concert. The colors are insanely beautiful and the images are crisp and clean. I've read reviews of the OM-D being called the #1 camera of 2012 and I agree. I don't recall the last time I reached for my DSLR. I reach for the OM-D and am happy I do.

August 03, 2013

Glen

A great upgrade from my e-520 and E-P2, but with a few minor issues

Having owned none other than Olympus cameras since my first 35 mm SLR back in 1978, I happily "went digital" in 2007 and bought the e-520 ... now am happy to keep it around as my backup. The E-P2 (bought in 2010 or 2011?) and I never quite "clicked" ... focus speed was a concern right from the start, and the lack of a built-in viewfinder was a hassle, despite my having the VF-2 (do not like that it lacks a locking mechanism, and have had it fall off the camera twice).

Bought the E-M5 only a couple of weeks ago, and have been having a blast getting to know it. My only concerns thus far are as follows:
- Occasional problems using my older 4/3 lenses, though overall the compatibility has been pretty decent. I never did have the budget for any of the top-of-the-line glass for the e-520, but so far the 9-18, 14-54 II, 50 macro, and 70-300 have been working pretty well on the E-M5. In the middle of shooting yesterday with the 70-300, everything seemed to just lock up until I put the 12-50 kit lens on, took a few shots, and then put the 70-300 back on.
- The optional HLD-6P is the single accessory that absolutely sold me on getting the E-M5. Without it I found it just a bit too small for my hands. The first part of the HLD-6P, adding just an extra grip, would be permanently super-glued to the body if only there was a side access of some kind for the battery in the body. Adding the bottom portion of the grip makes for an extremely firm and reliable grip, and I like the extra mass from the perspective of steadying the camera. Just today finally ran down the battery in the grip, after more than 1,000 shots, which blew me away. Only concern with the grip is the ergonomics of the controls for shooting with the camera vertical ... the placement of buttons and dials is not quite "up to snuff" in my opinion, but perhaps I will get used to the arrangement over time.

Overall, no regrets thus far. Having to go back to the store to pick up a lens hood for the 12-50 kit lens was a bit of a hassle, though I guess I should have known better after the 14-42 kit lens on the E-P2 not coming with a hood ... every other Olympus lens I have bought has come with the matched hood, which has always been a very small but still important point in my liking Olympus over other brands.

July 21, 2013

Seaton

Extra fun camera

I am having a great time with my E-M5. There is so much it can do and I've only scratched the surface. But even with my limited knowledge I've taken some great pictures. It's going to be a great adventure.

July 19, 2013

JD

Great, little, camera

Probably the best m4/3 camera on the market.

+'s: size, image quality, body construction/design, iso handling is not bad at all considering the small sensor size, wide variety affordable lens, dust/humidity proof, EVF

-'s: menu's UI, I don't know if this is the case for all mirrorless but comparing to DSLR the body tends to heat after a while: this could be an issue if you're planning to do timelapse/long exposures.

July 12, 2013

D.L. Moonitz

Beginning to Feel Like a Photographer

I've owned this camera for a month and snapped over 500 photos from people backlit by windows to the top side of Cumulonimbus clouds from an airplane to active kids and leaping dogs. As I work with and learn the software, its features and options I am feeling increasingly empowered to resolve more photographic challenges than ever before with other cameras. The camera feels solid and well made and I am looking forward to many years of trouble-free operation.

June 17, 2013

John

FROM OM 1 TO OM-D THE BEST CAMERA SYSTEM

I HAD THE E-5 BUT NOW THAT I TRAVEL A LOT MORE I WANTED A LIGHTER CAMERA SYSTEM THAT WOULD PERFORM WITH THE SAME IMAGE QUALITY AS THE LENSE ON THE E-5.THE OLYMPUS TEC REP WAS AT A B&H EVENT AND LET ME TRY THE OM-D AND I WAS SOLD . IT TOOK A LITTLE TIME TO ADJUST TO THE MENU SET UP AND FEEL IN MY HAND .I LIKE THE IMAGES
THEY ARE AS GOOD OR BETTER THAN I HOPED FOR IN THE FIRST THREE DAYS I TOOK OVER A THOUSAND IMAGES USING
ALL THE SHOOTING TECHNIQUES I LIKE TO USE AND THE PERFORMANCE OF THE CAMERA WAS PERFECT.

May 27, 2013

Frank

Great system, very compact.

Recent trip, used the 12-50mm lens for most purposes, with limited use of the 40-150, and the Panasonic 100-300. Very good images, shot highest quality JPEG and many in RAW format as well. Edit in Lightroom and Aperture, both handle them well. Very fast focus with 12-50mm but telephotos spent a bit more time searching. Good battery life, but charging was a bit slower than I expected, (using Canon system recently.) I am very happy with system and the small size is SO GREAT.

May 25, 2013

Richard

The best camera I have owned

The E-M5 is small in size but packed with useful features. Equipped with a 17mm or 45mm prime lens it makes a great street camera. With the optional grip it remains light in weight but is comfortable to handhold with longer lenses. The focusing is as fast as anything I have used. The stabilization works extremely well, allowing longer shutter speeds and almost perfect hand-held video. The four presets are great for quickly changing shooting modes. All in all it is a truly great camera.

May 23, 2013

Bob

Excellent Camera--Excellent service

I started with Olympus with the 2020 and after a 3030 and a 5050 (which I still use), I have had a E500, 510, and 520. I moved up to E-5-a great camera. When the EM-5 came out I received the first one in my area in May 2012. Olympus shipped the EM5 overnight express (at their expense) when I told a service representative I was leaving on a photo before the camera would arrive by ground as I had ordered. Her name was Elizabeth. I am more than delighted with this camera. I carry it with the following lenses in a messenger bag: 12mm, 20mm, 45mm, 12-50mm, and a 75-300mm. I also carry two flash units, battery chargers, and 3 spare batteries, etc. The total weight is 6.25 lbs. The E-5 with similar range of lenses weighed in at 19 lbs. My friends carry over 40 to match my range of lenses. Who could ask for more. Wonderful pictures, small (and light) and a pleasure to use. Thank you Olympus.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. 11