View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10

October 11, 2013

Vashni

Love the E-M5

I have a P-3 and a PL-3 and XZ 2 and 1. I was going to get a APC camera, but after reading the reviews on M5, I decided to get it and so far very satisfied even though had it less than week. I heard about the new M 1, but could not afford to get it. Looking forward to the new lens 12-40 2.8. Also want the 60 macro. But been very happy with Olympus cameras.

October 11, 2013

Jean-Guy

From carrying my labrador on my back to carrying my mini poodle in my hands.

You guested it, I was tiered on all my trips to carry my Canon 5D Mark II, my 17-40 L and my 70-300 L. Walking for 4 to 5 hours a day with all that stuff was exhausting for a 68 year old.
But I was not ready to give up on quality.
I eared on Québecphoto site about the OM-D E-M5, and how happy was the professional photographers who used it.
They where right. I love everything about this camera. I bought the kit with the 12-50 and the 65-300.
The stabiliser is unbelievable.

October 10, 2013

Tony

Great Camera

I am switching over from a Canon full frame system and I absolutely love this camera. I was a little worried that the image quality wasn't going to be as good as my Canon system. I have only had for two weeks but JPEG's out of the camera are amazing. The ability to customize the camera to fit your shooting style is unbelievable and the reason I switched over in the first place was the size. My only complaint has to be that the controls are a little cramped but I am sure I will get used to it or customize the layout to resolve that issue.

October 02, 2013

Mark

Best New Camera

Shooting pictures over the course of the past several weeks has been amazing. The camera build quality is exceptional, the picture quality is top notch (better than my old Nikon D90), the image stablization system is second to none, and the speed can't be matched. Special effects such as Art Mode and Scene Mode offer a tremendous opportunity to be creative, and both the panorama and 3d settings work beautifully.
This camera is the best so far, transportable, light, easy to use, intuitive in all aspects, and the packaged software is about as good as it gets.

September 20, 2013

sem_pro

POOR BUILD QUALITY AND POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

The basic functionality and idea of this camera is outstanding. However, it falls short in several critical areas:

Pros:
1) Fairly small
2) Lightweight for quality
3) Many features
4) Excellent in low light and high quality photos most of time

Cons:
1) Definitely not user friendly when it comes to the menu and functions.
2) Randomly does not power off when switched off. There are other folks who've complained about this on the forums and I have a friend with the same issue.
3) Hot shoe cover falls off easily leaving the camera exposed. I've replaced 3 so far.
4) Eyecup falls off easily leaving the viewfinder exposed to scratches and allowing light in when it shouldn't.
5) Non-standard plug
6) Very limited on a customizable timer.
7) No wireless remote available
8) Non-standard connection for wired remote,
9) Paint wears off much easier than similarly priced cameras.
10) Cannot be used easily with purchasing an additional pricey grip, which must be removed in order to recharge battery. They could opt to sell a less expensive grip without all the fancy buttons and features, but they don't.
11) Customer service is terrible. When I called about the eyecup that mysteriously disappeared after just a few uses, they insisted I mail in the camera. There are many others complaining about this on the forums, so it is clearly a design issue. Mailing it in takes time and money. I think they required this just to discourage people from asking for replacements.

September 15, 2013

Andre

High-performance, compact, all-purpose and great looking digital camera

i bought my E-M5 in April and made a few thousand shots with it so far. i had already a 14-150mm zoom from my previous epl-1, and the E-M5/14mm-150mm combination is as perfect as it gets. The two together are still a compact system that can take sharp pictures in situations where your own eye is missing some of the details. Colors are excellent.
As i was on vacation in France in July, i was not envying owners of heavy DSLRs with large, cumbersome light-grey lenses (hint, hint..) who looked so proud of themselves. Come on .. that's so 2008. Photography is finally moving to high-quality, light weight equipment that achieves the most important advantage: you can have a camera with you - and and excellent one - when the picture moment happens. The EM-5/14mm-150mm is a great example of such system.
oh .. and why did i pick the Olympus over a NEX-something or a Lumix? Because it is a great looking design. let's face it. in 6 months, 6 or more cameras will be so much better. At least i will enjoy holding a nice looking piece of hardware for a long time.

September 15, 2013

Andre

High-performance, compact, all-purpose and great looking digital camera

i bought my E-M5 in April and made a few thousand shots with it so far. i had already a 14-150mm zoom from my previous epl-1, and the E-M5/14mm-150mm combination is as perfect as it gets. The two together are still a compact system that can take sharp pictures in situations where your own eye is missing some of the details. Colors are excellent.
As i was on vacation in France in July, i was not envying owners of heavy DSLRs with large, cumbersome light-grey lenses (hint, hint..) who looked so proud of themselves. Come on .. that's so 2008. Photography is finally moving to high-quality, light weight equipment that achieves the most important advantage: you can have a camera with you - and and excellent one - when the picture moment happens. The EM-5/14mm-150mm is a great example of such system.
oh .. and why did i pick the Olympus over a NEX-something or a Lumix? Because it is a great looking design. let's face it. in 6 months, 6 or more cameras will be so much better. At least i will enjoy holding a nice looking piece of hardware for a long time.

September 09, 2013

Ken

does it all

i am an intermediate level shooter. i started out in m4/3 with an e-pm1 but wanted better image quality and versatility. i found it with the OM-D E-M5. the swiss army knife of m 4/3 cameras. i love the touchscreen auto shutter.

August 12, 2013

Kelsey

Excellent camera but with part quality problems

I recently got this camera this past Christmas and it's been wonderful. I had previously only worked with film, so my main goal was a small package with a big punch without losing quality.
I got the black system with the 14-42 weather proof kit lens (unfortunately there are no other weather proof lenses...)
PROS
-The camera body and lens themselves feel very solid and sturdy, and the camera is a joy to hold and use.
-The image quality is fantastic, suitable for anywhere to blinding light (beaches), hiking, portraiture, through to night scenes (cities, concerts etc.)
-I find myself using the touchscreen all the time to assist with tricky focusing and the like.
-The viewfinder was also a must have, coming from film, and although evf cannot compare to an old school full frame optical, this one does very well.
-I have previously read some complaints about the cameras navigation buttons being mushy, and they do have some merit. You more or less need to actually push the button instead of a light touch, but I actually like it. It cuts down on accidentally pushing the wrong one and I personally just like it.
-In addition, I had also heard that the menus were very confusing to navigate and the operating system was finicky, but I have found the opposite. The system is logical to work through and is highly, highly customizable. I am really happy with how easy it is for me to use, and the settings dial is great.
-Last but not least is the body itself. I'm so so pleased with how small and compact it is, and had been perfect for travelling. Its weathered being left out in the rain, beach sand, and generally being rough handled.
That being said, there's a big BUT.

CONS
Although I commend its small frame and weather durability, I'm EXTREMELY disappointed and displeased with the quality of the little parts. I've not even had this camera for a year yet, but I'm already having parts falling off and disappearing.
-The main top dial up and decided to pop off in June after threatening to for weeks. I have since been unable to find a way to put it back on without superglue (which I'd rather not do).
-Second, the battery has been performing less than I'd expected, lasting only a handful of hours in a day of moderate shooting at best. I don't feel free to pull it out at anytime because the battery dies so quickly. This is frustrating when I'm travelling, as I have little time to charge my battery when it needs to be performing.
-Thirdly is the paint on the body. I have an all black system and was very shocked to find the paint already worn away at the top of the viewfinder, around the hot shoe.
-Lastly, and most recently, the eyecup has decided to abandon ship. Before it had also threatened to pop right off, and after a day of heavy shooting, today it's gone. Support said that the eyecup was an "accessory", and that I would need to pay for their faulty craftsmanship.
Bottom line is: I paid way too much for this level and amount of problems.

FINAL
All this together is frustrating, but overall I still love my camera. It's compactness cannot be rivaled anywhere, and it delivers excellent pictures in every situation. Fantastic to use discreetly and casually as well as with intention, and it's perfect for travel.
Overall, I love this camera and, with one or two reservations, would highly recommend it.

August 09, 2013

Greg

I don't reach for anything else

I am not a tech guy. When I get around other photographers who start throwing out numbers and letters about cameras and lens, I rarely know what they're talking about. But I don't care. I know I have the best camera for me. I love this OM-D. It fits well in my hands, it feels great in my hands, its small enough to be discreet on the street yet powerful enough to shoot at a concert. The colors are insanely beautiful and the images are crisp and clean. I've read reviews of the OM-D being called the #1 camera of 2012 and I agree. I don't recall the last time I reached for my DSLR. I reach for the OM-D and am happy I do.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10