View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 11

April 13, 2014

Mark

WOW.......................

having previously owned olympus,pentax,minolta and canon for the past 45 years i can only say, WOW. what a dream. no need for me to go into all the bells and whistles that everyone else has covered just to suffice i'm very pleased. very steep learning curve for someone not familiar with digital camera technology but just sit back with your manual and explore. i'm very happy.

March 30, 2014

Howard

A wonderful camera

Just got it and learning the camera, so far it is a great camera. This is my 3rd OLYMPUS SLR and this one is the best!!!

February 28, 2014

Scott

10/10 - definitely recommend

I am absolutely in love with this camera. When I set out to buy into a mirrorless system, I debated the merits of Olympus vs the slightly larger Fuji X platform (which I'd had previous experience with), and took a risk on the OMD. I haven't looked back once.

The ergonomics are great (especially with the optional grip) and the user experience is super-easy to master. I especially love the touch-to-focus-and-shoot capability on the rear LCD.

I've found that this camera is best paired with the fast primes that are available - I already have the 17mm f/1.8 and 45mm f/1.8, and just ordered the 12mm f/2.

The standard hotshoe allows me to use the remote triggers I already have to fire any flash remotely. I'm not locked into a proprietary system for off-camera flash, which was very important in my purchasing process.

The battery life is incredible. I can shoot all day, even using the large rear LCD for image preview/review.

I was afraid that a compact system would limit my creativity, but I am able to achieve incredible results with the OMD system. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this camera to a friend - even fellow professional photographers.

February 26, 2014

Gary

Excellent

I've not had a chance to use the camera a lot, but my initial impression is that it's extremely well made. It's on the small side for my old fingers, but I wanted something compact. The included flash is sufficiently small to usually stay attached to the camera, so lack of pop-up flash isn't an issue.

This unit is reconditioned, but I can see no marks on it. I did dig around, and found that it has about 2200 shutter clicks, but I'm sure some of that came from QC, and the reconditioning process; not something to fret.

I did have to update the firmware, and that was a bit of a challenge, but I did complete the process. Not without trepidation, though, as the site has no real progress meter, so one never knows, and one dare not disconnect, as it may mess with the current program.

The down-side comes with the manual, or lack thereof. First, Olympus should supply a comprehensive manual. Second, even the on-line manual is extremely confusing. It really should be given more attention. I had a devil of a time to find and display the Super Control Screen. I will need time to learn what can be done with the various buttons. I think, however, that after I have things better studied, the camera will not be extremely difficult to manage.

I have already ordered a 40-150 lens. I had planned, and still plan, to use my legacy lenses, but the micros seem so compact that I opted to get the next longer for general carry.

One caution potential buyers might consider, when I registered the camera on line, I was immediately given a certificate for 10% off accessories good for 20 days. With the camera, I ordered a spare battery and the larger VF cup. Had I waited, I could have saved a few bucks. For that, shame on Olympus.

Because of the very poor manual, the unit gets only 4 stars.

February 17, 2014

fpink3

Better than I expected

There are lots of great compact system cameras available, but the E-M5's motion compensation system sets it apart from almost anything else. I come from the film days when "1/60 of a second or shorter with a 50mm lens" was the rule. But I regularly get great sharp images hand holding the 45mm f1.8 indoors with no flash--at a 1/10 of a second. Because the compensation is in the body, it works with any Olympus lens. That's like a 90mm lens in full frame view. When you combine the broad range of lenses available and the compact size, it just makes getting good images a LOT more reliable in all kinds of light. I use the 9-18 mm zoom and the 45mm f1.8 a lot. But even the cheap 40-150mm zoom does a good job when you need the reach. You really can shoot the equivalent of 300mm f5.6 lens (full frame) hand held and not get motion blur. I know the EM-1 is getting all the press now, but it's larger. It's the motion compensation that really makes both these cameras stand out and you get that in the E-M5. I also have a E-PM2. It's nice, but less-elaborate motion compensation is clearly a limitation...as it is on any other camera body that isn't an EM-5 or EM-1. I'll probably spring for the 12-40 f2.8 zoom one of these days. Don't think you NEED the EM-1 to use this new zoom. The EM-5 may be the better choice if you value convenience.

January 25, 2014

jack

not real happy

I have owned this camera about 1 month and now it is totally dead. when I turn it on ,nothing happens, so today at a cost of almost $70.00 (including the UPS discount) i shipped it back to Olympus. As i said this camera is less than 1 month old and already it is need of repair, at the least I should have received free return shipping, so at this point I'm not real happy!!

January 06, 2014

Svetlana

Brand new camera has some problems

Some times I am getting the black frame instead the photo.
Every time I choose scenic setting with Beach and snow I have high bracketing.

December 17, 2013

Jack

Amazing Camera

I tested this camera for 1.5 hours at the dealer before purchase. The image stabilizing system is beyond belief. Hand held photos at 2x zoom are sharp even at 1/4 second and 1/2 second. All metal chassis with chrome finished metal covers just like the classics of the past. An afternoon at Downtown Disney yielded a fantastic series of photos of children at play with images razor sharp on 24"x36" print enlargements. Lenses the surpass the sensor in many cases. The only shortcoming is the manual. Most of the negative reviews are owners who never read and understood the full CD manual. Most complaints are easily solved if you tune the camera adjustments. Even the current manual is too short to demonstrate the critical features and capabilities. As a tech writer with 30 years experience as a Pro photographer, this camera needs a manual of at least 250 pages to tap it's fantastic capabilities. A full size book. Yes most customers are not going to read it, but those who do will fall in love with this system. 2 of our local news photographers with 4 Pulitzers have switched entirely to this camera system.

December 15, 2013

Vand

Incomprehensible

I am sure this camera has some great features. However, the MANUAL is comprehensible, the display is too quick, navigation is difficult...I am learning by random selection...have lost some functions while doing so.
The 'illustrations' (minute, tiny little illustrations) in the manual are not at all 'illustrative'. Big expense...STEEP learning curve to do anything other than iAUTO.

November 27, 2013

Rick

Great image quality; tough to set up

I recently sold a Lumix GH2 and a nice legacy lens collection to finance the purchase a full-frame Sony A99 and a few good modern lenses. But the full-frame kit cost twice as much as my MFT kit, and I only have a third as many lenses

I've missed the fun of shooting legacy lenses and recently received a OM-D E5 and started re-building my legacy glass collection. I've only spent a few days with the OM-D, but have a few initial impressions:

- The OM-D's image quality is the near equal of the Sony A99's in most lighting and dynamic range situations.

- The exposure is always spot on.

- JPEG's have acceptable noise up to ISO 6400.

- The camera is feature-rich, but the user interface is very hard to set up because the manuals are poorly written. It took me about 5 hours of fiddling around and web research to get the camera set up the way I wanted it.

- The indicators for under and over exposing highlights and shadows are a terrific feature, as is the ability to get a stabilized view when using the magnify option for accurate focusing.

- Build quality is excellent ... like a little tank!

- The in-body stabilization makes the OM-D a much better camera for using legacy lenses than those without it.

Aside from the poor manuals, the only real complaint I have is its small grip size, something that has been re-worked in the M1.

View Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 11